We currently recommend natural gas plans from CenterPoint Energy Services and Constellation

min5

(4.6 / 5)

  Cost chart was an eye-opener as green mountain energy occupied spots 2,3,4 regarding electricity costs. My bill is about 30% cheaper - NOW, since switching to GME!!! I was motivated when TXU Energy was going to "change" electric rates GIVING ONLY ONE MONTHS Notice. Switching to GME Has proven to be a WISE Decision.

RonCast
July 23rd, 2018

Thank you for your great review! We are here if you need us.

Green Mountain Energy Responds August 17th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Green light for Green Mountain

(4.8 / 5)

  Ive never needed or contacted customer service. Billing is accurate, payment is automatic, if the price looks good to you then go for it!

Big D Bubba
April 30th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Higher price but you get what you pay for

(4.4 / 5)

  I never had any problems with this company, I had a 714 sq ft apartment, gaming systems, fridge, washer, dryer and what not - paid about $135 a month during the summer, around $90 during the winter - sign up was easy, customer service was polite etc.

MarieG
January 11th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor customer service

(4.2 / 5)

  I've been with Green Mountain for about 5 years, I called customer service about an issue, talked to 3 different reps got told 3 different answers. No one could give me a straightforward answer, customer service support is bad, other than that everything is fine. Hope I will never have to call again.

D J
December 29th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Pleased

(4.6 / 5)

  We have had Green Mountain Energy for 3 years and have had absolutely no problems. Our electric bill has been the lowest we have every had. I have no reason to want to change and have 3 years of why I would recommend them to others.

MSQuinby
December 9th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Solid choice for Renewable Energy

(4.8 / 5)

  Green Mountain doesn't have the cheapest plan by far, and not even the cheapest renewable plan, but they do have stability, consistency, and reliability. I've been a customer for several years now (coming up on my third contract renewal) and I'm very wary of switching away from GME even if it means potentially saving $1000 a year on power. Their website is easy to use and intuitive. Averaged billing great.

The ONLY negative I ever experienced was when I was not paying attention and missed the contract renewal. Once you switch to "month by month" expect to be paying almost DOUBLE the rate. To be fair, they did send me ONE letter about this, and from what I'm reading many companies are much worse about not nudging the customer to renew a contract so the company can reap those sweet, sweet month-to-month rates. So stay on top of that contract renewal!

David C.
November 22nd, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great for smaller households

(4.2 / 5)

  Green mountain was one of the only/few companies offering lower rates for using less than 1000 kwh. Our last bill, when we weren't using heat or ac was $45.

Joan
May 19th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Honest clean electricity

(4.2 / 5)

  After two years of service I'm very happy with this company. They stick to only wind and solar energy and deep their rates very stable. Compared with other supply companies I've used I find the customer service easy to reach and very friendly. I've never had a problem with my bill or my power.

Brian Livingston
January 21st, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Energy Provider

(4 / 5)

  My personal experience with this energy provider has been in fact very good over the last several month since switched from Reliant Energy. The switch reduced our monthly energy bill to half, while giving us an impression of helping the environment and saving the world a bit.

Hunter Wang
April 14th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I Like Green Mountain

(4.6 / 5)

  At the time of deregulation, Green Mountain (GM) was the only company offering renewable energy. It cost more, but I chose GM for that reason. I've been with them ever since. I even sold GM for a year, because the company is good and I believe in clean energy. As a customer, I have never had a problem with billing or customer service. The website is excellent. I am only considering, and I mean only considering, switching companies because there are now companies with competing wind/renewable energy plans, but most look like bad companies, except Champion, whose rate is comparable to GM. Maybe the grass isn't really greener on the other side of the fence, and this cow will stay home.

Jane
November 12th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good experience over Summer 2014. No issues seen like in the other ratings.

(4.2 / 5)

  My Summer Energy contract was expiring on 6/8/2014, and my rates were jumping way up so I hunted for the cheapest company I could find (for <1000 KWH) that didn't have totally horrible reviews, and I settled on the GME month to month plan at 8.4 cents. I have been watching the rate carefully each month, and it has never increased to-date, and even dropped down to 8.23 cents this month. I use <1000 every month so I end up paying more per KWH (~9.1 cents) with the base charge included, but I looked today (10/7/14) and it's still the best rate I could find for <1000 KWH. I had no issues other than them charging me the $6.95 fee for the last 3 days of the previous "ONCOR Month" (I switched over to GME 3 days before ONCOR read the meter). When I complained, and after explaining for 30 minutes WHY this was a problem like 5 different times, the CSR finally agreed that, yes, it was dumb to charge me a full month's base charge for 3 days of service, and said he would make a note to credit the amount back to my account the next month, but it never happened.
I use automated billing and have had no hassles.
I did request the $100 rebate after 90 days that I was told about when I signed up, but I have heard nothing back yet. It says 6 to 8 weeks, though, and I submitted my request on 9/10.
Maybe my good-ish experience is rare, or maybe only the people who have issues put their reviews here (vs. many more that don't). :-)

Christopher Reed
October 7th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Generally good, but I'm still switching

(4.4 / 5)

  I've renewed my one year contracts twice. I've had only one issue and that was just recently, I switched products and then changed my mind and wanted to switch back. The CSR assured me I could, but it didn't happen. Needless to say, when my monthly bill arrived I went out to check and sure enough I was enrolled in the plan I said I didn't want. I was able to sort this out with a supervisor, she checked the calls and the account notes and names and dates. so I'm back on my variable plan, which is way lower than the fixed plan they had mistakenly contracted me into.

I liked my experience with GME. I'm switching because their rates right now are 4 cents a kwH more than what others are charging fixed rate and they can't meet or beat their offer. So...market forces are why I will be switching out. If, after my contract with the new provider lapses and I'm shopping around again, I'd give them a go if they are competitive.

My few customer service calls were always answered, even in the evening and when we had an outage once, they were very helpful, even though it was an Oncor thing.

M J Robinson
September 18th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Awesome!

(4.8 / 5)

  I recommend Green Mountain Energy because they offer 100% renewable electricity, making it affordable to help protect the environment. It is Not only the price what matters.
Most of people just think about saving money.... We should actually care for life, the source of life is the planet... No matter how much money you have in your pocket. If you don't have food to buy your done.

Amy
April 29th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Honest Company

(4.8 / 5)

  I signed up with Green Mountain shortly after Texas first de-regulated the market. I chose them because their contract terms were fair. Other companies included egregious and one-sided contracts. The Green Mountain contract was fair and balanced. Also, Green Mountain, at that time, offered renewable energy generated in Texas. The meant that my consumption increased demand in Texas. The other companies played a shell game that would have no real impact on renewable demand. I was particularly pleased in September 2013 when I had PV generation installed on my roof. Dealing with Green Mountain was very easy. They walked me through the process fro change to my account in advance. They told me who to call when my PV was online. On the day, everything went beautifully. Now, my contract with Green Mountain is, again, more than fair. I am getting the best price anywhere for my excess generation. This is a deal that I could not find with other retail providers.

Gordon Kelly
April 14th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Excellent customer service

(4.8 / 5)

  I had a 2 year contract with Green Mountain Energy. Customer service was available either online or by phone and always provided excellent service.

Claire H
April 10th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I have used for a full yr now, using 2 plans

(4.2 / 5)

  This is a pretty straight forward company. The customer service is good and you speak to Americans. I know have to check all the rates again as my contract is ending. The renew that they are offering just may be as good as I can get? I am a under 1000kw user most of the time. So, as with all the companies, I must be punished for using less electricity and conserving. I think for us using less electricity they have the best rates in that category.

Kathi Rice
March 24th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

So far so good

(4.8 / 5)

  I'm a year into the service locking in every 6 months with a 9.5 cent Kw/h rate. I live in a one story house and use about 1000 kw during the summer peak. My bill topped off at about $119 for August. During the winter it ranges anywhere from $35-$50.

I was with a co-op previously and paying fluctuating rates depending on my energy use. The more I used the lower I'd pay per Kw/h. Idiotic if you ask me if the goal is to reduce consumption. I would pay anywhere from 11 cents to about 15 cents per Kw/h. Because I was conservative with my usage, I tended to pay closer to the 15 cents range. With GM, I pay a flat rate regardless so it's been really good to be paying a much better rate and green energy to boot.

Service has been consistent without any issues and no issues with billing.

There's a lot of negative reviews and I noticed that the majority of them are from the DFW area. I don't know what the deal is with that but I haven't had any problems with rates suddenly changing. I can't speak for customer service because I haven't had to use them. If things go sour, fortunately I'm in a deregulated area (Round Rock, TX) so I have about 30 other options for providers.

I do have to say that I'm always skeptical when reviewers are not coherent in their complaints or "SCREAMING". There's always two sides of every story so who knows... as far as I'm concerned, I'm satisfied with the service and would recommend.

Mike
January 9th, 2014

Thanks Mike! We're glad your experience with Green Mountain has been positive. If there's anything we can do to make it better, just email us at feedback@greenmountain.com. Welcome to the Green Mountain community!

Green Mountain Energy Responds February 20th, 2014
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Love having the choice to go pollution free

(4.6 / 5)

  I've had Green Mountain for three years now and it's been great. Can't complain. They're the only company I can find that only does renewable energy and also offsets all of their carbon emission from their operations. Haven't had any issues with billing. It's been about the same price.

Therese
June 14th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good Company & beneficial for the enviroment

(4 / 5)

  I recently switched from Reliant to Green Mountain Energy. I can honestly say that I love this company because aside of my bill getting lower i am helping the enviroment. I haven't called the customer care line so i won't know how they are but they have almost everything that Reliant use to provide me (except chatting) but at least i'm helping the enviroment. Prices are not that low but they are competitive, what you expect? IS GREEN ENERGY & that is what makes the price be higher.

I would recommend this company!

E. Angel
January 24th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good Electricity Provider

(4.8 / 5)

  I have been with Green Mountain Energy (GME) for over 6 years, and at one point I had 2 residences served by them in different towns. Whenever I needed assistance they have been very responsive, I have had no billing problems, and their customer service has always been top notch when I dealt with them. Unlike other reviewers, I have had nothing but good experiences with GME... except the rates. They have definitely been higher per kilowatt hour than some other providers, but that was a choice my wife and I made to support companies providing alternative and sustainable energy. That was not a problem for us then, but with the economic downturn, it got to be too much lately, and I started to switch to another company for a lower rate. I cancelled that contract during the 3-day approval period after seeing THEIR reviews. GME customer service called after seeing the switchover order, and we discussed the change. I signed a new 1 year contract with GME, and I got a significant RATE DECREASE in the process. The CS rep was very pleasant, helpful, and knowledgeable. Again, I have been and am still very satisfied with Green Mountain Energy.

Michael B. Garrett
May 15th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Awesome experience

(4.5 / 5)

  Green Mountain Energy rates are very competitive at 10.5 cents per kilowatt for
a 6 month contract, awesome!
Ordering from Green Mountain is a snap with a highly trained staff and several
options for ordering such as through the Green Mountain Energy Network.
The customer service department is very Professional and extremely helpful.
The billing department is currently going through some changes and wait times
are a little longer than usual but once you get through, they will take care of
you. I highly recommend this company and the only bad reviews are from
people who create problems themselves and would otherwise not even post a
good review, they just want people to believe that Green Mountain is at fault
when really they are. Great company.

Efrain Nevarez
July 1st, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

good company

(4.4 / 5)

  I have had Green Mountain for the last 12 years. Good customer service, easy-to-used internet site. They are not the cheapest, but a good company. I have had no problems.

Anonymous
June 6th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good Experience for a long time

(4.1 / 5)

  I have had Green Mountain at 3 addresses over the last 9 years. They have
always been fair but not always cheap. I am looking into another
company now, but it is hard to leave because they have been hassle free
for so long...

Aaron
January 26th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

mr. g

(4 / 5)

  Good customer service, I like wind and alternative elect. sources, Price could be a tad lower, But progress is worth a few extra dollars a month I guess.

Greg
December 5th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Haven't had a single issue

(4.8 / 5)

  From what I am reading on other reviews, people do not understand that when your contract expires, you get switched to a month to month variable rate. This is the same as any other electric company. All you have to do is call them up or go online and sign a new contract. Easy as that. Also, any other electric company you have will turn off your electricity if you fail to pay. They are, after all, a business, not a charity. I have always paid my bills on time and have never had an issue with Green Mountain Energy. They do not have the cheapest rates but in the 2 years I have been with them I have never had bad service. My contract is up and I have been doing some shopping around and I have found that some of the cheaper rates require direct payment deduction from your account, have high monthly fees, etc. I think I will be sticking with Green Mountain Energy.

Nichole
November 13th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good reputation, Good Prices

(4.4 / 5)

  Green Mountain energy is a trusted name for renewable energy. We switched from Reliant just about a year ago, and our bill has been less! We've had no problems with them thus far. We plan on continuing our service with Green Mountain for another year.

Allison
August 23rd, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Straightforward

(4.2 / 5)

  No gimmicks &amp; straightforward service are what
Green Mountain provides. Their bills are clear
and easy-to-read. I like that they are really
dedicated to clean energy.

My only complaint is that I had to mail in a
sheet with my credit card info or bank account
info to get automatic payments set up. Before
that, I was paying each month through their
website. After I mailed in the paper, it has
worked flawlessly.

Eliot
July 15th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Glad I went Green

(4.6 / 5)

  Signed up at local HEB. Experience was great.
Switched from Reliant. Got first bill yesterday.
Saved $88.00 from last month with Reliant with similar KWHs and $132 from previous year and save
a few trees in the process.

Carl W
May 21st, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great People but Pricey

(4.1 / 5)

  They are a great electric company with nice people who love what they do but they are expensive. Renewable energy is just not cheap I guess.

Dawn Wulff
May 7th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Would Not Recommend

(4.1 / 5)

  Extremely poor service, limited business hours, all service is contracted out.
pricing not competitive
beware of misc. charges

next to impossible to reach on the phone

kdw
February 5th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Not good customer service ANYMORE

(4.8 / 5)

  When I started with Green Mountain, their customer service was
personable, helpful, kind, and, courteous. I have been a GM customer
for almost ten years. I freelance and there have been times when I
have been late in paying, but I have never been disconnected, and
have always paid in full. The FIRST and only time that I needed
assistance with some extra time for my bill, I was met with a very rude
awakening. I was told that the $20 charge on my bill was for "sending
a disconnection notice", and that's in addition to the late charges.
When I told her my situation, she made no reply whatsoever, and I
listened to a mono-tone, heartless voice stating and repeating that I
would have to pay in full, including the most recent billing, which was
not late yet, or I'd be disconnected, obviously reading from a script.
They have repeatedly raised my rate without my acceptance, as high
as over 17 cents a Kw. I have referred many people to GM, but now I
will warn them against it. BYE.

Mary
November 14th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good company

(4 / 5)

  Great rates, good service, good for the environment

Javier
November 6th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

happy customer

(4.8 / 5)

  i am on a fixed income and have saved money with green mountain without cutting back thank you

patricia veal
August 26th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Feels good to go green!

(4.1 / 5)

  We switched from Reliant Energy which had horrible rates and service to Green Mountain 3yrs ago. Customer Service is excellent and we do save money over Reliant but rates could be better. Never lost power even through hurricane Ike. It feels good to know we are making a difference by going green!

kd
July 28th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions