This is a scam!!!
I was approached in a Walmart. I was intrigued! Then after 3 months, my bill spiked! So I tried to cancel it. I was told that it was canceled, but I was getting bills $400-$500 a month!!! I cant afford that. Come to find out thy not only did the rep not cancel the services, its price is more than double of the actual electric company. Please dont ask to speak to a supervisor because in this multimillion dollar company, they only have one that is able to help! I was robbed for damn near $3000!!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Pissed Off from Lorain, OH on June 17th, 2020
Price gouging after contract expires
I switched from NRG back to my local supplier after NRG messed up my billing then failed to renew my contract. After one month my electric bill doubled. Customer service said that was the variable rate now. Pretty bad during these times people losing their job NRG decides to double their price.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

RT from Rockbridge, OH on April 15th, 2020
Terrible company
Worst electric supplier ever! Dont fall for promotional scams. They charged us double price for electric after a 3 month promotional period expired which I was never told was a promotion in the first place. I even asked if the price would shoot up and they said it would remain the same price for a year. Not only are they liars, but they double charge each month and apparently thats how they make there money because they cant keep customers long enough to do so.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Hwarnock0507 from East Canton, OH on February 26th, 2020
Cheap for the first 3 months. Then watch out!!!!
I signed up with NRG after talking with a rep several months back. At first it seemed great because I was saving a few bucks on my electricity by going with them. After the 3 month contract special was up they kicked me into a higher priced tier for the next three months with my bill going up all three months. Even though I used less electricity in Feb 2020 it was even higher than Jan. My rate increased twice in the last 3 months.

Don't go with NRG.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

T from Columbus, OH on February 20th, 2020
Big Rip Off. Stay Away
I signed up with a low rate of .05 kWh. It's kind of like the frog in slowly boiling water analogy. They slowly sneak the price per kWh until it's more than double when you notice what's going on. It takes another billing cycle to get rid of them. Cost me hundreds of dollars more than the electric supplier would have been if I had not switched. Terrible decision
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Frank from Magnolia, OH on February 18th, 2020
Total Scam - DO NOT SIGN UP
We used them for electricity. First 3 months was slightly lower than AEP. We forgot to call at the end of 3 months to renew the rate (which is ridiculous that you have to call every 3 months) and last month the rate was .064 (AEP was .054). Just got the bill for this month and now the rate is .084 (AEP is still .054). Complete scam artists. I will NEVER recommend this company to anyone. Other family members have had the same experience with the price gouging. I cannot say enough now much I hate this company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dan from Columbus, OH on February 18th, 2020
Solar Panel Payoff
Inept, unprofessional, with their head up their #%&. These people have no clue about customer service, adherence to policy or anything closely related to running a business. Do NOT start using them for services, and if you have a choice, opt for another provider!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bill from 83616 on February 14th, 2020
Scam
They harassed me I didnt even want to sign up at Walmart. I e cancelled three times and they still keep contacting me they wont leave me alone!!! Dont sign u with them they are fraud.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Riah from Nashport, OH on January 20th, 2020
Slowly increased bill so i would'nt notice
If you go through NRG as an energy supplier you need to check your statements! We have been getting high electric bills so we thought we would solve the problem and get a wood stove. I have just checked our meter because our bill should be coming any day now and i was excited to see what our bill would go down to.

We've used 1350 kwh this month. similar to last January 2018 the difference is we were charged 0.0540000 X 1350 kwh= the cost of energy usage, then with the fees our bill was 161. < this was AEPs rate.

We were offered what they said a better rate. so we took it in February. It was 0.0560000 X kwh < which is'nt better but i did'nt know any different to look at the bill and know what i was looking at. after a couple months they raised the price. to 0.1190000.

so this Dec/January we are being charged 160.65 ALONE for usage
last January we paid 72.90 for usage and a total bill of 161.

i called the supplier and they said too bad so sad that we didn't call them after the 3 month contract they didn't tell us about so our cost went up.

our meter has not been read yet so we will yet again get another high bill because NRG says it will take 3-30 buisness days for it to cancel. i am NOT happy.

485$ we overpaid since june (when the rate doubled!) - june-january

DONT - Pick NRG


i will not stop writing bad reviews until you make this right. i already have alot of people canceling your service after hearing my story!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Amd from Chillicothe, OH on January 8th, 2020
Theives
I had NRG for 3 months that is it. I signed up at Sams club, They promised that my rate would be the same for 6 months, .05... But it was that for the first month and then went to .15 the second month. When I called the manager made an excuse saying their costs went up threw AEP. So I cancelled of course they did not cancel it they lied again so the next month when my bill went up over $200 more then the previous month I had to call AEP themselves to complain and cancel. Anyone claiming they are legit must be an employee... Cause it is a big scam.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Shawn from Zanesville, OH on November 21st, 2019







Reviews Overview
The best review categories for NRG Home are the order experience, rated at 2.0 out of 5, and their customer service, rated at 2.0 of 5.
5 Stars
17%
 
4 Stars
5%
 
3 Stars
0%
 
2 Stars
5%
 
1 Stars
73%
 
1.9 / 5
Overall
1.9 / 5
Price, Plans and Promotions
2.0 / 5
Order Experience
2.0 / 5
Customer Service
2.0 / 5
Billing and Account Management
1.9 / 5
Likely to Recommend
About NRG Home



Recommended Natural Gas Plans