All 1 Star Reviews

41 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Back to All NRG Home Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Worst experience ever
I talk to one of there employees at Walmart west Chester oh. After he went with me all over the kWH charges
He stated that I ll save lot of money by switching from duke energy to NRG
At the end I was not confident I left without signing anything
He said anyway you ll receive a call from 800 number if you agree to switch to NRG give them the ok
I received many call from the 800 number but did not answer none of them.
Since the day I talk to this employee my electrical bill went up every month till I reached the bill of $480 I called duke energy they said that s because of the third party supplier that I did not even I had.
I was paying my bill without even checking what s in there
Instead of getting charged for 0.054 kwh I was charged for 0.094 kwh for the last 6 months.
Please everyone whose reading my review do not sign with please.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Messaoud Choubane from West Chester, OH on April 15th, 2021
Supposed to be lower bill
I ran into these guys at Walmart and they were pushy and wanted to sign me up. The last few months. My bill has been 170 to 190 dollars. There charging 95 cents a kilowatts and aep is only 59 cents. I wouldnt recommend getting them. The last bill i had charged me 100 dollars by themselves. Aep charged me 77
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kyle Daugherty from Zanesville, OH on March 17th, 2021
Lying and cheating
They approached my mother in Sam's Club with a fancy sales pitch so she went for it. Then after a free months she was hit with hundreds of dollars in fees, and a higher rate. My mother who is retired on disability went from $175/month on electric to well over $700 without warning. When we contacted Duke, they said these kind of providers are unregulated and can basically do whatever they want when it comes to charges. I don't know how they can sleep at night.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Charles from Cincinnati, OH on March 15th, 2021
SCAM!
They will charge you double or triple on your electricity bill.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Elizabeth Myers from Pataskala, OH on March 11th, 2021
Wow Just WOW
I would RUN and RUN as fast as you can from this company...I just got a 900 bill!! Now Last months bill was almost 800 I contacted the electric company I have NEVER had an electric bill so high, and of course, it was explained as to why it was so high...of course, my electric billing provider can't do anything because I was promised a different rate by this electric provider which ended up being a LOT higher....costing me triple the amount of what I have ever paid in the past! When I contacted customer service the only concern was getting me to stay, not in helping me resolve the issue while in the midst of a pandemic while I am fighting covid a month later. I am so disgusted and disappointed!!! DO NOT UTILIZE this provider unless you want a massive bill!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Paula R Matthews from Columbus, OH on March 2nd, 2021
Trash
This company is a joke, I went from paying 180$ a month to more than double that when I used NRG. Nothing dramatic changed with how much electric I used either.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

D from Grove City, OH on February 26th, 2021
RIP OFF
They did not explain very well about the call back. I should not have to jump through hoops to keep my electric bill at a reasonable cost.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

RIP OFF from Fairfield, OH on February 1st, 2021
Good price for 3 months, then you see the real prices without notification
They grabbed in a local Walmart. Convinced me NRG is cheaper. I noticed over time that my $/KWH kept increasing. That said, they have not told me that the offer was only valid for 3 months, no informing me about the change.
Don't waste your money!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Resident In City Ave from 1913 on January 28th, 2021
SCAM SCAM SCAM
They will offer you a low rate and tell you to "follow up in a few months when the promo ends" if you don't, they will double or TRIPLE your rate.

SCAM!!!!! The gift card is not worth it!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

SCAM! from Columbus, OH on January 5th, 2021
Scammers
Watch out people for this scammers. They overpriced my bill not because of my usage. They didnt help me reduce my electric bill. Instead, I was paying two separate bill . I am paying my electric bill for the company I am using and also paying ngr bill. I found out to my electric company that ngr was charging me 3 times more than the amount I was paying per kWh with my electric company. I went from paying $30-$50 on winter time and $51-$80 on summer time a month with my electric company , to $230-$500 a month when I signed up for nrg without any changes in daily routine. Theyre MTF scammers. Dont sign up please or you will end up where I am now with a $500 bill to pay and no food!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Gracia Angry Customer from Cincinnati, OH on December 23rd, 2020


Recommended Natural Gas Plans