Reviews for Ohio Edison

Updated May 22, 2024

The best review categories for Ohio Edison are their customer service, with an average of 2.3 stars, and their plans and pricing, with an average of 1.7 stars.


Recent Good Review from Celeste Hyland

Excellent treatment and service from Ohio Edison!
Im 68 years old and discovered an outage in my home after my son dropped me off at 10 oclock tonight. I recently had shoulder surgery and panicked at the notion of walking around in the dark. I called the outage number that I found on Google, and was treated exceptionally well by the gentleman who took my call. He could hear the panic in my voice, Im sure, and reached out to one of the Service men who were still out at this hour. Then he immediately called me back to tell me someone would be coming within the half hour. The service man did come, discovered the problem on the outside of my house, and had it fixed in no time at all. I cant tell you what his courtesy and kindness meant to me! Thank you, Ohio, Edison, for employing these kinds of people. As a sidenote, while all my other bills continue to skyrocket, I can always count on my electric bill to stay in an affordable range for me. I never, ever worry that my electric bill will be so high that I cant pay it. Thank you again!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Celeste Hyland from Youngstown, OH on June 18th, 2023


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

1 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Excellent treatment and service from Ohio Edison!
Im 68 years old and discovered an outage in my home after my son dropped me off at 10 oclock tonight. I recently had shoulder surgery and panicked at the notion of walking around in the dark. I called the outage number that I found on Google, and was treated exceptionally well by the gentleman who took my call. He could hear the panic in my voice, Im sure, and reached out to one of the Service men who were still out at this hour. Then he immediately called me back to tell me someone would be coming within the half hour. The service man did come, discovered the problem on the outside of my house, and had it fixed in no time at all. I cant tell you what his courtesy and kindness meant to me! Thank you, Ohio, Edison, for employing these kinds of people. As a sidenote, while all my other bills continue to skyrocket, I can always count on my electric bill to stay in an affordable range for me. I never, ever worry that my electric bill will be so high that I cant pay it. Thank you again!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Celeste Hyland from Youngstown, OH on June 18th, 2023



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

5 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Ohio Edison Scammers!!
First Energy did not conduct business in an incompetent way, but Ohio Edison conducts business like a scam risk seeking to get reconnection fees from clients. I started new service at a new address. I never received a bill in the mail as requested. One of the genius representatives enrolled me in online billing instead. So, instead of receiving a paper bill, I received a disconnection notice stuck in my door. I paid the bill and I called about the missing bill and then requested another paper bill again, but to no avail. Another genius rep. failed to get this rightno bill, but this time, 15 days later, my service was disconnected a matter of hours after the due date. In other words, the missing bill was due April 16fh and the service was disconnected the morning of April 17thno phone call, email, or notice. Its a scam an 0 accountability on Ohio Edisons part. i called and waited for a return phone call for 3 hours on the 17th and again for over an hour wait to speak to Hannah. She was the worst one yet with her condescending and unaccountable tone. This company sucks canal water and consumers need more choice in this marketplace. Hence the reason they think they can treat customers any way they choose. Disappointed & Frustrated
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sharon Booker from Maple Heights, OH on April 18th, 2024
Worst customer service
Very ugly and worst experience with customer service hold 2 hours and still no solve the issue
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Worst Customer Service from Youngstown, OH on January 23rd, 2024
Rip off
I signed up with energy harbor, & instead of my monthly bill being cheaper it went up $60.
I guess that's Ohio Edison way of retaliating against people for signing up for cheaper rates.
There were 3 adults in my house, now there's 2.
They're saying more kilowatts were used....
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

MJ Nasonti from West Farmington, OH on December 1st, 2023
Scamming Years Later
We had had their service when we lived in Ohio, constantly had misread meters, very frequent power outages, and now after 4 years even after me and my wife moved and canceled our account we are suddenly being charged 234 dollars with no explanation. 4 YEARS after we moved and cancelled. This company is impossible to reach and we would NEVER recommend using their services. Report to the BBB if you can people!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kyle from New Carlisle, OH on September 7th, 2023
Terrible
This is by far the worst company I have ever dealt with. They make the McDonalds ice cream machine look like a star. Good luck wait on hold for 5 hours. Your better off going Amish then dealing with this company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Your Trash from Springfield, OH on August 1st, 2022