We currently recommend natural gas plans from CenterPoint Energy Services and Constellation

Monthly Cost Jumped $350. For and Apartment

(1.8 / 5)

  Owned a large home in Houston and monthly average was $130. In the summer. Moved to Lufkin and bought a small condo. My bills now average $470 in the winter. Switched to Gexas 24 plan. Excited to save over $300 a month!
Wendy

Wendy
February 14th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Scam Alert!

(1 / 5)

  I signed up for this service from the Park Slope Greenmarket in Brooklyn. Was told I would be paying on average 10% more in electricity in support of green energy initiatives. Seemed like a good cause so I signed up. Just found out from my local energy provider ConEd, that ConEd is charging .06 per KW vs Green Mountain, who was charging 15.9 cents. That's 250%, not 10%!!

When I called Green Mountain to inquire, they said the service jumped up after 3 months. No one ever told me that would happen. And even at the lower rate it was still .11 to start vs Con Ed @ .06. Close to double the price to start, not 10%, even during the first 3 months.

People scamming in the name of Green initiatives is like stealing from widows or children. Shame on them.

Peter F
February 13th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Renew plan

(1.6 / 5)

  My plan was ended six months ago, and they didn't informed me and when I spoke with the customer service, they said they already mail me a notification which I didn't get it and I told him what about email and he has no answer and because of that my payment was jumped almost to double because my plan turned to month to month contract which is more expensive from what I had.

Melvin
February 3rd, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst experience ever!

(1 / 5)

  poor customer service! Price is way too high!

Brandon
January 31st, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

a big trap

(1 / 5)

  I did not realize how expensive they were until I moved to a new house where my bill literally exploded - I felt in their trap when I moved to NYC

Julie
January 28th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Thieves

(1 / 5)

  They sell you a story about clean energy and then bill you over double what you would have paid at Con Ed. Low introductory rate and easy sign up. Then they rob you. Once I figured it out they had already billed me several months.

Mad in Brooklyn
January 27th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible

(1 / 5)

  For the first few years they were pretty good, but over the last few months we have watched our bill go up more and more. They raised our rates to the highest they could be. We got on their average billing and it was still high. They tried to make excuses for the bill. We are going with another company and I will never do business with them again. They rip you off and add charges here and there.

Nate
December 10th, 2019

We are sorry to hear that your bill has been more than anticipated. We would be happy to help break things down and explain the bill in more detail for you. Please send us an email at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1811 and additional information.

Green Mountain Energy Responds January 2nd, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Wonderful company

(5 / 5)

  I have had Green Mountain for years no complaints from me. Great service.

Robin Smith
October 31st, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Green Mountain Energy scamming people

(1 / 5)

  First three months low but then they doubled. When i change companies they added another "additional charge"and it wasn't a contract. Its another method they are using to aviod spooking customers away with contracts.

Alejandra
October 22nd, 2019

Thank you for your review. We would like to review your account with you and see if there is anything we can do to resolve this issue. Please send us an email at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1808 and additional information.

Green Mountain Energy Responds October 23rd, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Theives

(1 / 5)

  This place is a complete joke! They are the biggest theives I know! Constantly having to pay them twice for the same transaction and that's
how they make more money, they get away with it every month there is a issue! The customer service is so trashy! Not one person that works there is polite at all! I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone ever! My overall rating is a 0!!!!! BBB here I come, definitely filing a complaint against them!

Erica
October 11th, 2019

Hi Erica. Thanks for bringing this issue to our attention. Please email us at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1809 and additional information if you would like for us to review your usage.

Green Mountain Energy Responds October 23rd, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Rip off

(1.2 / 5)

  We signed 2 year contract for free weekends. Our bill has increased . paying in excess of 490.00 this current bill is over 525.00 where's the savings. A bunch of hog wash. We're gone most of the day. I'm never recommending this company.

Anita Castillo
October 10th, 2019

Thanks for your review, Anita. We would like the opportunity to review the account to see how we can help. Please send us an email at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1810 and additional information

Green Mountain Energy Responds October 23rd, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible Customer Service or Complete Lack of

(1.2 / 5)

  Called on three separate occasions to set up new service. Was given the wrong information the first two times. At the end of the third time, I asked if there was anything else needed or would I walk into my new house in three days and the power would be on. I was told "Yes, there is nothing else needed. Your power will be on in 24-48 hours."

Arrived at the house on a Saturday Evening...guess what...NO POWER! The morons sent an email requesting more information even though I was assured I was 100% good to go. They then let me know that it would be another 48 hours, but with the weekend, like 72, before they would turn my power on. RIDICULOUS! I asked for a manager and after another hour of wasted time, mainly waiting on hold (Likely because they have so many other customers they have screwed over) and he said he would escalate it IF after he listened to a recording of the call that the email part was not explained to me. He, of course came back and said it was, even though it was NOT.

They have my SS, my new home address, all the information they could need in the world and the morons can't turn on my power. Utter incompetence. I will NEVER use GME, nor NRG, their parent company's products or services again. I will warn everyone I know or even bump into about their CRAPPY lack of customer service.

PizzaHaulic
October 8th, 2019

Thank you for choosing Green Mountain Energy. We're sorry that there were issues with opening your new account. We would like the opportunity to review your account and see what we can do to help. Please email us at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1807 and additional information.

Green Mountain Energy Responds October 9th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Green Money, Not Green Mountain

(1 / 5)

  My bill is higher every month even with balanced billing. When I called to cancel that, was told my bill would be higher even though still higher and not balanced. Customer Service says I am using more, but I do not use the dishwasher or have a washer or dryer, yet they claim I am using more and every month the bill higher than the month before. They charge more for month to month billing so they can lock the consumers in a contract. I have a contract and still pay more. Read some of their reviews (all of them 5 star, imagine that!) and one of them claimed he had a 3 bedroom house and paid $87.00 monthly. My one bedroom apartment is now at $105.00 (as usual higher than the previous month). I regret having ever contacted Green Money "Energy" and looking for a different electric company. Do not recommend them.

Disatisfied Customer
September 27th, 2019

We appreciate your feedback. We're sorry that you are not happy with your experience with Green Mountain Energy. Please send us an email at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1805 and additional information.

Green Mountain Energy Responds October 1st, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Scammed!!

(1 / 5)

  The worst electric company I have ever had the pleasure of dealing with. Had a solicitor come to my door and offer me a plan that they promised would be cheaper than my current plan with another company only to receive my bill a month later being far higher than what I was already receiving. Im currently paying $.17 a kilowatt. I will never go with this company again nor will I ever recommend it these people are horrible.

Kerry
September 26th, 2019

Thanks for leaving us a review. We would like the opportunity to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please send us an email at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1806 and additional information.

Green Mountain Energy Responds October 1st, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Scam

(1 / 5)

  Increase prices and make it hard to leave.

Scam
September 11th, 2019

We are sorry to hear that your bill has been more than anticipated. We would be happy to help break things down and explain the bill in more detail for you. Please send us an email at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1812 and additional information.

Green Mountain Energy Responds January 8th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Unsatisfied FORMER customer

(1 / 5)

  Do not use this company? We switched from TXU to Green Mountain. We were put on a plan that was supposed to cut our bill in half, instead it was over double what we were previously paying. My bill has never been that high in the 12+ years we have lived there. When we called customer service and were told of our rate per klw, we were shocked it was almost trippled to what was agreed. They were unwilling to help with the bill instead offered to put us on a cheaper plan but yet still having to pay for the one that they sent that we did not agree too, no thanks Green Mountain.
Switched immediately. Then we receive a final bill that charged us an additional $380 more. You may get $10 a month for payment. No wY to treat new customers.

Michelle
August 2nd, 2019

Thank you for your review. We would like to review your account with you and see if there is anything we can do to resolve this issue. Please send us an email at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1803 and additional information.

Green Mountain Energy Responds August 12th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

IN MY OPINION

(1 / 5)

  In my opinion, the worst of the worst!
If they approach you on the street, RUN, don't walk. If they show up at your door, run them off of your property.
The only thing that their rep said, that was true, was that he was a representative of Green Mountain Energy.
He told me that I was paying way to much and that he could save me So Much Money! My first bill was about $42.00 higher, and that was just for 20 days of service!
The second bill was astronomical! I canceled as soon as I saw the new amount of $275.00. He also told me that there was no fee if I canceled early, guess what, $300 fee to cancel, bringing the total to $575.00!!!
I was automatically put on a 60 month contract, that I never agreed to.
I fully intend to report this company to the Texas Utility Commission, The Better Business Bureau and the Texas State Attorney General, along with recordings on my phone, made during our conversation.
Once again, in my opinion, Their reps are misleading, deceitful and manipulative!

Gary Stephens
July 22nd, 2019

Hi Gary. Thanks for bringing this issue to our attention. Please email us at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1804 and additional information if you would like for us to review your usage.

Green Mountain Energy Responds August 12th, 2019

Yes, Please review it, Acct# 15 140 263-3, ref# 1804

Gary Stephens Replies August 19th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

DONT USE GREEM MOUNTAIN

(2 / 5)

  They may offer competitive prices and plans at first but they always find ways to charge up your bill during your time as a customer. I lived in a one bedroom apt and it cost more using Green Energy to cool and power electronics there than it does in my 4 bedroom two story house. They also have poor customer service and do not process closure claims properly. I closed my account in may and I'm still being billed because they waited a month to close it. This is the SECOND time they have done this to me. 10/10 WOULD NOT RECCOMEND this company, go for TriEagle!! They are great.

Colleen
June 25th, 2019

Hi Colleen. We're sorry that you've had an unpleasant experience with us. Please contact us at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1802 and additional information if you would like to discuss this issue further.

Green Mountain Energy Responds July 15th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Without Informing Me I Had a Balance Due, Green Mountain Sent a Collection Agency After Me for $37

(1.8 / 5)

  I was a Green Mountain Energy customer for 2 years, from 2015-2017. I never missed a payment, and was always on time. Today, I was denied a loan with low interest rates because my credit score indicated a collection agency was after me. Stunned, I became even more so when I found out the agency was sent by Green Mountain Energy for a $37 bill I never even knew I owed - from 2017! Two years later, without any emails or letters from Green Mountain OR the collection agency, my credit score took a hit. It's one thing to send an agency for $37, especially to a customer who made all his payments on time, but it's another thing entirely to not communicate it at ALL before sending a collection agency, which also didn't communicate. The representatives I spoke with were friendly, but unhelpful. Extremely unprofessional practice, and though this might be a unique occurrence, avoid yourself a headache and go with Constellation. I doubt they'd send a collection agency after you 2 years later without even an email.

Nick
June 20th, 2019

We are sorry to hear about your negative experience with us, and appreciate your feedback. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to learn more about your experience. Please send us an email at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1801 and additional information.

Green Mountain Energy Responds July 15th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Big Fan of GME

(5 / 5)

  As promised, the rate on my bill only increased slightly. I feel better paying my bill each month knowing it is going towards cleaner sources than before.

Five Stars
June 13th, 2019

Thank you for the positive feedback and for being a loyal customer. We are here if you need us.

Green Mountain Energy Responds June 28th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions