Reviews for IGS Energy

The best review categories for IGS Energy are their plans and pricing, with an average of 1.6 stars, and their customer service, with an average of 1.6 stars.


Recent Good Review from Bruce

IGS is a very reputable company for energy rates
Ive been an IGS customer for 7 years and they continue to provide competitive rates without price gouging the customer at the end of the contract! My IGS territory manager keeps me up to par with my rates and educate me on what the markets are doing!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bruce from Canton, OH on January 11th, 2022


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

1 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
EDUCATE YOURSELF
I read the other review here and they don't sound very educated. ALL SUPPLIERS HAVE TERM LIMITS!! If you don't renew, you go variable! As for "being switched without knowing..." IGS has purchased several energy companies over the years....it's by default people.

Don't complain if you don't renew for a fixed rate, don't complain if you're past company was bought out because they did shitty business. I'm thankful IGS educates.

IF YOU DON'T ASK, YOU WON'T KNOW!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

People Are Dimwits from Mansfield, OH on January 29th, 2021



Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

1 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
IGS is a very reputable company for energy rates
Ive been an IGS customer for 7 years and they continue to provide competitive rates without price gouging the customer at the end of the contract! My IGS territory manager keeps me up to par with my rates and educate me on what the markets are doing!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bruce from Canton, OH on January 11th, 2022



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

17 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Rip-off
First of all, I am always skeptical of door to door salespersons, but this is how this company operates. They caught my 79 year old husband instead. They talked him into a fixed. However they failed to acknowledge the length of the contract. We went from 3% rate to 16% without prior knowledge. Beware of anyone showing up at your door with a clipboard trying to sell energy rates that sound too good to be true. As with everything if it sounds too good to be trueit usually is.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tanya from Lorain, OH on September 29th, 2022
Rip-off
They changed my rate to 0.1599 my Ive received a bill of $500 they changed it without my knowledge!! When I called them to let them know one of person who answered the phone he said that he did not see any letter been sent and the supervisor she said that there is what a joke!! I dont recommend them to nobody.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

R. from Dayton, OH on September 8th, 2022
Worst ever!
Do not go with this service. Their prices are so high that my bills have doubled. As a senior citizen I thought I was getting a good deal. Boy was I wrong. They won't let you cancel without paying a $99 cancellation fee. Customer service is the absolute worst. Filed a complaint with BBB. Avoid at all costs or you'll be paying much higher bills!! I will post everywhere I can letting people know what a scam this is.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Nancee Seitz from Norwalk, OH on August 23rd, 2022
Price Gouging
Was never informed about my account going variable, they jumped up over $100 in one month, when you call nobody cares to help you, cancelled service.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

CJ from Massillon, OH on August 23rd, 2022
Liars and frauds
Signed up with them years ago with a fixed rate at 6 cents per kwh then which was good while it lasted then last month with no notice went to 10 cents and just figured it was because of the normal aes rate hike in the news then this month hit us with a 550 dollar bill and realized they were now charging us 16 cents per kwh. Figured it had to be a mistake called them and they told us no mistake your fixed rate contract expired and said they supposedly sent us a letter but never got it. They are lisrs and frauds and will screw you over whenever they get a chance stay away and avoid at all costs.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Claude from New Madison, OH on August 2nd, 2022
Pushy door to door grifters...
Just moved into a new home so that usually brings out the parasites... was told the previous owner was a client (he was not) and that all the neighbors were (they are not) and that he was somehow affiliated with the township (again... no.) I honestly still can't believe people are allowed to come on people's property and use these high-pressure hustles. It also didn't help him that I've heard of his company and heard the horror stories from people they've scammed.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

GL from Maineville, OH on July 29th, 2022
IGS is a scam
I did the Eeny mini mini mo catch the father by the toe and decided to drop IGS in 2019 for my home in 43207.. The company didnt cover most of the repairs causing me great stress and strain and sleepless nights. I dropped the insurance like a hot potato. You get your best ideas in the morning.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

IGS Is A Waste Of Money from Columbus, OH on March 17th, 2022
Solicitation to the elderly
Shame on you for having a young man come to my elderly mothers home! There are no soliciting signs up. How dare you! My mother was so scared and she should be! Shame on you!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Erica from North Olmsted, OH on February 16th, 2022
Liars, frauds, scam artists
We previously had NOPEC in our neighborhood. An IGS rep stopped by our house telling us who they were and saying that all of the neighborhood was switching in order to not experience an increase in payment. I was told and reassured that my price would not necessarily go down, but it WOULD NOT GO UP. The first month after switching, my bill was double.... Please stay away
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Matt T from Lakewood, OH on February 9th, 2022
Essentially fraudulent or at least duplicitous
My first encounter with IGS was when l rented utilities weren't even in my name and they tried to get me to sign a contract with them for gas supply, which I was not authorized to do in any capacity. Knocking on doors, making you think that you already have business with them even though you don't, pushy sales tactics, predatory last-century sales grift is their bread and butter. It's truly bizarre to see a company operate like this in this decade.

What IGS does is get you to sign a contract locking in a rate for energy/gas supply for an extended period of time. If their sales people are in your face on any given month you can bet that they're offering a decent rate that month compared to other suppliers. It seems like a deal so you lock it in. Then in a few months, energy costs from other suppliers go down (reacting to the market) and you're still paying your contract rate, which may now be higher than market price (if you haven't signed their contract, the utility will just give you whatever supplier's gas is cheapest for a given month). This is anecdotal but they always contact me at the beginning of fall for a gas contract, right as rates are going up. Maybe they've got a policy of keeping their rate low relative to the other suppliers for a month or two, then reverting to market price after their fall "sales push." Either way, the rest of the year when other suppliers are offering cheap gas, you're paying heating-season prices.

Unfortunately when I bought a home I made the mistake of signing a contract with IGS. A rep appeared waving a tablet displaying Columbia Gas information for my address and told me he represented my gas supplier. He approached when I was in my driveway with 3 friends. I signed. 36 months locked in rate for natural gas and a "home warranty" ($15 a month) which is impossible to utilize or get out of since their online account management tools "can't locate my account." The only way to do business with them is when their usually aggravated sales reps call or come to your door. I've repeatedly contacted their customer service via email, thinking this would negate the pushy tactics, to help me sync my account to their online "tools" just so I can see when exactly the contract ends and how to opt out of it. I have never even gotten a reply. At every turn they try to get you on the phone with a sales person, or get your address so they can send a sales person out to your house so that they can lean on you and get you to sign something you don't understand.

I've been unsuccessful at managing, altering, or cancelling my contract because I refuse to talk to their sales people who come to my house knocking and shouting my name in windows. This company covers its shady dealings by having very little online footprint. They didn't have an email address associated with my account. All they're interested in is selling me a contract for energy and getting me to re-sign a new gas contract, not in helping me understand, utilize, or manage the services I already bought from them.

Be sure to check out the BBB and ohenergyratings pages on this company. I've read plenty of stories from other people--$200 unavoidable cancellation fees, contracts being renewed without consent, expired contracts reverting to "variable rate" contracts with IGS as the exclusive energy provider, no access to account information. And worst of all is that this company provides no value--they are just another energy supplier, one of many, who has elected, unlike the others, to aggressively insert themselves between consumer and utility and extract value from the consumer. Where there's smoke, there's fire. This company has atrocious business practices, zero transparency, almost no online tools to help you manage/understand your account, insists on doing business in person or by phone, and their sales people actually lie to your face to make you think they represent someone you already have business with even if you don't. I just want to help other people keep from making the same mistake I did
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Columbus Victim from Columbus, OH on September 14th, 2021