All 1 Star Reviews

47 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Back to All NRG Home Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Wow Just WOW
I would RUN and RUN as fast as you can from this company...I just got a 900 bill!! Now Last months bill was almost 800 I contacted the electric company I have NEVER had an electric bill so high, and of course, it was explained as to why it was so high...of course, my electric billing provider can't do anything because I was promised a different rate by this electric provider which ended up being a LOT higher....costing me triple the amount of what I have ever paid in the past! When I contacted customer service the only concern was getting me to stay, not in helping me resolve the issue while in the midst of a pandemic while I am fighting covid a month later. I am so disgusted and disappointed!!! DO NOT UTILIZE this provider unless you want a massive bill!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Paula R Matthews from Columbus, OH on March 2nd, 2021
Trash
This company is a joke, I went from paying 180$ a month to more than double that when I used NRG. Nothing dramatic changed with how much electric I used either.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

D from Grove City, OH on February 26th, 2021
RIP OFF
They did not explain very well about the call back. I should not have to jump through hoops to keep my electric bill at a reasonable cost.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

RIP OFF from Fairfield, OH on February 1st, 2021
Good price for 3 months, then you see the real prices without notification
They grabbed in a local Walmart. Convinced me NRG is cheaper. I noticed over time that my $/KWH kept increasing. That said, they have not told me that the offer was only valid for 3 months, no informing me about the change.
Don't waste your money!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Resident In City Ave from 1913 on January 28th, 2021
SCAM SCAM SCAM
They will offer you a low rate and tell you to "follow up in a few months when the promo ends" if you don't, they will double or TRIPLE your rate.

SCAM!!!!! The gift card is not worth it!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

SCAM! from Columbus, OH on January 5th, 2021
Scammers
Watch out people for this scammers. They overpriced my bill not because of my usage. They didnt help me reduce my electric bill. Instead, I was paying two separate bill . I am paying my electric bill for the company I am using and also paying ngr bill. I found out to my electric company that ngr was charging me 3 times more than the amount I was paying per kWh with my electric company. I went from paying $30-$50 on winter time and $51-$80 on summer time a month with my electric company , to $230-$500 a month when I signed up for nrg without any changes in daily routine. Theyre MTF scammers. Dont sign up please or you will end up where I am now with a $500 bill to pay and no food!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Gracia Angry Customer from Cincinnati, OH on December 23rd, 2020
Crappy company n service
This is the most fraud scam company.. How you going to charge me 180 bucks for 78 dollar power usage?. Not only that i didnt even know my account was still active until i look at my recent bills. I cancelled this stupid company 7 months ago n somehow magically come back and renewed? Gtfo
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Harrison from Newark, OH on December 11th, 2020
This is a scam!!!
I was approached in a Walmart. I was intrigued! Then after 3 months, my bill spiked! So I tried to cancel it. I was told that it was canceled, but I was getting bills $400-$500 a month!!! I cant afford that. Come to find out thy not only did the rep not cancel the services, its price is more than double of the actual electric company. Please dont ask to speak to a supervisor because in this multimillion dollar company, they only have one that is able to help! I was robbed for damn near $3000!!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Pissed Off from Lorain, OH on June 17th, 2020
Price gouging after contract expires
I switched from NRG back to my local supplier after NRG messed up my billing then failed to renew my contract. After one month my electric bill doubled. Customer service said that was the variable rate now. Pretty bad during these times people losing their job NRG decides to double their price.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

RT from Rockbridge, OH on April 15th, 2020
Terrible company
Worst electric supplier ever! Dont fall for promotional scams. They charged us double price for electric after a 3 month promotional period expired which I was never told was a promotion in the first place. I even asked if the price would shoot up and they said it would remain the same price for a year. Not only are they liars, but they double charge each month and apparently thats how they make there money because they cant keep customers long enough to do so.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Hwarnock0507 from East Canton, OH on February 26th, 2020


Recommended Natural Gas Plans