Town Square Energy Logo
PUCO# :

We currently recommend natural gas plans from CenterPoint Energy Services, Constellation and Santanna Energy Services

Deceptive Coupon Practice at Town Square Energy

(1.4 / 5)

  I responded to a coupon sent to me in a mailer for Town Square Energy. The offer was for a free $50. Amazon gift card if I signed up on StopYourShock.com and used a certain coupon code. I followed the steps and enrolled using the code. After the service started I inquired about the free Amazon gift card. I was told, the code cannot be used for the plan I selected. This was covered under the fine print that stated "certain restrictions apply." To get the gift card, I needed to select an all renewable energy plan. No where on the coupon does it state this. At no time during the application on StopYourShock.com did this requirement communicated to me. In fact the website accepted the coupon code and signed me up. Little did I know that Town Square had no intentions on giving me the free $50. Amazon gift card. They just want the sign-ups and then rely on the fine print: "certain restrictions apply" to weasel out of sending the gift card.

CT Energy Consumer
May 1st, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

What a scam!

(1.2 / 5)

  I am always the one giving positive reviews and praising anything that can be praised, but not this time! Enough is enough. I signed up in September for TSE (Town Square Energy) 3 months plan to save a few dollars, knowing that I would switch to another provider close to the end of the promo rate. The first two months they charged us a higher rate than even PPL charges! I called them fully expecting this to be a misunderstanding and quickly fixed. They told me they would send a refund debit cards for the "glitch in their system". They also told me they will lock me in for 5 months starting November with a new rate that's even better. Well, cards never arrived. The new rate was there for 2 months and then it went up and went up again where my bill was $40 higher each month! What a fraud! What a scam! they should be banned from being on PA switch. I am fully intending to take the time and effort to get their attention and my money back if they don't fix this properly by going to each and every social media site and government process there is to report their fraud. I am very frugal person, but feel completely duped by this company.

Kris
March 23rd, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No notification if your application is not processed.

(1 / 5)

  I live in NH. I tried to switch to Town Square over a month ago. I got an email saying that the switching was in progress. I just got my electric bill today and found it was double what it should be. Upon closer inspection, I find that I was never switched from my previous supplier. As the contract was up with the previous supplier, they were able to charge whatever they wanted. I called Town Square to ask what had happened. After several times on hold, I was told that there was an error in my application, ie, wrong account number, and my application was rejected. They never bothered to send me an email to let me know. The service lady that I spoke to said that Town Square does not send out rejection emails or requests for more information. So, basically, I was rejected, not told and then sucked into paying double my bill with my previous supplier all because Town Square could not bother to send me an email indicating that there was a problem with my application. Basically, they suck and they should be avoided.

George K
February 28th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

We called and cancelled service within ONE HOUR of sign up and they signed up anyway AFTER we cancelled!!!!

(1 / 5)

  We had a deceptive sales pitch by two door to door townsquare reps, We checked further found their pitch was innacurate and called back WITHIN ONE HOUR and canceled, requesting that they not process the switch. Townsquare switched us anywa fter we cancelled. Next we had a nightmare multi session phone call day, trying to fix the problem created by these scammers. Though the paperwork says I can cancel within 5 days of the arrival of the terms of service, they have told me I'll have to wait a 30 day processing time before they can release me from service. Subzero stars -- avoid this dubious company!

Lightfalling
July 2nd, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

We cancelled within one hour and got signed up anyway by these scammers!

(1 / 5)

  We had a deceptive sales pitch by two door to door townsquare reps, We checked further found their pitch was innacurate and called back WITHIN ONE HOUR and canceled, requesting that they not process the switch. Townsquare switched us anywa fter we cancelled. Next we had a nightmare multi session phone call day, trying to fix the problem created by these scammers. Though the paperwork says I can cancel within 5 days of the arrival of the terms of service, they have told me I'll have to wait a 30 day processing time before they can release me from service. Subzero stars -- avoid this dubious company!

lightfalling
July 2nd, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst telemarketer

(1 / 5)

  I'm getting a telemarketing call from Town Square Energy nearly every day. I tell them I'm not interested and to stop calling (I'm on the do not call list), but to no avail. They are now worse than the "Rachel from Cardholder Services)" scam.

Raychel
September 27th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Town square energy

(5 / 5)

  its quick and easy sign up no surprises or any fees for canceling very good company

jon leoni
May 28th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Awesome 3rd Party Supplier

(5 / 5)

  Enrollment is easy. They don't jack up your price at the end of your term. Zero fees. Enrollment was free. I can also switch to another rate they offer at anytime.

K Meyers.
March 25th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great company

(4.6 / 5)

  It was easy to pick a plan. Good prices and could change at any time

Electric user
November 21st, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions