APG&E Reviews

Great service

(5 / 5)

  I switched into a low rate and when it ended I went with another company. The other company dragged their feet which caused a month hangover. I called APG&E and they gave me another month with the same low rate.

Steve
January 5th, 2020

Steve:
Thanks for the review, glad that we were able to quickly help you out! Please keep APG&E in mind when your new contract with the other guys ends, as we love great customers like you!

APG&E Responds January 6th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

APG&E Customer Reviews

The best review categories for APG&E are the order experience, rated at 2.3 out of 5, and their plans and pricing, rated at 2.0 of 5.

APG&E Rating

Ohio Energy Ratings Score:


( 3.8 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low
About APG&E

APG&E, formerly Affordable Power and founded in 2004, has grown to serve thousands of customers in the state of Texas. APG&E is present and servicing retail customers in Texas, Pennsylvania, New York, New Jersey, Maryland and Illinois.


39 Reviews for APG&E


Worst,beware of the apg&e trap

(1 / 5)

  Some guy knocked the door, he said for checking bill,, and made my wife sign contract for apg&e without telling anything. my wife who was new to this country unkowingly signed it,and stuck in this crap... This is the worst thing. Never fall in this trap..

Garlic
January 24th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

HORRIBLE!

(1 / 5)

  First - the bill arrives and before it can be mailed and them receive and FINALLY post it, it is past due -
Second - the customer service is AWFUL - the rudest people i have EVER dealt with. Nothing works - the automated service is always down - paying online is a joke - the only other option is taking it to a CASH store to pay there and they charge a fee. Cannot wait for this contract to be up! I have a business account with 4 meters/bills and this has been the longest 3 years dealing with these people.

Sandy
October 17th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Fast talking contract scam

(1 / 5)

  I called customer service when my contract was up. We worked out a price and contract length. After that she started talking very fast for a contract recording. I fell for it and agreed. I now have a higher rate, and my contract expired at 6 months instead of 12. I should have recorded her!

Matthew Banister
June 19th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible!!!!!

(1 / 5)

  Was never able to access my account online so I was force to call every month to pay my bill. Hold times would run way pass 30 minutes. Finally had to disconnect service as I was moving to a condo that already has electrical service. I pay my bill I the 1st of each month only to get a voicemail from a rep advising that my account will be sent to collections and it's the 5th of the month. I only owe $50 and the disconnection fee of $150. As I attempt to get a hold of this rep all day - I finally get a hold of her. When she asks if I am ready to make payment on my account I let her know that I am, but would like to speak to someone else. As she denies me that possibility - I now request that she forward my call to a supervisor which she again refuses to do - when I ask a 2nd time - DISCONNECTED!!!!! Horrible customer service!!!!! AVOID!!!!!!

Carolyn
December 5th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No Customer Service

(1 / 5)

  Avoid this company. They never answer their telephone. Their website is not user friendly. They don't send out invoices either online or mail them and you never know the total amount until it gets auto-charged. Their website never recognizes your password and never sends a password restore when you click the link. Then you have to register again, with the same password, every time with all those long numbers, just to view your monthly bill that they never send you. Right now, I have been on hold for customer service for 40 minutes with nobody coming on during business hours.

Nancy Graml
October 20th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Sign up at your own risk!!!

(1 / 5)

  1) Never received an enrollment confirmation via email or postmarked mail
2) Never received EFL, Terms, or Rights documents
3) Never received notice to review and rescind the terms of service within 3 days for a switch
4) Never received a bill
5) Received a disconnection notice
6) Incurred late fees even though no bill was received
7) After several request of all pertinent documents with a customer care rep (and told within 24-48 hours), still no sign of the docs.

Anonymous
August 8th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

SCAMMERS 4 SURE!!

(1 / 5)

  1. Who threatens disconnect for $35 without a 1st billing?
2. Who charges for a deposit over 1 month after contract start without notice or agreement whatsoever?
3. What website takes the full amount when the payee changes the debit amount?

HERE IS WHO! APG&E AKA www.apge.com

PAUL A. RHODES, SR.
June 15th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer Service

(1 / 5)

  Have been unable to get anyone to answer my phone calls. I've been calling all week to cancel service. I have also sent emails but recd no response.

Maria Sams
May 10th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Scam agents

(1 / 5)

  Beware when an "agent" comes to you claiming to be from your existing energy company. APG&E hires scam artist that LIE to you and trick you into signing an agreement. You then end up with a contract that obligates you to this company; which was through unethical and criminal means. I will be filing a complaint with BBB about their work ethics. I have very disappointed and angry. Please save yourself the hassle and stay away from this company.

Diana
May 30th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Angry

(1 / 5)

  I own a hair salon and while working on clients 3 men entered my salon and said they need to help me straighten out my electric bill. They said I was being double charged for distribution and sales tax and they were sent by PECO to correct it. My husband had to come over from his bike shop next door to follow up with them because I was working on a client. They had him sign paperwork and left. Later I looked over the paperwork and they sign us up with APG&E energy. They LIED to us and scammed us into signing up with them. Of course I called and canceled right away and reported them to the BBB. What a horrible company. NO STAR'S for them at all.

Nancy Barr
May 19th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Unbelievable

(0.8 / 5)

  Changed providers and never saw a bill. Finally got a bill and discovered that it was mailed on 4/11/14 and was due on 4/14/14 or late charges would be applicable. Pay the same day or get extra charges? The statement indicated that seven days should be allowed for mail. Late no matter how you look at it. So I tried to call customer service. Waited 14 minutes the first time and then was disconnected. Tried to transfer to the pay bill option on the next call and waited 20 minutes or so and still no answer. Good elevator music but no agent. This company truly needs to get it's act together.

Wonder if a complaint to the Texas Public Utility Commission and the BBB will get their attention?

Tommy
April 14th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Too Risky Will Not Switch!!

(0.2 / 5)

  After reading others reviews, AND checking this company out at the BBB, (CHECK THEM OUT NOT GOOD), I feel it is too risky to switch providers. Customer service is just as important to me as a low rate, and I don't want/need any headaches right now. I will stay with the provider I have. These reviews and BBB especially, were very helpful!

Pat
August 26th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Not good - do your homework

(0.2 / 5)

  Doing research today on this company considering a switch to them. Their website shows them as a BBB accredited business and A+ rating. The BBB site shows they are NOT an accredited business, and their rank is 'F'. Look here: http://www.bbb.org/houston/business-reviews/utility-contractors/affordable-power-lp-in-houston-tx-16002165#reasonrating

Anthony
January 4th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Competitively Priced, but not so reliable

(0 / 5)

  Yeah, their pricing is pretty good for the area, but service members can be incredibly challenging reach and billing is not exactly streamlined

Rob
January 27th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Tried Despite Horrible Reviews and Regretted It Ever Since!!!!!!!

(0 / 5)

  I read reviews and wanted to give benefit of the doubt. All the things everybody is complaining about has happened to me. I didin't get my first 3 bills. They charged me a late charge as a result but did reverse it when I complained. I got a disconnection notice for no reason mid billing cycle and then another late charge after I had already been on autopay for 2 months. They did reverse the late charge and admitted their system had billing errors. (DUH!!). I don't like having to remember if my light bill has come in and have to comb over it because I don't trust the company but that is what I've experienced almost every single month. I can't wait to let the contract lapse so I can find a reliable company, even if it's a few cents more per KWH. The savings to me aren't worth the time I've had to spend calling them over and over and sitting on hold for over 20 minutes like today..

Belle B.
January 23rd, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Terrible

(0 / 5)

  These people never sent me a bill and had my electricity cut off. When I called they said I owed for two months!!!! I'm disputing bc my bank records show I have paid in full every month. Their operations is terrible when it comes to the call center and billing. They are known for not sending bills and then they will. I have personally dealt w the former RVP of operations and when hundreds of their customers didn't have power and it was bc they didn't send out bills and being customers were being charged late fees he was just like "oh well, they are still under contract and they can't prove our mail wasn't sent out. It's not our fault if mail gets lost." He was fired after not even a year. I suggest they get better upper management and just clean out their staff and start over. Maybe they would have better ratings if they would accept responsibility for their mistakes and work w their customers on fixing their problems and not blaming their customers for their problems. Scam is written all over this company. Over charge customers to get more money by not billing. Their upper mngt is a revolving door bc they do nothing.

Unknown
October 21st, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Stay Away!!!!

(0 / 5)

  Insanity! Called many times to hear many different answers, with no information or help given. Could not even send me a bill by e-mail or mail. The first communication from them was a disconnection notice! Decided to pay the early termination fee just to get away from them!!! Received it on 6/30/2014 with payment due on 7/3/2014. Stay very far away.

Joella
June 30th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Sucky Ass Service

(0 / 5)

  I have been on hold for a total of 30 minutes just to pay a bill. This is ridiculous. I am so tired of this company. I am definitely shopping for another energy provider.

nikki
August 20th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor Customer Service

(0 / 5)

  So, after providing this company with a copy of the cancelled check they still are unable to locate the funds and apply it to my account. Two phones calls, two faxes with supporting documents and two online inquiries has gotten no results or a response from the company. They may have cheap rates, but they are beyond incompetent.

Dennis Moon
December 4th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions





Example Bill
loading...