All 1 Star Reviews

15 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Back to All Direct Energy Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
The lights are on but nobodys home!
Sold my condo,notified D.E. On my last cheque that it was sold and this was my last payment. The new owner waited 2 weeks to establish an account. You bill me for the 2 weeks. I send you lawyers documents stating completion date of sale. You continue demand me to pay someone elses bill and now put the amount out to collection for $32.
Its not the money stupid, its the principle. I have made every effort to get this straight here and am faced with a wall of collective incompetence on your part.
Do something here to improve your 2 star rating.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

B.Naylor from on February 9th, 2021
Direct Energy Services, LLC
Warning! If you notice a sizable increase in your monthly Gas Bill which I have had for years! Call your local provider to see what the Ccf amount is and check who your Gas provider is. According to my records, Direct Energy has been over charging me double to triple the Ccf for over the last 8 years! I cancelled the service immediately and am waiting on "The Office of the President" to respond!

According to their source when the contract expires they put the household on a variable rate which is considerably higher. No communication in years.

Thank you to Columbia Gas for bringing this to my attention!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Direct Energy Services from Bay Village, OH on January 19th, 2021
Good afternoon. We are terribly sorry to hear about the confusion that occurred with your rate. It does sound like your account had a fixed-rate contract, which expired, and the account transitioned to a month to month, variable-rate plan. We certainly never want our customers to be surprised at the rate they are paying, nor do we want to transition a fixed-rate account to a variable rate unexpectedly. For these reasons, and as required by law, we send out an end of term notices to any account that has a fixed-rate contract expiring within the next 30-60 days (the requirements on when the letters must be sent vary by state). The end of terms notice would have included the expiration date of the current contract, instructions on how to renew into another fixed-rate contract (either by phone, chat, or via your online account), and the important disclosure that states if we do not hear from you by the expiration date, the account will automatically move to the month to month, variable rate pricing. Our goal is always to operate as transparently as possible and in the best interests of our customers. We regret that you had a less than outstanding experience and we're truly sad to know that we have lost you as a part of our family. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future, and we wish you all the best. - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Misleading and cheating company
I shifted my gas and electric in this company because i met the custoer service rep during their launching of promotions of 1 month free bills and less rate. i want to warn consumer that it was a complete lie and front only. Also the charge is a way higher and incomprehensible. Pls dont consider this company ever.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tim from on October 29th, 2020
Hi Tim, thank you for taking the time to share this information with us and were sorry to hear that your experience was not of the quality you expected. Would like to investigate this further and find out what happened with your promotion of one month free. Please engage with us through chat at www.directenergy.com/texas We are looking forward to hearing from you soon! It will be a pleasure to help you. Have a great weekend! - Zoeh / Digital Care  
— Direct Energy
I hope I have not been scammed.
Do you have salesman to come to sign you up. Because last evening a young man came with no ID, but and I pad with direct energy logo on it and I signed up after I got a call and answered questions to confer that I was the person on the bill. I was not on my Ps and Qs. Please tell me I was not scammed?
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Regenia J Dunnings from Cleveland, OH on July 22nd, 2020
Hi Regenia, we take all concerns raised about our sales practices very seriously and require that all our vendors ensure every agent is compliant with our policies and requests made by the owner of the home that they are visiting. Furthermore, each representative is required to clearly identify themselves as being with Direct Energy and not the local utility, both verbally and by wearing the appropriate badging and uniform. We do not tolerate aggressive or forceful behavior from our employees. The Door-to-Door sales agents are employed by vendors that we partner with. If the Vendor training is the opposite of our training, we certainly need to know so that we can investigate their actions and take proper action. If possible, please provide the Agent Name, Employee ID, or physical description of the representative that came to your door. Also, if you would like, we can add your address to our internal Do Not Knock list to prevent any future solicitation.


Please feel free to contact us at 1-888-305-3828, Monday through Friday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. CST and Saturday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. CST, or engage with our Live Chat agent from www.directenergy.com It will be a pleasure to help you, and we look forward to hearing from you! - Emma / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Beware of price gouging!
My gas rate DOUBLED from January to February. I called to ask why and they said that my fixed rate plan ended and I was on a variable rate. Also, they would not do anything about it because I decided to switch to another supplier. I can understand a rate increase, but doubling the rate is clearly an attempt to gouge money from me because I decided to change suppliers. Criminal.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ccb from Kent, OH on February 27th, 2020
Good afternoon. I apologize for any miscommunication regarding our attempts to offer support at the time of this interaction. Unfortunately, as we are a third party supplier, we do not have the ability to interject into the utility company's billing system. For active customers, we have more flexibility to work with them as we can contribute to some portion of the bill. That being said, we wish there was more we could have done for you and your family when you needed the support the most. If you have any further questions or concerns, please feel free to reach out to us through our Live Chat portal: https://www.directenergy.com/. We wish you and yours the best. - Megan / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
No sign of them on my bill yet
No sign of them on my bill yet
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

No Sign from Toledo, OH on February 21st, 2020
Good afternoon. We are just as eager to become your new supplier! As we are working as a third party supplier with your current utility company, we are on their timeline of when our services are able to officially begin. Typically, this transition can take 1 - 2 billing cycles. If there is anything we can do to assist with your DE account, or any outstanding questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact us. We have a Live Chat portal that is open Monday through Friday from 8:00am - 5:00pm CST through our website: https://www.directenergy.com/. Have a great day. - Megan / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Solicitation
I had a representative stop by my house today wanted me to change my gas and electric plans to direct energy I asked for more information and contact info upon doing this the solicitor became angry and stormed off and told me to enjoy my variable rates great business model direct energy send solicitors out around dinner time and have them tell off possible customers
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Matt from Canton, OH on September 12th, 2019
Hi Matt, and thank you for letting us know about the experience you had today. This is clearly not the behavior we would expect from our door to door personnel, or any other employee, for that matter. We are sorry that you were treated disrespectfully, and appreciate you taking to alert us to the situation. Thank you, Matt, and have a great night.
— Direct Energy
House call
Had a fellow come to the door, he did introduce himself, I saw where he was from and stopped him from going into his speil, told him I was happy with whom I'm with. Got a little testy, asked me if I didn't support the troops. I told him of course I do. He told me this was his second job since he got out of the service, I thanked him for his service. I still can't figure out what him being a veteran has to do with me not wanting the services (Direct Energy) he was wanting to tell me about. Told me it was ridiculous for me to stay with whom I am with. His name was Joseph. I didn't want to rate this, but it made me.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Betty from Mason, OH on July 13th, 2019
We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you and your family. We would like to investigate this further for you. Please contact us and provide as many details as possible regarding the agent such as his name, badge number, date of the visit and your address. We will forward it to the appropriate department to investigate the sales practices of the agent.
— Direct Energy
Dishonest cons
They doubled my rate without notice I will never do business with them again!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lee M. from Dayton, OH on February 23rd, 2019
We are sorry to hear that Lee! We do send renewal information out 30 days prior to ending by mail and email. Please reach out to us at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com with your account information and we would be happy to help locate a more affordable rate! Thanks- Allie
— Direct Energy
Dont do it!
These guys will triple your rate if you don't get the official notification that your term is up. We just got a bill on their variable at 10.10 per mcf cant believe this price gauge is legal. Stick with local provider! Customer service agent even felt bad and couldn't resolve it! not worth the switch, cheaper to cancel than get stuck with this bill in January. Will also report to BBB.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Price Gauging In The End from Akron, OH on February 7th, 2019
Good Afternoon,

We wanted to take a moment to apologize that your experience has been less than exceptional and would like to assist you in properly addressing your concerns. We are working diligently to improve processes within our company to ensure that we have consistently great customer satisfaction.
In reference to rates, we issue a renewal notice within 60-90 days prior to your contract expiration date. Renewal rates are also displayed in the online portal for your review until the account has been renewed. If the account is not renewed by expiration, you are automatically placed on the month to month variable rate, as legally we are not able to place your account on a new contract without your consent. We do apologize if this was not previously explained thoroughly.

-Marie
— Direct Energy


Recommended Natural Gas Plans