All 1 Star Reviews

17 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Back to All Direct Energy Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Dishonest cons
They doubled my rate without notice I will never do business with them again!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lee M. from Dayton, OH on February 23rd, 2019
We are sorry to hear that Lee! We do send renewal information out 30 days prior to ending by mail and email. Please reach out to us at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com with your account information and we would be happy to help locate a more affordable rate! Thanks- Allie
— Direct Energy
Dont do it!
These guys will triple your rate if you don't get the official notification that your term is up. We just got a bill on their variable at 10.10 per mcf cant believe this price gauge is legal. Stick with local provider! Customer service agent even felt bad and couldn't resolve it! not worth the switch, cheaper to cancel than get stuck with this bill in January. Will also report to BBB.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Price Gauging In The End from Akron, OH on February 7th, 2019
Good Afternoon,

We wanted to take a moment to apologize that your experience has been less than exceptional and would like to assist you in properly addressing your concerns. We are working diligently to improve processes within our company to ensure that we have consistently great customer satisfaction.
In reference to rates, we issue a renewal notice within 60-90 days prior to your contract expiration date. Renewal rates are also displayed in the online portal for your review until the account has been renewed. If the account is not renewed by expiration, you are automatically placed on the month to month variable rate, as legally we are not able to place your account on a new contract without your consent. We do apologize if this was not previously explained thoroughly.

-Marie
— Direct Energy
Sales rep
Had a girl show up at my house Saturday afternoon telling me that there were a lot of complaints about our electric bills. No one on my street. I told her wasn't interested and started to shut the door. She started talking about the bills again and then stopped. She said "never mind, you're f______ up" . If these are the people that work for direct energy, I want no part of it!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

MR from Massillon, OH on September 9th, 2018
Mrsondo, we are very concerned that this was the experience you had with one of our door to door sales agents. We take issues like this seriously, and would like to investigate the situation further. If you are so inclined, please send us an email to dedigitalcare@directenergy.com and include the following information:

    Agent Name
    Date the Agent visited your residence
    Your full address or nearest local intersection
    A brief description of your specific concerns
    Any additional information that may be important

Thank you for the feedback, and we apologize that this happened. We hope to hear from you. - Jack
— Direct Energy
RUDE CUSTOMER SERVICE AGENT WHO HUNG UP ON ME FOR ASKING A QUESTION
Received a random text message from a number I didn't recognize. Text message said:
"Hey N~, we still haven't heard back from you..."

I responded with:
"About? Not sure who this is"

I received no response, so I called the number, (614) 407-9168, to find out what this was about as I've never texted or spoken to anyone at this number before.

The first guy I spoke to was INCREDIBLY rude and hung up on me because I asked him to repeat the name of his company and the name of the state energy program he was referring to as I was clueless about who he or his company was or how they got my contact information because I never requested any information about this company or any energy programs at all.

He wanted me to start giving him my personal information, which I didn't feel comfortable giving to some random person who texted me out of the blue about some program I never asked about from some company I've never even heard of.

You tricked me into calling you by sending a misleading text message and want me to sign up for a program with your company, but you get ticked off at me when I ask for more information and am not willing to just give out my personal information to someone at a company I never contacted and have never even heard of??? And then you hang up on me without even answering my questions??? If this is your company's idea of customer service, I don't know how you have any customers at all.

I called back and requested to have my name removed from your lists for both calls and text messages.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Offended In Pickerington from Pickerington, OH on September 6th, 2018
Phone harrasment
They continuelessly call my number after warning harassment!!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Phone Harassment from Findlay, OH on August 16th, 2018
We are so sorry to hear that you are still receiving telephone calls from us, Andersbart72. We would like the opportunity to place your contact information on our Do Not Call list to prevent any future solicitation from being made to you. Please know you may connect with us via email at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com or through our Facebook page to have your phone number processed accordingly. We are looking forward to resolving this for you. Thank you. -Eleanor
— Direct Energy
Failed on all Ends.... !!!!
Guy came to our door last Sept. offered amazing locked in rate deal. Said he would put me on the same budget plan I was on. Over the summer I get it my bill goes up (I've been in the same house for 12 years now I know how it works) but never has it ever almost tripled in one month. So I called and was advised I did not lock in my budget, I said the sales rep reassured me he did that. She says her supervisor says sorry too far back and I waited too long to call about the budget. I explained because my bills have been comparable. I asked if there was a fee to cancel and switch back, to which her response was "no". I said may I please speak with your supervisor, to which she put me on hold and came back, and said she is unable to take your call now, where did she go you were just talking to her???? I got upset and said I wanted a higher up administrator to contact me regarding these issues ASAP. She said ok. He did call but it was three days after my call, so I have already switched back to the company I have had for 11 or so years and never had a bill with as high as the last two months with Direct Energy. Oh and the topper today in the mail here I sit with a 99.00 Gas early termination fee (THEY LIED !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! )
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Fam5 from Brookpark, OH on August 6th, 2018
We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave valuable feedback, and we apologize for the experience detailed in your review. We are very disappointed to learn that we lost your business. We hope to have the opportunity to regain the trust and partnership we value so much. We wish you the best. - Emma / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Take the customer to the cleaners
Apparently, my contract with them ended in July 2017. I was paying 0.0669 per KWH under contract. They say they sent me a letter about renewing. Because I didn't respond, they put me on a variable rate that went from 0.081056 in Aug., up to o.122230 in Jan. 2018. When I saw the ridiculously high bill for this month, I started making phone calls & found out what Direct Energy had done to me. I cancelled my service with them immediately. I think what they did was very wrong. They could have called me or even emailed me to clear this up before switching me to a variable rate that has cost me a fortune. I feel they should refund me the excess I have paid from Aug. 17 to Jan. 18. The customer service person made a derogatory remark.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Anita Gilliam from Springfield, OH on January 8th, 2018
Anita, we want to apologize for any frustration this may have caused. We are showing that prior to the fixed rate plan you enrolled on expiring, we mailed you a renewal letter that was reminding you to renew if you wish to continue having a fixed rate plan. It states "If we dont hear from you prior to your fixed price plans term end date,well simply continue your service on a variable price plan* as outlined in the terms of service portion of your contract. While on this plan, your pricing can vary month-to-month and there are no associated cancellation fees." If you would like to review this further with us, please feel free to email us at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com with your account information and we would be happy to address your concerns further. All the best, - Jane
— Direct Energy


Recommended Natural Gas Plans