Reviews Overview
The best review categories for Frontier Utilities are their customer service, rated at 2.0 out of 5, and their billing & account management system, rated at 1.9 of 5.
5 Stars
15%
 
4 Stars
0%
 
3 Stars
0%
 
2 Stars
0%
 
1 Stars
92%
 

Review from Spencer

100% Satisfied
Didn't take long to do and I'm now 100% green electric. Its not about savings, it's about using GREEN electric. Better for us and Mother Earth. Do your part. Go green for free. Also get 2, $50 Amazon gift cards for going green. Do your part to preserve our earth. No commitment required. Free to start/stop
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Spencer from Dublin, OH on July 10th, 2021


Recent Good Review from Spencer

100% Satisfied
Didn't take long to do and I'm now 100% green electric. Its not about savings, it's about using GREEN electric. Better for us and Mother Earth. Do your part. Go green for free. Also get 2, $50 Amazon gift cards for going green. Do your part to preserve our earth. No commitment required. Free to start/stop
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Spencer from Dublin, OH on July 10th, 2021


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

2 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
100% Satisfied
Didn't take long to do and I'm now 100% green electric. Its not about savings, it's about using GREEN electric. Better for us and Mother Earth. Do your part. Go green for free. Also get 2, $50 Amazon gift cards for going green. Do your part to preserve our earth. No commitment required. Free to start/stop
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Spencer from Dublin, OH on July 10th, 2021
Best value and quality
It was easy and seamless. They had the best price without all the fine print . Simple straight forward and no hassle .
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Value Provider from Columbus, OH on October 21st, 2019



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

12 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Do I have frontier?
I changed my gas and electric a month or so ago. My gas changed but Im not sure about my electric. I never heard back from anyone and I havent gotten around to figuring out how to login yet.

Oh, this stupid survey insisted I give stars but since I dont know how can I give them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tim Tomechko from Akron, OH on January 2nd, 2021
Hello Tim, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email care@frontierutilities.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Frontier Utilities
They Charge double than original energy company
When my usage of energy keep low in winter, the price looks good. When the usage increase to 1000kwh. THEY CHARGE YOU DOUBLE!!!!. My bill in Aug turned to $220 and $100 for AEP, $ 120 for them. Don't use them! it's a trap. Even though you cancel it. the supplier would not disappear until two bill cycle.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Hazel from Columbus, OH on August 13th, 2020
They are deceiving, stay away
Their agent promised me that, I will pay less than usual unless the usage is high. But, usage is less, bill is 50% more than previous bill. They are lying and cheating. Stay away from Frontier Utilities
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Y.E. from Dublin, OH on April 1st, 2020
Thank you for providing your feedback and letting us know about this issue. We set a high standard for ourselves and are truly sorry to hear that standard was not met in your interaction with us. Please get in touch with us on (866) 926-8192 and we'd be happy to help you out.
— Frontier Utilities
They are professional deceivers
Agent of Frontier Utilities came my home and explained advantages of their company. Several times I asked her if there will be any hidden fees or not. She assured me that I will not see higher bill than I had before if the usage is not higher. I got my first bill from them, usage was less, but the bill is 50% more. And now they say that, it will take 2-3 bills for me to go back to Columbia Gas. This is trick. That's why stay away from them. If you see their agent before your door, do not trust their any words or promises. This is my live experience, unfortunately.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

YASHAR EHTIBARLI from Dublin, OH on April 1st, 2020
Thank you for providing your feedback and letting us know about this issue. We set a high standard for ourselves and are truly sorry to hear that standard was not met in your interaction with us. Please get in touch with us on (866) 926-8192 and we'd be happy to help you out.
— Frontier Utilities
Big promises only big let downs
Promised us big savings. Made mediocre attempts. When the covid-19 pandemic hit they bailed like the punks they truly are. Don't fall for their bs. Stick with your primary provider.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

J Hall from Lancaster, OH on March 24th, 2020
Thank you for bring this to our attention J Hall.
This Covid-19 is a serious ordeal and we are doing everything we can to help all of our customers. In Ohio there are programs you can reach out too that are helping our customers with paying their bills due to this crisis. You can always call whom ever it is that you pay your bill too and asked what are the best programs they have. I hope this helps. If you still have any more questions you can always call our customer care department Monday through Friday from 7am to 6pm.
Thank you,
Frontier Utilities.
— Frontier Utilities
Sorry I ever signed up
First of all I was a bit put off by a person coming to the door to sign us up. I should've politely refused but He talked a good game and my husband and I decided to join. Months later I get a letter that my service is being returned to my electric company for an outstanding supplier charge. I have been waiting on hold for quite some time to get an explanation. When I first called, the auto service asked for my account number and told me that it didn't exist. Then customer service rep asked for multiple items when to me the account number should have sufficed. All this seemed to do was add to my bill and I have seen NO benefit or savings. One thing for sure, I will never use anything beyond my local company again!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

JB from Reynoldsburg, OH on March 4th, 2020
JB we understand your frustration and truly appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us as a Frontier customer, and would love the opportunity to connect with you directly to see what how we can improve. Can you please email us at care@frontierutilities.com with your name and account information so that we can investigate further? Hope to connect with you soon. Thank you
— Frontier Utilities
Door to door scam artists!
A salesman pretending to be a utility worker came to my door in a flurry saying that there was an issue with my gas and electric. After an hour of him standing in my kitchen, he talked me into joining Frontier. I called and asked my current electric company if Frontier was legit. The rep said technically yes. It is possible for them to offer you a cheaper rate. She said the current company I was with charged at 5.4 cents per KHW. The salesman claimed around 2cents per KHW and promised that my monthly bill would now be half the amount. Same with my gas company. Of course that sounded great. He also said that I was due $100 refunds from my electric and gas companies. Also a bonus. Ive been a little iffy about what I signed up for. I received 2 letters in the mail today both from Frontier, 1 for my electric and 1 for my gas. The cost per KHW was twice the amount of my original carriers!!! The contract wasnt void until my carriers made the official switch which thankfully hadnt happened yet so I was able to cancel the contract otherwise I would have been locked into Frontiers insane prices for a year. And of course the refunds were a scam. Everything I was told was a lie. Dont let them cheat you!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Leigh from Galloway, OH on February 3rd, 2020
Guerilla tactics
A representative (who did not say who she was with until 3 minutes into her spiel) knocked on our door late at night, and immediately launched into a long stream of consciousness about our current utility rates and how she was going to lower them, she took our utility account numbers without giving us an option or questioning if we wanted to switch providers (which it wasn't even clear that was what was happening until the very end when we were speaking with a third party verification company). Not pleased that we were not even solicited for our business with their service but nearly forced into the decision without being given information, a choice, or even time to think or process what this lady was saying to us. I find it very objectionable that this is the way the company obviously trains their employees to enroll customers.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

KHS from Columbus, OH on August 28th, 2019
Scam!!!
So they came knocking on my door telling me how they could lower my bill by 80$ at least and saying if i did want to ever cancel then to just contact them and tell them my guys name and the cancellation fee was only 10$. WRONG. What they failed to tell me when i agreed to sign up was itd be 10$ Fee for every month left in my contract. And they in fact did not lower my bill one bit, when in all reality me being with them raised my bill by 30$ every month.when i was with the supplier for aep i used 1,448 kw and the bill was 176$ when i was using aep supplier. After i switched to this company i used 1,182 kw and my bill was 180$! Thats a 266 kw difference and yet it was the same price. They are liars and pure fraud. DO NOT FALL FOR THEIR SCHEMES.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Liv from Columbus, OH on June 18th, 2018
Hello Liv,
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us. We appreciate the feedback and bringing this matter to our attention. At Frontier Utilities we strive to provide exceptional customer service and sincerely apologies for any inconvenience you may had. Based on the name provided in your review, we are unable to locate your Frontier account and your contact information. Please contact us at Resolution@FrontierUtilities.com or call 1866-926-8192 and ask for Araceli so we can get this matter resolved immediately.
We are open Monday to Friday 7 am until 6:00 PM CST. We are also here to serve you on Saturdays from 8:00 AM to 2:00 PM.
Thank you.
Sincerely,
Araceli R.
— Frontier Utilities
THey will lie to your face and have false paperwork
Had a team come to our hosue, show us paperwork and breakdown the electric / gas bill for our Duke eneregy bill. Showed us exactly how the bill would be changed, and told us to "say yes on the phone" to the people at duke to change the service.

Our bill we were told would be 20 dollars cheaper a month.... IT INCREASED BY OVER 125 a month. Considering a class action lawsuit against this company for its consumer fraud and unsafe business practices.

DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rj from Cincinnati, OH on May 25th, 2018
Mr. rjdenicola217@gmail.com,
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us and we want to thank you for the feedback and bringing this matter to our attention. At Frontier Utilities we strive to provide exceptional customer service and sincerely apologies for any inconvenience you may had. Based on the name provided in your review, I am unable to locate your Frontier account and your contact information. Please contact us at Resolution@FrontierUtilities.com or call 1866-926-8192 and ask for Araceli so we can get this matter resolved immediately.
We are open Monday to Friday 7 am until 6:00 PM CST. We are also here to serve you on Saturdays from 8:00 AM to 2:00 PM.


Thank you.
Sincerely,
Araceli R.
— Frontier Utilities


All Frontier Utilities Natural Gas Plans

Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
VS. Columbia Gas
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
$0.550 / ccf
6 Month Fixed Rate
6 month
Fixed Rate
$0.508 / ccf
4.5% under market rate
Compared to the current Columbia Gas rate of $0.5317 / ccf