Frontier Utilities Reviews

Frontier Utilities Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Frontier Utilities are the order experience, rated at 2.1 out of 5, and their customer service, rated at 1.8 of 5.

Frontier Utilities Rating

Ohio Energy Ratings Score:


( 5 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low
About Frontier Utilities

Frontier Utilities was founded in 2008 by two pioneers of the Australian and New Zealand retail electricity markets. In February of 2012, they were sold to a group of Texas based investors. The currently serve retail and commercial customers in both Texas and New York.

201 Reviews for Frontier Utilities


Great for first time customers

(3.6 / 5)

  The No Hidden Fees plan I chose was great value this year. The renewal plans they offered me when it expired are not so great.

Mitch
January 20th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The company good in a pinch!!!!!

(3.2 / 5)

  This company's ok in a pinch .one thing I don't think people realize is your no getting sufficient power to power your electrical appliances at times and that is reducing the life of them and thus costing you more money.

Switch to txu,the smart thing to do..
August 15th, 2018

Hello Ms. Kimberly Britt,
We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the service we provided. At Frontier Utilities we strive to provide exceptional customer service and we appreciate your feedback. My name is Araceli and I would like to speak with you regarding your concerns about the power load you received in your home. Frontier Utilities as any other Retail provider only bills you for the electricity you use, we have no control of the energy delivered to your home, the Utility Company has control of the electricity load, feel free to contact me directly at Resolution@FrontierUtilities.com to answer any questions you may have. I look forward to speaking with you.

Sincerely,
Araceli R.

Frontier Utilities Responds August 17th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

thought i signed up, but service never started

(3 / 5)

  I thought Ihad signed up but service has not yet started. I filled out the information on November 15th with Frontier with the 6-month at 6.99.

Jim
January 17th, 2019

Hello jwenger55@gmail.com
We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the service we provided. At Frontier Utilities we strive to provide exceptional customer service and we appreciate your feedback. My name is Araceli and I will be more than happy to further assist you with your request. Feel free to contact me at Resolution@FrontierUtilities.com
Sincerely,
Araceli R.

Frontier Utilities Responds February 13th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

There's always a catch...

(2.8 / 5)

  Frontier had the best rates so, of course, I went with them. My first bill was $29. I was over the moon! Next bill...$74. How is that possible when we didn't use any more energy than the month before?? Since they have to go thru Oncor to get the energy, Oncor charges $26 JUST for the ability to use their services. That and having to use the air conditioner more. I wasn't prepared for that (since that charge was NOT explained in the fine print!). The website wouldn't let me update my new address, I had to leave a message with customer service (via email) to ask them to do it for me. It also sends email estimates of what your COULD be and you cannot how much your next bill is until it is really close to when the bill is actually due. I would've rather paid to have Oncor directly had I known it would charge me that much per month (especially since Frontier said on their page, they had "no hidden fees," but that fee was never spoken about. I just really hope there are no more surprises.

Nani1604
June 19th, 2019

Hello, by Nani1604 from 75287,
We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the service we provided. At Frontier Utilities we strive to provide exceptional customer service and we appreciate your feedback. My name is Araceli and I will be more than happy to further assist you with your account. Please contact us at Resolution@FrontierUtilities.com
Sincerely,
Araceli R.

Frontier Utilities Responds July 21st, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Stay Away From Frontier

(2.8 / 5)

  They hook you in with a decent rate, and boy, are you in for an unpleasant surprise when you get your bill. I was with them for 4 months, and got outrageous bills for a small apartment, that sits empty for 2 to3 weeks out of the month. They have a penalty for getting out of the contract but it is worth paying to avoid being swindle with a high bill every month.

MCM
February 8th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible service with contract renewal issue

(2.8 / 5)

  I chose Frontier Utilities when we finally moved into a house with non-regulated electric provider and until today I was overall very happy. I got a bill that was near double my normal bill even though the usage was barely more. I was so confused. After a very long wait on customer service, I was told that my contract ran out and I received paperwork in May. Well first, I travel for work and I just started a new job so I have been gone a ton. Second, I get emails from them Frontier every week and I never received any reminders, calls or anything. At first, the customer service rep acted like he could help and then he came back and said he was still researching a rate for me but he wanted to let me know there was nothing he could do about this bill. I spoke to him for awhile and asked for a supervisor and he put me on hold for a long time. Then he came back and told me a supervisor would call me back. After quite some time, I finally called back again, waited on hold again and was told the supervisors were gone for the day and there was nothing that could be done any way. So I was completely jerked around. I am researching and calling other providers now. So disappointed because up unitl now, I had been so happy.

Melissa W
August 17th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

You get what you pay for

(2.8 / 5)

  Very affordable rates and always a low bill as long as you stay under contract. My lights are cut off atleast every 3 months. When I call and let them know my bill isnt due yet they always tell me they sent another one out before. So apparently I am supposed to pay 3 bills in a month. I always pay on time with everything and never have a problem. They can never seem to have an answer for me. Its not the post office, I have gone to them. I check my mail daily and they are not sending this mystery bill. They are always rude and unapologetic on the phone. Id rather pay more a month and have a company that knows what they are doing and treats their customers with atleast an ounce of respect.

In the dark.
January 22nd, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Not Very Helpful

(2.8 / 5)

  Id go another route if I were you. If you in a jam and need some help, they arent very helpful at all. I needed a two day extension. Had some issues over the holiday and was flat broke. I called to get a two day extension, they told me to pay half the bill. I scraped up half the money and paid it. I called to make sure I didnt get cut off and they told me it had to be oid the day before so I was too late and they would cut me off anyway... smh. Not a good way to serve your customers at all. I got cut off for $64.

Not A Happy Camper
November 28th, 2017

Mr. Guy, thank you for your feedback. I understand your concerns and would like to take the time to address them. I reviewed your account and we did not disconnect your services and tried to accommodate you in the best possible way. If you have any further concerns, please call our Customer Service department at 1-866-926-8192 and ask to speak with Safiya. Thank you.

Frontier Utilities Responds November 28th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Remember your Contract Expiration!

(2.6 / 5)

  I was never reminded by Frontier that my contract was expiring. All others have sent that reminder. Then they jacked up the price on the next month, it was more than double! Just want to warn people.

Bootgirl
July 14th, 2020

Bootgirl, we understand your frustration and truly appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us as a Frontier customer, and would love the opportunity to connect with you directly to see what how we can improve and assist. Can you please email us at care@frontierutilities.com with your name and account information so that we can investigate further? Hope to connect with you soon. Thank you

Frontier Utilities Responds July 23rd, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst billing company in the industry

(2.6 / 5)

  I've been paying a utility bill for over 30 years. In all this time I have NEVER received an email, text AND phone call 1 day after it was due threatening disconnection for non payment. They do offer days to get it paid before they disconnect service but to even do that 1 day after it's due?? Very disappointed in this company and will not be renewing my service. In fact, I'll probably be cancelling and going back to my previous provider and pay a higher rate just I won't be HASSLED by these people every day. It will be paid and only 1 week late yet I'm going to be called and hassled every day now until that time. THIS IS RIDICULOUS AND IN NO WAY PROFESSIONAL FOR ELECTRIC SERVICE

PISSED OFF CUSTOMER
November 2nd, 2019

gary_vineyard@hotmail.com,
We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the service we provided. At Frontier Utilities we strive to provide exceptional customer service and we appreciate your feedback. We issued the Disconnect notice a day after the due date of your bill, we send you notifications about your invoice due date previously. Please let us know if we can further assist you. We are open Monday to Friday 7 am until 6:00 PM CST. We are also here to serve you on Saturdays from 8:00 AM to 2:00 PM.


Thank you.
Sincere

Frontier Utilities Responds November 8th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bill too high

(2.6 / 5)

  I have been with Frontier for about 3 months I live alone and never have on my air conditioner, because I try to keep my bills low because I am on a fixed income. I only have on 1 tv and a fan and 1 lamp until I go to bed. And my bill is over $100 I can't understand that. Then when I called I was told the people that lived there before me usage was around the same as mine. How can you compare it I am 1 person(myself) now compared to them 4 adults and 3 kids.

Very Upset!!
November 17th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Pat due

(2.6 / 5)

  I want to know why my past due bill has went up 3 times once for everyday I'm late? Tried emailing no reply If it goes up again tomorrow I'm cancelling I did like this company now I'm alittle alert

What's going on with this company
May 6th, 2018

Hello Mr. Jeremy. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us. We appreciate the feedback and bringing this matter to our attention. At Frontier Utilities we strive to provide exceptional customer service and sincerely apologies for any inconvenience you may had. Based on the name provided in your review, we are unable to locate your Frontier account and your contact information. Please contact us at Resolution@FrontierUtilities.com or call 1877-926-8193, so we can get this matter resolved immediately.
We are open Monday to Friday 7 am until 6:00 PM CST. We are also here to serve you on Saturdays from 8:00 AM to 2:00 PM.
Thank you
Araceli R.

Frontier Utilities Responds May 7th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Low "gotcha" rate then a huge regular rate

(2.6 / 5)

  Low teaser rate of 4c/kWh, then a huge rate of 13c/kWh for regular service + $10/mo "customer charge" - if you sign up under a promotion with this company, cancel and switch a month early to make sure you're not suckered in to their extremely high prices.

A Ramos
January 11th, 2017

Hello A. Ramos. I understand your frustration regarding the increase in the rate. Would you mind providing me with your account number and a good contact number to reach you? Thank you.

Frontier Utilities Responds April 25th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Price, Horrible Service

(2.6 / 5)

  Signed up for Frontier Utilities via Power to Choose Website. After Signup I received an email confirming the change of service. When I received my first bill I was charged an Electronic Auto Pay Opt-out Fee $5.00. The agreement does indicate that Auto Pay is required which is fine but I was not given an opportunity to sign up for Auto-Pay prior to receiving the first months bill. When I called Customer Service to sign up for Auto Pay and request a Refund of the fee the Rep would not refund the fee, was not friendly and didn't seem to care. The rep submitted a request for someone to call back within 24-48 hours to discuss the fee with a manager. Great way to start off new service.

Mike
June 6th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Unbelievable

(2.4 / 5)

  It started off okay until they threatened to cut my bill off for $12 it's a shame they have no roll over on your bills I wouldn't recommend it to no one. And the worst part is it's covid-19 people barely can have a job right now

Mika
July 27th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY

(2.4 / 5)

  Forgot to pay bill so I got a disconnect notice. Sent check by express mail , it cleared my bank and then they cut off power a week after my check cleared my bank. Called them and had to pay again plus disconnect and connect charge. They asked me to send proof of my payment which I faxed to them. They never acknowledged receipt of fax until I called , didnt reverse disconnect and connect charge until I asked and never apologized for their mistake. I was out fax charges , copy charges , time and food in fridge.
DO NOT USE FRONTIER

John
August 10th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Too quick to disconnect

(2.4 / 5)

  Just started with Frontier. Had paid our previous bills. Got a bill due Dec. 26 - day after Christmas. Slipped through the proverbial cracks. Got a call from Frontier on Jan. 9 saying we need to pay or they'd disconnect. Fair. We paid that night.

Shockingly, they still disconnected us the next day. When I called, Francisco, a manager, confirmed that they had indeed received our money the night before. He had no good explanation.

To be fair, he did say they would waive the disconnect and reconnect fees as well as the late fees.

Just customer beware: Frontier is a very aggressive Company. Will shut you down if you're two weeks late.

Carl G
January 10th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

My bill was higher this month than ever!!!!!

(2.4 / 5)

  I was shocked, Im a senior and on a budget, living in a small condo and respecting electricity, keep looking

Martha
January 2nd, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worste company

(2.4 / 5)

  My light got shut off , granted it was my mistake, but when I called after making payment the lady told me she would put me in for a connection it in the meantime she would look to get me a better rate. I have a baby that has severe allergies and is hooked up to a breathing machine overnight. When I told the supervisor, that there had to be some kind of emergency procedure they could follow she insisted that it was center point who would not be available to turn on my power until the next day but since I was going to be connected until morning I might as well get a good rate. Forget that my baby wont be able to breathe. I WILL NOT WAKE UP TO A DEAD BABY BECAUSE OF THE INCOMPETENT UNEMPATHETIC "SUPERVISOR" I will be staying in a hotel tonight looking for a better light company.. even if that means paying a higher rate.

Moon
December 6th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bad Customer Service

(2.4 / 5)

  Ive been a customer for over 5 years.. Not really any problems until recently. You cannot understand ANY of the employees anymore. They are all foreign and communication is now horrible, even with SUPERVISORS! I stopped getting my messages and ive repeatedly complained to no conclusion. I can't get anyone to explain this. They have disconnected my service AFTER I've made payments and still wanted me to pay the reconnect...after sitting on the phone for an hour! They USED to be good.

Lezlie
October 20th, 2017

Hi Lezlie, I apologize for the customer service experience you encountered. I was able to locate your account and would you like to speak with you further. Thank you for your feedback.

Frontier Utilities Responds October 21st, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions





Example Bill
loading...