Reviews for Inspire Energy

Updated May 22, 2024

The best review categories for Inspire Energy are the order experience, with an average of 1.1 stars, and their customer service, with an average of 1.1 stars.

Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

1 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Misleading company
Poor experience with them. Some rep came to my apartment and insisted me sign the tranfer because rates were cheap and its a renewable energy. So i signed it. But for next 2 months i received highest amount bills. Thank God i moved out from there and cancelled my service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jawaid from Strongsville, OH on March 11th, 2020



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

18 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Higher Energy Costs After Signing With Inspire
I was told my electric bill would be less. All it did was increase by the amount of the Inspire monthly fee which started at $54.99 and jumped to $294.99! When I called Inspire about the new charge, they lowered it to $159.99 for 12 months. I cancelled on January 18, prior to the "auto-renewal" of January 24. I was still billed for two months after the cancellation due to "THEIR billing cycle"! How convenient for them!!! March, I was charged $189.99. So that is $159.99 and $189.99 that I will never get back. How is this legal?
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Luci T from Westerville, OH on March 18th, 2024
LIES . . . NOTHING BUT LIES
Representative, Anika, flat out lied to me several times in Giant Eagle stating I would not fully become a customer unit I PROVIDE my account number. Big fat lie. 9 days later I get a welcome email without providing any additional information whatsoever. She stood there and had me go through the screens one by one stating SEVERAL TIMES THAT IT WAS OKAY & NOTHING CAN GO THROUGH WITHOUT ME PROVIDING MY ACCOUNT NUMBER.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lorrie from Campbell, OH on July 10th, 2023
Scam!
Inspire has come to my apartment complex multiple times. They lie and use aggressive sales tactics to make it seem like you will save money. I fell for it in January and signed up. When my bill doubled, I immediately canceled. Last weekend, they came back and tried the same thing again.

The reps talked insanely fast and gave vague answers to simple questions. I asked multiple times if they were trying to get me to switch suppliers to which they said no. When I asked what company they were from they said "Energy Choice", which is not a company, it's the program that allows you to shop different suppliers. They would not leave when I said I was not interested in their service. They insisted I was already a customer of theirs, and that they were simply there to "update" my plan. I showed them my paperwork from my current supplier, but they tried to say the new rates they were "updating" would mean cheaper bills since I used a certain amount of energy each month. This ended up being a lie, too.

None of it was making sense to me and in my confusion, I almost gave in to the pressure again. The last step of sign up is a 3rd party verification over the phone. The reps made me put the phone on speaker. The verifier asked if the salespeople had left the premises. They hadn't - they were right next to me coercing me to say "yes". Then the verifier asked if I consented to switching suppliers, at which point I insisted the reps leave and told the verifier I did not consent. I only wish I had done the same thing in January.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Adam G from Akron, OH on June 13th, 2023
Scam
Total scam.

Signed up after stopping to give my time to a rep at a kiosk in a Giant Eagle grocery store.

I just trusted that it was a legit business because they were allowed to setup shop.

I was told that Id be saving money converting from Ohio Edison. Turns out, Inspire is twice the cost. Called four days prior to the start date of my contract to cancel and was told that Id still be responsible for 1-2 billing cycles.

Ohio Edison said they had no control over this.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

RS from Twinsburg, OH on February 7th, 2023
Scam
This company is a scam and organized criminals. They contacted me years ago offering me a flat rate energy saying I will save money and I fell for it. I recently talked to a lady at the public utilities commission of Ohio that informed me that I had overpaid for service every single month and never saved a penny. I warn you to do your homework and avoid this scam at all costs! Flat rate sounds great but they make sure they always get paid! Avoid at all costs!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mike from West Chester, OH on September 13th, 2022
Fuck them
They made my bill jump $300
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Stephon Cook from Lima, OH on August 27th, 2022
Scam door to door
Woman at my door stating my electric and gas supplier sent her to review my services and I should have received something on the mail from my utility companies. Told me I needed to show her my utility bills and I asked why and she said because your utility company sent me to review them. I asked her for ID And she had a lanyard with Inspire on it but no permit from the city. PLUS I have a no soliciting sign on my door. I told her I was not interested but she insisted the utility company wanted her to be at my house. I told her to leave and she blew me a kiss as she left.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kedilee from Elyria, OH on August 22nd, 2022
Scam
Talked my husband into get inspire energy even though my name is on the account. He was told it didnt matter as long as he had the account number. I kept watching my bill go up and had no clue why until the light company told me inspire been charging me 200.00 a month.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mrs Barker from Lorain, OH on August 1st, 2022
Misleading and Fraudulent Sales Tactics
An Inspire employee came to my mom's house on 6/6/2022. Mom is elderly and lives alone. The employee used high pressure tactics to try and get my mom to switch. She called me while the employee was there and put him on the phone with me. He falsely stated that mom was currently a customer of Inspire (she isn't) and that he was there to "make sure she wasn't switched without her consent to another supplier". The man insisted that I tell him the details from mom's bill to confirm this. I said we're not interested in switching and that I did not appreciate someone bothering mom at her home. The employee stated that he was sent because we didn't respond to a mailing. I told him to please leave. He refused and stated that if I couldn't provide him with the billing info to confirm our supplier, he or someone else from Inspire would keep coming back until we did. This was threatening and unethical behavior. I told him again he needed to leave or I would contact the police. He finally relented but then accused my mom of being racist before storming off. This was unprofessional, illegal sales tactics involving fraud. And it was trespassing as he remained even after I told him to leave the premises. I will be contacting the state utilities commission about this. And the police will be called if any Inspire employee sets foot on my mom's property again.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Talontime from Upper Sandusky, OH on June 6th, 2022
Refused to leave
Showed up at my door! Refused to leave..demanded to see my bill. Very rude.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jen from Toledo, OH on May 31st, 2022
Scammers
Showed up at my door, looked at my electric bill and said they could do it cheaper. During the sign up process they kept speaking over the automated voice so I couldnt hear anything it was saying. Very sketchy. Looks like I lucked out after reading these reviews, guess they entered a number wrong because I kept getting emails about it. Dont do it people
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Unsatisfied from Toledo, OH on January 10th, 2022
Illegally has been charging me for months
Illegally has been charging me for months my father and I were both on my illuminating bell neither one of us has signed up for this company and they have been charging us for months just realized it this afternoon How can this company just illegally go onto your illuminating bell this is fraudulent 100%
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

How Can This Company Just Illegally Go Onto Your Illuminating Bell This Is Fraudulent 100% from Wickliffe, OH on September 17th, 2021
Lied, said they were AEP.
Got tricked by a door to door guy. Said he was with AEP and I Shiism en expecting a refined for being overcharged- he never once mentioned Inspire. He took my account number, and left. I was switched over to their service, at their rates, without even knowing it. When I caught it, I switched out- and they canceled my switch and switched me back to them. I then called them directly and told them what happened, and I have since filed with BBB and PUCO and they have followed up. If this happens to you, Id recommend getting the BBB and PUCO involved.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

They Will Scam You from Columbus, OH on September 1st, 2021
Dont fall for it! its a scam!
A representative from inspire energy approached me and my boyfriend at giant eagle about 8 months ago now and told us signing up with them would add no extra cost to our monthly energy bill and all it would do was tell the illuminating company that we advocate for greener energy. a few months goes by and we notice our energy bill had gone up $30 more a month. we shrugged it off as it being winter and needing to use more energy. my boyfriend did a little more digging and found that contrary to what they had told us, inspire energy was charging us an extra $30 a month. he called to cancel and the customer service person, instead of canceling the bill, attempted to sign us up for the cheaper option which was $7 less a month. do not trust them they are all about scams and lies!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bre from Eastlake, OH on June 11th, 2021
STAY FAR AWAY FROM THIS SCAM COMPANY
They set up in our local grocery store and have SCAMMED hundreds of folks on LIES! They told my husband NOTHING is changing no contract all they are is to promote GREEN ENERGY and poof our bill is SKY high. This is outrageous. I WILL be filing claims with BBB, FTC, and OH Atty General on this scam of a company!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Your Mom from Eastlake, OH on January 26th, 2021
Scam bullshit
These people stand in grocery stores and talk people into signing up for something that will save them money. Its a lie. I was just an added charge to my bill. A charge that was usually over 100% larger than my actual energy bill. They are liars and the people leaving good reviews are probably the ones that came up with the scam. You still owe me money Inspire!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Scam Hater from Brunswick, OH on December 14th, 2020
Awful Company
Dont fall for the BS of renewable energy. Just another 3rd party supplier with shady sales tactics. If a salesman happens to approach you, dont fall for any pressured tactics. Their ridiculously high rates are slightly cheaper on their website!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bob from Euclid, OH on June 14th, 2020
Would you like to double your electric bill, please?
Girl came to my door and sold me on it. I used to pay $60/mo. Now I pay $150/mo. Best part is that she came back a few months ago asking again to lower my electric bill. She swore she had never been in my neighborhood. Say what? I can't afford to double my bills...neither can you. Buyer beware.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

John Pate from Stow, OH on May 18th, 2020