Reviews for Inspire Energy

The best review categories for Inspire Energy are their billing & account management system, with an average of 1.2 stars, and their plans and pricing, with an average of 1.1 stars.

Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

1 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Misleading company
Poor experience with them. Some rep came to my apartment and insisted me sign the tranfer because rates were cheap and its a renewable energy. So i signed it. But for next 2 months i received highest amount bills. Thank God i moved out from there and cancelled my service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jawaid from Strongsville, OH on March 11th, 2020



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

14 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Scam
This company is a scam and organized criminals. They contacted me years ago offering me a flat rate energy saying I will save money and I fell for it. I recently talked to a lady at the public utilities commission of Ohio that informed me that I had overpaid for service every single month and never saved a penny. I warn you to do your homework and avoid this scam at all costs! Flat rate sounds great but they make sure they always get paid! Avoid at all costs!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mike from West Chester, OH on September 13th, 2022
Fuck them
They made my bill jump $300
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Stephon Cook from Lima, OH on August 27th, 2022
Scam door to door
Woman at my door stating my electric and gas supplier sent her to review my services and I should have received something on the mail from my utility companies. Told me I needed to show her my utility bills and I asked why and she said because your utility company sent me to review them. I asked her for ID And she had a lanyard with Inspire on it but no permit from the city. PLUS I have a no soliciting sign on my door. I told her I was not interested but she insisted the utility company wanted her to be at my house. I told her to leave and she blew me a kiss as she left.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kedilee from Elyria, OH on August 22nd, 2022
Scam
Talked my husband into get inspire energy even though my name is on the account. He was told it didnt matter as long as he had the account number. I kept watching my bill go up and had no clue why until the light company told me inspire been charging me 200.00 a month.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mrs Barker from Lorain, OH on August 1st, 2022
Misleading and Fraudulent Sales Tactics
An Inspire employee came to my mom's house on 6/6/2022. Mom is elderly and lives alone. The employee used high pressure tactics to try and get my mom to switch. She called me while the employee was there and put him on the phone with me. He falsely stated that mom was currently a customer of Inspire (she isn't) and that he was there to "make sure she wasn't switched without her consent to another supplier". The man insisted that I tell him the details from mom's bill to confirm this. I said we're not interested in switching and that I did not appreciate someone bothering mom at her home. The employee stated that he was sent because we didn't respond to a mailing. I told him to please leave. He refused and stated that if I couldn't provide him with the billing info to confirm our supplier, he or someone else from Inspire would keep coming back until we did. This was threatening and unethical behavior. I told him again he needed to leave or I would contact the police. He finally relented but then accused my mom of being racist before storming off. This was unprofessional, illegal sales tactics involving fraud. And it was trespassing as he remained even after I told him to leave the premises. I will be contacting the state utilities commission about this. And the police will be called if any Inspire employee sets foot on my mom's property again.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Talontime from Upper Sandusky, OH on June 6th, 2022
Refused to leave
Showed up at my door! Refused to leave..demanded to see my bill. Very rude.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jen from Toledo, OH on May 31st, 2022
Scammers
Showed up at my door, looked at my electric bill and said they could do it cheaper. During the sign up process they kept speaking over the automated voice so I couldnt hear anything it was saying. Very sketchy. Looks like I lucked out after reading these reviews, guess they entered a number wrong because I kept getting emails about it. Dont do it people
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Unsatisfied from Toledo, OH on January 10th, 2022
Illegally has been charging me for months
Illegally has been charging me for months my father and I were both on my illuminating bell neither one of us has signed up for this company and they have been charging us for months just realized it this afternoon How can this company just illegally go onto your illuminating bell this is fraudulent 100%
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

How Can This Company Just Illegally Go Onto Your Illuminating Bell This Is Fraudulent 100% from Wickliffe, OH on September 17th, 2021
Lied, said they were AEP.
Got tricked by a door to door guy. Said he was with AEP and I Shiism en expecting a refined for being overcharged- he never once mentioned Inspire. He took my account number, and left. I was switched over to their service, at their rates, without even knowing it. When I caught it, I switched out- and they canceled my switch and switched me back to them. I then called them directly and told them what happened, and I have since filed with BBB and PUCO and they have followed up. If this happens to you, Id recommend getting the BBB and PUCO involved.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

They Will Scam You from Columbus, OH on September 1st, 2021
Dont fall for it! its a scam!
A representative from inspire energy approached me and my boyfriend at giant eagle about 8 months ago now and told us signing up with them would add no extra cost to our monthly energy bill and all it would do was tell the illuminating company that we advocate for greener energy. a few months goes by and we notice our energy bill had gone up $30 more a month. we shrugged it off as it being winter and needing to use more energy. my boyfriend did a little more digging and found that contrary to what they had told us, inspire energy was charging us an extra $30 a month. he called to cancel and the customer service person, instead of canceling the bill, attempted to sign us up for the cheaper option which was $7 less a month. do not trust them they are all about scams and lies!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bre from Eastlake, OH on June 11th, 2021