Reviews for National Gas & Electric

Updated May 22, 2024

The best review categories for National Gas & Electric are their plans and pricing, with an average of 1.0 stars, and the order experience, with an average of 1.0 stars.


Recent Good Review from Billy Jones

Amazing Company
Amazing company with low fixed rates.Excellent Supplier
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Billy Jones from Cincinnati, OH on August 7th, 2018


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

4 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Amazing Company
Amazing company with low fixed rates.Excellent Supplier
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Billy Jones from Cincinnati, OH on August 7th, 2018
Good for 3 months
I am the one who shops for the lowest price. By my experience I can see that the 3-month plans will always be the cheapest!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mark P. from Alexandria, OH on August 1st, 2018
Good low rate
They always are one of the lower options online. Repeat customer in Ohio.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kevin O. from New Albany, OH on May 16th, 2018
NGE will save you a lot of money if youre a smart consumer.
A lot of these negative reviews are from people who dont know how to shop. If you sign up on a 3 cent rate of course your rate is going to skyrocket in month 4. Its like they are offering you a nearly-free trial and you want them to do it forever?! Sign up for a 12 or 24 month plan, shop around when your contract expires and enjoy the savings. Just dont get greedy and expect the low 3 month prices to be the rates you pay all the time.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bryan from Columbus, OH on April 12th, 2018



Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

2 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
No Issues
Had them for about 8 months now. So far no major issues besides them not being open on the weekends, everything is fine. I got a great plan that was WAY lower then my utility had to offer and they have 100% USA customer service team which is great.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jessie from Batavia, OH on May 14th, 2018
Decent company
Seems like others come here to rant but I happen to have a decent experience with the company. As long as you stay on top of your contract expiration then you should be fine, seems like to me that the other reviewers don't seem to do that which is why they end up with the variable rate.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Marie P from Bucyrus, OH on March 1st, 2018



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

21 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
I have been scammed by this company
This company doubled my bill, and almost had my service disconnected. Terrible company!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Terrell Hisle from Columbus, OH on November 10th, 2022
Lying Scoundrels
I declined their offering and service, yet these scoundrels set themselves as my chosen provider.

I was traveling (job) and did not receive the confirming email until beyond the cancellation deadline.

File a police report for fraud, identity theft and elder abuse and they will suddenly have a change of heart and cancel waiving the cancellation fee.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lockm Up! from Wilmington, OH on May 10th, 2021
Beware!
They fail to mention it to you, but the more electric you use the higher the price for their electric, my bill from summer changed from .069, in summer to .099 in the winter when I turned my heater on, they told me that I used more this month than last month so mI had to pay more for my electric! not just one set price!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Charles Harris from on February 18th, 2021
Calling my grandma just to harass her!
I would like to start off by saying how rude of Kevin was to call my grandma several times just to harass her about switching companies after multiple times of her telling him no she does not want to switch at this time. The finale time he called her just to tell her she needs anger management. My grandma is a single elderly woman that has been through hell and back and doesnt need this on her plate. So please if some from the company would like to give me some contact information I would love to speak to you one on one:).
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kelsea from Cincinnati, OH on August 20th, 2018
Rip off
Call five times in one day four of the five times I pushed 0 which was to tell them I was not interested still got a call after that so I found out which company it was the guy insisted his his rate was cheaper I told him my rate and my rate was cheaper than what his was he tried to convince me differently all they were concerned with was getting me signed up don't waste your money they are a rip-off outfit
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

K T from Cincinnati, OH on August 9th, 2018
Horrible and unethical company - Beware!
Like others, when my contract expired in the middle of winter heating months the rate skyrocketed. At the same time they were "delayed" in getting billing info to Duke so I did not see that my new rate jumped from 4.9 cents/kwh to 18.99cents/kwh. Nice trick. It seems odd that they were never delayed before....They got me for a total of 5 months at this rate before I could get switched to another company. What they are doing may not be illegal but it sure is unethical. if you go with them make sure you get out on the day the contract is up.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Joe from Springboro, OH on May 4th, 2018
I was lied to!
Got a call, said they were my provider and was offering a reduced rate because of my good payment history. The rate they quoted was over .09 per kWh. Now I have to make sure they don't change my service!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Km from Lima, OH on May 2nd, 2018
Typical bait and switch - steer clear
When my contract evidently expired two months ago, with no notice I might add, the price jumped to $0.1899/KWH. SCAM! Just switched to a higher rated supplier at $0.0495 locked in for 36 months...
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dan from Hamilton, OH on April 9th, 2018
Do Not Sign Up For Anything With This Company!!!
Asked the telemarketer when I agreed to signup what would happen after the 3 months were up. Told I would be put on a variable rate. I asked how much it would go up and was told a few cents. Two months after the 3 months were up, my rate went to 18 cents. The next month went to 20 cents. I can't get off for 3 months. The people at NG&E won't let me signup for a lower rate because I have opted out. My home company claims they can't stop it for 3 months. Not exactly clear as to why this it. I don't know how these people sleep at night. DO NOT SIGN UP WITH THIS COMPANY. THEY ARE NOT REGULATED AND CAN CHARGE YOU ANY RATE THEY WANT!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

LTHW from Saint Clairsville, OH on March 1st, 2018
DO NOT FALL FOR THEIR PROMOTIONAL RATE! THEY ARE THIEFS!
They will intentionally offer a 3-month promotional rate in the early fall, so it will end during the coldest winter months and they will raise it 5X (from $.038/kwh to $.156/kwh)! They will call this the "Market Rate", however the comparison rate on my bill was $.056! Not surprisingly, they cannot provide me any documentation showing where they come up with this "market" rate. Read the reviews! This is a trend.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Angry In OH from Marietta, OH on February 19th, 2018
Complete scam. Price gouging should be illegal.
First 3 months were fine. Rate of 3.79. Got a letter stating my contract would end but i didn't need to anything as it would be a variable rate. I let it slide for one month and got a $468 electric bill!!! They charged me almost 15!!! There was no transparency and no way this shouldn't be illegal. What is our recourse!?
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Noel from East Canton, OH on February 6th, 2018
DON'T GIVE THESE GUYS YOUR MONEY!!!
Signed up for a rate of $.046 back in the summer and then come the coldest month of the year once I was in the variable rate period the rate is suddenly 5X that!
Jerks.
Immoral.
I wish I had known. Just stick with your regular trustworthy supplier.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ngraydayton from Dayton, OH on February 1st, 2018
Scam company
They will jack up your rates first chance they get. Do not use this company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Alan from Lima, OH on January 30th, 2018
Price tripled my electric bill
This company tripled the price of my electric bill after my contract ended and didnt bother to notify that my contract was up. Huge scammers and are out for money. Please do what I didn't do and take these reviews to heart. This is a really bad company that is looking to screw you over.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Eliza from Amelia, OH on January 30th, 2018
Beware
Went from 6.0 kwh to 14.9 kwh
Was never sent a letter or even got a phone call . Customer service sucks.
They tried blaming my dpl for the increase. That was a LIE I already spoke th them and they told me i was getting ripped off
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Carrie from Xenia, OH on January 24th, 2018
Stay away from National Gas & Electric
Scammers!!!!! Read reviews before going to another supplier. Wish i had known what i know now. Rate went from .0379 to .1384 per kWh. I called them and they said that is the going market rate. I called her out and said there is no way that is the going rate based on the market. Everything i have saved over the years just went to this piece of crap establishment and then some! I wish there was some action i could take against National Gas & Electric!!! Based on reviews, there are many many ticked off customers! grrrr
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mike from Fostoria, OH on January 23rd, 2018
Jacked up prices
Tripled the price within two months.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Joe from Lima, OH on January 23rd, 2018
BEWARE!!
Beware of this company. I switched from National Gas & Electric 3 days before my contract ended. My electric company did not complete the switch until the following month. For my last billing cycle, NG&E bumped my rate from 4.49 KWH to 12.29 cents per KWH. None of the rates on their website are that high! And they are not intro rates.
I called and asked for an adjustment and was told no way. So beware and watch your timing if you switch to another company. I have been seeking the lowest rates for years and never had a company do this to me. I do not recommend National Gas & Electric to anyone.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

AEP Customer from East Liverpool, OH on December 8th, 2017
Biggest Rip-off Ever
I am a 70+ senior citizen living in a home ( a single story) with my spouse and the current months charge is $650 service charge on top of electric charges of $250. I was never notified that the pricing would go up and the cs rep told me my usage was 200% higher than normal, give me a break at 70 years old how can I use 200% more electric than normal. The 3-month period ended, what 3-month period? CS rep read totally from script and refused to do anything about such an outrageous charge. Of course I cancelled with them and going back to local supplier. Would never recommend this to anyone. This is what is wrong with this country, greedy companies such as this taking advantage of senior citizens as well as other paying Americans.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

DISGUSTED-RIP-OFF from Cincinnati, OH on August 21st, 2017
Bait and Switch - Price Gauging - Rate Trippled after Promotional Period and was DOUBLE that of Duke Energy
Bait and Switch - Price Gauging - Rate Trippled after Promotional Period and was DOUBLE that of Duke Energy, tried calling them and they said "it is our perspective to charge whatever market rate we see fit and you did not renew to a new promotional contract so that is that...did nothing to earn or keep my business! Beware of their seemingly low promotional rates!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ohiogauged from Loveland, OH on August 9th, 2017
Horrible, Horrible, Horrible
After initial contract expiring I renewed with them online. On my next bill it was not reflective of the new contracted price. I contacted them to explain my situation. Worst customer service experience ever. No help and pretty much said I had no contract, then I tell them I have email and home mail conformation. When that failed for them, they then said I didn't put in enough account numbers. How did you get my info if you don't have right account number? I also tried to do the same process online and "forget" the last number (like they said I did), and not possible will not let you continue without full account number. So they did absolutely nothing and the following month they charged me .12/kwh. More than doubling my regular bill. Definitely would advise anyone to stay away or switch as soon as your first contract with them expires.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lesson Learnt from Lima, OH on August 4th, 2017