The best review categories for National Gas & Electric are the order experience, with an average of 1.5 stars, and their customer service, with an average of 1.5 stars.

Recent Good Review from Billy Jones

Amazing Company
Amazing company with low fixed rates.Excellent Supplier
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Billy Jones from Cincinnati, OH on August 7th, 2018


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

4 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Amazing Company
Amazing company with low fixed rates.Excellent Supplier
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Billy Jones from Cincinnati, OH on August 7th, 2018
Good for 3 months
I am the one who shops for the lowest price. By my experience I can see that the 3-month plans will always be the cheapest!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mark P. from Alexandria, OH on August 1st, 2018
Good low rate
They always are one of the lower options online. Repeat customer in Ohio.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kevin O. from New Albany, OH on May 16th, 2018
NGE will save you a lot of money if youre a smart consumer.
A lot of these negative reviews are from people who dont know how to shop. If you sign up on a 3 cent rate of course your rate is going to skyrocket in month 4. Its like they are offering you a nearly-free trial and you want them to do it forever?! Sign up for a 12 or 24 month plan, shop around when your contract expires and enjoy the savings. Just dont get greedy and expect the low 3 month prices to be the rates you pay all the time.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bryan from Columbus, OH on April 12th, 2018



Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

2 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
No Issues
Had them for about 8 months now. So far no major issues besides them not being open on the weekends, everything is fine. I got a great plan that was WAY lower then my utility had to offer and they have 100% USA customer service team which is great.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jessie from Batavia, OH on May 14th, 2018
Decent company
Seems like others come here to rant but I happen to have a decent experience with the company. As long as you stay on top of your contract expiration then you should be fine, seems like to me that the other reviewers don't seem to do that which is why they end up with the variable rate.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Marie P from Bucyrus, OH on March 1st, 2018



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

20 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Lying Scoundrels
I declined their offering and service, yet these scoundrels set themselves as my chosen provider.

I was traveling (job) and did not receive the confirming email until beyond the cancellation deadline.

File a police report for fraud, identity theft and elder abuse and they will suddenly have a change of heart and cancel waiving the cancellation fee.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lockm Up! from Wilmington, OH on May 10th, 2021
Beware!
They fail to mention it to you, but the more electric you use the higher the price for their electric, my bill from summer changed from .069, in summer to .099 in the winter when I turned my heater on, they told me that I used more this month than last month so mI had to pay more for my electric! not just one set price!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Charles Harris from on February 18th, 2021
Calling my grandma just to harass her!
I would like to start off by saying how rude of Kevin was to call my grandma several times just to harass her about switching companies after multiple times of her telling him no she does not want to switch at this time. The finale time he called her just to tell her she needs anger management. My grandma is a single elderly woman that has been through hell and back and doesnt need this on her plate. So please if some from the company would like to give me some contact information I would love to speak to you one on one:).
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kelsea from Cincinnati, OH on August 20th, 2018
Rip off
Call five times in one day four of the five times I pushed 0 which was to tell them I was not interested still got a call after that so I found out which company it was the guy insisted his his rate was cheaper I told him my rate and my rate was cheaper than what his was he tried to convince me differently all they were concerned with was getting me signed up don't waste your money they are a rip-off outfit
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

K T from Cincinnati, OH on August 9th, 2018
Horrible and unethical company - Beware!
Like others, when my contract expired in the middle of winter heating months the rate skyrocketed. At the same time they were "delayed" in getting billing info to Duke so I did not see that my new rate jumped from 4.9 cents/kwh to 18.99cents/kwh. Nice trick. It seems odd that they were never delayed before....They got me for a total of 5 months at this rate before I could get switched to another company. What they are doing may not be illegal but it sure is unethical. if you go with them make sure you get out on the day the contract is up.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Joe from Springboro, OH on May 4th, 2018
I was lied to!
Got a call, said they were my provider and was offering a reduced rate because of my good payment history. The rate they quoted was over .09 per kWh. Now I have to make sure they don't change my service!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Km from Lima, OH on May 2nd, 2018
Typical bait and switch - steer clear
When my contract evidently expired two months ago, with no notice I might add, the price jumped to $0.1899/KWH. SCAM! Just switched to a higher rated supplier at $0.0495 locked in for 36 months...
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dan from Hamilton, OH on April 9th, 2018
Do Not Sign Up For Anything With This Company!!!
Asked the telemarketer when I agreed to signup what would happen after the 3 months were up. Told I would be put on a variable rate. I asked how much it would go up and was told a few cents. Two months after the 3 months were up, my rate went to 18 cents. The next month went to 20 cents. I can't get off for 3 months. The people at NG&E won't let me signup for a lower rate because I have opted out. My home company claims they can't stop it for 3 months. Not exactly clear as to why this it. I don't know how these people sleep at night. DO NOT SIGN UP WITH THIS COMPANY. THEY ARE NOT REGULATED AND CAN CHARGE YOU ANY RATE THEY WANT!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

LTHW from Saint Clairsville, OH on March 1st, 2018
DO NOT FALL FOR THEIR PROMOTIONAL RATE! THEY ARE THIEFS!
They will intentionally offer a 3-month promotional rate in the early fall, so it will end during the coldest winter months and they will raise it 5X (from $.038/kwh to $.156/kwh)! They will call this the "Market Rate", however the comparison rate on my bill was $.056! Not surprisingly, they cannot provide me any documentation showing where they come up with this "market" rate. Read the reviews! This is a trend.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Angry In OH from Marietta, OH on February 19th, 2018
Complete scam. Price gouging should be illegal.
First 3 months were fine. Rate of 3.79. Got a letter stating my contract would end but i didn't need to anything as it would be a variable rate. I let it slide for one month and got a $468 electric bill!!! They charged me almost 15!!! There was no transparency and no way this shouldn't be illegal. What is our recourse!?
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Noel from East Canton, OH on February 6th, 2018


Gas Plans & Rates


Recommended Plans
All Plans
Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
Monthly Recurring Charge
The 'Monthly Recurring Charge' is a fee that the provider will add to each of your bills in addition to the electricity/gas usage charges.
36 Month Fixed Rate
36 month
Fixed Rate
$0.669 / ccf
6.2% under market rate
Compared to the current Duke rate of $0.7130 / ccf
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
36 Month Fixed Rate
36 month
Fixed Rate
$0.699 / ccf
2.0% under market rate
Compared to the current Duke rate of $0.7130 / ccf
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
$0.695 / ccf
2.5% under market rate
Compared to the current Duke rate of $0.7130 / ccf
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
$0.599 / ccf
16.0% under market rate
Compared to the current Duke rate of $0.7130 / ccf
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
$0.555 / ccf
22.2% under market rate
Compared to the current Duke rate of $0.7130 / ccf
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
$0.599 / ccf
16.0% under market rate
Compared to the current Duke rate of $0.7130 / ccf
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
24 Month Fixed Rate
24 month
Fixed Rate
$0.749 / ccf
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
2 Year Fixed Rate
24 month
Fixed Rate
$0.499 / ccf
30.0% under market rate
Compared to the current Duke rate of $0.7130 / ccf
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
1 Year Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
$0.599 / ccf
16.0% under market rate
Compared to the current Duke rate of $0.7130 / ccf
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
12 Month Indexed Rate
12 month
Indexed Rate
$0.635 / ccf
10.9% under market rate
Compared to the current Duke rate of $0.7130 / ccf
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
24 Month Fixed Rate
24 month
Fixed Rate
$0.579 / ccf
18.8% under market rate
Compared to the current Duke rate of $0.7130 / ccf
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
$0.599 / ccf
16.0% under market rate
Compared to the current Duke rate of $0.7130 / ccf
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
6 Month Fixed Rate
6 month
Fixed Rate
$0.425 / ccf
40.4% under market rate
Compared to the current Duke rate of $0.7130 / ccf
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
$0.899 / ccf
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Variable Rate
1 month
Variable Rate
$0.595 / ccf
16.5% under market rate
Compared to the current Duke rate of $0.7130 / ccf
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
24 Month Fixed Rate
24 month
Fixed Rate
$0.999 / ccf
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
18 Month Fixed Rate
18 month
Fixed Rate
$0.555 / ccf
22.2% under market rate
Compared to the current Duke rate of $0.7130 / ccf
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Popular Plan
30 month
Fixed Rate
$0.499 / ccf
30.0% under market rate
Compared to the current Duke rate of $0.7130 / ccf
$0.00 monthly recurring charge