Reviews for SmartEnergy

The best review categories for SmartEnergy are their customer service, with an average of 1.1 stars, and their plans and pricing, with an average of 1.0 stars.

Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

9 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Criminal
Horrible....do not fall for this, they promise gift cards you never receive.....they solicited in our apartment building where it says no soliciting....after 12 months of about $100 a month it shot up to $342 and then $711!!!!!!!! For one month in a small apartment, canceled them thru Duke and called them, they are supposedly refunding us $178 by check, I am going to report to the better business bureau, this is THIEVERY at its very worst, they need to get shut down!!!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tina Burton from Amelia, OH on August 6th, 2022
Fraudulant
They hike their prices every month and take advantage of consumers and charge whatever they want. The charges never go down and it gets worse with each month and it is rough on seniors on fixed incomes who have budgets and have to keep paying extra each month. which isn't right.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dissatisfied from Centerburg, OH on July 21st, 2022
Overcharged
They didn't give me any notice and doubled my bill. Don't sign up with them. Very unhappy with them
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Robin from Cincinnati, OH on July 21st, 2022
BE AWARE!!!!!
SMART ENERGY LURES YOUIN WITH A GIFT CARD, THEN THEN SCREW YOU OVER IN THE END!!!!!!! I WAS NOT AWARE THAT MY CONTRACT ENDED-THEY DID NOT NOTIFY ME BUT THE INCREASED MY BILLING AMOUNT PER USGAGE FOR ASTRONOMICALLY HIGH IT MAD ME CRY.... MY BILL WAS $720.00 FOR ONE MONTH, THEN WHEN I CANCELLED THEM MY NEXT BILL WAS $620.00 EVEN THOUGH I STOPPED USING ALOT OF ELECTRICITY. THYE TOLD ME I WAS OUT OF CONTRACT SO THEY COULD CHARGE ME AS MUCH AS THEY WANTED AND ACCORDING TO FIRST ENERGY THATS RIGHT!!!! BUYER BEWARE!!!! THEY GOUG YOU SO BAD IT IS NOT FAIR!!!!!
BEWARE!!!!! I HATE THEM.... I CANT AFFORD THESE HIGH PRICES!!!! REALLY...WHO DO THEY THINK THEY ARE????
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

DONT GET INVOLVED W THEM from Broadview Heights, OH on July 20th, 2022
Mislead
The company did not properly identify themselves as I thought I was signing with... they mislead me and my bill is a ripoff..
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jimmy from Findlay, OH on July 5th, 2022
Ridiculous
It started out ok and then our bill jumped to over 200.00. We called first energy and they sd they were charging us quadruple the regular price. Drop this company ASAp
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Anita from Marion, OH on June 30th, 2022
My rates went up over 400%
My Rates went up over 400% and the customer service agent tried to tell me it was because of my usage. Granted, my usage went up too but the rep blatantly lied about the rates, telling me a low rate when I was looking at the .25kwh.Thats just criminal
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

They Fleeced Me from Lewis Center, OH on June 28th, 2022
Do not use them!! Especially in Ohio
Extremely shady company. They enrolled me on a variable plan after 6 months. I never signed up for it. Got an electric bill for over 525 dollars and 400 dollars was this companies carrier charge. Never received gift card of 100 dollars. Takes over a month to cancel them. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Customer In Ohio from Minford, OH on June 20th, 2022
Horrible company
This is a rip off. Run. The cancellation for this company takes 1 to 2 months in which Smart Energy can still charge you for those 2 months. Can you say Rip off. They get you by telling you that at the end of your 6 month trial you'll receive a $100 visa gift card. All lies. They send you a post card of a gift card then ask you to do too much for it. Don't do it. Research for yourself before signing up. Its a battle trying to cancel.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

K Tolliver from Cleveland, OH on December 28th, 2020