Reviews for Just Energy

Updated May 22, 2024

The best review categories for Just Energy are their plans and pricing, with an average of 1.2 stars, and the order experience, with an average of 1.1 stars.

Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

1 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Constantly POOR Customer Service
Sorry but extremely disappointed in your customer service. I will be posting your poor responses to social media and anywhere else I can
After many calls today, I finally got through. Your system was literally dropping me with no voice mail or messages. When I got through, your rep was very friendly and helpful, but gave me some interesting information.
NO REQUEST to process my credit balance was ever submitted by JUST NRG, after two months. How long would you have left that balance outstanding if I didnt call?
Even though you are quite eager to receive customer funds to pay for bills, apparently you are incapable of processing a refund/credit balance. Instead, JUST NRG prefers to take an excessive amount of time (6-8 WEEKS? Seriously?) to create a paper cheque and mail it out.
Are you aware that you then are paying for the paper cheque forms, and for postage? And this is supposed to be more effective HOW?
And the reason for the delay must either be due to poor or inefficient process policies or for underhanded marketing.
Either way, it does not look good to the quality of the management of JUST NRG. Obviously your shareholders come first before your customers. A good marketing person will tell you that if you upset ONE customer, they tell two others, and they tell two others, and so on.
Good luck, and thank you for your previous business.
Regards,
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

RR from 00000 on March 16th, 2020



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

17 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Representative LIED!
I would like to cancel this contract. I was at Kroger when your representative approached me yesterday. He quoted me a rate of 6.9 cents per kilowatt. When I got home and read this contract, it states over 8 cents per kilowatt. Please cancel this NOW! And inform your representatives to say the truth! He did not show me what I was signing, just told me to hit the blocks for automatic signatures. The blocks and writing was so small I couldnt read it. I am very upset. Please address this request ASAP! I do not want to wait for the billing cycle to start!
Thank you for your prompt response,
Betty Livesay
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Betty Livesay from Dayton, OH on November 23rd, 2023
Hi Betty Livesay,

We deeply regret to learn if any misinformation was provided to you. We strive for the best customer experience and would like to be able to provide you with same optimal experience. It will be a pleasure to look into this enrollment for you. We thank you so much for your patience while resolving your concern and giving us the opportunity to assist you. Your feedback is very valuable to us. We will be contacting you shortly. At your convenience you can also contact our Customer Service Department at 1-866-587-8674. One of our agents will be glad to assist you. Our business hours are 9am 7pm ET, Monday-Friday. Thank you!
— Just Energy
SCAM
DO NOT switch to this company as your energy supplier. I just received my first bill with Just Energy as my supplier and it was almost $200 more than my previous bill (from $160 to $330).The plan I was enrolled in was NOT explain properly and was simply a scam to get my business. I reviewed my bill with the agent I enrolled with and was assured multiple times that my bill would NOT increase. This was a blatant LIE. I cancelled this company IMMEDIATELY but am stuck with them for another billing cycle until it switches back to my previous supplier (energy harbor), who happens to be a whole lot cheaper and much more honest. Beware of the gimmicks they try to use to get your business. I will post reviews on every sight I can so nobody else has to deal with this predatory businesses and their unethical business practices.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Amy O. from North Canton, OH on August 2nd, 2022
Hi Amy, thank you for bringing this to our attention. We want to assist with any bill concerns. An agent will contact you soon to have this resolved.

Best Regards,
Lily R.
— Just Energy
Sams club sign up
You get roped in with getting a gift card. Deborah Fox lied about the rates, the pricing, and when we'd get the gift card. We signed up yesterday, of course they push you through and just tell you to sign things, and we thoroughly read the contract today. Deborah said it'd be 6 cents but the contract states 8.5 cents PLUS she stated $80 was for the first amount of usage however the contract says that's just the supplier fee. Our current, well previous, supplier fee was $30. Today we're calling, canceling, and will NEVER do this again. Keep your gift cards. I'm very sad Sam's Club partnered with you and I'll also be reaching out to them. I pay to shop there and don't need lied to as well as wasting my time.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

EP from East Canton, OH on April 30th, 2022
thank you for your feedback. We can help with your billing concern. Rest assured that we will do everything we can to help resolve this situation for you as quickly as possible. <br /><br /><br />Best Regards,<br />Lilly, Social Media Advisor
— Just Energy
What a Joke
Of course they got me at sams club with all these gift card offers if you sign up. I asked if my bill was going to change and they said no so I signed up. My bill was more than tripled and I never got any gift cards. Do not sign up. They will screw you over and take all your money.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Not Happy from Youngstown, OH on March 2nd, 2022
Hello, thank you for your feedback. We can help with your billing concern. Rest assured that we will do everything we can to help resolve this situation for you as quickly as possible. Please, give us a call at your convince at 1-866 587 8674.


Best Regards,
Lily, Social Media Advisor
— Just Energy
Dont do it
I signed up in Sams Club. The girl looked at my bill and said I would save money because they offered a flat fixed rate of 54.99 just as a special deal for Sams Club members. I thought it was too good to be true so I asked if the flat rate had a cap to which she replied no it doesnt! Then she carefully scrolled to where I needed to sign. This is my fault because I should have stood there in Sams Club with my cart full of groceries and read all of the contract. I think they are counting on people not wanting to do that. Turns out the flat rate is only for the first 900 kw. After that it is billed at 5.99 per kw. This is in no way a savings and would actually cost me more. But she stood right there and lied. When I actually got home and read the contract I called the company and canceled.
Just Energy still has kids in the local Sams club preying on unsuspecting, trusting people. Dont buy your energy supplier at the grocery store!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dont Do It from Lima, OH on February 25th, 2022
Hi Julie, thank you for your feedback. We apologize for any inconvenience, a member of our team will be contacting you soon to start an investigation and get this resolved for you as quickly as possible.

Best Regards,
Lily, Social Media Advisor
— Just Energy
No Accountability
I have been on phone calls with Just Energy for over 3 hours today dealing with erroneous charges on my account. Per my contract, I was not to be assessed any ETF. When I received the charge, I called and the service associate assured me that the charges were removed from my account. I called back to make a final payment on my account, and the representative informed me that the account no longer reflected the waived ETF. Now I am back on hold to go through this process all over again.
I have repeatedly had trouble hearing the agents and many of the agents are unable to discuss and comprehend the charges as they are listed on my bill. When questioned, they always defer to another department. This causes the customer to have to re-explain the situation too many times over the course of one phone conversation.
I have to laugh about the message played while on hold. They claim to be the number 1 energy provider in Houston, but there are no other accolades from the multitude of states that they serve. I hope others stay away from this company because they will send you through a never ending cycle without any direct answers to your concerns.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Glad To Be Gone from Westerville, OH on September 27th, 2021
Hi, thank you for your feedback and for bringing this to our attention. We apologize for any frustration caused. Allow us to assist you with your concern about ETF. Please, contact us at 1-866-587-8674. We will be more than happy to clarify all details and get you a resolution.

Sincerely,
Lily, Social Media Advisor
— Just Energy
Too expensive
They will call you all the time and sending threatening notices to cancel, and much worse . When I called to find out about any early termination charges the little girl hung up on me. Terrible customer service you can barely understand them, disappointed with this company, needs to be closed down charging unsuspecting consumers double for supply #fired
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

PaiPais Granny from Englewood, OH on August 20th, 2021
Hi PaiPais, Thank you for your time in leaving this feedback. We want to help resolve any concerns. Please call us at 1-866-587-8674.

Many Thanks,
Lily, Social Media Advisor
— Just Energy
Huge rip off
So Just Energy stopped me in Sam's Club and convinced me that they were offering me a lower price (they did have my bill to compare.) After one month with them, my electric bill went from $90 to $151. I called Ohio Edison to find out what was going on only to find out Just Energy was charging me 2 1/2 times the amount I was paying with Ohio Edison. I switched back immediately. Don't let their promotions fool you. I got a $70 Sam's club card for changing my electric and gas. I had to wait for a new billing cycle to change back. So in the end, I will have paid $160+ more for service than I would have paid if I had stayed where I was. Imagine if I stayed a year and didn't catch it. That's $1,920 more a year and it would have been higher because I use gas in the winter to heat. Their customer service representative says they've been in business for 20 years, they must be doing something right. I told her no, you just have a bunch of idiots (like me) for customers, who are confused as to why their bill went up. And, I haven't spoke to anyone with Just Energy that I could understand. They all speak broken English. I will NEVER use these fake liars again for service! BEWARE!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Pamela Cookro from Barberton, OH on July 23rd, 2021
Do NOT sign up for this company!
I was stopped in a Sams Club store in Columbus, OH by a rep stating he was with Just Energy. I spoke with him for a while about the company and decided to sign up. After looking at reviews online I decided to cancel (just 2 days later). Instead of calling Just Energy, which Ive tried calling them several times now and it repeatedly says their offices are closed, I called AEP and told them that I do not authorize the switch. This morning I received another email from AEP stating that I approved a transfer of my service to Dynergy which I also did not approve. The Just Energy rep stated my info would not be sold but yet another energy company was trying to switch my account without my consent.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Do NOT Sign Up For Just Energy! from Grove City, OH on June 23rd, 2021
Hi, our apologies for the inconvenience we want to help, please allow us to resolve this concern for you. Please call us at 1-866-587-8674 to have this resolved as quickly as possible for you.

Best Regards,
Lily, Social Media Advisor
— Just Energy
Complete scam
Just Energy was advertised to me. I was told there would be absolutely no changes or additions to my bill in anyway. But actually an extra flat rate 50$ per month was tacked on and when I wanted to cancel they charged me a termination fee and referred it to a collections agency rather than just letting me pay it. This company is a complete scam and am pissed that I ever got involved.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Nick from Dayton, OH on October 25th, 2020
Hi Nick, we apologize for any frustration caused to you, and thank you for taking the time to contact us. We would be more than happy to assist you to clear up any confusion. Please call us at 1-866-587-8674.

Thank you,
Lily Social Media Advisor
— Just Energy
Mislead
I am a Sam's Club member who was solicited by Just Energy while shopping at Sam's. I was talked into switching both electric and natural gas to JE. Going into the 3rd year i decided it was no longer feasible to stay with Just Energy. Upon switching to other suppliers I was hit with $100 early termination fee, which was $50 for each utility. It was not made clear when signing up and I do not recommend dealing with JE.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mislead By Just Energy from Columbus, OH on October 18th, 2020
Hi, we apologize for the unsatisfactory experience. Wed be happy to look into this issue for you. Please call us at 1-866-587-8674 to try to resolve your concern as soon as possible.
Thank you.
Lily, Social Media Advisor
— Just Energy
Do not overpay with credit
Do not overpay and have a credit with these people . I used to pay an overpayment of about $300 to $400 to keep my bill where I wouldn't have to pay it until the money went down to around $75. I sold my house and when I went to ask for my over age which is around $270 they refuse to pay it because they said they weren't responsible for me over paying. I don't have the mental capacity or time to fight these people but that's illegal
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Virhilio Espinosa from on June 10th, 2020
Ruthless
I always pay my bills on time. I received a collection email from Just Energy. I called their customer service on two occasions, as the first number did not work. They were zero help and could be understand me. It was a joke. They had not answer. It was like a scam. I filed a complaint with the BBB. Still no answers. We made a big mistake using this company and will switch immediately. Do not use!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Disappointment In Ohio from Dayton, OH on May 25th, 2020
Stay Away
I signed up at Sam's Club with an eager salesperson. I told him that I probably wasn't going to be in my house for very long and he assured me that it was fine--that there would be no termination fees when I moved. He also assured me that my bill would be much lower (it never dropped at all and was, in fact, slightly higher). Upon moving, I received a bill for a $50 termination fee. I tried to call to have it resolved and never got through after literally hours on hold. I then sent a private message which has, to this date, never been looked at, much less responded to. Four days after receiving the first bill, I received a second notice that I was going to be referred to a collections agency soon if I didn't pay. I just disconnected service about 2 weeks ago! I refuse to pay this disconnection fee, and am planning to file a complaint with the BBB and seek out other action. My understanding is that this company has a mountain of complaints against it. STAY AWAY FROM THEM!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

John from Dayton, OH on March 17th, 2020
Horrible Company!
I signed up at Sam's Club and was told my rates wouldn't increase. THEY DID! My first bill was almost $50 higher than I would have payed if I stayed with DP&L. I called customer service last week and was told someone would contact me in 24-48 hours, I never received a call back. These people are scammers as far as I'm concerned and if I ever see them at Sam's again I'm going to warn the other customers.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Brocko from Troy, OH on February 24th, 2020
I am sorry to hear about your recent experience. If you can please private message your information here we can investigate. Thanks.
— Just Energy
Scam
We signed up with Just Energy at Sams Club. They said it would save us money, but we got our first and second bill and its costing us way more money for our vectren and DPL. They are some scammers bs. Ill make sure I tell everyone I know or see trying to sign up that you guys suck and not to do it.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bs from Dayton, OH on January 22nd, 2020
Hi Bs, we're saddened to hear about your negative experience with us. Thank you for providing this feedback, please allow us to assist you, at your convince message us your phone number to resolve this for you. We hope to hear from you soon.
Thank you.
Lily, Your Social Media Advisor
— Just Energy
Was happy until today. Stay away
This AM I get an email from AEP telling me my generation provider was changing next month. I call Just Energy to find out why.. 1st time calling... 1st Im told I switched providers... no, Im placed on hold. Then Im told my credit score wasnt good enough. They never checked my score, not even when I signed up almost 2 yrs ago. Then Im told my state and government decided Im not eligible for services.. At this point I hysterically laugh at the woman and tell her I use to work for an electric company and they cant do that, If she doesnt know what shes talking about thats fine I want a supervisor. She schedules me a call back for 24 to 48 hours.
I then write an email detailing all of this to see if that gets me somewhere faster. A few hours later I get a response stating Im behind in my bill and thats breach of contract. So I get on the aep app and screenshot my account history showing Im up to date and bill not even due until 10/11.
I call again. Only thing they could do is put in a request to stay on current plan that account has been proven to be current. This may take up to 2 months to be approved, but as of my next billing cycle with aep 10/23 there is going to be a change. So how does this help?
Totally screwing me around. I would prefer someone tell me they have no clue then to make a bogus excuse that is easily proven wrong!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Taft from South Point, OH on September 27th, 2019
Hi Stormytaft@gmail.com, We're saddened to hear about your negative experience with us. Thank you for providing this feedback, please allow us to assist you, at your convince message us at justenergy.com/contact-us to resolve this for you. We hope to hear from you soon. Thank you.
Lily, Your Social Media Advisor
— Just Energy