Home > Read Reviews > Public Power



Public Power Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Public Power are their customer service, rated at 2.6 out of 5, and their billing & account management system, rated at 2.6 of 5.


Public Power Rating

Ohio Energy Ratings Score:


( 3.6 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low




About Public Power

Public Power, a subsidiary of Crius Energy, is a deregulated electricity provider that offers service in Connecticut and Pennsylvania.





21 Reviews for Public Power


condo owner
(5 / 5)

  excellent

winnie jackson
July 12th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

PUBLIC POWER REVIEW
(5 / 5)

  BACK IN FEB.,AFTER MUCH TIME SEARCHING FOR A NEW PROVIDER, I DECIDED TO USE PUBLIC POWER AS MY NEW SUPPLIER FOR BOTH MY GAS AND ELECTRIC NEEDS. YESTERDAY I FINALLY RECEIVED MY FIRST BILLING FOR THE PERIOD FROM MAY 5, TO MAY 25 . IT'S A GOOD START TO, HOPEFULLY, DOING BUSINESS PUBLIC POWER.

DAVID LAUSTER
June 6th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

So far so good
(5 / 5)

  Only one month but everything so far as promised

David
May 26th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good Price, Renewable, No penalties
(5 / 5)

  Remarkable company because there are no huge fees, my bill is lower than most of my neighbors, and the best part is it is renewable energy. Kudos !!

CT-4-LIFE_NEw-ENGLAND_PATS
March 22nd, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Low rate greatness
(5 / 5)

  Just signed up for 5.99 4 month in CP&L. Saving about 5 cents off my old rate with Townsquare. Expect my bills to drop by a third. We'll see.

Low rate greatness
November 30th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

LOVE Public Power
(4.2 / 5)

  I got my rates totally BLOWN UP after the Polar Vortex a couple years back, and after an obscene bill I jumped onto a reasonable rate with Public Power. I haven't had any reason to regret that decision since. Rates are affordable, and I haven't been price-gouged. For an electricity company, I'll take that all day long.

Logan
October 21st, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

New customer
(4 / 5)

  Fairly new customer, have no problems so far., used to have Wallingford ct power, just getting used to new system.

Cathy mcdowell
July 22nd, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

New customer
(4 / 5)

  Fairly new customer, have no problems so far., used to have Wallingford ct power, just getting used to new system.

Cathy mcdowell
July 22nd, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Had Public Power for a Long Time
(3.6 / 5)

  Had Public Power for a really long time, and I have no complaints. Their rates are typically pretty good, and when I call into customer service my questions are typically answered pretty quickly. Both my mother and I have Public Power.

Jenine
October 21st, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer Service Actually Helped
(3.4 / 5)

  I've had a couple of horrible experiences with some providers trying to get my bills fixed when they had errors on them. It seems to be a recurring issue. I had the same issue at Public Power, but I'll tell you what, instead of multiple calls to resolve the issue, Public Power managed to get everything fixed with just one phone call! I was thrilled, and for that alone Im happy with Public Power!

Glenn
October 21st, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Pricing not clearly displayed
(2.6 / 5)

  Two weeks or so after enrolling in your program, I received an e-mail telling me I owed 139 on my account. At first I thought this to be a scam until I called customer service and was told the $139 was a sign-up fee which, the representative told me, was listed on the company website. Had I seen this listing, I wouldn't have chosen your company since the fee added to the per kw/h would have exceeded most, if not all of the other power providers cost in my area. The representative was kind enough to rescind the contract, and I apologize for not seeing the added fee in the sign-up. Thanks for your help

moore
September 16th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Watch the fine print
(1.8 / 5)

  I signed on for service. After signing I received notification that there was an an added charge. So much for the good price. I cancelled the service.

Elly
September 14th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bait and Switch
(1 / 5)

  We signed up a contract with Public Power as our natural gas supplier. It is for a fixed 12 months term with an early termination fee of $50. A few months have passed and we received a letter that they will charge us a minimum usage fee of $5.00 in which our average daily usage is less than 0.1 therms/day. We conserve on our electricity and gas since I am not working and on permanent disability. Our total monthly supply gas charge is only $0.94. I contacted Public Power and stated that it was not in the contract when we signed up. Unfortunately, we will now be charged extra fee for trying to conserve.

Maria
September 17th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They gave me the wrong price
(1 / 5)

  They took away the offer before it was activated. I could had used the time to sign with a different provider. Very disappointed.

Mike
September 17th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Disappointing
(1 / 5)

  After signing up I was told I had to pay $159 fee.

Disappointing
September 16th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Odd experience
(1 / 5)

  I received a phone call one month after signing up for a rate and they told me the website had a glitch the day I signed up and didnt bill me the $150 sign up fee. There was no notification of a sign up fee when I registered. They said I had to pay it or they would cancel. I let them cancel. No written notification either just a phone call. Sounded like a scam to me

Odd Experience
September 16th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

A concern about a charge
(1 / 5)

  Some body send me an email saying that I owe $139 for the contrac if I dont pay I will be out of that plan I got from power plan

Charge??????
September 13th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Base fees are expected they want you to pay to join
(1 / 5)

  They wanted 150 dollars to be affiliated with public power in addition to collect8ng the monthly charges per kwh. I decided to not pay the fee so they dropped my account. They did not mention this fee up front when i signed up. Only after a couple of months with them.

Bethk
September 10th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Never Choose Public Power
(1 / 5)

  I signed on with PP in May expecting to be on line by June 30. Recieved a bill from my existing provider mid July at twice rate that I had been paying.Called PP as to why they had not followed through with the planned switch.They said information was incomplete.They failed to contact me,as a result I'm stuck with an inflated electric bill. Their business follow up stinks. DO NOT EVER CHOOSE PP AS A SUPPLER.

Dan Zaicek
July 20th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bate and switch plans!
(1 / 5)

  We signed up for a 12 moth plan at 7.98% and received an acknowledgement letter but it NEVER went into effect and for 3 months+ we were paying a 12.49% rate instead. They blamed it on Eversource but they said it was Public Power's error. When we called to complained they only would offer us a 6 month plan at 8.56% which we were forced to take to get out of the 12%+ we were paying. One rep said he would see if he could get us a reumbursement for the months we paid 12%+ but he never called back or returned our call. We have filed a complaint with the CT Public Utilities Regulatory Agency and await their assistance in this matter. As soon as our 6 month plan is up with them we will find another supplier and nevr use them again!

B & L in Danbury
July 16th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions




Updated: 09-25-2018
Example Bill
loading...