Home > Read Reviews > Public Power



Public Power Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Public Power are their customer service, rated at 2.3 out of 5, and their billing & account management system, rated at 2.3 of 5.


Public Power Rating

Ohio Energy Ratings Score:


( 3.6 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low




About Public Power

Public Power, a subsidiary of Crius Energy, is a deregulated electricity provider that offers service in Connecticut and Pennsylvania.





24 Reviews for Public Power


condo owner
(5 / 5)

  excellent

winnie jackson
July 12th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

PUBLIC POWER REVIEW
(5 / 5)

  BACK IN FEB.,AFTER MUCH TIME SEARCHING FOR A NEW PROVIDER, I DECIDED TO USE PUBLIC POWER AS MY NEW SUPPLIER FOR BOTH MY GAS AND ELECTRIC NEEDS. YESTERDAY I FINALLY RECEIVED MY FIRST BILLING FOR THE PERIOD FROM MAY 5, TO MAY 25 . IT'S A GOOD START TO, HOPEFULLY, DOING BUSINESS PUBLIC POWER.

DAVID LAUSTER
June 6th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

So far so good
(5 / 5)

  Only one month but everything so far as promised

David
May 26th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good Price, Renewable, No penalties
(5 / 5)

  Remarkable company because there are no huge fees, my bill is lower than most of my neighbors, and the best part is it is renewable energy. Kudos !!

CT-4-LIFE_NEw-ENGLAND_PATS
March 22nd, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Low rate greatness
(5 / 5)

  Just signed up for 5.99 4 month in CP&L. Saving about 5 cents off my old rate with Townsquare. Expect my bills to drop by a third. We'll see.

Low rate greatness
November 30th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

LOVE Public Power
(4.2 / 5)

  I got my rates totally BLOWN UP after the Polar Vortex a couple years back, and after an obscene bill I jumped onto a reasonable rate with Public Power. I haven't had any reason to regret that decision since. Rates are affordable, and I haven't been price-gouged. For an electricity company, I'll take that all day long.

Logan
October 21st, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

New customer
(4 / 5)

  Fairly new customer, have no problems so far., used to have Wallingford ct power, just getting used to new system.

Cathy mcdowell
July 22nd, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

New customer
(4 / 5)

  Fairly new customer, have no problems so far., used to have Wallingford ct power, just getting used to new system.

Cathy mcdowell
July 22nd, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Had Public Power for a Long Time
(3.6 / 5)

  Had Public Power for a really long time, and I have no complaints. Their rates are typically pretty good, and when I call into customer service my questions are typically answered pretty quickly. Both my mother and I have Public Power.

Jenine
October 21st, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer Service Actually Helped
(3.4 / 5)

  I've had a couple of horrible experiences with some providers trying to get my bills fixed when they had errors on them. It seems to be a recurring issue. I had the same issue at Public Power, but I'll tell you what, instead of multiple calls to resolve the issue, Public Power managed to get everything fixed with just one phone call! I was thrilled, and for that alone Im happy with Public Power!

Glenn
October 21st, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Pricing not clearly displayed
(2.6 / 5)

  Two weeks or so after enrolling in your program, I received an e-mail telling me I owed 139 on my account. At first I thought this to be a scam until I called customer service and was told the $139 was a sign-up fee which, the representative told me, was listed on the company website. Had I seen this listing, I wouldn't have chosen your company since the fee added to the per kw/h would have exceeded most, if not all of the other power providers cost in my area. The representative was kind enough to rescind the contract, and I apologize for not seeing the added fee in the sign-up. Thanks for your help

moore
September 16th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Watch the fine print
(1.8 / 5)

  I signed on for service. After signing I received notification that there was an an added charge. So much for the good price. I cancelled the service.

Elly
September 14th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

surprise charge for $149
(1.6 / 5)

  I do not remember seeing a 1 one fee for $149 that they charged me

Dan Rehrer
September 5th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Would not choose Public Power
(1 / 5)

  I had received an offer from Public Power to renew at 0.0849 kWh, which was 50% higher than I had currently been paying. I went online at (Choose Energy - NY Energy Ratings), and found a lower rate by Public Power on 7/3/18. On 7/5, I received an email confirmation from NY Energy Ratings that they had received my order with Public Power with new rate of 5.33. In August, I received an email from Public Power regarding my renewal, I called and spoke about the rate I had locked in on 7/5. The customer service rep, told me to disregard the mail for renewal. I just received my National Grid bill, and my electric bill is $30 higher than last month, because I'm being charged 0.0849. I just spoke with a customer service rep, who was very difficult to understand - who told me that I wasn't eligible to sign up with Public Power at the lower rate in July, because I wasn't a new customer. I never received any notice of this! She then offered me two other rates that were still significantly higher, and told me that I would have to pay a $100 fee if I chose another company.... I'm looking elsewhere....

Charlene
September 24th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Classic Bait and Switch
(1 / 5)

  I enrolled on-line and within a week, I received a call telling me the information that I used to make my enrollment decision was incorrect. I could either pay a $150 filing fee to continue or lock in to a higher rate plan for a 24-month period. I cancelled the service.

VM
September 18th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bait and Switch
(1 / 5)

  We signed up a contract with Public Power as our natural gas supplier. It is for a fixed 12 months term with an early termination fee of $50. A few months have passed and we received a letter that they will charge us a minimum usage fee of $5.00 in which our average daily usage is less than 0.1 therms/day. We conserve on our electricity and gas since I am not working and on permanent disability. Our total monthly supply gas charge is only $0.94. I contacted Public Power and stated that it was not in the contract when we signed up. Unfortunately, we will now be charged extra fee for trying to conserve.

Maria
September 17th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They gave me the wrong price
(1 / 5)

  They took away the offer before it was activated. I could had used the time to sign with a different provider. Very disappointed.

Mike
September 17th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Disappointing
(1 / 5)

  After signing up I was told I had to pay $159 fee.

Disappointing
September 16th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Odd experience
(1 / 5)

  I received a phone call one month after signing up for a rate and they told me the website had a glitch the day I signed up and didnt bill me the $150 sign up fee. There was no notification of a sign up fee when I registered. They said I had to pay it or they would cancel. I let them cancel. No written notification either just a phone call. Sounded like a scam to me

Odd Experience
September 16th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

A concern about a charge
(1 / 5)

  Some body send me an email saying that I owe $139 for the contrac if I dont pay I will be out of that plan I got from power plan

Charge??????
September 13th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions




Updated: 11-14-2018
Example Bill
loading...