Deposit Issues and Complaints (101 reviews)

Deposits for natural gas in Ohio can be a hassle and usually range from $100 to $500. Some companies handle them well with lower deposit amounts or lower credit thresholds while others turn you upside down and shake the lunch money out of your pocket. If deposits are causing you issues, you can read deposit related reviews from other customers before you sign up for an energy company.



The Dynamic Duo!

(5 / 5)

  I decided to switch from GA Natural Gas so I called and spoke with a nice gentleman by the name of Elias. Elias was so patient and kind and explained all of the different programs I was eligible for and how they worked. He even told me he would call me back to ensure I locked in my new rate. I called back and got Alan. Alan told me I didn't need a deposit now because the requirements had changed since speaking with Elias. He was also patient, knowledgeable (just like Elias), and kind. I am feeling very happy that I made the switch. I feel like I am in good hands.

Waller Family
January 12th, 2021



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Best kept secret...

(5 / 5)

  They've gone above and beyond with customer care. I appreciated not feeling judged or shamed after my family had no other choice than to file a chapter 13. They didn't require a deposit and wasn't forced into contact. That was 5 years ago and I'm a proud and loyal customer for as long as they're in business!

Stacie
August 20th, 2018



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

A Breeze

(5 / 5)

  This is Awesome. I was very disappointed with my previous service provided and unfortunately the relationship of more than 4 years had to end. I reviewed several other companies before arriving here and was displeased at their demands for a huge activation deposit. None of them could clearly explain why those startup monies were necessary or could confirm if they were refundable minus all the fees if the relationship had to end. I would have been okay to pay it out installments but no one was hearing that. Just hand us 220.00 and well turn it on. Im glad i found you guys and very pleased there's no deposit. This is how you become and remain #1. Im telling everyone I know at the old company to follow me. (#high5) Thank you ..Now lets do business one kilo watt at a time. Praise God!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ok2BAwesome
July 9th, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review, Ok2BAwesome. We are so pleased to hear of your experience and attitude towards our service. It makes us happy when our customers are happy! If you have any questions or concerns regarding your account in the future, please know you can connect with our Live Chat team through our website www.directenergy.com. Have a nice day! -Eleanor

Responds August 20th, 2018


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Energy Provider

(5 / 5)

  Very easy to get started with, we lived in an apartment for 2 years where electricity was provided. They switched us over promply (we bought a home)and there was no deposit required. I like the option for signing a 6 mo. contract at very competitive rates.

Anonymous
May 30th, 2018

We are so happy to hear that you had a great experience with Constellation, its been our pleasure!

Responds September 26th, 2018


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I'm Very Pleased

(5 / 5)

  I switched to StarTex 6 months ago and have consistently had lower bills than with TXU. I had a rate of .13 per kW in the winter and .15 per kW in the summer with TXU and now I have a fixed rate of .09 per kW. My bills have been at least $29 less a month even when I used more kWs. I have saved $289 in 6 months compared to the same time last year with TXU and I used more kWs with StarTex. They did not charge me a switching fee or a deposit. I have not had any interuption of service. I would recommend them.

DeeDee
May 30th, 2018

We are so happy to hear that you had a great experience with Constellation, its been our pleasure!

Responds September 26th, 2018


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions