Satisfied customer
I would re-order with them again if they are the cheapest.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Happy Customer from Cleveland, OH on November 15th, 2020
Hi there! Thank you so much for your vote of trust! We totally appreciate your loyalty and we will do our best to continue offering you the best price available in the area. Thank you for this amazing review! Have a great start of the week! - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Good
Did what was needed, no service interruptions or delays
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

S from Piqua, OH on November 13th, 2020
Hi, reading comments like yours make every minute of hard work worthwhile because we realize that day by day we manage to strengthen the bonds of trust with our customers. We will continue working for you, to always provide you with the best experience and be able to cover your energy needs. Thank you so much for this review! Zoeh / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Misleading and cheating company
I shifted my gas and electric in this company because i met the custoer service rep during their launching of promotions of 1 month free bills and less rate. i want to warn consumer that it was a complete lie and front only. Also the charge is a way higher and incomprehensible. Pls dont consider this company ever.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tim from on October 29th, 2020
Hi Tim, thank you for taking the time to share this information with us and were sorry to hear that your experience was not of the quality you expected. Would like to investigate this further and find out what happened with your promotion of one month free. Please engage with us through chat at www.directenergy.com/texas We are looking forward to hearing from you soon! It will be a pleasure to help you. Have a great weekend! - Zoeh / Digital Care  
— Direct Energy
Easy to setup
Called and got a better rate
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bill from Willoughby, OH on October 7th, 2020
Hi Bill, your 5-star review is really appreciate it. Glad to know that you are having a great experience being part of our big family. Direct Energy value your business and loyalty. Have a great day! - Zoeh / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
I hope I have not been scammed.
Do you have salesman to come to sign you up. Because last evening a young man came with no ID, but and I pad with direct energy logo on it and I signed up after I got a call and answered questions to confer that I was the person on the bill. I was not on my Ps and Qs. Please tell me I was not scammed?
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Regenia J Dunnings from Cleveland, OH on July 22nd, 2020
Hi Regenia, we take all concerns raised about our sales practices very seriously and require that all our vendors ensure every agent is compliant with our policies and requests made by the owner of the home that they are visiting. Furthermore, each representative is required to clearly identify themselves as being with Direct Energy and not the local utility, both verbally and by wearing the appropriate badging and uniform. We do not tolerate aggressive or forceful behavior from our employees. The Door-to-Door sales agents are employed by vendors that we partner with. If the Vendor training is the opposite of our training, we certainly need to know so that we can investigate their actions and take proper action. If possible, please provide the Agent Name, Employee ID, or physical description of the representative that came to your door. Also, if you would like, we can add your address to our internal Do Not Knock list to prevent any future solicitation.


Please feel free to contact us at 1-888-305-3828, Monday through Friday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. CST and Saturday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. CST, or engage with our Live Chat agent from www.directenergy.com It will be a pleasure to help you, and we look forward to hearing from you! - Emma / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Beware of price gouging!
My gas rate DOUBLED from January to February. I called to ask why and they said that my fixed rate plan ended and I was on a variable rate. Also, they would not do anything about it because I decided to switch to another supplier. I can understand a rate increase, but doubling the rate is clearly an attempt to gouge money from me because I decided to change suppliers. Criminal.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ccb from Kent, OH on February 27th, 2020
Good afternoon. I apologize for any miscommunication regarding our attempts to offer support at the time of this interaction. Unfortunately, as we are a third party supplier, we do not have the ability to interject into the utility company's billing system. For active customers, we have more flexibility to work with them as we can contribute to some portion of the bill. That being said, we wish there was more we could have done for you and your family when you needed the support the most. If you have any further questions or concerns, please feel free to reach out to us through our Live Chat portal: https://www.directenergy.com/. We wish you and yours the best. - Megan / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
No sign of them on my bill yet
No sign of them on my bill yet
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

No Sign from Toledo, OH on February 21st, 2020
Good afternoon. We are just as eager to become your new supplier! As we are working as a third party supplier with your current utility company, we are on their timeline of when our services are able to officially begin. Typically, this transition can take 1 - 2 billing cycles. If there is anything we can do to assist with your DE account, or any outstanding questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact us. We have a Live Chat portal that is open Monday through Friday from 8:00am - 5:00pm CST through our website: https://www.directenergy.com/. Have a great day. - Megan / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Solicitation
I had a representative stop by my house today wanted me to change my gas and electric plans to direct energy I asked for more information and contact info upon doing this the solicitor became angry and stormed off and told me to enjoy my variable rates great business model direct energy send solicitors out around dinner time and have them tell off possible customers
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Matt from Canton, OH on September 12th, 2019
Hi Matt, and thank you for letting us know about the experience you had today. This is clearly not the behavior we would expect from our door to door personnel, or any other employee, for that matter. We are sorry that you were treated disrespectfully, and appreciate you taking to alert us to the situation. Thank you, Matt, and have a great night.
— Direct Energy
House call
Had a fellow come to the door, he did introduce himself, I saw where he was from and stopped him from going into his speil, told him I was happy with whom I'm with. Got a little testy, asked me if I didn't support the troops. I told him of course I do. He told me this was his second job since he got out of the service, I thanked him for his service. I still can't figure out what him being a veteran has to do with me not wanting the services (Direct Energy) he was wanting to tell me about. Told me it was ridiculous for me to stay with whom I am with. His name was Joseph. I didn't want to rate this, but it made me.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Betty from Mason, OH on July 13th, 2019
We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you and your family. We would like to investigate this further for you. Please contact us and provide as many details as possible regarding the agent such as his name, badge number, date of the visit and your address. We will forward it to the appropriate department to investigate the sales practices of the agent.
— Direct Energy
Switched service provider
Great rate
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Linda from Euclid, OH on April 2nd, 2019
Hi Linda,

We are very pleased we were able to provide an exceptional rate for you and your family. Please feel free to reach out to us via phone or Live Chat on our website with your full contact information should you ever need our assistance. Thanks and have an amazing day!

-Marie
— Direct Energy







Reviews Overview
The best review categories for Direct Energy are their customer service, rated at 2.6 out of 5, and the order experience, rated at 2.5 of 5.
5 Stars
23%
 
4 Stars
9%
 
3 Stars
5%
 
2 Stars
5%
 
1 Stars
59%
 
2.4 / 5
Overall
2.4 / 5
Price, Plans and Promotions
2.5 / 5
Order Experience
2.6 / 5
Customer Service
2.4 / 5
Billing and Account Management
2.3 / 5
Likely to Recommend
About Direct Energy

Direct Energy is one of the largest providers of energy and energy-related services in North America. With customers in all 50 states, 10 Canadian provinces, and Washington, D.C. Direct Energy has also shown to be a progressive company, developing new plans, products and technology that deliver consumer insights and resources to help them save money. The Nest Learning Thermostat, Plenti and their personalized Online Account Manager are all tools that Direct Energy puts in the hands of their customers to use less energy. They're also very progressive, with active social communities on Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest that help them stay in contact with their customers.

You can learn more on our Direct Energy FAQ page.



Recommended Natural Gas Plans