Reviews Overview
The best review categories for Direct Energy are their customer service, rated at 2.3 out of 5, and their plans and pricing, rated at 2.2 of 5.
5 Stars
19%
 
4 Stars
8%
 
3 Stars
4%
 
2 Stars
4%
 
1 Stars
65%
 


Jump To

Recent Good Review from Happy customer

Satisfied customer
I would re-order with them again if they are the cheapest.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Happy Customer from Cleveland, OH on November 15th, 2020
Hi there! Thank you so much for your vote of trust! We totally appreciate your loyalty and we will do our best to continue offering you the best price available in the area. Thank you for this amazing review! Have a great start of the week! - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

5 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Satisfied customer
I would re-order with them again if they are the cheapest.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Happy Customer from Cleveland, OH on November 15th, 2020
Hi there! Thank you so much for your vote of trust! We totally appreciate your loyalty and we will do our best to continue offering you the best price available in the area. Thank you for this amazing review! Have a great start of the week! - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Good
Did what was needed, no service interruptions or delays
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

S from Piqua, OH on November 13th, 2020
Hi, reading comments like yours make every minute of hard work worthwhile because we realize that day by day we manage to strengthen the bonds of trust with our customers. We will continue working for you, to always provide you with the best experience and be able to cover your energy needs. Thank you so much for this review! Zoeh / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Easy to setup
Called and got a better rate
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bill from Willoughby, OH on October 7th, 2020
Hi Bill, your 5-star review is really appreciate it. Glad to know that you are having a great experience being part of our big family. Direct Energy value your business and loyalty. Have a great day! - Zoeh / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Switched service provider
Great rate
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Linda from Euclid, OH on April 2nd, 2019
Hi Linda,

We are very pleased we were able to provide an exceptional rate for you and your family. Please feel free to reach out to us via phone or Live Chat on our website with your full contact information should you ever need our assistance. Thanks and have an amazing day!

-Marie
— Direct Energy
Easy and reasonably priced
Very happy with my experience,
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

MH from Brunswick, OH on March 25th, 2019
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a great rating based on your experience with our company. We certainly value you as a customer and strive to provide exceptional customer service always. Feel free to contact us via phone or live chat should you ever need our assistance. Thank you and have a delightful day!

-Marie
— Direct Energy



Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

2 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Why I went to another provider
Perfectly happy with entire experience until service contract expired. If customer service had contacted me and offered same rate, I would still be a customer. Signed with another service then get your offer for a lower rate. Sorry.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Elizabeth Reinker from Miamisburg, OH on February 18th, 2019
Thanks for the great feedback Elizabeth! We hate to see we lost your business but we would love a chance to make things right! Email us at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com and we would be happy to see options for you :) - Allie
— Direct Energy
Much Cheaper that what my Local Company Charges
Duke Energy (Cincy, OH) rates are Steep. When you go on their "Budget-Plan" (to avg your payments) you get a Balloon Payment come Spring for $800.00+, after paying avg $200-350 a month for a Balanced Gas/Elec home with 3 bedrooms. With Direct Energy. my monthly payments dropped to $190/mo and NO $800 Balloon Payment!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

J Sanner from Batavia, OH on November 9th, 2018
We appreciate you taking time out of your day to leave us a review. Have a great week! - Allie
— Direct Energy



Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

1 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
My review
i got a good plan at a good price, but was never notified of contract ending and never offered a renewal deal so i left
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

How It Was from Hubbard, OH on March 10th, 2019
Good Afternoon,

We are sorry to hear that you did not receive your renewal notice. We do provide the available renewal rates in the online portal for your review until the account has been renewed or closed.

-Marie
— Direct Energy



Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

1 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Disappointment
I was reupping with Direct and found the rate was to be higher than before. So I dropped them and tried to sign about a month later. It did not work. Why should a loyal customer have to pay more the next time they sign up?
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mike from Pleasant Hill, OH on October 22nd, 2018
Mike we are sorry to hear that we lost your business. All customers receive an initial price lock/promotion when signing up, similar to most businesses. When customers are up for renewal, we will offer plans that are active based on the market price to help maintain a reduced bill, but understand that is not always available. Thanks for the feedback! - Allie
— Direct Energy



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

17 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Snakes
They sent a sales person to my house at 9pm saying they were with my energy company and needed to see my energy bills to ensure that I was being charged correctly. I should have seen through this, but it was late and I was tired. When trying to cancel my account they hung up on me and screened my calls. Horrible company full of sneaky people, never do business with them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Luke from Cincinnati, OH on March 26th, 2021
Hi Luke, this is without question, not the experience we want our customers to go through. We take all concerns raised about our sales practices very seriously and require that all our vendors ensure every agent is compliant with our policies and to requests made by the owner of the home that they are visiting. Furthermore, each representative is required to clearly identify themselves as being with Direct Energy and not the local utility, both verbally and by wearing the appropriate badging and uniform. We do not tolerate aggressive or forceful behavior from our employees. The Door-to-Door sales agents are employed by vendors that we partner with. If the Vendor's training is the opposite of our training, we certainly need to know so that we can investigate their actions and take proper action. If possible, please provide the Agent Name, Employee ID, or physical description of the representative that came to your door. Also, if you would like, we can add your address to our internal Do Not Knock list to prevent any future solicitation. If you have more information please let us know. We would love to help you to fix this situation as soon as possible. Please connect with us through chat at www.directenergy.com. It will be a pleasure to help you! - Zoeh / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Dissatisfied with Direct Energy
I had been with Direct Energy for years and no issues. One year I missed the renewal and they doubled my gas rate. I called to have it switched back to the fixed rate. They indicated it could not be switched for a minimum of 60 days. They offered to provide me with a $75 dollar gift card but I never received the gift card. Their rate is high and it is not easy to get out of the contract without paying in excess. The customer service support team was lacking in knowledge and not helpful. Very dissatisfied with their overall service.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kdg from Streetsboro, OH on February 28th, 2021
Hi, thank you for getting in contact with us, we sincerely apologize as it is our aim to be as transparent with customers as possible regarding their accounts. We would like the opportunity to investigate this further and check the status of your gift card. Please engage with us through chat at www.directenergy.com. We are looking forward to hearing from you soon! - Zoeh / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
The lights are on but nobodys home!
Sold my condo,notified D.E. On my last cheque that it was sold and this was my last payment. The new owner waited 2 weeks to establish an account. You bill me for the 2 weeks. I send you lawyers documents stating completion date of sale. You continue demand me to pay someone elses bill and now put the amount out to collection for $32.
Its not the money stupid, its the principle. I have made every effort to get this straight here and am faced with a wall of collective incompetence on your part.
Do something here to improve your 2 star rating.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

B.Naylor from on February 9th, 2021
Good afternoon, B. Naylor. We are truly sorry for the bad experience you have had. We care for you and we would love the opportunity to take a closer look at your account and help you solve your concern. Please feel free to contact us through any of our communication channels (FB, TW, phone, or chat) and we will do our best to provide you a solution. Thank you for this feedback. We'll be waiting for you. Have a beautiful day! - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Direct Energy Services, LLC
Warning! If you notice a sizable increase in your monthly Gas Bill which I have had for years! Call your local provider to see what the Ccf amount is and check who your Gas provider is. According to my records, Direct Energy has been over charging me double to triple the Ccf for over the last 8 years! I cancelled the service immediately and am waiting on "The Office of the President" to respond!

According to their source when the contract expires they put the household on a variable rate which is considerably higher. No communication in years.

Thank you to Columbia Gas for bringing this to my attention!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Direct Energy Services from Bay Village, OH on January 19th, 2021
Good afternoon. We are terribly sorry to hear about the confusion that occurred with your rate. It does sound like your account had a fixed-rate contract, which expired, and the account transitioned to a month to month, variable-rate plan. We certainly never want our customers to be surprised at the rate they are paying, nor do we want to transition a fixed-rate account to a variable rate unexpectedly. For these reasons, and as required by law, we send out an end of term notices to any account that has a fixed-rate contract expiring within the next 30-60 days (the requirements on when the letters must be sent vary by state). The end of terms notice would have included the expiration date of the current contract, instructions on how to renew into another fixed-rate contract (either by phone, chat, or via your online account), and the important disclosure that states if we do not hear from you by the expiration date, the account will automatically move to the month to month, variable rate pricing. Our goal is always to operate as transparently as possible and in the best interests of our customers. We regret that you had a less than outstanding experience and we're truly sad to know that we have lost you as a part of our family. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future, and we wish you all the best. - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Misleading and cheating company
I shifted my gas and electric in this company because i met the custoer service rep during their launching of promotions of 1 month free bills and less rate. i want to warn consumer that it was a complete lie and front only. Also the charge is a way higher and incomprehensible. Pls dont consider this company ever.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tim from on October 29th, 2020
Hi Tim, thank you for taking the time to share this information with us and were sorry to hear that your experience was not of the quality you expected. Would like to investigate this further and find out what happened with your promotion of one month free. Please engage with us through chat at www.directenergy.com/texas We are looking forward to hearing from you soon! It will be a pleasure to help you. Have a great weekend! - Zoeh / Digital Care  
— Direct Energy
I hope I have not been scammed.
Do you have salesman to come to sign you up. Because last evening a young man came with no ID, but and I pad with direct energy logo on it and I signed up after I got a call and answered questions to confer that I was the person on the bill. I was not on my Ps and Qs. Please tell me I was not scammed?
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Regenia J Dunnings from Cleveland, OH on July 22nd, 2020
Hi Regenia, we take all concerns raised about our sales practices very seriously and require that all our vendors ensure every agent is compliant with our policies and requests made by the owner of the home that they are visiting. Furthermore, each representative is required to clearly identify themselves as being with Direct Energy and not the local utility, both verbally and by wearing the appropriate badging and uniform. We do not tolerate aggressive or forceful behavior from our employees. The Door-to-Door sales agents are employed by vendors that we partner with. If the Vendor training is the opposite of our training, we certainly need to know so that we can investigate their actions and take proper action. If possible, please provide the Agent Name, Employee ID, or physical description of the representative that came to your door. Also, if you would like, we can add your address to our internal Do Not Knock list to prevent any future solicitation.


Please feel free to contact us at 1-888-305-3828, Monday through Friday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. CST and Saturday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. CST, or engage with our Live Chat agent from www.directenergy.com It will be a pleasure to help you, and we look forward to hearing from you! - Emma / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Beware of price gouging!
My gas rate DOUBLED from January to February. I called to ask why and they said that my fixed rate plan ended and I was on a variable rate. Also, they would not do anything about it because I decided to switch to another supplier. I can understand a rate increase, but doubling the rate is clearly an attempt to gouge money from me because I decided to change suppliers. Criminal.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ccb from Kent, OH on February 27th, 2020
Good afternoon. I apologize for any miscommunication regarding our attempts to offer support at the time of this interaction. Unfortunately, as we are a third party supplier, we do not have the ability to interject into the utility company's billing system. For active customers, we have more flexibility to work with them as we can contribute to some portion of the bill. That being said, we wish there was more we could have done for you and your family when you needed the support the most. If you have any further questions or concerns, please feel free to reach out to us through our Live Chat portal: https://www.directenergy.com/. We wish you and yours the best. - Megan / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
No sign of them on my bill yet
No sign of them on my bill yet
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

No Sign from Toledo, OH on February 21st, 2020
Good afternoon. We are just as eager to become your new supplier! As we are working as a third party supplier with your current utility company, we are on their timeline of when our services are able to officially begin. Typically, this transition can take 1 - 2 billing cycles. If there is anything we can do to assist with your DE account, or any outstanding questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact us. We have a Live Chat portal that is open Monday through Friday from 8:00am - 5:00pm CST through our website: https://www.directenergy.com/. Have a great day. - Megan / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Solicitation
I had a representative stop by my house today wanted me to change my gas and electric plans to direct energy I asked for more information and contact info upon doing this the solicitor became angry and stormed off and told me to enjoy my variable rates great business model direct energy send solicitors out around dinner time and have them tell off possible customers
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Matt from Canton, OH on September 12th, 2019
Hi Matt, and thank you for letting us know about the experience you had today. This is clearly not the behavior we would expect from our door to door personnel, or any other employee, for that matter. We are sorry that you were treated disrespectfully, and appreciate you taking to alert us to the situation. Thank you, Matt, and have a great night.
— Direct Energy
House call
Had a fellow come to the door, he did introduce himself, I saw where he was from and stopped him from going into his speil, told him I was happy with whom I'm with. Got a little testy, asked me if I didn't support the troops. I told him of course I do. He told me this was his second job since he got out of the service, I thanked him for his service. I still can't figure out what him being a veteran has to do with me not wanting the services (Direct Energy) he was wanting to tell me about. Told me it was ridiculous for me to stay with whom I am with. His name was Joseph. I didn't want to rate this, but it made me.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Betty from Mason, OH on July 13th, 2019
We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you and your family. We would like to investigate this further for you. Please contact us and provide as many details as possible regarding the agent such as his name, badge number, date of the visit and your address. We will forward it to the appropriate department to investigate the sales practices of the agent.
— Direct Energy


Recommended Natural Gas Plans