The best review categories for Direct Energy are the order experience, with an average of 2.3 stars, and their plans and pricing, with an average of 2.2 stars.

Recent Good Review from Happy customer

Satisfied customer
I would re-order with them again if they are the cheapest.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Happy Customer from Cleveland, OH on November 15th, 2020
Hi there! Thank you so much for your vote of trust! We totally appreciate your loyalty and we will do our best to continue offering you the best price available in the area. Thank you for this amazing review! Have a great start of the week! - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

5 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Satisfied customer
I would re-order with them again if they are the cheapest.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Happy Customer from Cleveland, OH on November 15th, 2020
Hi there! Thank you so much for your vote of trust! We totally appreciate your loyalty and we will do our best to continue offering you the best price available in the area. Thank you for this amazing review! Have a great start of the week! - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Good
Did what was needed, no service interruptions or delays
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

S from Piqua, OH on November 13th, 2020
Hi, reading comments like yours make every minute of hard work worthwhile because we realize that day by day we manage to strengthen the bonds of trust with our customers. We will continue working for you, to always provide you with the best experience and be able to cover your energy needs. Thank you so much for this review! Zoeh / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Easy to setup
Called and got a better rate
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bill from Willoughby, OH on October 7th, 2020
Hi Bill, your 5-star review is really appreciate it. Glad to know that you are having a great experience being part of our big family. Direct Energy value your business and loyalty. Have a great day! - Zoeh / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Switched service provider
Great rate
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Linda from Euclid, OH on April 2nd, 2019
Hi Linda,

We are very pleased we were able to provide an exceptional rate for you and your family. Please feel free to reach out to us via phone or Live Chat on our website with your full contact information should you ever need our assistance. Thanks and have an amazing day!

-Marie
— Direct Energy
Easy and reasonably priced
Very happy with my experience,
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

MH from Brunswick, OH on March 25th, 2019
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a great rating based on your experience with our company. We certainly value you as a customer and strive to provide exceptional customer service always. Feel free to contact us via phone or live chat should you ever need our assistance. Thank you and have a delightful day!

-Marie
— Direct Energy



Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

2 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Why I went to another provider
Perfectly happy with entire experience until service contract expired. If customer service had contacted me and offered same rate, I would still be a customer. Signed with another service then get your offer for a lower rate. Sorry.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Elizabeth Reinker from Miamisburg, OH on February 18th, 2019
Thanks for the great feedback Elizabeth! We hate to see we lost your business but we would love a chance to make things right! Email us at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com and we would be happy to see options for you :) - Allie
— Direct Energy
Much Cheaper that what my Local Company Charges
Duke Energy (Cincy, OH) rates are Steep. When you go on their "Budget-Plan" (to avg your payments) you get a Balloon Payment come Spring for $800.00+, after paying avg $200-350 a month for a Balanced Gas/Elec home with 3 bedrooms. With Direct Energy. my monthly payments dropped to $190/mo and NO $800 Balloon Payment!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

J Sanner from Batavia, OH on November 9th, 2018
We appreciate you taking time out of your day to leave us a review. Have a great week! - Allie
— Direct Energy



Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

1 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
My review
i got a good plan at a good price, but was never notified of contract ending and never offered a renewal deal so i left
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

How It Was from Hubbard, OH on March 10th, 2019
Good Afternoon,

We are sorry to hear that you did not receive your renewal notice. We do provide the available renewal rates in the online portal for your review until the account has been renewed or closed.

-Marie
— Direct Energy



Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

2 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
They Lost a Customer for Life
Near the end of your contract, they send letters stating you will no longer be a customer if you do not renew. This is not true. You will be a customer, and they will hike up your rate. You find this out after getting an enormous billand its too late. You will end up paying way more than you saved on that one bill. Even if they gave you gift cards.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Keith from Canton, OH on September 8th, 2021
Hello Keith. Thank you for taking the time to share this important feedback with us. We are truly sorry for any inconvenience you may have experienced regarding your rate, we care for you and we would love to take a closer look at your account and help in any way we can. Please do not hesitate to free to connect with our Facebook team at https://www.facebook.com/directenergy/ or Twitter team at https://twitter.com/directenergy, or you can chat with us at www.directenergy.com. We will do our best to show you how important you are to us. We look forward to hearing from you soon. All the best! - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Disappointment
I was reupping with Direct and found the rate was to be higher than before. So I dropped them and tried to sign about a month later. It did not work. Why should a loyal customer have to pay more the next time they sign up?
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mike from Pleasant Hill, OH on October 22nd, 2018
Mike we are sorry to hear that we lost your business. All customers receive an initial price lock/promotion when signing up, similar to most businesses. When customers are up for renewal, we will offer plans that are active based on the market price to help maintain a reduced bill, but understand that is not always available. Thanks for the feedback! - Allie
— Direct Energy



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

21 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Charged 4x the Rate
I have been a customer of Direct Energy since 2018. I have subscribed to automatic withdrawal, and an average monthly bill for my home would be on average $250. On August 10th, 2021, I received a bill from Direct Energy in the amount of $843.73. In reading this notice it stated I was delinquent on my May, July, August 2021 bills. I called immediately and asked why the payments hadn't originally been withdrawn or why I had not been notified that my payments had not gone through. In reading my bank statements, and discussing with the customer service representative with Direct Energy, it was confirmed there was enough funds in my account for the withdrawal, and I simply neglected to notice the payment was not withdrawn, as did Direct Energy those months. In that conversation, the Direct Energy Representative informed me that for the past year, I had been paying 4x the going rate for gas and electricity. For example, the going rate in August was roughly 6 cents per kj, and Direct Energy was charging me 21 cents pr kj. To add to that statement, the August prior I had changed residences, and asked if there was a better rate for a long term loyal customer, and the representative declined that there was a better rate. For the 3 months after the change in residency, they kept sending my bill to my old address, and I called every month to correct this, and they continued to state that there was a glitch in their system. Still, in these conversations of cost discontent and glitches, nobody offered me council on improved rates.
I escalated to a manager as the representative stated their hands were tied and the manager was equally unhelpful, and told me if I did not pay this bill, that was 4x higher than the going rate, Direct Energy would take me to collections.
Today, I received a bill of an additional $361.98 for the remainder of the month, after having had cancelled on August 10th, 2021 and switching to EPCOR. I called and asked to be put through to a manager. They offered my $50 off the outrageous amount, which $361 continued to be 4x the going rate, and although stated she was not satisfied with how I had been treated thus far, proceeded to kindly tell me there was nothing more she could do and when asking me if there was, I asked to leave a complaint, and she abruptly disconnected the call in that inquiry. Another encounter involving customer service was during the cancellation of my bill. The customer service agent did not attempt to council me a) that I would continue to be charged, b) that I would continue to be charged the quadrupled rate, c) on how to rectify the previous bill. Bill cancelled August 10th, 2021. Charged again August 18th and August 27th 2021. Began service in 2013. Communication: I had not registered for an online account, and trusted the automatic withdrawals and paper mail notifications, however, the notifications did not get received in the mail.

I would say that Direct Energy willfully misleads you on their billing arrangement, and continuously has "glitches" in their methods of communicating (mailed to wrong address, did not receive a phone call, or email, or did not have a record that was sent in the mail at all), and then when does not withdrawal automatically will claim delinquency and charge you fees for non-payment. When making complaints, was rushed off the phone, or placated until the representative seemed to run out of patience - this occurred with multiple managers and staff consistently.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Holmes from on September 8th, 2021
Direct Energy is tettible!!
I signed up with Direct Energy about 5 years ago, hoping to save some money. All was ok for awhile. I was happy and thought I was saving money.

One day about 4 months ago I checked my rates with my local gas supplier, they were between 6 and 7 cents lower. I called Direct Energy to see if they could lower my rates to match my local gas supplier, they said they could not match the rate at the moment but would be able to lower my rates in a couple of months.
To compensate me they offered me 2 $75 gift cards, I have 2 accounts.

That was in May, in June I called to check rates, they still could not match my local gas supplier, I also checked on the gift cards they were supposed to send me, they said they were mailed and I should receive them any day.

When they could not match the rates of my local gas supplier, I cancelled my gas account.

As of this date, August 11, no gift cards were received, when I checked they told me because I had cancelled my account, the offer was no longer available. After spending over an hour on the phone with Brandon and his manager Jose, I gave up trying to deal with them.

I was with this company for 5 years and I was a loyal customer, a lot of good that did. I am so disappointed with Direct Energy and hope no one else has to go through what I had to do.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Pat Mamy from Toledo, OH on August 11th, 2021
Good afternoon, Pat. We are truly sorry for the inconvenience you experienced and we are terribly sad to know we have lost you as a part of our family. For any further assistance needed please feel free to connect with us through any of our communication channels:

* Our Facebook team at https://www.facebook.com/directenergy/
* Our Twitter team at https://twitter.com/directenergy
* Or you can chat with us at www.directenergy.com

We hope to have the opportunity to regain your trust in us and serve you the way you deserve. Please accept our apologies. Thank you for the feedback. All the best! - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Direct Energy is the worst company in Canada
We have had three terrible experiences with Direct Energy. The first account we had with them they could not get the lean removed from the rental we were trying to sell. It took several months and we were told by people to call and email every single day. We did that for three months. The other two situations were ones that we inherited water tank rentals and the bungling of customer service and the inability to get problems resolved was truly incredible. I have spoken to many other people that also claim they are the worst run company in Canada
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

John H from on July 11th, 2021
Scammers
Reps came to my door and refused to take no for an answer after I finally got rid of them didn't think twice about it. Now I just noticed on my bill that somehow they switched me anyway. These people are scammers, I never agreed to switch.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rita T from Toledo, OH on June 18th, 2021
Hi Rita, we are saddened to know about your recent experience with our sales agents this is not the feedback we would like to receive. We would love to further investigate this case so we can escalate it to the appropriate department. Please connect with us through

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/directenergy/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/directenergy
Chat at: www.directenergy.com

We are looking forward to hearing from you soon! Have a great day! - Zoeh / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Snakes
They sent a sales person to my house at 9pm saying they were with my energy company and needed to see my energy bills to ensure that I was being charged correctly. I should have seen through this, but it was late and I was tired. When trying to cancel my account they hung up on me and screened my calls. Horrible company full of sneaky people, never do business with them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Luke from Cincinnati, OH on March 26th, 2021
Hi Luke, this is without question, not the experience we want our customers to go through. We take all concerns raised about our sales practices very seriously and require that all our vendors ensure every agent is compliant with our policies and to requests made by the owner of the home that they are visiting. Furthermore, each representative is required to clearly identify themselves as being with Direct Energy and not the local utility, both verbally and by wearing the appropriate badging and uniform. We do not tolerate aggressive or forceful behavior from our employees. The Door-to-Door sales agents are employed by vendors that we partner with. If the Vendor's training is the opposite of our training, we certainly need to know so that we can investigate their actions and take proper action. If possible, please provide the Agent Name, Employee ID, or physical description of the representative that came to your door. Also, if you would like, we can add your address to our internal Do Not Knock list to prevent any future solicitation. If you have more information please let us know. We would love to help you to fix this situation as soon as possible. Please connect with us through chat at www.directenergy.com. It will be a pleasure to help you! - Zoeh / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Dissatisfied with Direct Energy
I had been with Direct Energy for years and no issues. One year I missed the renewal and they doubled my gas rate. I called to have it switched back to the fixed rate. They indicated it could not be switched for a minimum of 60 days. They offered to provide me with a $75 dollar gift card but I never received the gift card. Their rate is high and it is not easy to get out of the contract without paying in excess. The customer service support team was lacking in knowledge and not helpful. Very dissatisfied with their overall service.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kdg from Streetsboro, OH on February 28th, 2021
Hi, thank you for getting in contact with us, we sincerely apologize as it is our aim to be as transparent with customers as possible regarding their accounts. We would like the opportunity to investigate this further and check the status of your gift card. Please engage with us through chat at www.directenergy.com. We are looking forward to hearing from you soon! - Zoeh / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
The lights are on but nobodys home!
Sold my condo,notified D.E. On my last cheque that it was sold and this was my last payment. The new owner waited 2 weeks to establish an account. You bill me for the 2 weeks. I send you lawyers documents stating completion date of sale. You continue demand me to pay someone elses bill and now put the amount out to collection for $32.
Its not the money stupid, its the principle. I have made every effort to get this straight here and am faced with a wall of collective incompetence on your part.
Do something here to improve your 2 star rating.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

B.Naylor from on February 9th, 2021
Good afternoon, B. Naylor. We are truly sorry for the bad experience you have had. We care for you and we would love the opportunity to take a closer look at your account and help you solve your concern. Please feel free to contact us through any of our communication channels (FB, TW, phone, or chat) and we will do our best to provide you a solution. Thank you for this feedback. We'll be waiting for you. Have a beautiful day! - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Direct Energy Services, LLC
Warning! If you notice a sizable increase in your monthly Gas Bill which I have had for years! Call your local provider to see what the Ccf amount is and check who your Gas provider is. According to my records, Direct Energy has been over charging me double to triple the Ccf for over the last 8 years! I cancelled the service immediately and am waiting on "The Office of the President" to respond!

According to their source when the contract expires they put the household on a variable rate which is considerably higher. No communication in years.

Thank you to Columbia Gas for bringing this to my attention!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Direct Energy Services from Bay Village, OH on January 19th, 2021
Good afternoon. We are terribly sorry to hear about the confusion that occurred with your rate. It does sound like your account had a fixed-rate contract, which expired, and the account transitioned to a month to month, variable-rate plan. We certainly never want our customers to be surprised at the rate they are paying, nor do we want to transition a fixed-rate account to a variable rate unexpectedly. For these reasons, and as required by law, we send out an end of term notices to any account that has a fixed-rate contract expiring within the next 30-60 days (the requirements on when the letters must be sent vary by state). The end of terms notice would have included the expiration date of the current contract, instructions on how to renew into another fixed-rate contract (either by phone, chat, or via your online account), and the important disclosure that states if we do not hear from you by the expiration date, the account will automatically move to the month to month, variable rate pricing. Our goal is always to operate as transparently as possible and in the best interests of our customers. We regret that you had a less than outstanding experience and we're truly sad to know that we have lost you as a part of our family. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future, and we wish you all the best. - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Misleading and cheating company
I shifted my gas and electric in this company because i met the custoer service rep during their launching of promotions of 1 month free bills and less rate. i want to warn consumer that it was a complete lie and front only. Also the charge is a way higher and incomprehensible. Pls dont consider this company ever.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tim from on October 29th, 2020
Hi Tim, thank you for taking the time to share this information with us and were sorry to hear that your experience was not of the quality you expected. Would like to investigate this further and find out what happened with your promotion of one month free. Please engage with us through chat at www.directenergy.com/texas We are looking forward to hearing from you soon! It will be a pleasure to help you. Have a great weekend! - Zoeh / Digital Care  
— Direct Energy
I hope I have not been scammed.
Do you have salesman to come to sign you up. Because last evening a young man came with no ID, but and I pad with direct energy logo on it and I signed up after I got a call and answered questions to confer that I was the person on the bill. I was not on my Ps and Qs. Please tell me I was not scammed?
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Regenia J Dunnings from Cleveland, OH on July 22nd, 2020
Hi Regenia, we take all concerns raised about our sales practices very seriously and require that all our vendors ensure every agent is compliant with our policies and requests made by the owner of the home that they are visiting. Furthermore, each representative is required to clearly identify themselves as being with Direct Energy and not the local utility, both verbally and by wearing the appropriate badging and uniform. We do not tolerate aggressive or forceful behavior from our employees. The Door-to-Door sales agents are employed by vendors that we partner with. If the Vendor training is the opposite of our training, we certainly need to know so that we can investigate their actions and take proper action. If possible, please provide the Agent Name, Employee ID, or physical description of the representative that came to your door. Also, if you would like, we can add your address to our internal Do Not Knock list to prevent any future solicitation.


Please feel free to contact us at 1-888-305-3828, Monday through Friday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. CST and Saturday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. CST, or engage with our Live Chat agent from www.directenergy.com It will be a pleasure to help you, and we look forward to hearing from you! - Emma / Digital Care
— Direct Energy


Gas Plans & Rates


Recommended Plans
All Plans
Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
Monthly Recurring Charge
The 'Monthly Recurring Charge' is a fee that the provider will add to each of your bills in addition to the electricity/gas usage charges.
Popular Plan
30 month
Fixed Rate
$0.655 / ccf
13.1% under market rate
Compared to the current Columbia Gas rate of $0.7541 / ccf
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
2 Year Fixed Rate
24 month
Fixed Rate
$0.655 / ccf
13.1% under market rate
Compared to the current Columbia Gas rate of $0.7541 / ccf
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
24 Month Fixed Rate
24 month
Fixed Rate
$0.659 / ccf
12.6% under market rate
Compared to the current Columbia Gas rate of $0.7541 / ccf
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
$0.659 / ccf
12.6% under market rate
Compared to the current Columbia Gas rate of $0.7541 / ccf
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Variable Rate
1 month
Variable Rate
$0.675 / ccf
10.5% under market rate
Compared to the current Columbia Gas rate of $0.7541 / ccf
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
$0.689 / ccf
8.6% under market rate
Compared to the current Columbia Gas rate of $0.7541 / ccf
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
$0.699 / ccf
7.3% under market rate
Compared to the current Columbia Gas rate of $0.7541 / ccf
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
18 Month Fixed Rate
18 month
Fixed Rate
$0.699 / ccf
7.3% under market rate
Compared to the current Columbia Gas rate of $0.7541 / ccf
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
12 Month Indexed Rate
12 month
Indexed Rate
$0.699 / ccf
7.3% under market rate
Compared to the current Columbia Gas rate of $0.7541 / ccf
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
36 Month Fixed Rate
36 month
Fixed Rate
$0.699 / ccf
7.3% under market rate
Compared to the current Columbia Gas rate of $0.7541 / ccf
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
$0.719 / ccf
4.7% under market rate
Compared to the current Columbia Gas rate of $0.7541 / ccf
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
24 Month Fixed Rate
24 month
Fixed Rate
$0.749 / ccf
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
24 Month Fixed Rate
24 month
Fixed Rate
$0.799 / ccf
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
$0.830 / ccf
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
$0.849 / ccf
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
$1.099 / ccf
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
24 Month Fixed Rate
24 month
Fixed Rate
$1.099 / ccf
$0.00 monthly recurring charge