Reviews for AEP Energy

The best review categories for AEP Energy are the order experience, with an average of 2.1 stars, and their billing & account management system, with an average of 1.7 stars.


Recent Good Review from Jon

Everything's great, except for how reliable it is.
The title says it all. The website is good, the billing processes are good, customer service is okay, etc. The only downside is, that the power lately goes out monthly, usually for four+ hours. When you work from home, that is a non-starter.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jon from Columbus, OH on June 28th, 2021


Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

2 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Everything's great, except for how reliable it is.
The title says it all. The website is good, the billing processes are good, customer service is okay, etc. The only downside is, that the power lately goes out monthly, usually for four+ hours. When you work from home, that is a non-starter.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jon from Columbus, OH on June 28th, 2021
AEP OH will not reimburse for losses
I had a power surge on my property June 12th around 7:30 PM. Had an electrician come up, they told me the neutral ground wire was bad and AEP had to fix it. Because of this, many of my items in my home were destroyed. It wasn't enough to where my home insurance would cover it, but it was definitely above my monthly pay to cover it. I don't make much, enough to pay my bills and eat and MAYBE just MAYBE buy myself something nice. I've been a paying customer for two years. If I'm driving my car and my engine fails and I wreck into 6 people, is it my fault or the engines fault? Exactly, but AEP doesn't seem to understand this common sensibility. They told me because the failure was unprecedented or unplanned that they couldn't reimburse me for anything. Now I'm out of $1200 worth of stuff because of their crappy service and their failure to do preventative maintenance and proper testing on my lines. Everything else is great, but I'd really recommend you put a surge protector that covers unprecedented surges for your items in your home because I've heard of AEP and these surge protector companies just screwing people left and right. I'm currently complaining to the BBB about this and I'm fearful they may shut my electric off if I take further action.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Nathaniel Flesher from Toronto, OH on July 15th, 2020



Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

1 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
AEP Needs an Overhaul
We have been in Athens, OH for 2 years now. It feels like we are living in a developing country where there are regular power outages. So far we have had over 4-5 power outages, with one of the outages for over 24 hours in freezing winter weather. Their prices are ridiculously high. We were paying $178/month, and all at once we went up to $360/month and it is not because of wattage usage but because of services in our area. Do not recommend AEP at all.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Steve M from Athens, OH on February 5th, 2021



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

16 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Poor service during outage
In my area on Liberty hill rd, Chillicothe Ohio, we are always the last one to have power restored during any outage. My neighbors just down the road 500 in both directions of my home always seem to have power restored days before we do. The power grid in my area is ancient with very little maintenance done. Im considering going all solar power and do away with this pathetic service and upkeep on my lines. I pay my bill faithfully each month but get a hobos treatment. I have contacted the company on 4 different days telling them of trees down on power lines and each time they say they had no calls made to them about that. AEP is good at giving you the runaround and thats the only thing they are good at!! Shame on them!!!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Randy from Chillicothe, OH on June 16th, 2022
Moral-less company
Had my power disconnected at 11:30am Friday morning. Then that person left on vacation. No one able to restore. Hottest days on record for the summer. Against their own policy/law of same day restoration of power before noon against their own policy of notifying person at home at time of disconnect. Only option is to go to court. No wonder they dont care about their customers. ZERO repercussion. Now, planned brown out without notifying customers? Downright wrong. Even an hours notice allows us to prepare (including stores and gas stations). You have a responsibility with all your power. Do better.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Irate Customer from Columbus, OH on June 14th, 2022
How to people who operate companies like this sleep at night?
AEP is quick to shut you off. Make your payment before the due date, I mean way before. If theres any kind of delay on your payment (like from your bank) making it into their account you and your kids will be in the cold and dark.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Decency Doesn't Apply To Power Companies from 24551 on March 10th, 2022
Rude Customer Service
I used their chat feature to try to work out payment arrangements. The responder gave me a few canned responses. I needed clarification. I was not rude but she hung up the chat before I could rephrase my question. I am thinking the way that she did it, they must be told that it is okay to hang up on people. That actually was my last question so had she answered it, I would not be here but it was really shocking to be typing and the next thing you know, the chat closes. I could have started another chat but if you are having problems paying your bill, I guess it is acceptable for the chat reps to hang up on customers.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Carol from Steubenville, OH on February 28th, 2022
Do not use
Awful company, do not recommend anyone give them a cent
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Customer Without Power from Columbus, OH on February 21st, 2022
AEP is a horrible company
As stated in the title AEP is horrible they didn't tell us they were coming turned off the electricity briefly and fried my PS4 then turn the electricity right back on and before I could get out there to stop them they left. Thanks for nothing AEP. I do not recommend making them your electricity provider.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

J. from Mc Arthur, OH on August 31st, 2021
AEP is the worse and a nightmare
AEP is a nightmare. I get depressed thinking about them such a burden and loss of sleep. I'm not sure how this company is the only electric power provider in most area of Columbus as big as Columbus is. The electric charges are ridiculous and it's a shame.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Anonymous from Columbus, OH on June 19th, 2021
Cant return the lower on for more than 2 days
I am trying to return the power on to my place for 2 days and they keeps saying your case is reviewing
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Haitham from Columbus, OH on May 4th, 2021
Bad!
Bad!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

P from Martinsburg, OH on March 3rd, 2021
Random Bill Jumps
With AEP I started out with only a 40 dollar bill and I live alone. It went up last year this time like expected. However this year it doubled with no changes other than an average of 10 degrees with weather. I asked about usage and they said it was about the same maybe a little higher. However this year, MY BILL DOUBLED FROM LAST YEAR. And when I called and asked they basically said your temperature is too high for average usage and temperature is lower this year. Then proceeded to tell me theres nothing they will do even though my usage is roughly the same. If it wasnt for this company being the only one in my area I would not recommend them. By the way the bill went from $117 to $279 from December 2019-December 2020
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

David C from Athens, OH on January 11th, 2021