Reviews for NRG Home

Updated May 22, 2024

The best review categories for NRG Home are their customer service, with an average of 2.2 stars, and the order experience, with an average of 2.0 stars.


Recent Good Review from Brian

Twice the price!
Initially seemed like a good deal and they offered incentives. Never recieved the incentives and my current rate is more than twice the standard. Not only a let down, but financially harmful when you get a bill obsurdly high, while living on a fixed income. Seems the phrase "thank you for your Service" is a precursor for seperating those in need from their financial resources. Nothing like being a Disabled Vet on a fixed income who serving as Hospice for a dying relative, while being taken advantage of by a utility provider. Beyond that, their Customer Service Rep and their Street Team, Marketing Reps were very personable. Not a people issue, a practice and procedure issue.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Brian from Logan, OH on December 15th, 2022


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

11 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 5 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Helpful
I had a very easy time signing up with NRG HOME online for their services for gas and electric. I also have call their customer service and they are very nice and helpful. I'm glad I switched and hope to be a long time customer.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tonya Little from Warren, OH on November 10th, 2021
Helped with my bill
Helped decrease my bill significantly and gave me more control. Highly recommend.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Terry from Cincinnati, OH on October 27th, 2021
Woo-Hoo
My bill was cut in half!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Shari from Marysville, OH on October 8th, 2021
Highly Recommend NRG
NRG provides the best cost, service, & support. Just make sure to call after the introductory period to guarantee you keep getting the best rate. It takes just a couple minutes. The representatives are extremely professional and efficient. I definitely recommend you consider NRG.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Joseph from Dayton, OH on June 25th, 2021
Great company!!
I highly recommend them!! The reps are very nice and informative! You just gotta call back at 3 months to keep your low rate. Please listen when the reps tell you things they work there and theyre the experts. Thank you NRG
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lexie Arrington from Lorain, OH on October 26th, 2020
I called!
Whenever I look at the reviews from something, they are full of hate, and the bad reviews, not so much good, so I will leave my experience. It only took NRG to appear on my bill, and when they did my bill went down $137. They had me put a reminder in my phone to call them back in three months, and when I called I got the 5% cash back, and my rate was still really low. Now I'm earning money back for my electric. It's like being paid to use electric. I would highly recommend them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Alyssa from Eastlake, OH on October 2nd, 2020
Gotta call back
I tried this out and I liked it. I almost forgot to call back to keep the fixed rate. They saved me a few $100 across the 3 months. I would highly recommend them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sandra from North Olmsted, OH on September 21st, 2020
Nrg
NRG saved me so much on my bill. I was paying $233 of the 2 fees they take off, and my bill was only$476. They reminded me to call back after 3 months or my rates would go up. In glad I called back.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kelly Rogers from Eastlake, OH on July 25th, 2020
Renew and your rates will stay low
Everyone complaining that their rates went up, its because you didnt renew like the rep told you to. Its not that hard to understand. If you renew, youll keep your rates low.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kevin from Columbus, OH on July 20th, 2020
Great people
The people, service and saving are great. I would highly recommend them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Steve from Cleveland, OH on June 17th, 2020
You guys arent smart
Nrg offers amazing plans you just have to make sure you renew your rate! Thats your responsibility in order to save some money! The reps tell you that when you sign up! Open your ears and maybe youll be happy with it....
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Nrglover from Pickerington, OH on January 25th, 2019



Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

5 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
The Truth
The rep in walmart was very informative, and honest with my rates. I even went to the energy choice website and made sure the company was lagit. I told the rep the first time that I wanted to do more research because I had read the reviews over and over again. What I had found out was, the rep was telling me all the truth.

I would highly recommend this company as your supplier. They have saved me $67 a month for the past few month, then I called back to renew my rate.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jared King from Akron, OH on September 23rd, 2021
Price
I changed due to pricing snd am selling my home so I took a shorter contract period
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

C Baird from Englewood, OH on September 17th, 2021
Must Read:
I read all the 1 star reviews and realize they all have something in common. You people were stupid and never called back after the 3 month promotion to keep the fixed rate, like the rep said.

I would highly recommend NRG, just dont be stupid and not call back when the rep says, because yes the rates go to variable if you don't call back. Just as they say. Give NRG some credit.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Amy from Eastlake, OH on March 15th, 2021
NRG Review
The customer service representatives were very nice. I switched with NRG a few months ago, and when they stopped me, they reminded me to call back, so my rate didn't go to a variable rate.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

James from Lorain, OH on August 1st, 2020
It's worth it
I signed up with some guy in Walmart. I usually don't stop at those kind of things but he seemed so happy i had to see what it was all about. I signed up before thanksgiving. First bill i saved a few dollars. I noticed a difference when my bill went from $220 down to $175. I saw these reviews and noticed everyone saying the same thing. The very few writing 5 star reviews are satisfied with NRG's service. Call and keep the program. Everyone wants to write a bad review when something doesn't go their way. Nobody writes a good review, when it meets their expectations.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

It Works from Lakewood, OH on May 26th, 2020



Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

1 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Twice the price!
Initially seemed like a good deal and they offered incentives. Never recieved the incentives and my current rate is more than twice the standard. Not only a let down, but financially harmful when you get a bill obsurdly high, while living on a fixed income. Seems the phrase "thank you for your Service" is a precursor for seperating those in need from their financial resources. Nothing like being a Disabled Vet on a fixed income who serving as Hospice for a dying relative, while being taken advantage of by a utility provider. Beyond that, their Customer Service Rep and their Street Team, Marketing Reps were very personable. Not a people issue, a practice and procedure issue.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Brian from Logan, OH on December 15th, 2022



Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

3 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
2.8 times what the default utility rate was!
I dont know how these folks sleep at night, honestly. My elderly mom who is on a fixed income got talked into switching to this company while she was shopping in Walmart because they were touting supporting renewable energy solutions and she wanted to be a good citizen and support that. Long story short, that shopping trip cost her a total of $541.09 over the past 10 months. Her most recent electric bill for her modest 1500 square foot home was for $826.25 for one month!! I looked at what the default utility rate on that bill was and she paid $352.89 MORE ON ONE BILL than she would have had she not switched. These folks are predatory criminals. They should be ashamed!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

SparkyChick from Loveland, OH on February 25th, 2022
NRG WILL NOT SAVE YOU ANY MONEY!!!
They did not save me a penny!!! In March and April 2020 DPL's prices was 4.4 cents /KwH. NRG charged me 10.4 cents per kWh and 11.5 cents in April. If you want to save money DO NOT USE NRG!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mark from Vandalia, OH on May 13th, 2020
Don't fall for their WE WILL SAVE YOU MONEY sales pitch...
They did not save me a penny!!! In March and April 2020 DPL's prices was 4.4 cents /KwH. NRG charged me 10.4 cents per kWh and 11.5 cents in April. If you want to save money DO NOT USE NRG!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mark from Vandalia, OH on May 13th, 2020



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

65 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Ridiculous bills
First month in my new place, an 1 bedroom 1 bathroom. they told me I would save more money there than AEP i decided to switch , my first bill on AEP was $140. Next month it was with NRG and my bill was $222 , way more than I shouldve paid. I decided to cancel same day I got that bill, my new AEP bill just came and it is $130. I would never suggest NRG unless you want a bill between $200/$300. Unnecessarily robbed out of money.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Amber Young from Columbus, OH on February 21st, 2024
Ridiculous bills
First month in my new place, an 1 bedroom 1 bathroom. they told me I would save more money there than AEP i decided to switch , my first bill on AEP was $140. Next month it was with NRG and my bill was $222 , way more than I shouldve paid. I decided to cancel same day I got that bill, my new AEP bill just came and it is $130. I would never suggest NRG unless you want a bill between $200/$300. Unnecessarily robbed out of money.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Amber Young from Columbus, OH on February 21st, 2024
My Elec bill shot sky high
My bill shot to the highest it has ever been in the 10 years I have bene in this house. I switched just before Christmas and as soon as their "Introductory rate" stopped it did a massive jump. After this acct closes I will never use their company again
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

LdyPam from New Lexington, OH on February 16th, 2024
Deceptive Practices, Rude, Can't do basic math
My wife was approached by one of these guys in a walmart. He yelled at her from about 4 aisles down and then began going to work. After he got her to sign up she called me (I was at work), and she told me she had lowered our electric bill by signing up with NRG. They had "locked us in at .09/Kwh for 2 years. AEP was charging us .112/Kwhr! He looked at our bill and showed me!" The problem there was that our city recently switched to an aggregate and our rates are actually only .062/Kwhr which is much lower than AEP charges. After I got off work, I went over to the walmart to ask questions to the guy since it didn't make sense to me how raising our rate by almost 50% was going to save us money. When I approached him and let him know my wife signed up earlier and I had questions, he asked who my wife was. I told him and he goes, "Oh, is she the...not trying to be rude..." and made a sweeping gesture with his hands to mime a heavier set person. HOW IS THAT NOT RUDE?! And then when I started asking questions about how a rate that's about 50% higher than our current one would save us money. He straight up told me that 9 is not 50% higher than 6. I made him pull out his calculator to make him understand basic math. These guys do not care what you pay, it is their job just to sign you up. He saw our bills and knew we had a lower rate and lied to my wife and got her to sign up to a higher rate, and then body shamed her to me. AVOID NRG AT ALL COSTS!! These guys are never looking out for your best interests, they just want you sign up so they get their commission.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kaleb from Lima, OH on February 15th, 2024
DO NOT USE NRG
For some reason I signed up with them. They sell a good pitch. I just looked into my bill finally and called Duke to compare their rates. I literally paid $100 more a month bc of using NRG rather then Duke. $800 down the drain!! HIGHWAY ROBBERY!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Nicole from Cincinnati, OH on January 22nd, 2024
Stay away.. scam and fraud
NRG harassed me to sign up at 6%. Then a few months later, my bill doubled. When calling them, which was a nightmare, I was informed that my new rate was 11% because my initial rate was only good for 3 months.
This was never mentioned by the person that signed me up.

Customer Service is horrible because they don't care about existing customers when they are scamming new people every day to sign up with them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Scam from Springboro, OH on January 18th, 2024
Unprofessional employees
I was approached today by an employee/ salesperson by the name of Ari at the Stringtown Rd. Walmart & asked for my zip code. I politely declined (no thank you) and continued to walk away. This woman literally proceeded to FOLLOW ME as I was walking away and said I said whats your zip code and again I said Im sorry Im not interested and she said AGAIN whats your zip code??? I ignored her at this point because she was being extremely disrespectful towards me & she yelled at me to keep on walking I turned around and looked back at her and said excuse me?? And she replies you heard me then continued to stare at me and Bob her head at me while I was getting formula for my baby (who was also with me at the time). Absolute disrespect!!!! I will not recommend this company to anyone based off of my experience today. Do better!!!!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Morgan from Orient, OH on May 1st, 2023
They lie and mislead
Nrg was at a local store, Shawn would hardly let me ask a question , I kept telling him dont sign me up for anything, he replied I am not just providing info. He lied about the electric rate of .042, it says in sign up info .062 for 1st 3 months. My energy was at .038 lower than what they stated. He misled, and lied. If I see them in my store I will tell all. I would give them negative 10 stars if I could.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Pam from Cincinnati, OH on April 17th, 2023
This company deceived you and does not give you all the
This company deceived you and does not give you all the information upfront. I was locked in at $.17 and the company told me I was overpaying that I needed to switch. There were some women who are working for this company at our local Walmart and advised me I was paying too much. I get my bill this month Im paying $1.36. My bills $195. This company is having the representatives get people to switch without giving all their information. They told me I would pay a much less price than what I had and now Im in $1.36 instead of 17 cents
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kim from Bellbrook, OH on January 9th, 2023
Horrible
Price started off nice then they jacked up their percentage and doubled our bill!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

John Smitty from Zanesville, OH on November 5th, 2022
Over charging customers.
I went on the plan approximately 10 months ago first two months saved between five and seven dollars after that in the last 10 months they have cost me $641 more than American Electric Power AP. Would never recommend going with somebody different unless youre going to constantly babysit them and keep them honest.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tony Parkins. from Tiffin, OH on October 19th, 2022
Do not use this company!
They offered a lower rate than my electric company, however they failed to state it was an introductory rate, that automatically after 3 months it tripled. Total scam, I would NOT recommend this company!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

William from Waldo, OH on February 10th, 2022
SCAM
I wish I would've looked in the reviews before signing up. They try to entice with saving money and a gift card after your first three months. I was naive and signed up and that was a BIG mistake. I did save a few cents my first 3 months but it was literally cents and I received my giftcard for being a member. This winter I started getting $200-$300 outrageous electric bills for a 1 bdr apartment. I immediately called another electric company and found out theyre changing ridiculous amounts for kilowatt and the company I called told me my bill would've been over $100 less without them. This is a total scam! Buyer beware. NRG offered to adjust my bill if I stayed with them but since I decided to cancel it was a big F you you're stuck with this outrageous bill.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

John from Columbus, OH on January 27th, 2022
Don't overstay your contract. Theyll double your rate
Went from a contract rate of .041 kwh to .099 kwh when contract ran out. They will price gouge you in a minute.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Doubled My Rate from Groveport, OH on January 27th, 2022
Not worth it
Im not usually one to fall for the people at Walmart. But times were tough when they found me. Saving money and I dont have to do much? Sure! They failed to tell me that the rate I was given only last 3 months. Apparently it was in the 3 pages of the tiniest font terms I received. I only called once to get my rate lowered. The next time I asked to cancel. Apparently that takes months too. Ive called 4 times to get it cancelled and finally had to ask them to send me a letter confirming it. Just got the letter today stating my electric provider will start being my main source in 30 days. On Dec they charged me $108, my electric company would have charged me $55.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

LB from Columbus, OH on January 20th, 2022
No ethics, it is a trap
They did not save me a penny but costed me hundreds of dollars. The last bill I paid, it was 10.5 Cents per KWH versus AES rates are 4.8 cents per hour. I won't even give them a single star. They are big company but they do not have any ethics. 218.75% more then AES. I will never recommend this company to any body.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

LG from Dayton, OH on November 11th, 2021
Scam ,fraud
I switched to nrg 5 months ago and my bills become higher $ 30-40 its scam you should watch for sales persons specially those at the food market they only Want thier commission
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Hasan from Mason, OH on September 15th, 2021
Scam!
I was told after 3 months, the plan would automatically stop unless I contacted them to renew. Big mistake! NRG automatically enrolled me in a 6 month plan and my electric bill DOUBLED!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Anna Perdue from Zanesville, OH on September 2nd, 2021
Why do i always have to to avoid above normal rates.
Don't waste your time there are better companies.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Doug from South Lebanon, OH on August 5th, 2021
Dont GET NRG SCAMMER
I paid 600 dollars on electric double every month electric company said they are a scammer collector dont say or display contact to that company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dont Get NRH from Lancaster, OH on August 4th, 2021
Bad Walmart Enrollment Experience
On 7/19/21 I made the mistake of enrolling with a salesperson while shopping at Walmart. The salesperson looked up my rate online and showed me that NRG's rate was more than 20% lower than my current rate through Duke Energy. When I got home, I reviewed my latest bill and the rate I was paying was actually lower than NRG's rate. I immediately filed NRG's "Notice of Cancellation" form via email. They responded that they could not cancel it, that I had to call Duke Energy (current supplier) to cancel. I called Duke Energy on 7/20/21, explained the situation and they told me that they would take care of it. On 7/27/21 I got a letter from Duke stating that NRG would be my new supplier unless I called Duke to cancel. I called Duke on 7/28/21 to cancel NRG for the second time. Hopefully this is the end of it.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Larry from Hamilton, OH on July 28th, 2021
Stay Far Away
I ran into a young lady at Walmart that convinced me to switch over after showing me how much money they could save me. My bill was about the same (everything they "saved" me in electric fees they made up for in rider charges). I was fine with this, since I couldn't tell a difference in the total amount I was paying. After 6 months my bills shot up hundreds of dollars more than what I was paying before (comparing to the same months last year). When I finally had 2 straight bills over $700, I had to call and cancel. Be prepared for looooong wait times if you try to call and cancel.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Joey from Cincinnati, OH on July 27th, 2021
Fraudulant company
Stay away from them! There bullshit promise is good for 6 months but then hiked way up above variable,..then 60 days to cancel and they raise it even further!
Stick with aep or shop around !
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Matt Jivanjee from Columbus, OH on July 13th, 2021
I didnt even sign up for this
An NRG rep came to my door and I I declined their services. 5 months later I get an email from aep stating my transmission is to be changed to nrg home. Door to door scammers.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Unhappy Non Customer from Columbus, OH on June 8th, 2021
Worst experience ever
I talk to one of there employees at Walmart west Chester oh. After he went with me all over the kWH charges
He stated that I ll save lot of money by switching from duke energy to NRG
At the end I was not confident I left without signing anything
He said anyway you ll receive a call from 800 number if you agree to switch to NRG give them the ok
I received many call from the 800 number but did not answer none of them.
Since the day I talk to this employee my electrical bill went up every month till I reached the bill of $480 I called duke energy they said that s because of the third party supplier that I did not even I had.
I was paying my bill without even checking what s in there
Instead of getting charged for 0.054 kwh I was charged for 0.094 kwh for the last 6 months.
Please everyone whose reading my review do not sign with please.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Messaoud Choubane from West Chester, OH on April 15th, 2021
Supposed to be lower bill
I ran into these guys at Walmart and they were pushy and wanted to sign me up. The last few months. My bill has been 170 to 190 dollars. There charging 95 cents a kilowatts and aep is only 59 cents. I wouldnt recommend getting them. The last bill i had charged me 100 dollars by themselves. Aep charged me 77
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kyle Daugherty from Zanesville, OH on March 17th, 2021
Lying and cheating
They approached my mother in Sam's Club with a fancy sales pitch so she went for it. Then after a free months she was hit with hundreds of dollars in fees, and a higher rate. My mother who is retired on disability went from $175/month on electric to well over $700 without warning. When we contacted Duke, they said these kind of providers are unregulated and can basically do whatever they want when it comes to charges. I don't know how they can sleep at night.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Charles from Cincinnati, OH on March 15th, 2021
SCAM!
They will charge you double or triple on your electricity bill.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Elizabeth Myers from Pataskala, OH on March 11th, 2021
Wow Just WOW
I would RUN and RUN as fast as you can from this company...I just got a 900 bill!! Now Last months bill was almost 800 I contacted the electric company I have NEVER had an electric bill so high, and of course, it was explained as to why it was so high...of course, my electric billing provider can't do anything because I was promised a different rate by this electric provider which ended up being a LOT higher....costing me triple the amount of what I have ever paid in the past! When I contacted customer service the only concern was getting me to stay, not in helping me resolve the issue while in the midst of a pandemic while I am fighting covid a month later. I am so disgusted and disappointed!!! DO NOT UTILIZE this provider unless you want a massive bill!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Paula R Matthews from Columbus, OH on March 2nd, 2021
Trash
This company is a joke, I went from paying 180$ a month to more than double that when I used NRG. Nothing dramatic changed with how much electric I used either.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

D from Grove City, OH on February 26th, 2021
RIP OFF
They did not explain very well about the call back. I should not have to jump through hoops to keep my electric bill at a reasonable cost.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

RIP OFF from Fairfield, OH on February 1st, 2021
Good price for 3 months, then you see the real prices without notification
They grabbed in a local Walmart. Convinced me NRG is cheaper. I noticed over time that my $/KWH kept increasing. That said, they have not told me that the offer was only valid for 3 months, no informing me about the change.
Don't waste your money!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Resident In City Ave from 1913 on January 28th, 2021
SCAM SCAM SCAM
They will offer you a low rate and tell you to "follow up in a few months when the promo ends" if you don't, they will double or TRIPLE your rate.

SCAM!!!!! The gift card is not worth it!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

SCAM! from Columbus, OH on January 5th, 2021
Scammers
Watch out people for this scammers. They overpriced my bill not because of my usage. They didnt help me reduce my electric bill. Instead, I was paying two separate bill . I am paying my electric bill for the company I am using and also paying ngr bill. I found out to my electric company that ngr was charging me 3 times more than the amount I was paying per kWh with my electric company. I went from paying $30-$50 on winter time and $51-$80 on summer time a month with my electric company , to $230-$500 a month when I signed up for nrg without any changes in daily routine. Theyre MTF scammers. Dont sign up please or you will end up where I am now with a $500 bill to pay and no food!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Gracia Angry Customer from Cincinnati, OH on December 23rd, 2020
Crappy company n service
This is the most fraud scam company.. How you going to charge me 180 bucks for 78 dollar power usage?. Not only that i didnt even know my account was still active until i look at my recent bills. I cancelled this stupid company 7 months ago n somehow magically come back and renewed? Gtfo
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Harrison from Newark, OH on December 11th, 2020
This is a scam!!!
I was approached in a Walmart. I was intrigued! Then after 3 months, my bill spiked! So I tried to cancel it. I was told that it was canceled, but I was getting bills $400-$500 a month!!! I cant afford that. Come to find out thy not only did the rep not cancel the services, its price is more than double of the actual electric company. Please dont ask to speak to a supervisor because in this multimillion dollar company, they only have one that is able to help! I was robbed for damn near $3000!!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Pissed Off from Lorain, OH on June 17th, 2020
Price gouging after contract expires
I switched from NRG back to my local supplier after NRG messed up my billing then failed to renew my contract. After one month my electric bill doubled. Customer service said that was the variable rate now. Pretty bad during these times people losing their job NRG decides to double their price.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

RT from Rockbridge, OH on April 15th, 2020
Terrible company
Worst electric supplier ever! Dont fall for promotional scams. They charged us double price for electric after a 3 month promotional period expired which I was never told was a promotion in the first place. I even asked if the price would shoot up and they said it would remain the same price for a year. Not only are they liars, but they double charge each month and apparently thats how they make there money because they cant keep customers long enough to do so.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Hwarnock0507 from East Canton, OH on February 26th, 2020
Cheap for the first 3 months. Then watch out!!!!
I signed up with NRG after talking with a rep several months back. At first it seemed great because I was saving a few bucks on my electricity by going with them. After the 3 month contract special was up they kicked me into a higher priced tier for the next three months with my bill going up all three months. Even though I used less electricity in Feb 2020 it was even higher than Jan. My rate increased twice in the last 3 months.

Don't go with NRG.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

T from Columbus, OH on February 20th, 2020
Big Rip Off. Stay Away
I signed up with a low rate of .05 kWh. It's kind of like the frog in slowly boiling water analogy. They slowly sneak the price per kWh until it's more than double when you notice what's going on. It takes another billing cycle to get rid of them. Cost me hundreds of dollars more than the electric supplier would have been if I had not switched. Terrible decision
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Frank from Magnolia, OH on February 18th, 2020