Reviews for NRG Home

The best review categories for NRG Home are their customer service, with an average of 2.1 stars, and the order experience, with an average of 2.0 stars.


Recent Good Review from Brian

Twice the price!
Initially seemed like a good deal and they offered incentives. Never recieved the incentives and my current rate is more than twice the standard. Not only a let down, but financially harmful when you get a bill obsurdly high, while living on a fixed income. Seems the phrase "thank you for your Service" is a precursor for seperating those in need from their financial resources. Nothing like being a Disabled Vet on a fixed income who serving as Hospice for a dying relative, while being taken advantage of by a utility provider. Beyond that, their Customer Service Rep and their Street Team, Marketing Reps were very personable. Not a people issue, a practice and procedure issue.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Brian from Logan, OH on December 15th, 2022


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

11 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 5 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Helpful
I had a very easy time signing up with NRG HOME online for their services for gas and electric. I also have call their customer service and they are very nice and helpful. I'm glad I switched and hope to be a long time customer.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tonya Little from Warren, OH on November 10th, 2021
Helped with my bill
Helped decrease my bill significantly and gave me more control. Highly recommend.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Terry from Cincinnati, OH on October 27th, 2021
Woo-Hoo
My bill was cut in half!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Shari from Marysville, OH on October 8th, 2021
Highly Recommend NRG
NRG provides the best cost, service, & support. Just make sure to call after the introductory period to guarantee you keep getting the best rate. It takes just a couple minutes. The representatives are extremely professional and efficient. I definitely recommend you consider NRG.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Joseph from Dayton, OH on June 25th, 2021
Great company!!
I highly recommend them!! The reps are very nice and informative! You just gotta call back at 3 months to keep your low rate. Please listen when the reps tell you things they work there and theyre the experts. Thank you NRG
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lexie Arrington from Lorain, OH on October 26th, 2020
I called!
Whenever I look at the reviews from something, they are full of hate, and the bad reviews, not so much good, so I will leave my experience. It only took NRG to appear on my bill, and when they did my bill went down $137. They had me put a reminder in my phone to call them back in three months, and when I called I got the 5% cash back, and my rate was still really low. Now I'm earning money back for my electric. It's like being paid to use electric. I would highly recommend them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Alyssa from Eastlake, OH on October 2nd, 2020
Gotta call back
I tried this out and I liked it. I almost forgot to call back to keep the fixed rate. They saved me a few $100 across the 3 months. I would highly recommend them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sandra from North Olmsted, OH on September 21st, 2020
Nrg
NRG saved me so much on my bill. I was paying $233 of the 2 fees they take off, and my bill was only$476. They reminded me to call back after 3 months or my rates would go up. In glad I called back.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kelly Rogers from Eastlake, OH on July 25th, 2020
Renew and your rates will stay low
Everyone complaining that their rates went up, its because you didnt renew like the rep told you to. Its not that hard to understand. If you renew, youll keep your rates low.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kevin from Columbus, OH on July 20th, 2020
Great people
The people, service and saving are great. I would highly recommend them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Steve from Cleveland, OH on June 17th, 2020


Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

5 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
The Truth
The rep in walmart was very informative, and honest with my rates. I even went to the energy choice website and made sure the company was lagit. I told the rep the first time that I wanted to do more research because I had read the reviews over and over again. What I had found out was, the rep was telling me all the truth.

I would highly recommend this company as your supplier. They have saved me $67 a month for the past few month, then I called back to renew my rate.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jared King from Akron, OH on September 23rd, 2021
Price
I changed due to pricing snd am selling my home so I took a shorter contract period
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

C Baird from Englewood, OH on September 17th, 2021
Must Read:
I read all the 1 star reviews and realize they all have something in common. You people were stupid and never called back after the 3 month promotion to keep the fixed rate, like the rep said.

I would highly recommend NRG, just dont be stupid and not call back when the rep says, because yes the rates go to variable if you don't call back. Just as they say. Give NRG some credit.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Amy from Eastlake, OH on March 15th, 2021
NRG Review
The customer service representatives were very nice. I switched with NRG a few months ago, and when they stopped me, they reminded me to call back, so my rate didn't go to a variable rate.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

James from Lorain, OH on August 1st, 2020
It's worth it
I signed up with some guy in Walmart. I usually don't stop at those kind of things but he seemed so happy i had to see what it was all about. I signed up before thanksgiving. First bill i saved a few dollars. I noticed a difference when my bill went from $220 down to $175. I saw these reviews and noticed everyone saying the same thing. The very few writing 5 star reviews are satisfied with NRG's service. Call and keep the program. Everyone wants to write a bad review when something doesn't go their way. Nobody writes a good review, when it meets their expectations.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

It Works from Lakewood, OH on May 26th, 2020



Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

1 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Twice the price!
Initially seemed like a good deal and they offered incentives. Never recieved the incentives and my current rate is more than twice the standard. Not only a let down, but financially harmful when you get a bill obsurdly high, while living on a fixed income. Seems the phrase "thank you for your Service" is a precursor for seperating those in need from their financial resources. Nothing like being a Disabled Vet on a fixed income who serving as Hospice for a dying relative, while being taken advantage of by a utility provider. Beyond that, their Customer Service Rep and their Street Team, Marketing Reps were very personable. Not a people issue, a practice and procedure issue.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Brian from Logan, OH on December 15th, 2022



Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

3 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
2.8 times what the default utility rate was!
I dont know how these folks sleep at night, honestly. My elderly mom who is on a fixed income got talked into switching to this company while she was shopping in Walmart because they were touting supporting renewable energy solutions and she wanted to be a good citizen and support that. Long story short, that shopping trip cost her a total of $541.09 over the past 10 months. Her most recent electric bill for her modest 1500 square foot home was for $826.25 for one month!! I looked at what the default utility rate on that bill was and she paid $352.89 MORE ON ONE BILL than she would have had she not switched. These folks are predatory criminals. They should be ashamed!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

SparkyChick from Loveland, OH on February 25th, 2022
NRG WILL NOT SAVE YOU ANY MONEY!!!
They did not save me a penny!!! In March and April 2020 DPL's prices was 4.4 cents /KwH. NRG charged me 10.4 cents per kWh and 11.5 cents in April. If you want to save money DO NOT USE NRG!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mark from Vandalia, OH on May 13th, 2020
Don't fall for their WE WILL SAVE YOU MONEY sales pitch...
They did not save me a penny!!! In March and April 2020 DPL's prices was 4.4 cents /KwH. NRG charged me 10.4 cents per kWh and 11.5 cents in April. If you want to save money DO NOT USE NRG!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mark from Vandalia, OH on May 13th, 2020



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

61 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
DO NOT USE NRG
For some reason I signed up with them. They sell a good pitch. I just looked into my bill finally and called Duke to compare their rates. I literally paid $100 more a month bc of using NRG rather then Duke. $800 down the drain!! HIGHWAY ROBBERY!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Nicole from Cincinnati, OH on January 22nd, 2024
Stay away.. scam and fraud
NRG harassed me to sign up at 6%. Then a few months later, my bill doubled. When calling them, which was a nightmare, I was informed that my new rate was 11% because my initial rate was only good for 3 months.
This was never mentioned by the person that signed me up.

Customer Service is horrible because they don't care about existing customers when they are scamming new people every day to sign up with them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Scam from Springboro, OH on January 18th, 2024
Unprofessional employees
I was approached today by an employee/ salesperson by the name of Ari at the Stringtown Rd. Walmart & asked for my zip code. I politely declined (no thank you) and continued to walk away. This woman literally proceeded to FOLLOW ME as I was walking away and said I said whats your zip code and again I said Im sorry Im not interested and she said AGAIN whats your zip code??? I ignored her at this point because she was being extremely disrespectful towards me & she yelled at me to keep on walking I turned around and looked back at her and said excuse me?? And she replies you heard me then continued to stare at me and Bob her head at me while I was getting formula for my baby (who was also with me at the time). Absolute disrespect!!!! I will not recommend this company to anyone based off of my experience today. Do better!!!!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Morgan from Orient, OH on May 1st, 2023
They lie and mislead
Nrg was at a local store, Shawn would hardly let me ask a question , I kept telling him dont sign me up for anything, he replied I am not just providing info. He lied about the electric rate of .042, it says in sign up info .062 for 1st 3 months. My energy was at .038 lower than what they stated. He misled, and lied. If I see them in my store I will tell all. I would give them negative 10 stars if I could.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Pam from Cincinnati, OH on April 17th, 2023
This company deceived you and does not give you all the
This company deceived you and does not give you all the information upfront. I was locked in at $.17 and the company told me I was overpaying that I needed to switch. There were some women who are working for this company at our local Walmart and advised me I was paying too much. I get my bill this month Im paying $1.36. My bills $195. This company is having the representatives get people to switch without giving all their information. They told me I would pay a much less price than what I had and now Im in $1.36 instead of 17 cents
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kim from Bellbrook, OH on January 9th, 2023
Horrible
Price started off nice then they jacked up their percentage and doubled our bill!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

John Smitty from Zanesville, OH on November 5th, 2022
Over charging customers.
I went on the plan approximately 10 months ago first two months saved between five and seven dollars after that in the last 10 months they have cost me $641 more than American Electric Power AP. Would never recommend going with somebody different unless youre going to constantly babysit them and keep them honest.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tony Parkins. from Tiffin, OH on October 19th, 2022
Do not use this company!
They offered a lower rate than my electric company, however they failed to state it was an introductory rate, that automatically after 3 months it tripled. Total scam, I would NOT recommend this company!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

William from Waldo, OH on February 10th, 2022
SCAM
I wish I would've looked in the reviews before signing up. They try to entice with saving money and a gift card after your first three months. I was naive and signed up and that was a BIG mistake. I did save a few cents my first 3 months but it was literally cents and I received my giftcard for being a member. This winter I started getting $200-$300 outrageous electric bills for a 1 bdr apartment. I immediately called another electric company and found out theyre changing ridiculous amounts for kilowatt and the company I called told me my bill would've been over $100 less without them. This is a total scam! Buyer beware. NRG offered to adjust my bill if I stayed with them but since I decided to cancel it was a big F you you're stuck with this outrageous bill.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

John from Columbus, OH on January 27th, 2022
Don't overstay your contract. Theyll double your rate
Went from a contract rate of .041 kwh to .099 kwh when contract ran out. They will price gouge you in a minute.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Doubled My Rate from Groveport, OH on January 27th, 2022