The best review categories for NRG Home are their customer service, with an average of 2.1 stars, and their plans and pricing, with an average of 2.0 stars.

Review from Shari

Woo-Hoo
My bill was cut in half!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Shari from Marysville, OH on October 8th, 2021


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

10 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Helped with my bill
Helped decrease my bill significantly and gave me more control. Highly recommend.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Terry from Cincinnati, OH on October 27th, 2021
Woo-Hoo
My bill was cut in half!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Shari from Marysville, OH on October 8th, 2021
Highly Recommend NRG
NRG provides the best cost, service, & support. Just make sure to call after the introductory period to guarantee you keep getting the best rate. It takes just a couple minutes. The representatives are extremely professional and efficient. I definitely recommend you consider NRG.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Joseph from Dayton, OH on June 25th, 2021
Great company!!
I highly recommend them!! The reps are very nice and informative! You just gotta call back at 3 months to keep your low rate. Please listen when the reps tell you things they work there and theyre the experts. Thank you NRG
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lexie Arrington from Lorain, OH on October 26th, 2020
I called!
Whenever I look at the reviews from something, they are full of hate, and the bad reviews, not so much good, so I will leave my experience. It only took NRG to appear on my bill, and when they did my bill went down $137. They had me put a reminder in my phone to call them back in three months, and when I called I got the 5% cash back, and my rate was still really low. Now I'm earning money back for my electric. It's like being paid to use electric. I would highly recommend them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Alyssa from Eastlake, OH on October 2nd, 2020
Gotta call back
I tried this out and I liked it. I almost forgot to call back to keep the fixed rate. They saved me a few $100 across the 3 months. I would highly recommend them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sandra from North Olmsted, OH on September 21st, 2020
Nrg
NRG saved me so much on my bill. I was paying $233 of the 2 fees they take off, and my bill was only$476. They reminded me to call back after 3 months or my rates would go up. In glad I called back.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kelly Rogers from Eastlake, OH on July 25th, 2020
Renew and your rates will stay low
Everyone complaining that their rates went up, its because you didnt renew like the rep told you to. Its not that hard to understand. If you renew, youll keep your rates low.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kevin from Columbus, OH on July 20th, 2020
Great people
The people, service and saving are great. I would highly recommend them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Steve from Cleveland, OH on June 17th, 2020
You guys arent smart
Nrg offers amazing plans you just have to make sure you renew your rate! Thats your responsibility in order to save some money! The reps tell you that when you sign up! Open your ears and maybe youll be happy with it....
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Nrglover from Pickerington, OH on January 25th, 2019



Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

5 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
The Truth
The rep in walmart was very informative, and honest with my rates. I even went to the energy choice website and made sure the company was lagit. I told the rep the first time that I wanted to do more research because I had read the reviews over and over again. What I had found out was, the rep was telling me all the truth.

I would highly recommend this company as your supplier. They have saved me $67 a month for the past few month, then I called back to renew my rate.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jared King from Akron, OH on September 23rd, 2021
Price
I changed due to pricing snd am selling my home so I took a shorter contract period
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

C Baird from Englewood, OH on September 17th, 2021
Must Read:
I read all the 1 star reviews and realize they all have something in common. You people were stupid and never called back after the 3 month promotion to keep the fixed rate, like the rep said.

I would highly recommend NRG, just dont be stupid and not call back when the rep says, because yes the rates go to variable if you don't call back. Just as they say. Give NRG some credit.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Amy from Eastlake, OH on March 15th, 2021
NRG Review
The customer service representatives were very nice. I switched with NRG a few months ago, and when they stopped me, they reminded me to call back, so my rate didn't go to a variable rate.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

James from Lorain, OH on August 1st, 2020
It's worth it
I signed up with some guy in Walmart. I usually don't stop at those kind of things but he seemed so happy i had to see what it was all about. I signed up before thanksgiving. First bill i saved a few dollars. I noticed a difference when my bill went from $220 down to $175. I saw these reviews and noticed everyone saying the same thing. The very few writing 5 star reviews are satisfied with NRG's service. Call and keep the program. Everyone wants to write a bad review when something doesn't go their way. Nobody writes a good review, when it meets their expectations.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

It Works from Lakewood, OH on May 26th, 2020



Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

2 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
NRG WILL NOT SAVE YOU ANY MONEY!!!
They did not save me a penny!!! In March and April 2020 DPL's prices was 4.4 cents /KwH. NRG charged me 10.4 cents per kWh and 11.5 cents in April. If you want to save money DO NOT USE NRG!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mark from Vandalia, OH on May 13th, 2020
Don't fall for their WE WILL SAVE YOU MONEY sales pitch...
They did not save me a penny!!! In March and April 2020 DPL's prices was 4.4 cents /KwH. NRG charged me 10.4 cents per kWh and 11.5 cents in April. If you want to save money DO NOT USE NRG!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mark from Vandalia, OH on May 13th, 2020



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

49 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Scam ,fraud
I switched to nrg 5 months ago and my bills become higher $ 30-40 its scam you should watch for sales persons specially those at the food market they only Want thier commission
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Hasan from Mason, OH on September 15th, 2021
Scam!
I was told after 3 months, the plan would automatically stop unless I contacted them to renew. Big mistake! NRG automatically enrolled me in a 6 month plan and my electric bill DOUBLED!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Anna Perdue from Zanesville, OH on September 2nd, 2021
Why do i always have to to avoid above normal rates.
Don't waste your time there are better companies.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Doug from South Lebanon, OH on August 5th, 2021
Dont GET NRG SCAMMER
I paid 600 dollars on electric double every month electric company said they are a scammer collector dont say or display contact to that company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dont Get NRH from Lancaster, OH on August 4th, 2021
Bad Walmart Enrollment Experience
On 7/19/21 I made the mistake of enrolling with a salesperson while shopping at Walmart. The salesperson looked up my rate online and showed me that NRG's rate was more than 20% lower than my current rate through Duke Energy. When I got home, I reviewed my latest bill and the rate I was paying was actually lower than NRG's rate. I immediately filed NRG's "Notice of Cancellation" form via email. They responded that they could not cancel it, that I had to call Duke Energy (current supplier) to cancel. I called Duke Energy on 7/20/21, explained the situation and they told me that they would take care of it. On 7/27/21 I got a letter from Duke stating that NRG would be my new supplier unless I called Duke to cancel. I called Duke on 7/28/21 to cancel NRG for the second time. Hopefully this is the end of it.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Larry from Hamilton, OH on July 28th, 2021
Stay Far Away
I ran into a young lady at Walmart that convinced me to switch over after showing me how much money they could save me. My bill was about the same (everything they "saved" me in electric fees they made up for in rider charges). I was fine with this, since I couldn't tell a difference in the total amount I was paying. After 6 months my bills shot up hundreds of dollars more than what I was paying before (comparing to the same months last year). When I finally had 2 straight bills over $700, I had to call and cancel. Be prepared for looooong wait times if you try to call and cancel.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Joey from Cincinnati, OH on July 27th, 2021
Fraudulant company
Stay away from them! There bullshit promise is good for 6 months but then hiked way up above variable,..then 60 days to cancel and they raise it even further!
Stick with aep or shop around !
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Matt Jivanjee from Columbus, OH on July 13th, 2021
I didnt even sign up for this
An NRG rep came to my door and I I declined their services. 5 months later I get an email from aep stating my transmission is to be changed to nrg home. Door to door scammers.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Unhappy Non Customer from Columbus, OH on June 8th, 2021
Worst experience ever
I talk to one of there employees at Walmart west Chester oh. After he went with me all over the kWH charges
He stated that I ll save lot of money by switching from duke energy to NRG
At the end I was not confident I left without signing anything
He said anyway you ll receive a call from 800 number if you agree to switch to NRG give them the ok
I received many call from the 800 number but did not answer none of them.
Since the day I talk to this employee my electrical bill went up every month till I reached the bill of $480 I called duke energy they said that s because of the third party supplier that I did not even I had.
I was paying my bill without even checking what s in there
Instead of getting charged for 0.054 kwh I was charged for 0.094 kwh for the last 6 months.
Please everyone whose reading my review do not sign with please.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Messaoud Choubane from West Chester, OH on April 15th, 2021
Supposed to be lower bill
I ran into these guys at Walmart and they were pushy and wanted to sign me up. The last few months. My bill has been 170 to 190 dollars. There charging 95 cents a kilowatts and aep is only 59 cents. I wouldnt recommend getting them. The last bill i had charged me 100 dollars by themselves. Aep charged me 77
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kyle Daugherty from Zanesville, OH on March 17th, 2021


Gas Plans & Rates


Recommended Plans
All Plans
Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
Monthly Recurring Charge
The 'Monthly Recurring Charge' is a fee that the provider will add to each of your bills in addition to the electricity/gas usage charges.
2 Year Fixed Rate
24 month
Fixed Rate
$0.655 / ccf
13.1% under market rate
Compared to the current Columbia Gas rate of $0.7541 / ccf
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Popular Plan
30 month
Fixed Rate
$0.655 / ccf
13.1% under market rate
Compared to the current Columbia Gas rate of $0.7541 / ccf
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
24 Month Fixed Rate
24 month
Fixed Rate
$0.659 / ccf
12.6% under market rate
Compared to the current Columbia Gas rate of $0.7541 / ccf
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
$0.659 / ccf
12.6% under market rate
Compared to the current Columbia Gas rate of $0.7541 / ccf
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Variable Rate
1 month
Variable Rate
$0.675 / ccf
10.5% under market rate
Compared to the current Columbia Gas rate of $0.7541 / ccf
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
$0.689 / ccf
8.6% under market rate
Compared to the current Columbia Gas rate of $0.7541 / ccf
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
12 Month Indexed Rate
12 month
Indexed Rate
$0.699 / ccf
7.3% under market rate
Compared to the current Columbia Gas rate of $0.7541 / ccf
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
$0.699 / ccf
7.3% under market rate
Compared to the current Columbia Gas rate of $0.7541 / ccf
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
18 Month Fixed Rate
18 month
Fixed Rate
$0.699 / ccf
7.3% under market rate
Compared to the current Columbia Gas rate of $0.7541 / ccf
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
36 Month Fixed Rate
36 month
Fixed Rate
$0.699 / ccf
7.3% under market rate
Compared to the current Columbia Gas rate of $0.7541 / ccf
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
$0.719 / ccf
4.7% under market rate
Compared to the current Columbia Gas rate of $0.7541 / ccf
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
24 Month Fixed Rate
24 month
Fixed Rate
$0.749 / ccf
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
24 Month Fixed Rate
24 month
Fixed Rate
$0.799 / ccf
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
$0.830 / ccf
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
$0.849 / ccf
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
$1.099 / ccf
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
24 Month Fixed Rate
24 month
Fixed Rate
$1.099 / ccf
$0.00 monthly recurring charge