Customer Reviews for XOOM Energy

People have been reviewing XOOM Energy on OH Energy Ratings, giving you an understanding of being XOOM Energy's customer is like.

Additionally, we combine customer ratings with an array of other variables to develop a more comprehensive rating. Read OH Energy Ratings analasys of XOOM Energy.

Informational Links

Ratings by Star

XOOM Energy's Customer Reviews Summary

XOOM Energy Scores and Ratings:

OH Energy Ratings Overall Score for XOOM Energy

3.5 / 5

XOOM Energy Reviews

140 Reviews for XOOM Energy

140

total reviews

Want to order XOOM Energy?

What People Are Asking About Reviews for XOOM Energy?

Is XOOM Energy good?

XOOM Energy is generally rated with an average user review of 2.1/5.0 stars. They have a wide variety of energy plans suited to any energy need starting from rates as low as 7.69¢/kWh!

Is XOOM Energy expensive?

XOOM Energy has energy plans starting as low as 7.69¢/kWh with their SureLock 12. The average XOOM Energy plan rate is 8.38¢/kWh. The average rate for energy plans across other retail providers is 7.53¢/kWh.

Who is the best electricity provider in Ohio?

The best electricity providers are:



Does XOOM Energy take reviews seriously?

XOOM Energy has an average user review of 2.1 / 5.0 stars; they respond to 100% of their customer's reviews.

How do I leave a review for XOOM Energy?

At OH Energy Ratings you will find one of the most straightforward, comprehensive, and longest-running XOOM Energy customer review communities around. With 25 reviews so far, we pride ourselves in our ability to showcase and facilitate customer reviews so that you know you'll be getting the electricity provider that's right for you! If you are a XOOM Energy customer and would like to make yourself heard, then you are welcome to leave a review on our XOOM Energy Customer Reviews Page.



Recent Good Review from Nate O

Overall Rating
Thank you!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Thank you to Al Zanni! He did a great job helping out a friend with reducing a friends prices. Shes greatly appreciative of your assistance!

Nate O from North Royalton, OH on July 6th, 2023
Overall Rating
Xoom energy is great!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Im so happy to see my bills lower. I never knew about we shop around until someone contacted me and over this last year my bills have been lower than ever. And the customer service has been good too bc I had one minor problem I made while signing up and they fixed it immediately- thought I'd include.

Alicia from Leetonia, OH on April 15th, 2021
Overall Rating
GREAT SERVICE!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Xoom energy is awesome! My rate is great and Ive seen long term savings over the last 12 months! Will for sure use this service again!

Cole from Akron, OH on March 15th, 2021
Overall Rating
Unlimited Energy
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I never knew unlimited electricity for one flat fee was a possibility. But I'm loving it. Its 89 and humid outside, and its 68 degrees in here. No cost per kilowatt just one flat rate every month. Fabulous!

Debra from Cleveland, OH on July 31st, 2018
Overall Rating
Initial promotion price great...long term savings not so much
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

If you are interested in having a bill you have to pay monthly anyways help a charity then Xoom is a great option. It allows you to pay a bill you'd normally pay and donate to a cause you may care about. If you are interested in saving money then the only time you'll end up doing that is during the introductory offer on their flex plans. I had both gas and electric with Xoom and after months of comparing I found I would have been paying about half by simply going with my local supplier for electric (on both regular and 100% renewable plans) and there were many other options for better pricing on gas. I could have donated to the same charities Xoom participates in with the money I was saving monthly using a different supplier...probably could have donated more than what Xoom was from just my bill.

Brooke from Columbus, OH on October 22nd, 2018
Overall Rating
Run far and fast
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Please check your gas bills I had Xoom energy for years and my contract expired. I received no notification and my rate went from$2.45 to $11.9 from an $87 bill to a $275. Charge me what they wanted for a month. They said they would do me a favor and continue ie my contract for $9. Another company gouging it customers. I went to Ohio Natural Gas @ $4.97 for 2 years locked on fixed


DO NOT USE . And share

Eddy from Madison, OH on January 27th, 2023
Overall Rating
Never get answers or resolutions. Billing errors abound
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

From July to November, theyve charged my card $250 less than the bill. Eventually they sent me a notice saying I could be charged late charges on this balance forward. I called to discuss the reason for the balance forward and the Rep couldnt figure it out. He said I needed to pay it separately to clear it off the books. I paid it on November 7th.



The next time I called, that Rep said I shouldnt have paid that because it was something to do with energy rebates and how they were applied, so she refunded me the $250 on November 10th.

Then on November 28th my bill says I now have a balance forward of $245.11. And my December bill says I have a balance forward of -$121.31. I dont have a freaking clue how to we should be entering any of this into my books (we have several rental properties and must allocate expenses), and if I call them Ill be on the phone for at least 40 minutes while they put me on and off hold 27 times while they try to figure out their own mess. And Im willing to bet I wont get any correct answers or resolutionsyet again.

Another issue is nearly 2 years of back-billing adjustments (totaling nearly $600) on one of the properties, supposedly due to no physical meter readings being done during that time. Electric company told me only the retailer is able to initiate an investigation into the meter issue. However, Xoom tells me they are not responsible for the meters so I must talk to the Electricity provider. Another 40 minute phone call to try to convince them while they aren't responsible for the meters, they must be the ones to request an investigation on the meters. That was 3 weeks ago and still no follow-up from Xoom.

Sherilynn from on January 18th, 2023
Overall Rating
Companies a scam. From Canada and telling you never to use them !!!!!! Ever !!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dont be fooled by their rates. Nothing is as you see. Customer service is terrible and contacting them for a Canada property is nothing but a headache. Always a mystery finding your account. Finally got rid of this company and almost 2 years later got an email from a collection company for $101. Yes thats $101. There were no notices ever given and everything was paid up to date at the end, we made sure of it because it was such a cluster f%^$ with these ppl, and here we still are getting charged more. They would not help besides give a collection phn number so instead of my credit being wrecked over $100 I will have to pay it. I said isnt it ironic how they emailed me but your company which had more than enough contact info for myself never contacted us. Save yourself the s*^% show and go with a local company.

Ashley from on September 27th, 2022
Overall Rating
Horrible
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Stay away! They offer you low price to begin with then when your contract expires they send No notification and charge your triple the amount. When I noticed the charges they said they would refund me and start me back on the low rate. I however have not seen that refund and was again charged more than I agreed. I have been calling the company for 4 months asking where my refund is and no one there seems to know anything. All they keep saying is someone is reviewing the account and will call me back in 24/48 hours. I have never been called back. I keep calling and getting the same answer.This has been going on for months. This business is a joke. What money you think you are saving at first they will get back from you once your contract comes up. STAY AWAY HORRIBLE!!!!!!!! I cant stress this enough Horrible!!!!!!

Upset from Chagrin Falls, OH on May 11th, 2022
Overall Rating
SCAM
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

One of their agents promised me a good deal, only to discover a day before the change over that the rate they approved was higher than my current plan with my provider. I called customer service to cancel the contract immediately before the account begins. I got a bill of $26 after 2 weeks. Thanks for nothing. The only word for this company is SCAM.

Kay from on February 16th, 2022
Overall Rating
Ripped Off
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Don't sign up with them, after initial promo rate they never notified me of when it was going to expire and tripled my rate. I called and they claim they sent an email but never did and could not tell me when they sent it. Stay away.

Rob S from Uniontown, OH on January 31st, 2022
Overall Rating
Lost employees
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

My deposit checks were mailed to the wrong address in the USA and had to be mailed back to Canada. It took several months to even find out where the checks were. Because of the my status was canceled and I was told I would have to set up another account that this one had expired so the checks will not be cashed


I was reassured of this. A week later my deposit checks were cashed from my account. Lol unbelievable. Not I'm told it will take another 30-40 days to get a check mailed out to me and now have to submit my personal banking info to get my money back. Just a horrible experience from day one. I'm sorry I would not recommend using this company.

Neverthat9 from on January 30th, 2022
Overall Rating
Jain
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

It is impossible to contact any body

Chet from Willoughby, OH on January 4th, 2022
Overall Rating
Price not as advertised
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Been paying my bills on time


But seems every time I receive a bill its more than whats expected ( we are talking about summer months) as much as winter. Wouldnt recommend at all , if I can give 0 I would

Metro from 987654 on December 13th, 2021
Overall Rating
Make sure you renew or cancel before
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I received a bill for over $700 because I didnt respond to the letter that was mailed and theres nothing they can do to help me. On top of that, cancelling or renewing the policy can take 1-2 billing cycles and I may still receive bills that high until it takes effect. This is ripping people off charging 10.99 pkw. Are Roy kidding me!? This company is a joke and I do NOT recommend unless you are on top of knowing exactly when your service is due to renew. How can we rely solely on the mail to renew a contract!? A phone call seems more logical for a company if they care about their customers and want to continue to keep their business. Instead Im stuck with a house payment for my electric bill and possibly for 2 more months! Shame on Xoom

Jen from Canton, OH on September 20th, 2021
Overall Rating
Price gouging Mfers
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

First month after the promotion they increased the rate to 10.49 cent/Kwh. Four times the current average. Already switched but still forced to get bent over.

JD from Akron, OH on September 8th, 2021
Overall Rating
Buyer Beware
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I enrolled on-line 09/08/2020 but then changed my mind and immediately canceled both by phone through Xoom's customer service 800# and also on-line, within 15 minutes from enrolling. The customer service rep stated that I must pay the $100 termination fee, even though no service had ever been provided and would not commence until 09/24/2020 if I did decide to use them as my supplier.

Gail from South Point, OH on September 9th, 2020
Overall Rating
Worst company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Worst company ever, i regret going to this company. The price is high and no system, I cancelled My account with them, every week they keep on sending bills. That is crazy. 0 will be a score for them

Grace from on July 12th, 2020
Overall Rating
Would not recommend
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I signed up with Xoom thru ACN (OMG what a waste of money), and I didn't have a single month that went without issues. I couldn't make a payment on their website, couldn't do automatic billing, couldn't reach them over the phone later in the day or over the weekend and their customer service overall is very poor. Shady business, shady website, shady payment management system.


Stay away

Marko from on June 28th, 2020
Overall Rating
Worst ever company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Worst company ever .. charge high worst customer service... If you want to close your account... They will not send any confirmation and will charge you again for next month... I called about 5 times but still have not received my cancellation letter and they charged me the monthly bill.. and told me to call again.. please don't get it

Sobia from on June 6th, 2020
Overall Rating
Do not sign up
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Worst experience ever. Would recommend NOT to waste your time with this company. Their initial rates looked cheaper than other gas & electric companies. After signing up I never received the confirmation email so I called in to make sure the utilities would be set up, as I was moving into a new house the following week. 3 separate calls & each time I got the run around. NOBODY there knows anything that's going on and got completely different answers from all the reps. Was told I had to contact the utility provider myself, so I did. After speaking with them they said xoom had not even sent any information to them all. This went on for almost a week, going back and forth with xoom. At this point I was 3 days away from my move in date with NO UTILITIES. The second last time I called to speak with someone to say it was urgent that I have this set up otherwise I cannot feasibly live in this home, they said my account was CANCELLED! They lastly said they can send off my information again to the utility providers which at that point I advised them to remove my information from any accounts, I probably still wouldn't have any gas or electricity if I continued with them. Afterwords I was contacted by a different rep begging me to be their customer and stated that they "have been doing this for quite some time and I dont have to worry." They continued to tell me lies to try to get me to rejoin, which I had caught them in at least 3 lies. Super inappropriate. WORST SERVICE EVER.

L from on March 23rd, 2020
Overall Rating
Worst company ever
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

One star for this company is one too many. Customer service is horrible....if you can actually talk to someone who even knows where canada is. When I sold my house and cancelled my services, they never mentioned my bill. I assumed I would get a final one sent out. Instead they would not let the new owners get their own services until the bill was paid. No mention of any of this to me. I had to find out through the new owners. Horrible horrible company.

Donna from on February 7th, 2020
Overall Rating
Shop around elsewhere
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

This place is a joke! I received my first bill with Xoom Energy as my supplier and their eaters were about $100 more than what my average bill looked like prior to switching. When I first switched to Xoom as my natural energy supplier I was told that they offered lower rates then my current supplier, the salesman lied to me, it was a hassle to switch and now Im stuck with them for two more months. Shop elsewhere before signing a contract with Xoom Energy.

Angel Wells from Akron, OH on December 17th, 2019
Overall Rating
Scam
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

As a small business, until early this year (2018), I didn't select any of the energy delivery companies like Zoom. I never saw one on my bill and the bill was in the $400/mo range throughout the year. I was called by Zoom and they said that I didn't have any alternative that I needed to select an energy delivery company (I think that's what they call them...I've always just let that aspect service default to AEP and the bills have been reasonable so I never worried about it). Zoom talked their service up like I would be so well off. They said there are times of the year that it is most advantageous to lock in (if I understood them right) and I said, "I'm too busy for that I work 65 hours/per week just keeping the business going...I don't have time to try to sift through various plans and lock-ins, etc. I just want something that is simple and doesn't make it worse (words to that effect). I told them I really didn't want any gimmicks because as time goes on, I can't pay attention to the specials and gimmicks, that I had always been happy with just doing things as I had. They said I could not longer do that because it would just default to some company and the rates would be worse. But they assured me I would be so well off with Zoom Energy.


I didn't get a bill in May and then got a warning message in June that I was behind on my account (I imaging I would be if I didn't receive the bill). So I called and got the May and Jun bill paid over the phone at a substantially higher level than previous bills. I figured they "got me" for the late bill but didn't have the time to fight it. Now I get a bill in July that is 50% higher than my previous levels for years. I am in the health care profession and I am the provider so I don't have time to pay the bills myself. I have to be with patients. I have a staff person pay the bills. I can't look at every one of them. Essentially my staff pays the bill and lets me know if it goes up...which they did this month. Now I'm paying 50% more than I used to before I joined Zoom energy. This is a scam!

Geoff from Newark, OH on July 21st, 2018
Overall Rating
Xoom energy scam
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Total rip off...electric bill doubled

Collin Kinsey from Lisbon, OH on February 22nd, 2018

Compare XOOM Energy to Similarly Reviewed Electricity Companies

Company
Plan Name
Price
MRC
The 'MRC' or 'Monthly Recurring Charge' is a fee that the provider will add to each of your bills in addition to the electricity/gas usage charges.
Type
Secure Choice 12
6.99¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Secure Green Choice 12
7.19¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Renewable
Check Availability
SureLock 24
8.29¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
RescueLock 12
8.09¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
SureLock 12
7.69¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
SimpleClean 12
7.99¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
12 Month Fixed
5.99¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability