Reviews Overview
The best review categories for NRG Home are their plans and pricing, rated at 1.8 out of 5, and the order experience, rated at 1.8 of 5.
5 Stars
13%
 
4 Stars
6%
 
3 Stars
0%
 
2 Stars
4%
 
1 Stars
79%
 

Review from Amy

Must Read:
I read all the 1 star reviews and realize they all have something in common. You people were stupid and never called back after the 3 month promotion to keep the fixed rate, like the rep said.

I would highly recommend NRG, just dont be stupid and not call back when the rep says, because yes the rates go to variable if you don't call back. Just as they say. Give NRG some credit.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Amy from Eastlake, OH on March 15th, 2021


Recent Good Review from Amy

Must Read:
I read all the 1 star reviews and realize they all have something in common. You people were stupid and never called back after the 3 month promotion to keep the fixed rate, like the rep said.

I would highly recommend NRG, just dont be stupid and not call back when the rep says, because yes the rates go to variable if you don't call back. Just as they say. Give NRG some credit.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Amy from Eastlake, OH on March 15th, 2021


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

7 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Great company!!
I highly recommend them!! The reps are very nice and informative! You just gotta call back at 3 months to keep your low rate. Please listen when the reps tell you things they work there and theyre the experts. Thank you NRG
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lexie Arrington from Lorain, OH on October 26th, 2020
I called!
Whenever I look at the reviews from something, they are full of hate, and the bad reviews, not so much good, so I will leave my experience. It only took NRG to appear on my bill, and when they did my bill went down $137. They had me put a reminder in my phone to call them back in three months, and when I called I got the 5% cash back, and my rate was still really low. Now I'm earning money back for my electric. It's like being paid to use electric. I would highly recommend them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Alyssa from Eastlake, OH on October 2nd, 2020
Gotta call back
I tried this out and I liked it. I almost forgot to call back to keep the fixed rate. They saved me a few $100 across the 3 months. I would highly recommend them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sandra from North Olmsted, OH on September 21st, 2020
Nrg
NRG saved me so much on my bill. I was paying $233 of the 2 fees they take off, and my bill was only$476. They reminded me to call back after 3 months or my rates would go up. In glad I called back.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kelly Rogers from Eastlake, OH on July 25th, 2020
Renew and your rates will stay low
Everyone complaining that their rates went up, its because you didnt renew like the rep told you to. Its not that hard to understand. If you renew, youll keep your rates low.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kevin from Columbus, OH on July 20th, 2020
Great people
The people, service and saving are great. I would highly recommend them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Steve from Cleveland, OH on June 17th, 2020
You guys arent smart
Nrg offers amazing plans you just have to make sure you renew your rate! Thats your responsibility in order to save some money! The reps tell you that when you sign up! Open your ears and maybe youll be happy with it....
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Nrglover from Pickerington, OH on January 25th, 2019



Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

3 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Must Read:
I read all the 1 star reviews and realize they all have something in common. You people were stupid and never called back after the 3 month promotion to keep the fixed rate, like the rep said.

I would highly recommend NRG, just dont be stupid and not call back when the rep says, because yes the rates go to variable if you don't call back. Just as they say. Give NRG some credit.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Amy from Eastlake, OH on March 15th, 2021
NRG Review
The customer service representatives were very nice. I switched with NRG a few months ago, and when they stopped me, they reminded me to call back, so my rate didn't go to a variable rate.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

James from Lorain, OH on August 1st, 2020
It's worth it
I signed up with some guy in Walmart. I usually don't stop at those kind of things but he seemed so happy i had to see what it was all about. I signed up before thanksgiving. First bill i saved a few dollars. I noticed a difference when my bill went from $220 down to $175. I saw these reviews and noticed everyone saying the same thing. The very few writing 5 star reviews are satisfied with NRG's service. Call and keep the program. Everyone wants to write a bad review when something doesn't go their way. Nobody writes a good review, when it meets their expectations.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

It Works from Lakewood, OH on May 26th, 2020



Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

2 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
NRG WILL NOT SAVE YOU ANY MONEY!!!
They did not save me a penny!!! In March and April 2020 DPL's prices was 4.4 cents /KwH. NRG charged me 10.4 cents per kWh and 11.5 cents in April. If you want to save money DO NOT USE NRG!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mark from Vandalia, OH on May 13th, 2020
Don't fall for their WE WILL SAVE YOU MONEY sales pitch...
They did not save me a penny!!! In March and April 2020 DPL's prices was 4.4 cents /KwH. NRG charged me 10.4 cents per kWh and 11.5 cents in April. If you want to save money DO NOT USE NRG!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mark from Vandalia, OH on May 13th, 2020



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

41 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Worst experience ever
I talk to one of there employees at Walmart west Chester oh. After he went with me all over the kWH charges
He stated that I ll save lot of money by switching from duke energy to NRG
At the end I was not confident I left without signing anything
He said anyway you ll receive a call from 800 number if you agree to switch to NRG give them the ok
I received many call from the 800 number but did not answer none of them.
Since the day I talk to this employee my electrical bill went up every month till I reached the bill of $480 I called duke energy they said that s because of the third party supplier that I did not even I had.
I was paying my bill without even checking what s in there
Instead of getting charged for 0.054 kwh I was charged for 0.094 kwh for the last 6 months.
Please everyone whose reading my review do not sign with please.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Messaoud Choubane from West Chester, OH on April 15th, 2021
Supposed to be lower bill
I ran into these guys at Walmart and they were pushy and wanted to sign me up. The last few months. My bill has been 170 to 190 dollars. There charging 95 cents a kilowatts and aep is only 59 cents. I wouldnt recommend getting them. The last bill i had charged me 100 dollars by themselves. Aep charged me 77
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kyle Daugherty from Zanesville, OH on March 17th, 2021
Lying and cheating
They approached my mother in Sam's Club with a fancy sales pitch so she went for it. Then after a free months she was hit with hundreds of dollars in fees, and a higher rate. My mother who is retired on disability went from $175/month on electric to well over $700 without warning. When we contacted Duke, they said these kind of providers are unregulated and can basically do whatever they want when it comes to charges. I don't know how they can sleep at night.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Charles from Cincinnati, OH on March 15th, 2021
SCAM!
They will charge you double or triple on your electricity bill.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Elizabeth Myers from Pataskala, OH on March 11th, 2021
Wow Just WOW
I would RUN and RUN as fast as you can from this company...I just got a 900 bill!! Now Last months bill was almost 800 I contacted the electric company I have NEVER had an electric bill so high, and of course, it was explained as to why it was so high...of course, my electric billing provider can't do anything because I was promised a different rate by this electric provider which ended up being a LOT higher....costing me triple the amount of what I have ever paid in the past! When I contacted customer service the only concern was getting me to stay, not in helping me resolve the issue while in the midst of a pandemic while I am fighting covid a month later. I am so disgusted and disappointed!!! DO NOT UTILIZE this provider unless you want a massive bill!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Paula R Matthews from Columbus, OH on March 2nd, 2021
Trash
This company is a joke, I went from paying 180$ a month to more than double that when I used NRG. Nothing dramatic changed with how much electric I used either.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

D from Grove City, OH on February 26th, 2021
RIP OFF
They did not explain very well about the call back. I should not have to jump through hoops to keep my electric bill at a reasonable cost.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

RIP OFF from Fairfield, OH on February 1st, 2021
Good price for 3 months, then you see the real prices without notification
They grabbed in a local Walmart. Convinced me NRG is cheaper. I noticed over time that my $/KWH kept increasing. That said, they have not told me that the offer was only valid for 3 months, no informing me about the change.
Don't waste your money!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Resident In City Ave from 1913 on January 28th, 2021
SCAM SCAM SCAM
They will offer you a low rate and tell you to "follow up in a few months when the promo ends" if you don't, they will double or TRIPLE your rate.

SCAM!!!!! The gift card is not worth it!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

SCAM! from Columbus, OH on January 5th, 2021
Scammers
Watch out people for this scammers. They overpriced my bill not because of my usage. They didnt help me reduce my electric bill. Instead, I was paying two separate bill . I am paying my electric bill for the company I am using and also paying ngr bill. I found out to my electric company that ngr was charging me 3 times more than the amount I was paying per kWh with my electric company. I went from paying $30-$50 on winter time and $51-$80 on summer time a month with my electric company , to $230-$500 a month when I signed up for nrg without any changes in daily routine. Theyre MTF scammers. Dont sign up please or you will end up where I am now with a $500 bill to pay and no food!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Gracia Angry Customer from Cincinnati, OH on December 23rd, 2020


Recommended Natural Gas Plans