Recent Bad Reviews


Recent Complaints and Negative Reviews (542 reviews)



Not worth it

(2 / 5)

  I had Ambit for 1 year and the rate was fair for a few months and then starting going up. There is no way to pay half before the due date and then pay the rest with out paying a fee. I paid $289 for February and now for March it's $363.91. And Oncor charges are ridiculous $112. So I am done with Ambit! Cancelled and not going back.

Pam
March 5th, 2022

Ambit Energy Logo

Ambit Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

2.8 times what the default utility rate was!

(2 / 5)

  I dont know how these folks sleep at night, honestly. My elderly mom who is on a fixed income got talked into switching to this company while she was shopping in Walmart because they were touting supporting renewable energy solutions and she wanted to be a good citizen and support that. Long story short, that shopping trip cost her a total of $541.09 over the past 10 months. Her most recent electric bill for her modest 1500 square foot home was for $826.25 for one month!! I looked at what the default utility rate on that bill was and she paid $352.89 MORE ON ONE BILL than she would have had she not switched. These folks are predatory criminals. They should be ashamed!

SparkyChick
February 25th, 2022

NRG Home Logo

NRG Home


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Shell game

(2 / 5)

  When I first joined in April 2020 I was told the energy company would buy back my excess generated energy at the kWh rate I was being charged. Several months later I was advised this policy had changed and my energy would be placed in a bank in case I needed it.

Now, this month I received the first bill for electricity useage. This is in spite of the fact that since April 2020. I had produced over 35,000 extra keg than I had used. That is 35,000 kWh that the provider has sold to someone else for a profit.

So I called and I was told the PUC had changed the policy and placed a cap on banking excess energy. So Green Mountain has confiscated my bank and now, not only am I paying for a solar power system but Im once again paying an electric bill. They are giving me a credit for what I produce but it is capped and pays a lower rate.

I have contacted my State Senator and my State Representative. If I did this to someone, I would be charged with Theft/ Fraud or both.

I have contacted another energy company who stated they have not heard anything about this PUC policy and I will be transferring my account to them on Monday.

I AM TIRED OF BEING TREATED LIKE THIS BY GREEN MOUNTAIN. I WAS TRYING TO BE A GOOD CITIZEN AND A RESPONSIBLE USER OF DOLAR POWER AND I HAPED BEEN FISCALLY ASSAULTED.

Charles Russell
February 20th, 2022

Thanks for leaving us a review. We would like the opportunity to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please send us an email at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1740 and additional information.

Green Mountain Energy Responds February 23rd, 2022
Green Mountain Energy Logo

Green Mountain Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No commitment to existing customers or environment

(2 / 5)

  Our first break with GME was when they were offering better rates to new customers, but would only renew loyal customers at higher rate. When we moved to a home with solar, we again tried GME because they offered solar credits. Now they are eliminating that. Seems pretty hypocritical to say they support "green" energy but then refuse to support it. Since the buyback rate is less than the sale rate, it's not as though they can't still make some profit, if they cared to actually help environment. Obviously greed is the motivating factor. Luckily, Reliant and Rhythm offer solar plans for homeowners. Seems true green energy consumers are leaving GME in search for companies with integrity.

CristyW
February 4th, 2022

Cristy, this isn't the experience we want for our loyal customers. We apologize for the billing issues and would like the chance to address them. Please email us at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1732 and additional information.

Green Mountain Energy Responds February 8th, 2022
Green Mountain Energy Logo

Green Mountain Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Dishonest billing and business dealings..

(2 / 5)

  I have never been late paying my bill. I was less than 24hrs late on my bill for October. I paid my bill the next day which happened to be pay day and when I had scheduled to pay it anyway. When I noticed that it was late and a late fee had been added to my account, I called to address it. Seems like all their reps are remote, I could hear children in the back ground. The person I spoke with had "submitted for a refund to be allocated to my bill, and told me to pay the difference which was $12.26 less than the amount showing on my account." When I received the next months bill there was only a credit of $2.26 that had been applied to my account and the $10.00 late charge had been reallocated as another fee, which means I had a balance going forward from the previous bill, which also meant that they didn't actually credit me the fee's that they said they did, they just reallocated it to a different line item. When I called to dispute the charges, we went round and round with them not understanding that I never got the credit that they supposedly removed from my account. Which means as long as I paid what my bill showed I would always have a balance going forward. This company lies and cheats to make money. please don't buy into the hype, they are not an honest company to do business with.

CJ
November 15th, 2021

Ambit Energy Logo

Ambit Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions