Customer Reviews for National Gas & Electric

People have been reviewing National Gas & Electric on OH Energy Ragings, giving you an understanding of being National Gas & Electric's customer is like.

Additionally, we combine customer ratings with an array of other variables to develop a more comprehensive rating. Read OH Energy Ragings analasys of National Gas & Electric.

Informational Links

Ratings by Star

National Gas & Electric's Customer Reviews Summary

National Gas & Electric Scores and Ratings:

OH Energy Ratings Overall Score for National Gas & Electric

2.0 / 5

National Gas & Electric Reviews

65 Reviews for National Gas & Electric

65

total reviews

Want to order National Gas & Electric?

What People Are Asking About Reviews for National Gas & Electric?

Who is the best electricity provider in Ohio?

The best electricity providers are:



Does National Gas & Electric take reviews seriously?

National Gas & Electric has an average user review of 1.9 / 5.0 stars; they respond to 100% of their customer's reviews.

How do I leave a review for National Gas & Electric?

At OH Energy Ratings you will find one of the most straightforward, comprehensive, and longest-running National Gas & Electric customer review communities around. With 26 reviews so far, we pride ourselves in our ability to showcase and facilitate customer reviews so that you know you'll be getting the electricity provider that's right for you! If you are a National Gas & Electric customer and would like to make yourself heard, then you are welcome to leave a review on our National Gas & Electric Customer Reviews Page.



Recent Good Review from Billy Jones

Overall Rating
Amazing Company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Amazing company with low fixed rates.Excellent Supplier

Billy Jones from Cincinnati, OH on August 7th, 2018
Overall Rating
Good for 3 months
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I am the one who shops for the lowest price. By my experience I can see that the 3-month plans will always be the cheapest!

Mark P. from Alexandria, OH on August 1st, 2018
Overall Rating
Good low rate
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

They always are one of the lower options online. Repeat customer in Ohio.

Kevin O. from New Albany, OH on May 16th, 2018
Overall Rating
NGE will save you a lot of money if youre a smart consumer.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

A lot of these negative reviews are from people who dont know how to shop. If you sign up on a 3 cent rate of course your rate is going to skyrocket in month 4. Its like they are offering you a nearly-free trial and you want them to do it forever?! Sign up for a 12 or 24 month plan, shop around when your contract expires and enjoy the savings. Just dont get greedy and expect the low 3 month prices to be the rates you pay all the time.

Bryan from Columbus, OH on April 12th, 2018
Overall Rating
No Issues
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Had them for about 8 months now. So far no major issues besides them not being open on the weekends, everything is fine. I got a great plan that was WAY lower then my utility had to offer and they have 100% USA customer service team which is great.

Jessie from Batavia, OH on May 14th, 2018
Overall Rating
Decent company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Seems like others come here to rant but I happen to have a decent experience with the company. As long as you stay on top of your contract expiration then you should be fine, seems like to me that the other reviewers don't seem to do that which is why they end up with the variable rate.

Marie P from Bucyrus, OH on March 1st, 2018
Overall Rating
Lying Scoundrels
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I declined their offering and service, yet these scoundrels set themselves as my chosen provider.



I was traveling (job) and did not receive the confirming email until beyond the cancellation deadline.

File a police report for fraud, identity theft and elder abuse and they will suddenly have a change of heart and cancel waiving the cancellation fee.

Lockm Up! from Wilmington, OH on May 10th, 2021
Overall Rating
Beware!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

They fail to mention it to you, but the more electric you use the higher the price for their electric, my bill from summer changed from .069, in summer to .099 in the winter when I turned my heater on, they told me that I used more this month than last month so mI had to pay more for my electric! not just one set price!

Charles Harris from on February 18th, 2021
Overall Rating
Calling my grandma just to harass her!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I would like to start off by saying how rude of Kevin was to call my grandma several times just to harass her about switching companies after multiple times of her telling him no she does not want to switch at this time. The finale time he called her just to tell her she needs anger management. My grandma is a single elderly woman that has been through hell and back and doesnt need this on her plate. So please if some from the company would like to give me some contact information I would love to speak to you one on one:).

Kelsea from Cincinnati, OH on August 20th, 2018
Overall Rating
Rip off
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Call five times in one day four of the five times I pushed 0 which was to tell them I was not interested still got a call after that so I found out which company it was the guy insisted his his rate was cheaper I told him my rate and my rate was cheaper than what his was he tried to convince me differently all they were concerned with was getting me signed up don't waste your money they are a rip-off outfit

K T from Cincinnati, OH on August 9th, 2018
Overall Rating
Horrible and unethical company - Beware!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Like others, when my contract expired in the middle of winter heating months the rate skyrocketed. At the same time they were "delayed" in getting billing info to Duke so I did not see that my new rate jumped from 4.9 cents/kwh to 18.99cents/kwh. Nice trick. It seems odd that they were never delayed before....They got me for a total of 5 months at this rate before I could get switched to another company. What they are doing may not be illegal but it sure is unethical. if you go with them make sure you get out on the day the contract is up.

Joe from Springboro, OH on May 4th, 2018
Overall Rating
I was lied to!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Got a call, said they were my provider and was offering a reduced rate because of my good payment history. The rate they quoted was over .09 per kWh. Now I have to make sure they don't change my service!

Km from Lima, OH on May 2nd, 2018
Overall Rating
Typical bait and switch - steer clear
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

When my contract evidently expired two months ago, with no notice I might add, the price jumped to $0.1899/KWH. SCAM! Just switched to a higher rated supplier at $0.0495 locked in for 36 months...

Dan from Hamilton, OH on April 9th, 2018
Overall Rating
Do Not Sign Up For Anything With This Company!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Asked the telemarketer when I agreed to signup what would happen after the 3 months were up. Told I would be put on a variable rate. I asked how much it would go up and was told a few cents. Two months after the 3 months were up, my rate went to 18 cents. The next month went to 20 cents. I can't get off for 3 months. The people at NG&E won't let me signup for a lower rate because I have opted out. My home company claims they can't stop it for 3 months. Not exactly clear as to why this it. I don't know how these people sleep at night. DO NOT SIGN UP WITH THIS COMPANY. THEY ARE NOT REGULATED AND CAN CHARGE YOU ANY RATE THEY WANT!!!

LTHW from Saint Clairsville, OH on March 1st, 2018
Overall Rating
DO NOT FALL FOR THEIR PROMOTIONAL RATE! THEY ARE THIEFS!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

They will intentionally offer a 3-month promotional rate in the early fall, so it will end during the coldest winter months and they will raise it 5X (from $.038/kwh to $.156/kwh)! They will call this the "Market Rate", however the comparison rate on my bill was $.056! Not surprisingly, they cannot provide me any documentation showing where they come up with this "market" rate. Read the reviews! This is a trend.

Angry In OH from Marietta, OH on February 19th, 2018
Overall Rating
Complete scam. Price gouging should be illegal.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

First 3 months were fine. Rate of 3.79. Got a letter stating my contract would end but i didn't need to anything as it would be a variable rate. I let it slide for one month and got a $468 electric bill!!! They charged me almost 15!!! There was no transparency and no way this shouldn't be illegal. What is our recourse!?

Noel from East Canton, OH on February 6th, 2018

Compare National Gas & Electric to Similarly Reviewed Electricity Companies

Company
Plan Name
Price
MRC
The 'MRC' or 'Monthly Recurring Charge' is a fee that the provider will add to each of your bills in addition to the electricity/gas usage charges.
Type
Price Protect 36
8.39¢
$4.95 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability