Customer Reviews for Frontier Utilities

People have been reviewing Frontier Utilities on OH Energy Ragings, giving you an understanding of being Frontier Utilities's customer is like.

Additionally, we combine customer ratings with an array of other variables to develop a more comprehensive rating. Read OH Energy Ragings analasys of Frontier Utilities.

Informational Links

Ratings by Star

Frontier Utilities's Customer Reviews Summary

Frontier Utilities Scores and Ratings:

OH Energy Ratings Overall Score for Frontier Utilities

3.9 / 5

Frontier Utilities Reviews

279 Reviews for Frontier Utilities

279

total reviews

Want to order Frontier Utilities?

What People Are Asking About Reviews for Frontier Utilities?

Is Frontier Utilities good?

Frontier Utilities is generally rated with an average user review of 1.9/5.0 stars. They have a wide variety of energy plans suited to any energy need starting from rates as low as 9.5¢/kWh!

Is Frontier Utilities expensive?

Frontier Utilities has energy plans starting as low as 9.5¢/kWh with their OH Frontier Online Premier-12. The average Frontier Utilities plan rate is 9.76¢/kWh. The average rate for energy plans across other retail providers is 8.47¢/kWh.

Who is the best electricity provider in Ohio?

The best electricity providers are:



Does Frontier Utilities take reviews seriously?

Frontier Utilities has an average user review of 1.9 / 5.0 stars; they respond to 68% of their customer's reviews.

How do I leave a review for Frontier Utilities?

At OH Energy Ratings you will find one of the most straightforward, comprehensive, and longest-running Frontier Utilities customer review communities around. With 19 reviews so far, we pride ourselves in our ability to showcase and facilitate customer reviews so that you know you'll be getting the electricity provider that's right for you! If you are a Frontier Utilities customer and would like to make yourself heard, then you are welcome to leave a review on our Frontier Utilities Customer Reviews Page.



Recent Good Review from SMILEY

Overall Rating
A HAPPY FRONTIER UTILITIES NORTHEAST CUSTOMER
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I SAVED $35 ON MY FIRST MONTH'S DELIVERY CHARGE WITH FRONTIER.


EXCELLENT DELIVERY RATE... THANK YOU FRONTIER UTILITIES.

SMILEY from Saint Clairsville, OH on June 13th, 2022
Overall Rating
Good Experience
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Site was easy to navigate, no time to sign up.

Arthur Mangan from Strongsville, OH on December 19th, 2021
Overall Rating
100% Satisfied
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Didn't take long to do and I'm now 100% green electric. Its not about savings, it's about using GREEN electric. Better for us and Mother Earth. Do your part. Go green for free. Also get 2, $50 Amazon gift cards for going green. Do your part to preserve our earth. No commitment required. Free to start/stop

Spencer from Dublin, OH on July 10th, 2021
Overall Rating
Best value and quality
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

It was easy and seamless. They had the best price without all the fine print . Simple straight forward and no hassle .

Value Provider from Columbus, OH on October 21st, 2019
Overall Rating
Still waiting for the great price
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I signed up end of March, too late for my April bill. My May bill was still expensive. I called & was told it would start in June. My June bill was the same. It has yet to take effect. Still waiting for this great price. Currently sorry I signed up.

Tracy from Dublin, OH on June 11th, 2022
Overall Rating
SCAM ALERT
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Frontier sales people continually come to my neighborhood, which has a high population of people who do not speak English well, and they try to take advantage of my friends and neighbors by making it seem as if they have to sign their forms in order to prevent something terrible from happenieng with their electric service. It is a dirty, underhanded way to get customers.

Ymir from Columbus, OH on September 20th, 2021
Overall Rating
Dont get this service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Someone came to our door promising our bill would only be 50 dollars each month. It seemed true the next few months until we were hit with a 250 dollar electric bill. We tried to not sign up for it but the sales person wouldnt leave our property. It seemed like the only thing to do to get them to leave. I highly recommend you not get this service they will rob you blind with their rates

Taylor from Ada, OH on August 2nd, 2021
Overall Rating
Do I have frontier?
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I changed my gas and electric a month or so ago. My gas changed but Im not sure about my electric. I never heard back from anyone and I havent gotten around to figuring out how to login yet.



Oh, this stupid survey insisted I give stars but since I dont know how can I give them.

Tim Tomechko from Akron, OH on January 2nd, 2021
Hello Tim, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email care@frontierutilities.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Frontier Utilities
Overall Rating
They Charge double than original energy company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

When my usage of energy keep low in winter, the price looks good. When the usage increase to 1000kwh. THEY CHARGE YOU DOUBLE!!!!. My bill in Aug turned to $220 and $100 for AEP, $ 120 for them. Don't use them! it's a trap. Even though you cancel it. the supplier would not disappear until two bill cycle.

Hazel from Columbus, OH on August 13th, 2020
Overall Rating
They are deceiving, stay away
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Their agent promised me that, I will pay less than usual unless the usage is high. But, usage is less, bill is 50% more than previous bill. They are lying and cheating. Stay away from Frontier Utilities

Y.E. from Dublin, OH on April 1st, 2020
Thank you for providing your feedback and letting us know about this issue. We set a high standard for ourselves and are truly sorry to hear that standard was not met in your interaction with us. Please get in touch with us on (866) 926-8192 and we'd be happy to help you out.
— Frontier Utilities
Overall Rating
They are professional deceivers
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Agent of Frontier Utilities came my home and explained advantages of their company. Several times I asked her if there will be any hidden fees or not. She assured me that I will not see higher bill than I had before if the usage is not higher. I got my first bill from them, usage was less, but the bill is 50% more. And now they say that, it will take 2-3 bills for me to go back to Columbia Gas. This is trick. That's why stay away from them. If you see their agent before your door, do not trust their any words or promises. This is my live experience, unfortunately.

YASHAR EHTIBARLI from Dublin, OH on April 1st, 2020
Thank you for providing your feedback and letting us know about this issue. We set a high standard for ourselves and are truly sorry to hear that standard was not met in your interaction with us. Please get in touch with us on (866) 926-8192 and we'd be happy to help you out.
— Frontier Utilities
Overall Rating
Big promises only big let downs
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Promised us big savings. Made mediocre attempts. When the covid-19 pandemic hit they bailed like the punks they truly are. Don't fall for their bs. Stick with your primary provider.

J Hall from Lancaster, OH on March 24th, 2020
Thank you for bring this to our attention J Hall.
This Covid-19 is a serious ordeal and we are doing everything we can to help all of our customers. In Ohio there are programs you can reach out too that are helping our customers with paying their bills due to this crisis. You can always call whom ever it is that you pay your bill too and asked what are the best programs they have. I hope this helps. If you still have any more questions you can always call our customer care department Monday through Friday from 7am to 6pm.
Thank you,
Frontier Utilities.
— Frontier Utilities
Overall Rating
Sorry I ever signed up
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

First of all I was a bit put off by a person coming to the door to sign us up. I should've politely refused but He talked a good game and my husband and I decided to join. Months later I get a letter that my service is being returned to my electric company for an outstanding supplier charge. I have been waiting on hold for quite some time to get an explanation. When I first called, the auto service asked for my account number and told me that it didn't exist. Then customer service rep asked for multiple items when to me the account number should have sufficed. All this seemed to do was add to my bill and I have seen NO benefit or savings. One thing for sure, I will never use anything beyond my local company again!

JB from Reynoldsburg, OH on March 4th, 2020
JB we understand your frustration and truly appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us as a Frontier customer, and would love the opportunity to connect with you directly to see what how we can improve. Can you please email us at care@frontierutilities.com with your name and account information so that we can investigate further? Hope to connect with you soon. Thank you
— Frontier Utilities
Overall Rating
Door to door scam artists!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

A salesman pretending to be a utility worker came to my door in a flurry saying that there was an issue with my gas and electric. After an hour of him standing in my kitchen, he talked me into joining Frontier. I called and asked my current electric company if Frontier was legit. The rep said technically yes. It is possible for them to offer you a cheaper rate. She said the current company I was with charged at 5.4 cents per KHW. The salesman claimed around 2cents per KHW and promised that my monthly bill would now be half the amount. Same with my gas company. Of course that sounded great. He also said that I was due $100 refunds from my electric and gas companies. Also a bonus. Ive been a little iffy about what I signed up for. I received 2 letters in the mail today both from Frontier, 1 for my electric and 1 for my gas. The cost per KHW was twice the amount of my original carriers!!! The contract wasnt void until my carriers made the official switch which thankfully hadnt happened yet so I was able to cancel the contract otherwise I would have been locked into Frontiers insane prices for a year. And of course the refunds were a scam. Everything I was told was a lie. Dont let them cheat you!!!

Leigh from Galloway, OH on February 3rd, 2020
Overall Rating
Guerilla tactics
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

A representative (who did not say who she was with until 3 minutes into her spiel) knocked on our door late at night, and immediately launched into a long stream of consciousness about our current utility rates and how she was going to lower them, she took our utility account numbers without giving us an option or questioning if we wanted to switch providers (which it wasn't even clear that was what was happening until the very end when we were speaking with a third party verification company). Not pleased that we were not even solicited for our business with their service but nearly forced into the decision without being given information, a choice, or even time to think or process what this lady was saying to us. I find it very objectionable that this is the way the company obviously trains their employees to enroll customers.

KHS from Columbus, OH on August 28th, 2019

Compare Frontier Utilities to Similarly Reviewed Electricity Companies

Company
Plan Name
Price
MRC
The 'MRC' or 'Monthly Recurring Charge' is a fee that the provider will add to each of your bills in addition to the electricity/gas usage charges.
Type
12 Month Fixed
11.49¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Variable
30.99¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Variable Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
OH Frontier Online Premier-12
10.00¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
SureLock 24
9.59¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
RescueLock 12
11.29¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
SureLock 12
10.59¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
SimpleClean 12
10.69¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability