Customer Reviews for Direct Energy

People have been reviewing Direct Energy on OH Energy Ratings, giving you an understanding of being Direct Energy's customer is like.

Additionally, we combine customer ratings with an array of other variables to develop a more comprehensive rating. Read OH Energy Ratings analasys of Direct Energy.

Informational Links

Ratings by Star

Direct Energy's Customer Reviews Summary

Direct Energy Scores and Ratings:

OH Energy Ratings Overall Score for Direct Energy

3.3 / 5

Direct Energy Reviews

632 Reviews for Direct Energy

632

total reviews

Want to order Direct Energy?

What People Are Asking About Reviews for Direct Energy?

Is Direct Energy good?

Direct Energy is generally rated with an average user review of 2.6/5.0 stars. They have a wide variety of energy plans suited to any energy need starting from rates as low as 6.79¢/kWh!

Is Direct Energy expensive?

Direct Energy has energy plans starting as low as 6.69¢/kWh with their Live Brighter 12. The average Direct Energy plan rate is 7.48¢/kWh. The average rate for energy plans across other retail providers is 7.45¢/kWh.

Who is the best electricity provider in Ohio?

The best electricity providers are:



Does Direct Energy take reviews seriously?

Direct Energy has an average user review of 2.6 / 5.0 stars; they respond to 31% of their customer's reviews.

How do I leave a review for Direct Energy?

At OH Energy Ratings you will find one of the most straightforward, comprehensive, and longest-running Direct Energy customer review communities around. With 51 reviews so far, we pride ourselves in our ability to showcase and facilitate customer reviews so that you know you'll be getting the electricity provider that's right for you! If you are a Direct Energy customer and would like to make yourself heard, then you are welcome to leave a review on our Direct Energy Customer Reviews Page.



Recent Good Review from Sue

Overall Rating
New customer
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

So far so good. Changing suppliers on line was very easy.

Sue from Girard, OH on August 9th, 2023
Thank you very much for taking some time to provide us with this fabulous comment, Sue. We are beyond grateful for the opportunity you give us to enter your home and energize you! Thank you for choosing Direct Energy, we will continue to give you our best for a long time to come! Have a great evening! - Marta / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Pleased
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Was easy to sign up for my new service and were very helpful

Freddie from Oregon, OH on August 1st, 2023
Welcome to our fabulous family, Freddie! Thank you very much for giving us a shot! It's wonderful to know that you were treated the way you deserve and that you chose us as your trusted electricity provider! if there's anything we can assist you with, please feel free to reach us by phone toll-free at 1-888-305-3828, or you can also chat with us at http://ms.spr.ly/DESocial1, for your convenience, we are available Monday-Saturday 7:30 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. all times are central, we will dedicate our efforts to meet your expectations and always provide you with the best services! Have a beautiful day! - Marta / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
My opinion
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

First bill is about 75 dollars lower than what I have been paying. Highly recommended company

Dan from Kingsville, OH on July 5th, 2023
Hello Dan. Thank you so much for this fabulous comment! It makes us very happy to know that our efforts have resulted in your satisfaction! We greatly appreciate your preference, and we wish to continue serving you for many more years. Thank you for choosing Direct Energy to power your home! Have a beautiful day! - Marta / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Energy+
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

So far so good!

Mike from Avon Lake, OH on June 29th, 2023
Hi Mike. Thank you so much for this great comment! We are honored to have the opportunity to energize your home, and we're thrilled to know you're happy with our services! We will continue getting better at what we do, to always serve you in the best possible way! Have a fabulous start of the week! - Marta / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Ease of signing up
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Customer service is polite, friendly and very helpful.

Catfish Johnny from Olmsted Falls, OH on June 27th, 2023
In us there is nothing but gratitude for you, Johnny! This comment has made us very happy, thank you very much for sharing your amazing experience with us. The way you describe us is magnificent, you honor us and we love knowing that our hard work has paid off and we have managed to satisfy you. Thank you for trusting Direct Energy, your loyalty means the world to us! Best wishes to you and your family! - Marta / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Top
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

No problems

Alyce Klingler from Sandusky, OH on June 22nd, 2023
Hello Alyce. You have moved us with this fabulous comment, because we love to know that everything has gone smoothly and that you have found in us everything you needed! Thank you for choosing Direct Energy, we will continue doing our best to continue taking care of you and your energy needs as you deserve! We always wish you the best! - Marta / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
An Excellent Choice
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

My electric supplier First Energy is doubling the price of electricity so I selected Direct Energy. The switch was easy and I have a fixed price for electricity for the next 12 months.

Sunny Ray from North Olmsted, OH on May 28th, 2023
What a wonderful comment, Sunny Ray! We are thrilled to welcome you on our awesome family! Thank you so much for choosing Direct Energy to power your home, we will always work hard and get better at what we do, to continue being worthy of your trust and loyalty! We love serving you! - Marta / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Satisfied customer
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I would re-order with them again if they are the cheapest.

Happy Customer from Cleveland, OH on November 15th, 2020
Hi there! Thank you so much for your vote of trust! We totally appreciate your loyalty and we will do our best to continue offering you the best price available in the area. Thank you for this amazing review! Have a great start of the week! - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Good
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Did what was needed, no service interruptions or delays

S from Piqua, OH on November 13th, 2020
Hi, reading comments like yours make every minute of hard work worthwhile because we realize that day by day we manage to strengthen the bonds of trust with our customers. We will continue working for you, to always provide you with the best experience and be able to cover your energy needs. Thank you so much for this review! Zoeh / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Easy to setup
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Called and got a better rate

Bill from Willoughby, OH on October 7th, 2020
Hi Bill, your 5-star review is really appreciate it. Glad to know that you are having a great experience being part of our big family. Direct Energy value your business and loyalty. Have a great day! - Zoeh / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Good enough
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Well, we didn't get a choice as to how much we can afford, we went with the best one we could find because as usual, we all get screwed at the drive thru. I'm sure ohio Edison is just so happy to become even bigger billionaires.

Pj from Mogadore, OH on August 2nd, 2023
Hello Pj. Thank you for allowing us to energize your home! We value your business with Direct Energy and we look forward to continuing serving you for a long time to come. If there's anything we can assist you with, please feel free to get in contact with us by phone toll-free at 1-888-305-3828, or you can also chat with us at http://ms.spr.ly/DESocial1, for your convenience, we are available Monday-Saturday 7:30 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. all times are central, we will be more than glad to help you out. Have a wonderful day! - Marta / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Direct Energy
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Happy so far but to new to say.

Direct Energy from Cleveland, OH on July 25th, 2023
Welcome to our great team! We are thrilled to have the opportunity to energize you, and it's amazing to have your trust in us! Thank you so much for the awesome comment. We will continue working as hard as we can, so that your experience with us to be always amazing! Have a beautiful day! - Marta / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
New Service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

All is going well. The information provided helped to make an informed decision.

Good Options from Solon, OH on June 5th, 2023
Hi there! Thank you very much for this awesome comment! We are so happy to know you have had the best assistance from our Customer Care Team! We value your business with Direct Energy, and we look forward to continuing serving you for a long time to come! Thank you for trusting us! Have a great start of the week! - Marta / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Why I went to another provider
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Perfectly happy with entire experience until service contract expired. If customer service had contacted me and offered same rate, I would still be a customer. Signed with another service then get your offer for a lower rate. Sorry.

Elizabeth Reinker from Miamisburg, OH on February 18th, 2019
Thanks for the great feedback Elizabeth! We hate to see we lost your business but we would love a chance to make things right! Email us at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com and we would be happy to see options for you :) - Allie
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Much Cheaper that what my Local Company Charges
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Duke Energy (Cincy, OH) rates are Steep. When you go on their "Budget-Plan" (to avg your payments) you get a Balloon Payment come Spring for $800.00+, after paying avg $200-350 a month for a Balanced Gas/Elec home with 3 bedrooms. With Direct Energy. my monthly payments dropped to $190/mo and NO $800 Balloon Payment!

J Sanner from Batavia, OH on November 9th, 2018
We appreciate you taking time out of your day to leave us a review. Have a great week! - Allie
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
My review
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

i got a good plan at a good price, but was never notified of contract ending and never offered a renewal deal so i left

How It Was from Hubbard, OH on March 10th, 2019
Good Afternoon,

We are sorry to hear that you did not receive your renewal notice. We do provide the available renewal rates in the online portal for your review until the account has been renewed or closed.

-Marie
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Worst Customer Service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I tried getting through with Direct Energy today. The computer kept asking me to enter a credit card number instead of putting me through to a representative. I just wanted to talk to a representative to get a refund since I accidently overpaid them. They hung up on me twice. I am going to end my service with them because I was so frustrated.

Ana from on April 6th, 2023
Good afternoon, Ana. Our main objective is to take care of our customers, and we are sorry if we missed the mark with you. We would love to have a new opportunity to serve you as you deserve and to show you how important you are to us. Please feel free to reach us by phone toll-free at 1-888-305-3828, or you can also chat with us at http://ms.spr.ly/DESocial1, for your convenience, we are available Monday-Saturday 7:30 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. all times are central, we will do our best to regain your trust in us. We look forward to hearing from you soon. Please take care and be safe! Marta / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Watch out for the rate hike
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I was a customer for a couple years. rates were good until all the sudden they hiked it up to 13 cents without telling me. our monthly bill sky rocketed. needless to say i cancelled their service.

Monica B from New Waterford, OH on January 25th, 2022
Good afternoon, Monica. We are truly sad to know we have lost you as a part of our family. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. We appreciate the opportunity you have given us to serve you, and we look forward to regaining your trust in us and being your electricity provider again in the future. If there's anything we can do for you, please do not hesitate to contact us anytime by phone or chat, we will be more than glad to help you out. Thank you for this important feedback. Warm regards! - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
They Lost a Customer for Life
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Near the end of your contract, they send letters stating you will no longer be a customer if you do not renew. This is not true. You will be a customer, and they will hike up your rate. You find this out after getting an enormous billand its too late. You will end up paying way more than you saved on that one bill. Even if they gave you gift cards.

Keith from Canton, OH on September 8th, 2021
Hello Keith. Thank you for taking the time to share this important feedback with us. We are truly sorry for any inconvenience you may have experienced regarding your rate, we care for you and we would love to take a closer look at your account and help in any way we can. Please do not hesitate to free to connect with our Facebook team at https://www.facebook.com/directenergy/ or Twitter team at https://twitter.com/directenergy, or you can chat with us at www.directenergy.com. We will do our best to show you how important you are to us. We look forward to hearing from you soon. All the best! - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Disappointment
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I was reupping with Direct and found the rate was to be higher than before. So I dropped them and tried to sign about a month later. It did not work. Why should a loyal customer have to pay more the next time they sign up?

Mike from Pleasant Hill, OH on October 22nd, 2018
Mike we are sorry to hear that we lost your business. All customers receive an initial price lock/promotion when signing up, similar to most businesses. When customers are up for renewal, we will offer plans that are active based on the market price to help maintain a reduced bill, but understand that is not always available. Thanks for the feedback! - Allie
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Need to be a negative star rating for this company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

On Nov 11, 2023 got a knock on my door from a Direct Energy Salesperson, Lie 1: who preceded to tell me that would save me money on my variable supplier cost on my electric bill. I have a fixed rate on my electric bill, by the English word "Fixed" on my electric bill. Lie 2: And "Doing a check on past customers". I HAVE NEVER BEEN YOUR CUSTOMER! And then I pull my electric bill up on my phone and voila the rate is fixed. Lie 3: "Well, that is only the fixed part of the bill the variable rate is on the next page." Wrong: The rate on the next page is what AEP is charging that month for electric if you don't have a supplier. And details out that if you can get a better rate than the variable, then you can switch suppliers, and use the apple-to-apple comparison tables for Ohio customers put out by the Public Utilities Commission (PUC). Then I told him my township buys electricity in bulk and gives a lower rate to all township members which includes my address. Like going to Costco or Sam's Club and paying for the same product in bulk. At this point, if the salespeopleare lairs and frauds, I can only imagine what the company would be like when you signed a contract. What a joke of a company! Need negative stars. Just avoid this company, not looking out for customers, and must be teaching salespeople to lie to potential customers. Caught him in 3 lies in a matter of 3 minutes. Just do yourself a favor and do your own research if you are thinking about switching. Those Door-to-door salespeople should be outlawed.

Eric W from Columbus, OH on November 12th, 2023
Eric W, thanks for leaving your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you've had a negative experience with Direct Energy, and we would like the opportunity to learn about your experience. Please contact us at email at ga-decustomerhelp@nrg.com REF #1002 and additional information.
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
They lie to you
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Your door to door salesman came to my place in Columbus and said that my contract with you had expired not only have I never had a contract with you I called AEP to find out that I signed a bunch of things on a tablet and then I had wait on a call a vda verification thing customer service rep told me to say yes to everything well luckily I didn't say yes to the last question here's hoping I don't have to file a class action lawsuit against you if I did sign up not only did you lie to me about me being a previous customer saying that I could get money back on a surge in my billing you lied to get my service it's despicable and disgusting

Joshua from Columbus, OH on March 16th, 2023
Good afternoon, Joshua. We are terribly sorry for the bad experience you have had with one of our sales agents. We take all concerns raised about our sales practices very seriously and require that all our vendors ensure every agent is compliant with our policies and requests made by the owner of the home that they are visiting. Your feedback is appreciated and has been sent to the appropriate team to follow up. Please feel free to reach us by phone or live chat, to further investigate this matter. As well, if there's any additional information you would like to provide about the sales agent, such as Name, Employee ID or physical description of the representative that came to your door.
And also, if you would like, we can add your address to our internal Do Not Knock list to prevent any future solicitation. We look forward to hearing from you soon. Thank you. Have a wonderful weekend! - Marta / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
SCAM
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Direct Energy has called me 6 times in the last 24 hours. I have been unable to commit to enrolling due to being at work, and wanting to review my current rate. I reviewed the PUCO website last night and they advertise rates that are attractive. I called them today to sign up. They said I would have to do that online. I attempted to do it online and what is advertised as .0659 fixed for 21 months is not showing. The lowest rate on their site is .0749. I went back on the apples to apples comparison and the lower rate is still there. What a scam Direct Energy! Stop blowing up my phone!

Janine from Grafton, OH on February 22nd, 2023
Hello Janine. We are truly sorry for the inconvenience you have experienced, and we offer you our most sincere apologies. We would love the opportunity to talk to you and provide you with the assistance and care that you deserve. We invite you to please get in contact with us by phone toll-free at 1-888-305-3828, or you can also chat with us at http://ms.spr.ly/DESocial1, for your convenience, we are available Monday-Saturday 7:30 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. all times are central, we will do our best to solve your concern and show you we care. Thank you. Warm regards! - Marta / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Horrible Customer Service and Deceitful tactics
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Direct Energy bought out Volunteer Energy and deceived our company because they did not want to honor the 2.99 rate that was under contract with Volunteer Energy. Joe at Direct Energy at 866-966-2003 x8917 strung me along until there was nothing else he could do. It was an extremely stressful experience. I would never recommend them even if their rate is lower. Go with Santanna or Xoom.

Merri from Cleveland, OH on October 24th, 2022
Good afternoon, Merri. We are truly sorry for the inconvenience you experienced. We would love to have the opportunity to further investigate this matter and help in the best way possible. We invite you to please get in contact with us by phone toll-free at 1-888-305-3828, or you can also chat with us at http://ms.spr.ly/DESocial1, for your convenience, we are available Monday-Saturday 7:30 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. all times are central, we will be more than glad to help you out and show you we care. Thank you for the feedback. Have a wonderful day! - Marta / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Rude door to door service With a broken badge
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Told him I wasn't interested 5 times and he was still rude

Chuck from Dayton, OH on August 2nd, 2022
Hello Chuck, thank you for sharing this important feedback with us. We take all concerns raised about our sales practices very seriously and require that all our vendors ensure every agent is compliant with our policies and requests. Furthermore, each representative is required to clearly identify themselves as being with Direct Energy and not the local utility, both verbally and by wearing the appropriate badging and uniform. We do not tolerate aggressive or forceful behavior from our employees. The sales agents are employed by vendors that we partner with. If the Vendor training is the opposite of our training, we certainly need to know so that we can investigate their actions and take proper action. If possible, please reach us by phone toll-free at 1-888-305-3828, or you can also chat with us at http://ms.spr.ly/DESocial1, for your convenience, we are available Monday-Saturday 7:30 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. all times are central, to provide the Agent Name, Employee ID or physical description of the representative that came to you. Also, if you would like, we can add your address or phone number to our internal Do Not Knock / Call list to prevent any future solicitation. If you have more information, please let us know. Thank you. Have a beautiful day! - Marta / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Promotion Fraud
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Don't fall for their marketing. They tell you share with a friend and get a 50.00 Visa for you and your friend. It's been 9 months and several calls and each time they say oh yeah, we are sending you an email. Nothing shows up. You call again and they tell you the same thing. It will take 7 days for the back office to look at this. Not sure who is in the BACK office, but you are not doing your job!

Denise Parker from Reynoldsburg, OH on July 15th, 2022
Good afternoon, Denise. We are terribly sorry for the inconvenience you have experienced regarding the promotional credit on the Refer a Friend campaign. You are very important to us and we highly appreciate you for referring us to your friends and family, we would like to take a closer look at your account and help you solve your concern. Please don't hesitate to get in contact with us by phone toll-free at 1-888-305-3828, or you can also chat with us at http://ms.spr.ly/DESocial1, for your convenience, we are available Monday-Saturday 7:30 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. all times are central, we will work diligently to clarify all of your doubts. Thank you for the feedback. Warm regards! - Marta / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Direct energy is a scam company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I was part of the unregulated services. The reason being was that once a contract was signed as regulated customer. It was so hard to break the contract with this company without paying ridiculous penalties. I just realized that there was no winning with this company they will rob their customers with either services. I live in Edmonton Alberta. My home is 1300 square footage. Last 4 bills were. $679, $1100, $679, $588 and final bill was $703 and not to mention other charges like admin fees and delivery charges. This is robbery and not once a recommendation was made by their employees to a lower rate after calling numerous times to complain about high prices. I will make it my lifes mission to inform all my friends and family about this company so it doesnt happen to anyone.

Pk from on May 1st, 2022
Overall Rating
If I could give less than a single star I would give a ZERO
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

No matter what is promised, the answer is no.



Do not ever choose this company, for that matter do not ever go third party. Lesson learned. Warning this is not a bogus happy review.

Despite more insulation and other home improvements that reduced my electrical usage, my bill has continued to soar, turns out having young kids get the mail, and sometimes losing a piece can cost you thousands. I didn't renew my contract because I didn't see the mail, didn't read the fine print, I'm to blame as a widowed father of 4 kids, I got it, they legally covered their donkey's and warned me somewhere in fine print that I was gonna get taken advantage of.

See also Texas case: HOUSTON, May 5, 2021 /PRNewswire/ -- The owner of a North Texas Harley-Davidson dealership has filed a lawsuit against Houston-based Direct Energy and its affiliates, alleging the electricity provider engaged in unlawful price gouging during February's statewide winter storm "According to the filing in state district court in Harris County, plaintiff American Eagle Harley-Davidson (AEHD), located in the Denton County community of Corinth, received an invoice for February electricity service of almost $277,000, approximately 55 times more than the dealership's typical monthly bill."
Yeah, trust them for sure. They offered me a $100 gift card if I signed back up for another contract, but were unable to help with the additional thousands they have charged me on top of their already high rate.
of my previous bill, $491 was Direct Energy, $187 was the actual company that generates the power, maintains the lines, comes out during storms, Duke customer service most often lands in the Carolina's, Direct Energy via India, they skin the cat then outsource everything. I do not like writing reviews nor do I like speaking negatively of others, but this company pushed me over the edge.

As of today, Direct Energy has 4 rates listed on my state's website for comparing suppliers:
$.0899 fixed 24 months
$.0729 fixed 12 months
$.0709 fixed 18 months
$.0639 fixed 33 months
My last bill shows $.1469/KWH for failure to sign new contract.
I worked in sales for decades, I understand the need to make money, but taking advantage to this level is insane. "you gonna pay rent, or electric this month, you can't absorb an extra $900 this month? ?"

Sham At Best from Loveland, OH on February 8th, 2022
Good afternoon, Sham. We are truly sorry for the inconvenience you experienced regarding your rate plan. We care for you and we would love the opportunity to take a closer look at your account and help in any way we can. Please do not hesitate to reach us anytime by phone or live chat, we will do our best to provide you with the best solution to your case. We'll be waiting for you. Thank you for this important feedback. Have a beautiful day! - Marta / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Charged 4x the Rate
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have been a customer of Direct Energy since 2018. I have subscribed to automatic withdrawal, and an average monthly bill for my home would be on average $250. On August 10th, 2021, I received a bill from Direct Energy in the amount of $843.73. In reading this notice it stated I was delinquent on my May, July, August 2021 bills. I called immediately and asked why the payments hadn't originally been withdrawn or why I had not been notified that my payments had not gone through. In reading my bank statements, and discussing with the customer service representative with Direct Energy, it was confirmed there was enough funds in my account for the withdrawal, and I simply neglected to notice the payment was not withdrawn, as did Direct Energy those months. In that conversation, the Direct Energy Representative informed me that for the past year, I had been paying 4x the going rate for gas and electricity. For example, the going rate in August was roughly 6 cents per kj, and Direct Energy was charging me 21 cents pr kj. To add to that statement, the August prior I had changed residences, and asked if there was a better rate for a long term loyal customer, and the representative declined that there was a better rate. For the 3 months after the change in residency, they kept sending my bill to my old address, and I called every month to correct this, and they continued to state that there was a glitch in their system. Still, in these conversations of cost discontent and glitches, nobody offered me council on improved rates.


I escalated to a manager as the representative stated their hands were tied and the manager was equally unhelpful, and told me if I did not pay this bill, that was 4x higher than the going rate, Direct Energy would take me to collections.
Today, I received a bill of an additional $361.98 for the remainder of the month, after having had cancelled on August 10th, 2021 and switching to EPCOR. I called and asked to be put through to a manager. They offered my $50 off the outrageous amount, which $361 continued to be 4x the going rate, and although stated she was not satisfied with how I had been treated thus far, proceeded to kindly tell me there was nothing more she could do and when asking me if there was, I asked to leave a complaint, and she abruptly disconnected the call in that inquiry. Another encounter involving customer service was during the cancellation of my bill. The customer service agent did not attempt to council me a) that I would continue to be charged, b) that I would continue to be charged the quadrupled rate, c) on how to rectify the previous bill. Bill cancelled August 10th, 2021. Charged again August 18th and August 27th 2021. Began service in 2013. Communication: I had not registered for an online account, and trusted the automatic withdrawals and paper mail notifications, however, the notifications did not get received in the mail.

I would say that Direct Energy willfully misleads you on their billing arrangement, and continuously has "glitches" in their methods of communicating (mailed to wrong address, did not receive a phone call, or email, or did not have a record that was sent in the mail at all), and then when does not withdrawal automatically will claim delinquency and charge you fees for non-payment. When making complaints, was rushed off the phone, or placated until the representative seemed to run out of patience - this occurred with multiple managers and staff consistently.

Holmes from on September 8th, 2021
Overall Rating
Direct Energy is tettible!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I signed up with Direct Energy about 5 years ago, hoping to save some money. All was ok for awhile. I was happy and thought I was saving money.



One day about 4 months ago I checked my rates with my local gas supplier, they were between 6 and 7 cents lower. I called Direct Energy to see if they could lower my rates to match my local gas supplier, they said they could not match the rate at the moment but would be able to lower my rates in a couple of months.
To compensate me they offered me 2 $75 gift cards, I have 2 accounts.

That was in May, in June I called to check rates, they still could not match my local gas supplier, I also checked on the gift cards they were supposed to send me, they said they were mailed and I should receive them any day.

When they could not match the rates of my local gas supplier, I cancelled my gas account.

As of this date, August 11, no gift cards were received, when I checked they told me because I had cancelled my account, the offer was no longer available. After spending over an hour on the phone with Brandon and his manager Jose, I gave up trying to deal with them.

I was with this company for 5 years and I was a loyal customer, a lot of good that did. I am so disappointed with Direct Energy and hope no one else has to go through what I had to do.

Pat Mamy from Toledo, OH on August 11th, 2021
Good afternoon, Pat. We are truly sorry for the inconvenience you experienced and we are terribly sad to know we have lost you as a part of our family. For any further assistance needed please feel free to connect with us through any of our communication channels:

* Our Facebook team at https://www.facebook.com/directenergy/
* Our Twitter team at https://twitter.com/directenergy
* Or you can chat with us at www.directenergy.com

We hope to have the opportunity to regain your trust in us and serve you the way you deserve. Please accept our apologies. Thank you for the feedback. All the best! - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy

Compare Direct Energy to Similarly Reviewed Electricity Companies

Company
Plan Name
Price
MRC
The 'MRC' or 'Monthly Recurring Charge' is a fee that the provider will add to each of your bills in addition to the electricity/gas usage charges.
Type
Monthly Plan
4.99¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Variable Rate Renewable
Check Availability
Annual Clean Energy Plan
10.99¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Renewable
Check Availability
Live Brighter 18
6.99¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Live Brighter 12
6.69¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Go Green Lights 24
8.89¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Term Optimized Live Brighter 9
7.09¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Embrace Green 24
8.99¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Embrace Green 12
8.99¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability