Direct Energy Customer Reviews

We've been collecting customer reviews for Direct Energy so you can get the inside scoop on what it's like to be a customer.

If you want to know our take, check out our Direct Energy Ratings page.

Informational Links

Ratings by Star

Direct Energy's Customer Reviews Summary

Direct Energy Scores and Ratings:

OH Energy Ratings Overall Score for Direct Energy

3.3 / 5

Direct Energy Reviews

546 Reviews for Direct Energy

546

total reviews

Compare to Direct Energy Electricity Rates

What People Are Asking About Reviews for Direct Energy?

Who is the best electricity provider in Ohio?

The best electricity providers are:



Does Direct Energy take reviews seriously?

Direct Energy has an average user review of 1.9 / 5.0 stars; they respond to 33% of their customer's reviews.

How do I leave a review for Direct Energy?

At OH Energy Ratings you will find one of the most straightforward, comprehensive, and longest-running Direct Energy customer review communities around. With 35 reviews so far, we pride ourselves in our ability to showcase and facilitate customer reviews so that you know you'll be getting the electricity provider that's right for you! If you are a Direct Energy customer and would like to make yourself heard, then you are welcome to leave a review on our Direct Energy Customer Reviews Page.



Recent Good Review from Happy customer

Overall Rating
Satisfied customer
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I would re-order with them again if they are the cheapest.

Happy Customer from Cleveland, OH on November 15th, 2020
Hi there! Thank you so much for your vote of trust! We totally appreciate your loyalty and we will do our best to continue offering you the best price available in the area. Thank you for this amazing review! Have a great start of the week! - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Good
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Did what was needed, no service interruptions or delays

S from Piqua, OH on November 13th, 2020
Hi, reading comments like yours make every minute of hard work worthwhile because we realize that day by day we manage to strengthen the bonds of trust with our customers. We will continue working for you, to always provide you with the best experience and be able to cover your energy needs. Thank you so much for this review! Zoeh / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Easy to setup
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Called and got a better rate

Bill from Willoughby, OH on October 7th, 2020
Hi Bill, your 5-star review is really appreciate it. Glad to know that you are having a great experience being part of our big family. Direct Energy value your business and loyalty. Have a great day! - Zoeh / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Switched service provider
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Great rate

Linda from Euclid, OH on April 2nd, 2019
Hi Linda,

We are very pleased we were able to provide an exceptional rate for you and your family. Please feel free to reach out to us via phone or Live Chat on our website with your full contact information should you ever need our assistance. Thanks and have an amazing day!

-Marie
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Easy and reasonably priced
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Very happy with my experience,

MH from Brunswick, OH on March 25th, 2019
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a great rating based on your experience with our company. We certainly value you as a customer and strive to provide exceptional customer service always. Feel free to contact us via phone or live chat should you ever need our assistance. Thank you and have a delightful day!

-Marie
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Why I went to another provider
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Perfectly happy with entire experience until service contract expired. If customer service had contacted me and offered same rate, I would still be a customer. Signed with another service then get your offer for a lower rate. Sorry.

Elizabeth Reinker from Miamisburg, OH on February 18th, 2019
Thanks for the great feedback Elizabeth! We hate to see we lost your business but we would love a chance to make things right! Email us at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com and we would be happy to see options for you :) - Allie
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Much Cheaper that what my Local Company Charges
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Duke Energy (Cincy, OH) rates are Steep. When you go on their "Budget-Plan" (to avg your payments) you get a Balloon Payment come Spring for $800.00+, after paying avg $200-350 a month for a Balanced Gas/Elec home with 3 bedrooms. With Direct Energy. my monthly payments dropped to $190/mo and NO $800 Balloon Payment!

J Sanner from Batavia, OH on November 9th, 2018
We appreciate you taking time out of your day to leave us a review. Have a great week! - Allie
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
My review
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

i got a good plan at a good price, but was never notified of contract ending and never offered a renewal deal so i left

How It Was from Hubbard, OH on March 10th, 2019
Good Afternoon,

We are sorry to hear that you did not receive your renewal notice. We do provide the available renewal rates in the online portal for your review until the account has been renewed or closed.

-Marie
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Watch out for the rate hike
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I was a customer for a couple years. rates were good until all the sudden they hiked it up to 13 cents without telling me. our monthly bill sky rocketed. needless to say i cancelled their service.

Monica B from New Waterford, OH on January 25th, 2022
Good afternoon, Monica. We are truly sad to know we have lost you as a part of our family. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. We appreciate the opportunity you have given us to serve you, and we look forward to regaining your trust in us and being your electricity provider again in the future. If there's anything we can do for you, please do not hesitate to contact us anytime by phone or chat, we will be more than glad to help you out. Thank you for this important feedback. Warm regards! - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
They Lost a Customer for Life
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Near the end of your contract, they send letters stating you will no longer be a customer if you do not renew. This is not true. You will be a customer, and they will hike up your rate. You find this out after getting an enormous billand its too late. You will end up paying way more than you saved on that one bill. Even if they gave you gift cards.

Keith from Canton, OH on September 8th, 2021
Hello Keith. Thank you for taking the time to share this important feedback with us. We are truly sorry for any inconvenience you may have experienced regarding your rate, we care for you and we would love to take a closer look at your account and help in any way we can. Please do not hesitate to free to connect with our Facebook team at https://www.facebook.com/directenergy/ or Twitter team at https://twitter.com/directenergy, or you can chat with us at www.directenergy.com. We will do our best to show you how important you are to us. We look forward to hearing from you soon. All the best! - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Disappointment
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I was reupping with Direct and found the rate was to be higher than before. So I dropped them and tried to sign about a month later. It did not work. Why should a loyal customer have to pay more the next time they sign up?

Mike from Pleasant Hill, OH on October 22nd, 2018
Mike we are sorry to hear that we lost your business. All customers receive an initial price lock/promotion when signing up, similar to most businesses. When customers are up for renewal, we will offer plans that are active based on the market price to help maintain a reduced bill, but understand that is not always available. Thanks for the feedback! - Allie
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Promotion Fraud
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Don't fall for their marketing. They tell you share with a friend and get a 50.00 Visa for you and your friend. It's been 9 months and several calls and each time they say oh yeah, we are sending you an email. Nothing shows up. You call again and they tell you the same thing. It will take 7 days for the back office to look at this. Not sure who is in the BACK office, but you are not doing your job!

Denise Parker from Reynoldsburg, OH on July 15th, 2022
Good afternoon, Denise. We are terribly sorry for the inconvenience you have experienced regarding the promotional credit on the Refer a Friend campaign. You are very important to us and we highly appreciate you for referring us to your friends and family, we would like to take a closer look at your account and help you solve your concern. Please don't hesitate to get in contact with us by phone toll-free at 1-888-305-3828, or you can also chat with us at http://ms.spr.ly/DESocial1, for your convenience, we are available Monday-Saturday 7:30 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. all times are central, we will work diligently to clarify all of your doubts. Thank you for the feedback. Warm regards! - Marta / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Direct energy is a scam company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I was part of the unregulated services. The reason being was that once a contract was signed as regulated customer. It was so hard to break the contract with this company without paying ridiculous penalties. I just realized that there was no winning with this company they will rob their customers with either services. I live in Edmonton Alberta. My home is 1300 square footage. Last 4 bills were. $679, $1100, $679, $588 and final bill was $703 and not to mention other charges like admin fees and delivery charges. This is robbery and not once a recommendation was made by their employees to a lower rate after calling numerous times to complain about high prices. I will make it my lifes mission to inform all my friends and family about this company so it doesnt happen to anyone.

Pk from on May 1st, 2022
Overall Rating
If I could give less than a single star I would give a ZERO
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

No matter what is promised, the answer is no.



Do not ever choose this company, for that matter do not ever go third party. Lesson learned. Warning this is not a bogus happy review.

Despite more insulation and other home improvements that reduced my electrical usage, my bill has continued to soar, turns out having young kids get the mail, and sometimes losing a piece can cost you thousands. I didn't renew my contract because I didn't see the mail, didn't read the fine print, I'm to blame as a widowed father of 4 kids, I got it, they legally covered their donkey's and warned me somewhere in fine print that I was gonna get taken advantage of.

See also Texas case: HOUSTON, May 5, 2021 /PRNewswire/ -- The owner of a North Texas Harley-Davidson dealership has filed a lawsuit against Houston-based Direct Energy and its affiliates, alleging the electricity provider engaged in unlawful price gouging during February's statewide winter storm "According to the filing in state district court in Harris County, plaintiff American Eagle Harley-Davidson (AEHD), located in the Denton County community of Corinth, received an invoice for February electricity service of almost $277,000, approximately 55 times more than the dealership's typical monthly bill."
Yeah, trust them for sure. They offered me a $100 gift card if I signed back up for another contract, but were unable to help with the additional thousands they have charged me on top of their already high rate.
of my previous bill, $491 was Direct Energy, $187 was the actual company that generates the power, maintains the lines, comes out during storms, Duke customer service most often lands in the Carolina's, Direct Energy via India, they skin the cat then outsource everything. I do not like writing reviews nor do I like speaking negatively of others, but this company pushed me over the edge.

As of today, Direct Energy has 4 rates listed on my state's website for comparing suppliers:
$.0899 fixed 24 months
$.0729 fixed 12 months
$.0709 fixed 18 months
$.0639 fixed 33 months
My last bill shows $.1469/KWH for failure to sign new contract.
I worked in sales for decades, I understand the need to make money, but taking advantage to this level is insane. "you gonna pay rent, or electric this month, you can't absorb an extra $900 this month? ?"

Sham At Best from Loveland, OH on February 8th, 2022
Good afternoon, Sham. We are truly sorry for the inconvenience you experienced regarding your rate plan. We care for you and we would love the opportunity to take a closer look at your account and help in any way we can. Please do not hesitate to reach us anytime by phone or live chat, we will do our best to provide you with the best solution to your case. We'll be waiting for you. Thank you for this important feedback. Have a beautiful day! - Marta / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Charged 4x the Rate
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have been a customer of Direct Energy since 2018. I have subscribed to automatic withdrawal, and an average monthly bill for my home would be on average $250. On August 10th, 2021, I received a bill from Direct Energy in the amount of $843.73. In reading this notice it stated I was delinquent on my May, July, August 2021 bills. I called immediately and asked why the payments hadn't originally been withdrawn or why I had not been notified that my payments had not gone through. In reading my bank statements, and discussing with the customer service representative with Direct Energy, it was confirmed there was enough funds in my account for the withdrawal, and I simply neglected to notice the payment was not withdrawn, as did Direct Energy those months. In that conversation, the Direct Energy Representative informed me that for the past year, I had been paying 4x the going rate for gas and electricity. For example, the going rate in August was roughly 6 cents per kj, and Direct Energy was charging me 21 cents pr kj. To add to that statement, the August prior I had changed residences, and asked if there was a better rate for a long term loyal customer, and the representative declined that there was a better rate. For the 3 months after the change in residency, they kept sending my bill to my old address, and I called every month to correct this, and they continued to state that there was a glitch in their system. Still, in these conversations of cost discontent and glitches, nobody offered me council on improved rates.


I escalated to a manager as the representative stated their hands were tied and the manager was equally unhelpful, and told me if I did not pay this bill, that was 4x higher than the going rate, Direct Energy would take me to collections.
Today, I received a bill of an additional $361.98 for the remainder of the month, after having had cancelled on August 10th, 2021 and switching to EPCOR. I called and asked to be put through to a manager. They offered my $50 off the outrageous amount, which $361 continued to be 4x the going rate, and although stated she was not satisfied with how I had been treated thus far, proceeded to kindly tell me there was nothing more she could do and when asking me if there was, I asked to leave a complaint, and she abruptly disconnected the call in that inquiry. Another encounter involving customer service was during the cancellation of my bill. The customer service agent did not attempt to council me a) that I would continue to be charged, b) that I would continue to be charged the quadrupled rate, c) on how to rectify the previous bill. Bill cancelled August 10th, 2021. Charged again August 18th and August 27th 2021. Began service in 2013. Communication: I had not registered for an online account, and trusted the automatic withdrawals and paper mail notifications, however, the notifications did not get received in the mail.

I would say that Direct Energy willfully misleads you on their billing arrangement, and continuously has "glitches" in their methods of communicating (mailed to wrong address, did not receive a phone call, or email, or did not have a record that was sent in the mail at all), and then when does not withdrawal automatically will claim delinquency and charge you fees for non-payment. When making complaints, was rushed off the phone, or placated until the representative seemed to run out of patience - this occurred with multiple managers and staff consistently.

Holmes from on September 8th, 2021
Overall Rating
Direct Energy is tettible!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I signed up with Direct Energy about 5 years ago, hoping to save some money. All was ok for awhile. I was happy and thought I was saving money.



One day about 4 months ago I checked my rates with my local gas supplier, they were between 6 and 7 cents lower. I called Direct Energy to see if they could lower my rates to match my local gas supplier, they said they could not match the rate at the moment but would be able to lower my rates in a couple of months.
To compensate me they offered me 2 $75 gift cards, I have 2 accounts.

That was in May, in June I called to check rates, they still could not match my local gas supplier, I also checked on the gift cards they were supposed to send me, they said they were mailed and I should receive them any day.

When they could not match the rates of my local gas supplier, I cancelled my gas account.

As of this date, August 11, no gift cards were received, when I checked they told me because I had cancelled my account, the offer was no longer available. After spending over an hour on the phone with Brandon and his manager Jose, I gave up trying to deal with them.

I was with this company for 5 years and I was a loyal customer, a lot of good that did. I am so disappointed with Direct Energy and hope no one else has to go through what I had to do.

Pat Mamy from Toledo, OH on August 11th, 2021
Good afternoon, Pat. We are truly sorry for the inconvenience you experienced and we are terribly sad to know we have lost you as a part of our family. For any further assistance needed please feel free to connect with us through any of our communication channels:

* Our Facebook team at https://www.facebook.com/directenergy/
* Our Twitter team at https://twitter.com/directenergy
* Or you can chat with us at www.directenergy.com

We hope to have the opportunity to regain your trust in us and serve you the way you deserve. Please accept our apologies. Thank you for the feedback. All the best! - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Direct Energy is the worst company in Canada
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

We have had three terrible experiences with Direct Energy. The first account we had with them they could not get the lean removed from the rental we were trying to sell. It took several months and we were told by people to call and email every single day. We did that for three months. The other two situations were ones that we inherited water tank rentals and the bungling of customer service and the inability to get problems resolved was truly incredible. I have spoken to many other people that also claim they are the worst run company in Canada

John H from on July 11th, 2021
Overall Rating
Scammers
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Reps came to my door and refused to take no for an answer after I finally got rid of them didn't think twice about it. Now I just noticed on my bill that somehow they switched me anyway. These people are scammers, I never agreed to switch.

Rita T from Toledo, OH on June 18th, 2021
Hi Rita, we are saddened to know about your recent experience with our sales agents this is not the feedback we would like to receive. We would love to further investigate this case so we can escalate it to the appropriate department. Please connect with us through

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/directenergy/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/directenergy
Chat at: www.directenergy.com

We are looking forward to hearing from you soon! Have a great day! - Zoeh / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Snakes
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

They sent a sales person to my house at 9pm saying they were with my energy company and needed to see my energy bills to ensure that I was being charged correctly. I should have seen through this, but it was late and I was tired. When trying to cancel my account they hung up on me and screened my calls. Horrible company full of sneaky people, never do business with them.

Luke from Cincinnati, OH on March 26th, 2021
Hi Luke, this is without question, not the experience we want our customers to go through. We take all concerns raised about our sales practices very seriously and require that all our vendors ensure every agent is compliant with our policies and to requests made by the owner of the home that they are visiting. Furthermore, each representative is required to clearly identify themselves as being with Direct Energy and not the local utility, both verbally and by wearing the appropriate badging and uniform. We do not tolerate aggressive or forceful behavior from our employees. The Door-to-Door sales agents are employed by vendors that we partner with. If the Vendor's training is the opposite of our training, we certainly need to know so that we can investigate their actions and take proper action. If possible, please provide the Agent Name, Employee ID, or physical description of the representative that came to your door. Also, if you would like, we can add your address to our internal Do Not Knock list to prevent any future solicitation. If you have more information please let us know. We would love to help you to fix this situation as soon as possible. Please connect with us through chat at www.directenergy.com. It will be a pleasure to help you! - Zoeh / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Dissatisfied with Direct Energy
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I had been with Direct Energy for years and no issues. One year I missed the renewal and they doubled my gas rate. I called to have it switched back to the fixed rate. They indicated it could not be switched for a minimum of 60 days. They offered to provide me with a $75 dollar gift card but I never received the gift card. Their rate is high and it is not easy to get out of the contract without paying in excess. The customer service support team was lacking in knowledge and not helpful. Very dissatisfied with their overall service.

Kdg from Streetsboro, OH on February 28th, 2021
Hi, thank you for getting in contact with us, we sincerely apologize as it is our aim to be as transparent with customers as possible regarding their accounts. We would like the opportunity to investigate this further and check the status of your gift card. Please engage with us through chat at www.directenergy.com. We are looking forward to hearing from you soon! - Zoeh / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
The lights are on but nobodys home!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sold my condo,notified D.E. On my last cheque that it was sold and this was my last payment. The new owner waited 2 weeks to establish an account. You bill me for the 2 weeks. I send you lawyers documents stating completion date of sale. You continue demand me to pay someone elses bill and now put the amount out to collection for $32.


Its not the money stupid, its the principle. I have made every effort to get this straight here and am faced with a wall of collective incompetence on your part.
Do something here to improve your 2 star rating.

B.Naylor from on February 9th, 2021
Good afternoon, B. Naylor. We are truly sorry for the bad experience you have had. We care for you and we would love the opportunity to take a closer look at your account and help you solve your concern. Please feel free to contact us through any of our communication channels (FB, TW, phone, or chat) and we will do our best to provide you a solution. Thank you for this feedback. We'll be waiting for you. Have a beautiful day! - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy