Customer Reviews for AEP Energy

People have been reviewing AEP Energy on OH Energy Ragings, giving you an understanding of being AEP Energy's customer is like.

Additionally, we combine customer ratings with an array of other variables to develop a more comprehensive rating. Read OH Energy Ragings analasys of AEP Energy.

Informational Links

Ratings by Star

AEP Energy's Customer Reviews Summary

AEP Energy Scores and Ratings:

OH Energy Ratings Overall Score for AEP Energy

2.0 / 5

AEP Energy Reviews

28 Reviews for AEP Energy

28

total reviews

Want to order AEP Energy?

What People Are Asking About Reviews for AEP Energy?

Who is the best electricity provider in Ohio?

The best electricity providers are:



Does AEP Energy take reviews seriously?

AEP Energy has an average user review of 1.5 / 5.0 stars; they respond to 100% of their customer's reviews.

How do I leave a review for AEP Energy?

At OH Energy Ratings you will find one of the most straightforward, comprehensive, and longest-running AEP Energy customer review communities around. With 19 reviews so far, we pride ourselves in our ability to showcase and facilitate customer reviews so that you know you'll be getting the electricity provider that's right for you! If you are a AEP Energy customer and would like to make yourself heard, then you are welcome to leave a review on our AEP Energy Customer Reviews Page.



Recent Good Review from Jon

Overall Rating
Everything's great, except for how reliable it is.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

The title says it all. The website is good, the billing processes are good, customer service is okay, etc. The only downside is, that the power lately goes out monthly, usually for four+ hours. When you work from home, that is a non-starter.

Jon from Columbus, OH on June 28th, 2021
Overall Rating
AEP OH will not reimburse for losses
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I had a power surge on my property June 12th around 7:30 PM. Had an electrician come up, they told me the neutral ground wire was bad and AEP had to fix it. Because of this, many of my items in my home were destroyed. It wasn't enough to where my home insurance would cover it, but it was definitely above my monthly pay to cover it. I don't make much, enough to pay my bills and eat and MAYBE just MAYBE buy myself something nice. I've been a paying customer for two years. If I'm driving my car and my engine fails and I wreck into 6 people, is it my fault or the engines fault? Exactly, but AEP doesn't seem to understand this common sensibility. They told me because the failure was unprecedented or unplanned that they couldn't reimburse me for anything. Now I'm out of $1200 worth of stuff because of their crappy service and their failure to do preventative maintenance and proper testing on my lines. Everything else is great, but I'd really recommend you put a surge protector that covers unprecedented surges for your items in your home because I've heard of AEP and these surge protector companies just screwing people left and right. I'm currently complaining to the BBB about this and I'm fearful they may shut my electric off if I take further action.

Nathaniel Flesher from Toronto, OH on July 15th, 2020
Overall Rating
AEP Needs an Overhaul
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

We have been in Athens, OH for 2 years now. It feels like we are living in a developing country where there are regular power outages. So far we have had over 4-5 power outages, with one of the outages for over 24 hours in freezing winter weather. Their prices are ridiculously high. We were paying $178/month, and all at once we went up to $360/month and it is not because of wattage usage but because of services in our area. Do not recommend AEP at all.

Steve M from Athens, OH on February 5th, 2021
Overall Rating
Poor service during outage
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

In my area on Liberty hill rd, Chillicothe Ohio, we are always the last one to have power restored during any outage. My neighbors just down the road 500 in both directions of my home always seem to have power restored days before we do. The power grid in my area is ancient with very little maintenance done. Im considering going all solar power and do away with this pathetic service and upkeep on my lines. I pay my bill faithfully each month but get a hobos treatment. I have contacted the company on 4 different days telling them of trees down on power lines and each time they say they had no calls made to them about that. AEP is good at giving you the runaround and thats the only thing they are good at!! Shame on them!!!!!

Randy from Chillicothe, OH on June 16th, 2022
Overall Rating
Moral-less company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Had my power disconnected at 11:30am Friday morning. Then that person left on vacation. No one able to restore. Hottest days on record for the summer. Against their own policy/law of same day restoration of power before noon against their own policy of notifying person at home at time of disconnect. Only option is to go to court. No wonder they dont care about their customers. ZERO repercussion. Now, planned brown out without notifying customers? Downright wrong. Even an hours notice allows us to prepare (including stores and gas stations). You have a responsibility with all your power. Do better.

Irate Customer from Columbus, OH on June 14th, 2022
Overall Rating
How to people who operate companies like this sleep at night?
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

AEP is quick to shut you off. Make your payment before the due date, I mean way before. If theres any kind of delay on your payment (like from your bank) making it into their account you and your kids will be in the cold and dark.

Decency Doesn't Apply To Power Companies from 24551 on March 10th, 2022
Overall Rating
Rude Customer Service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I used their chat feature to try to work out payment arrangements. The responder gave me a few canned responses. I needed clarification. I was not rude but she hung up the chat before I could rephrase my question. I am thinking the way that she did it, they must be told that it is okay to hang up on people. That actually was my last question so had she answered it, I would not be here but it was really shocking to be typing and the next thing you know, the chat closes. I could have started another chat but if you are having problems paying your bill, I guess it is acceptable for the chat reps to hang up on customers.

Carol from Steubenville, OH on February 28th, 2022
Overall Rating
Do not use
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Awful company, do not recommend anyone give them a cent

Customer Without Power from Columbus, OH on February 21st, 2022
Overall Rating
AEP is a horrible company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

As stated in the title AEP is horrible they didn't tell us they were coming turned off the electricity briefly and fried my PS4 then turn the electricity right back on and before I could get out there to stop them they left. Thanks for nothing AEP. I do not recommend making them your electricity provider.

J. from Mc Arthur, OH on August 31st, 2021
Overall Rating
AEP is the worse and a nightmare
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

AEP is a nightmare. I get depressed thinking about them such a burden and loss of sleep. I'm not sure how this company is the only electric power provider in most area of Columbus as big as Columbus is. The electric charges are ridiculous and it's a shame.

Anonymous from Columbus, OH on June 19th, 2021
Overall Rating
Cant return the lower on for more than 2 days
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I am trying to return the power on to my place for 2 days and they keeps saying your case is reviewing

Haitham from Columbus, OH on May 4th, 2021
Overall Rating
Bad!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bad!

P from Martinsburg, OH on March 3rd, 2021
Overall Rating
Random Bill Jumps
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

With AEP I started out with only a 40 dollar bill and I live alone. It went up last year this time like expected. However this year it doubled with no changes other than an average of 10 degrees with weather. I asked about usage and they said it was about the same maybe a little higher. However this year, MY BILL DOUBLED FROM LAST YEAR. And when I called and asked they basically said your temperature is too high for average usage and temperature is lower this year. Then proceeded to tell me theres nothing they will do even though my usage is roughly the same. If it wasnt for this company being the only one in my area I would not recommend them. By the way the bill went from $117 to $279 from December 2019-December 2020

David C from Athens, OH on January 11th, 2021

Compare AEP Energy to Similarly Reviewed Electricity Companies

Company
Plan Name
Price
MRC
The 'MRC' or 'Monthly Recurring Charge' is a fee that the provider will add to each of your bills in addition to the electricity/gas usage charges.
Type
Price Protect 36
8.39¢
$4.95 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability