Inspire Energy Customer Reviews

We've been collecting customer reviews for Inspire Energy so you can get the inside scoop on what it's like to be a customer.

If you want to know our take, check out our Inspire Energy Ratings page.

Informational Links

Ratings by Star

Inspire Energy's Customer Reviews Summary

Inspire Energy Scores and Ratings:

OH Energy Ratings Overall Score for Inspire Energy

2.0 / 5

Inspire Energy Reviews

81 Reviews for Inspire Energy

81

total reviews

Compare to Inspire Energy Electricity Rates

What People Are Asking About Reviews for Inspire Energy?

Who is the best electricity provider in Ohio?

The best electricity providers are:



Does Inspire Energy take reviews seriously?

Inspire Energy has an average user review of 1.2 / 5.0 stars; they respond to 100% of their customer's reviews.

How do I leave a review for Inspire Energy?

At OH Energy Ratings you will find one of the most straightforward, comprehensive, and longest-running Inspire Energy customer review communities around. With 12 reviews so far, we pride ourselves in our ability to showcase and facilitate customer reviews so that you know you'll be getting the electricity provider that's right for you! If you are a Inspire Energy customer and would like to make yourself heard, then you are welcome to leave a review on our Inspire Energy Customer Reviews Page.



Overall Rating
Misleading company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Poor experience with them. Some rep came to my apartment and insisted me sign the tranfer because rates were cheap and its a renewable energy. So i signed it. But for next 2 months i received highest amount bills. Thank God i moved out from there and cancelled my service

Jawaid from Strongsville, OH on March 11th, 2020
Overall Rating
Scam
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Talked my husband into get inspire energy even though my name is on the account. He was told it didnt matter as long as he had the account number. I kept watching my bill go up and had no clue why until the light company told me inspire been charging me 200.00 a month.

Mrs Barker from Lorain, OH on August 1st, 2022
Overall Rating
Misleading and Fraudulent Sales Tactics
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

An Inspire employee came to my mom's house on 6/6/2022. Mom is elderly and lives alone. The employee used high pressure tactics to try and get my mom to switch. She called me while the employee was there and put him on the phone with me. He falsely stated that mom was currently a customer of Inspire (she isn't) and that he was there to "make sure she wasn't switched without her consent to another supplier". The man insisted that I tell him the details from mom's bill to confirm this. I said we're not interested in switching and that I did not appreciate someone bothering mom at her home. The employee stated that he was sent because we didn't respond to a mailing. I told him to please leave. He refused and stated that if I couldn't provide him with the billing info to confirm our supplier, he or someone else from Inspire would keep coming back until we did. This was threatening and unethical behavior. I told him again he needed to leave or I would contact the police. He finally relented but then accused my mom of being racist before storming off. This was unprofessional, illegal sales tactics involving fraud. And it was trespassing as he remained even after I told him to leave the premises. I will be contacting the state utilities commission about this. And the police will be called if any Inspire employee sets foot on my mom's property again.

Talontime from Upper Sandusky, OH on June 6th, 2022
Overall Rating
Refused to leave
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Showed up at my door! Refused to leave..demanded to see my bill. Very rude.

Jen from Toledo, OH on May 31st, 2022
Overall Rating
Scammers
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Showed up at my door, looked at my electric bill and said they could do it cheaper. During the sign up process they kept speaking over the automated voice so I couldnt hear anything it was saying. Very sketchy. Looks like I lucked out after reading these reviews, guess they entered a number wrong because I kept getting emails about it. Dont do it people

Unsatisfied from Toledo, OH on January 10th, 2022
Overall Rating
Illegally has been charging me for months
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Illegally has been charging me for months my father and I were both on my illuminating bell neither one of us has signed up for this company and they have been charging us for months just realized it this afternoon How can this company just illegally go onto your illuminating bell this is fraudulent 100%

How Can This Company Just Illegally Go Onto Your Illuminating Bell This Is Fraudulent 100% from Wickliffe, OH on September 17th, 2021
Overall Rating
Lied, said they were AEP.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Got tricked by a door to door guy. Said he was with AEP and I Shiism en expecting a refined for being overcharged- he never once mentioned Inspire. He took my account number, and left. I was switched over to their service, at their rates, without even knowing it. When I caught it, I switched out- and they canceled my switch and switched me back to them. I then called them directly and told them what happened, and I have since filed with BBB and PUCO and they have followed up. If this happens to you, Id recommend getting the BBB and PUCO involved.

They Will Scam You from Columbus, OH on September 1st, 2021
Overall Rating
Dont fall for it! its a scam!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

A representative from inspire energy approached me and my boyfriend at giant eagle about 8 months ago now and told us signing up with them would add no extra cost to our monthly energy bill and all it would do was tell the illuminating company that we advocate for greener energy. a few months goes by and we notice our energy bill had gone up $30 more a month. we shrugged it off as it being winter and needing to use more energy. my boyfriend did a little more digging and found that contrary to what they had told us, inspire energy was charging us an extra $30 a month. he called to cancel and the customer service person, instead of canceling the bill, attempted to sign us up for the cheaper option which was $7 less a month. do not trust them they are all about scams and lies!!

Bre from Eastlake, OH on June 11th, 2021
Overall Rating
STAY FAR AWAY FROM THIS SCAM COMPANY
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

They set up in our local grocery store and have SCAMMED hundreds of folks on LIES! They told my husband NOTHING is changing no contract all they are is to promote GREEN ENERGY and poof our bill is SKY high. This is outrageous. I WILL be filing claims with BBB, FTC, and OH Atty General on this scam of a company!!!

Your Mom from Eastlake, OH on January 26th, 2021
Overall Rating
Scam bullshit
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

These people stand in grocery stores and talk people into signing up for something that will save them money. Its a lie. I was just an added charge to my bill. A charge that was usually over 100% larger than my actual energy bill. They are liars and the people leaving good reviews are probably the ones that came up with the scam. You still owe me money Inspire!!!

Scam Hater from Brunswick, OH on December 14th, 2020
Overall Rating
Awful Company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dont fall for the BS of renewable energy. Just another 3rd party supplier with shady sales tactics. If a salesman happens to approach you, dont fall for any pressured tactics. Their ridiculously high rates are slightly cheaper on their website!!!

Bob from Euclid, OH on June 14th, 2020