Just Energy Customer Reviews

We've been collecting customer reviews for Just Energy so you can get the inside scoop on what it's like to be a customer.

If you want to know our take, check out our Just Energy Ratings page.

Informational Links

Ratings by Star

Just Energy's Customer Reviews Summary

Just Energy Scores and Ratings:

OH Energy Ratings Overall Score for Just Energy

2.0 / 5

Just Energy Reviews

398 Reviews for Just Energy

398

total reviews

Compare to Just Energy Electricity Rates

What People Are Asking About Reviews for Just Energy?

Is Just Energy good?

Just Energy is generally rated with an average user review of 1.1/5.0 stars. They have a wide variety of energy plans suited to any energy need starting from rates as low as 8.99¢/kWh!

Is Just Energy expensive?

Just Energy has energy plans starting as low as 8.99¢/kWh with their Rate Guard Plan 60. The average Just Energy plan rate is 9.35¢/kWh. The average rate for energy plans across other retail providers is 8.42¢/kWh.

Who is the best electricity provider in Ohio?

The best electricity providers are:



Does Just Energy take reviews seriously?

Just Energy has an average user review of 1.1 / 5.0 stars; they respond to 65% of their customer's reviews.

How do I leave a review for Just Energy?

At OH Energy Ratings you will find one of the most straightforward, comprehensive, and longest-running Just Energy customer review communities around. With 17 reviews so far, we pride ourselves in our ability to showcase and facilitate customer reviews so that you know you'll be getting the electricity provider that's right for you! If you are a Just Energy customer and would like to make yourself heard, then you are welcome to leave a review on our Just Energy Customer Reviews Page.



Overall Rating
Constantly POOR Customer Service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sorry but extremely disappointed in your customer service. I will be posting your poor responses to social media and anywhere else I can


After many calls today, I finally got through. Your system was literally dropping me with no voice mail or messages. When I got through, your rep was very friendly and helpful, but gave me some interesting information.
NO REQUEST to process my credit balance was ever submitted by JUST NRG, after two months. How long would you have left that balance outstanding if I didnt call?
Even though you are quite eager to receive customer funds to pay for bills, apparently you are incapable of processing a refund/credit balance. Instead, JUST NRG prefers to take an excessive amount of time (6-8 WEEKS? Seriously?) to create a paper cheque and mail it out.
Are you aware that you then are paying for the paper cheque forms, and for postage? And this is supposed to be more effective HOW?
And the reason for the delay must either be due to poor or inefficient process policies or for underhanded marketing.
Either way, it does not look good to the quality of the management of JUST NRG. Obviously your shareholders come first before your customers. A good marketing person will tell you that if you upset ONE customer, they tell two others, and they tell two others, and so on.
Good luck, and thank you for your previous business.
Regards,

RR from 00000 on March 16th, 2020
Overall Rating
SCAM
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

DO NOT switch to this company as your energy supplier. I just received my first bill with Just Energy as my supplier and it was almost $200 more than my previous bill (from $160 to $330).The plan I was enrolled in was NOT explain properly and was simply a scam to get my business. I reviewed my bill with the agent I enrolled with and was assured multiple times that my bill would NOT increase. This was a blatant LIE. I cancelled this company IMMEDIATELY but am stuck with them for another billing cycle until it switches back to my previous supplier (energy harbor), who happens to be a whole lot cheaper and much more honest. Beware of the gimmicks they try to use to get your business. I will post reviews on every sight I can so nobody else has to deal with this predatory businesses and their unethical business practices.

Amy O. from North Canton, OH on August 2nd, 2022
Hi Amy, thank you for bringing this to our attention. We want to assist with any bill concerns. An agent will contact you soon to have this resolved.

Best Regards,
Lily R.
— Just Energy
Overall Rating
Sams club sign up
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

You get roped in with getting a gift card. Deborah Fox lied about the rates, the pricing, and when we'd get the gift card. We signed up yesterday, of course they push you through and just tell you to sign things, and we thoroughly read the contract today. Deborah said it'd be 6 cents but the contract states 8.5 cents PLUS she stated $80 was for the first amount of usage however the contract says that's just the supplier fee. Our current, well previous, supplier fee was $30. Today we're calling, canceling, and will NEVER do this again. Keep your gift cards. I'm very sad Sam's Club partnered with you and I'll also be reaching out to them. I pay to shop there and don't need lied to as well as wasting my time.

EP from East Canton, OH on April 30th, 2022
thank you for your feedback. We can help with your billing concern. Rest assured that we will do everything we can to help resolve this situation for you as quickly as possible. <br /><br /><br />Best Regards,<br />Lilly, Social Media Advisor
— Just Energy
Overall Rating
What a Joke
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Of course they got me at sams club with all these gift card offers if you sign up. I asked if my bill was going to change and they said no so I signed up. My bill was more than tripled and I never got any gift cards. Do not sign up. They will screw you over and take all your money.

Not Happy from Youngstown, OH on March 2nd, 2022
Hello, thank you for your feedback. We can help with your billing concern. Rest assured that we will do everything we can to help resolve this situation for you as quickly as possible. Please, give us a call at your convince at 1-866 587 8674.


Best Regards,
Lily, Social Media Advisor
— Just Energy
Overall Rating
Dont do it
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I signed up in Sams Club. The girl looked at my bill and said I would save money because they offered a flat fixed rate of 54.99 just as a special deal for Sams Club members. I thought it was too good to be true so I asked if the flat rate had a cap to which she replied no it doesnt! Then she carefully scrolled to where I needed to sign. This is my fault because I should have stood there in Sams Club with my cart full of groceries and read all of the contract. I think they are counting on people not wanting to do that. Turns out the flat rate is only for the first 900 kw. After that it is billed at 5.99 per kw. This is in no way a savings and would actually cost me more. But she stood right there and lied. When I actually got home and read the contract I called the company and canceled.


Just Energy still has kids in the local Sams club preying on unsuspecting, trusting people. Dont buy your energy supplier at the grocery store!

Dont Do It from Lima, OH on February 25th, 2022
Hi Julie, thank you for your feedback. We apologize for any inconvenience, a member of our team will be contacting you soon to start an investigation and get this resolved for you as quickly as possible.

Best Regards,
Lily, Social Media Advisor
— Just Energy
Overall Rating
No Accountability
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have been on phone calls with Just Energy for over 3 hours today dealing with erroneous charges on my account. Per my contract, I was not to be assessed any ETF. When I received the charge, I called and the service associate assured me that the charges were removed from my account. I called back to make a final payment on my account, and the representative informed me that the account no longer reflected the waived ETF. Now I am back on hold to go through this process all over again.


I have repeatedly had trouble hearing the agents and many of the agents are unable to discuss and comprehend the charges as they are listed on my bill. When questioned, they always defer to another department. This causes the customer to have to re-explain the situation too many times over the course of one phone conversation.
I have to laugh about the message played while on hold. They claim to be the number 1 energy provider in Houston, but there are no other accolades from the multitude of states that they serve. I hope others stay away from this company because they will send you through a never ending cycle without any direct answers to your concerns.

Glad To Be Gone from Westerville, OH on September 27th, 2021
Hi, thank you for your feedback and for bringing this to our attention. We apologize for any frustration caused. Allow us to assist you with your concern about ETF. Please, contact us at 1-866-587-8674. We will be more than happy to clarify all details and get you a resolution.

Sincerely,
Lily, Social Media Advisor
— Just Energy
Overall Rating
Too expensive
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

They will call you all the time and sending threatening notices to cancel, and much worse . When I called to find out about any early termination charges the little girl hung up on me. Terrible customer service you can barely understand them, disappointed with this company, needs to be closed down charging unsuspecting consumers double for supply #fired

PaiPais Granny from Englewood, OH on August 20th, 2021
Hi PaiPais, Thank you for your time in leaving this feedback. We want to help resolve any concerns. Please call us at 1-866-587-8674.

Many Thanks,
Lily, Social Media Advisor
— Just Energy
Overall Rating
Huge rip off
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

So Just Energy stopped me in Sam's Club and convinced me that they were offering me a lower price (they did have my bill to compare.) After one month with them, my electric bill went from $90 to $151. I called Ohio Edison to find out what was going on only to find out Just Energy was charging me 2 1/2 times the amount I was paying with Ohio Edison. I switched back immediately. Don't let their promotions fool you. I got a $70 Sam's club card for changing my electric and gas. I had to wait for a new billing cycle to change back. So in the end, I will have paid $160+ more for service than I would have paid if I had stayed where I was. Imagine if I stayed a year and didn't catch it. That's $1,920 more a year and it would have been higher because I use gas in the winter to heat. Their customer service representative says they've been in business for 20 years, they must be doing something right. I told her no, you just have a bunch of idiots (like me) for customers, who are confused as to why their bill went up. And, I haven't spoke to anyone with Just Energy that I could understand. They all speak broken English. I will NEVER use these fake liars again for service! BEWARE!!!

Pamela Cookro from Barberton, OH on July 23rd, 2021
Overall Rating
Do NOT sign up for this company!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I was stopped in a Sams Club store in Columbus, OH by a rep stating he was with Just Energy. I spoke with him for a while about the company and decided to sign up. After looking at reviews online I decided to cancel (just 2 days later). Instead of calling Just Energy, which Ive tried calling them several times now and it repeatedly says their offices are closed, I called AEP and told them that I do not authorize the switch. This morning I received another email from AEP stating that I approved a transfer of my service to Dynergy which I also did not approve. The Just Energy rep stated my info would not be sold but yet another energy company was trying to switch my account without my consent.

Do NOT Sign Up For Just Energy! from Grove City, OH on June 23rd, 2021
Hi, our apologies for the inconvenience we want to help, please allow us to resolve this concern for you. Please call us at 1-866-587-8674 to have this resolved as quickly as possible for you.

Best Regards,
Lily, Social Media Advisor
— Just Energy
Overall Rating
Complete scam
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Just Energy was advertised to me. I was told there would be absolutely no changes or additions to my bill in anyway. But actually an extra flat rate 50$ per month was tacked on and when I wanted to cancel they charged me a termination fee and referred it to a collections agency rather than just letting me pay it. This company is a complete scam and am pissed that I ever got involved.

Nick from Dayton, OH on October 25th, 2020
Hi Nick, we apologize for any frustration caused to you, and thank you for taking the time to contact us. We would be more than happy to assist you to clear up any confusion. Please call us at 1-866-587-8674.

Thank you,
Lily Social Media Advisor
— Just Energy
Overall Rating
Mislead
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I am a Sam's Club member who was solicited by Just Energy while shopping at Sam's. I was talked into switching both electric and natural gas to JE. Going into the 3rd year i decided it was no longer feasible to stay with Just Energy. Upon switching to other suppliers I was hit with $100 early termination fee, which was $50 for each utility. It was not made clear when signing up and I do not recommend dealing with JE.

Mislead By Just Energy from Columbus, OH on October 18th, 2020
Hi, we apologize for the unsatisfactory experience. Wed be happy to look into this issue for you. Please call us at 1-866-587-8674 to try to resolve your concern as soon as possible.
Thank you.
Lily, Social Media Advisor
— Just Energy