Customer Reviews for NRG Home

People have been reviewing NRG Home on OH Energy Ratings, giving you an understanding of being NRG Home's customer is like.

Additionally, we combine customer ratings with an array of other variables to develop a more comprehensive rating. Read OH Energy Ratings analasys of NRG Home.

Informational Links

Ratings by Star

NRG Home's Customer Reviews Summary

NRG Home Scores and Ratings:

OH Energy Ratings Overall Score for NRG Home

3.0 / 5

NRG Home Reviews

245 Reviews for NRG Home

245

total reviews

Want to order NRG Home?

What People Are Asking About Reviews for NRG Home?

Is NRG Home good?

NRG Home is generally rated with an average user review of 1.7/5.0 stars. They have a wide variety of energy plans suited to any energy need starting from rates as low as 9.8¢/kWh!

Is NRG Home expensive?

NRG Home has energy plans starting as low as 8.7¢/kWh with their 12-Month Electric Choice Plan. The average NRG Home plan rate is 9.43¢/kWh. The average rate for energy plans across other retail providers is 7.55¢/kWh.

Who is the best electricity provider in Ohio?

The best electricity providers are:



Does NRG Home take reviews seriously?

NRG Home has an average user review of 1.7 / 5.0 stars; they respond to 100% of their customer's reviews.

How do I leave a review for NRG Home?

At OH Energy Ratings you will find one of the most straightforward, comprehensive, and longest-running NRG Home customer review communities around. With 81 reviews so far, we pride ourselves in our ability to showcase and facilitate customer reviews so that you know you'll be getting the electricity provider that's right for you! If you are a NRG Home customer and would like to make yourself heard, then you are welcome to leave a review on our NRG Home Customer Reviews Page.



Recent Good Review from Brian

Overall Rating
Helpful
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I had a very easy time signing up with NRG HOME online for their services for gas and electric. I also have call their customer service and they are very nice and helpful. I'm glad I switched and hope to be a long time customer.

Tonya Little from Warren, OH on November 10th, 2021
Overall Rating
Helped with my bill
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Helped decrease my bill significantly and gave me more control. Highly recommend.

Terry from Cincinnati, OH on October 27th, 2021
Overall Rating
Woo-Hoo
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

My bill was cut in half!!!

Shari from Marysville, OH on October 8th, 2021
Overall Rating
Highly Recommend NRG
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

NRG provides the best cost, service, & support. Just make sure to call after the introductory period to guarantee you keep getting the best rate. It takes just a couple minutes. The representatives are extremely professional and efficient. I definitely recommend you consider NRG.

Joseph from Dayton, OH on June 25th, 2021
Overall Rating
Great company!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I highly recommend them!! The reps are very nice and informative! You just gotta call back at 3 months to keep your low rate. Please listen when the reps tell you things they work there and theyre the experts. Thank you NRG

Lexie Arrington from Lorain, OH on October 26th, 2020
Overall Rating
I called!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Whenever I look at the reviews from something, they are full of hate, and the bad reviews, not so much good, so I will leave my experience. It only took NRG to appear on my bill, and when they did my bill went down $137. They had me put a reminder in my phone to call them back in three months, and when I called I got the 5% cash back, and my rate was still really low. Now I'm earning money back for my electric. It's like being paid to use electric. I would highly recommend them.

Alyssa from Eastlake, OH on October 2nd, 2020
Overall Rating
Gotta call back
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I tried this out and I liked it. I almost forgot to call back to keep the fixed rate. They saved me a few $100 across the 3 months. I would highly recommend them.

Sandra from North Olmsted, OH on September 21st, 2020
Overall Rating
Nrg
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

NRG saved me so much on my bill. I was paying $233 of the 2 fees they take off, and my bill was only$476. They reminded me to call back after 3 months or my rates would go up. In glad I called back.

Kelly Rogers from Eastlake, OH on July 25th, 2020
Overall Rating
Renew and your rates will stay low
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Everyone complaining that their rates went up, its because you didnt renew like the rep told you to. Its not that hard to understand. If you renew, youll keep your rates low.

Kevin from Columbus, OH on July 20th, 2020
Overall Rating
Great people
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

The people, service and saving are great. I would highly recommend them.

Steve from Cleveland, OH on June 17th, 2020
Overall Rating
The Truth
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

The rep in walmart was very informative, and honest with my rates. I even went to the energy choice website and made sure the company was lagit. I told the rep the first time that I wanted to do more research because I had read the reviews over and over again. What I had found out was, the rep was telling me all the truth.



I would highly recommend this company as your supplier. They have saved me $67 a month for the past few month, then I called back to renew my rate.

Jared King from Akron, OH on September 23rd, 2021
Overall Rating
Price
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I changed due to pricing snd am selling my home so I took a shorter contract period

C Baird from Englewood, OH on September 17th, 2021
Overall Rating
Must Read:
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I read all the 1 star reviews and realize they all have something in common. You people were stupid and never called back after the 3 month promotion to keep the fixed rate, like the rep said.



I would highly recommend NRG, just dont be stupid and not call back when the rep says, because yes the rates go to variable if you don't call back. Just as they say. Give NRG some credit.

Amy from Eastlake, OH on March 15th, 2021
Overall Rating
NRG Review
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

The customer service representatives were very nice. I switched with NRG a few months ago, and when they stopped me, they reminded me to call back, so my rate didn't go to a variable rate.

James from Lorain, OH on August 1st, 2020
Overall Rating
It's worth it
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I signed up with some guy in Walmart. I usually don't stop at those kind of things but he seemed so happy i had to see what it was all about. I signed up before thanksgiving. First bill i saved a few dollars. I noticed a difference when my bill went from $220 down to $175. I saw these reviews and noticed everyone saying the same thing. The very few writing 5 star reviews are satisfied with NRG's service. Call and keep the program. Everyone wants to write a bad review when something doesn't go their way. Nobody writes a good review, when it meets their expectations.

It Works from Lakewood, OH on May 26th, 2020
Overall Rating
Twice the price!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Initially seemed like a good deal and they offered incentives. Never recieved the incentives and my current rate is more than twice the standard. Not only a let down, but financially harmful when you get a bill obsurdly high, while living on a fixed income. Seems the phrase "thank you for your Service" is a precursor for seperating those in need from their financial resources. Nothing like being a Disabled Vet on a fixed income who serving as Hospice for a dying relative, while being taken advantage of by a utility provider. Beyond that, their Customer Service Rep and their Street Team, Marketing Reps were very personable. Not a people issue, a practice and procedure issue.

Brian from Logan, OH on December 15th, 2022
Overall Rating
2.8 times what the default utility rate was!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I dont know how these folks sleep at night, honestly. My elderly mom who is on a fixed income got talked into switching to this company while she was shopping in Walmart because they were touting supporting renewable energy solutions and she wanted to be a good citizen and support that. Long story short, that shopping trip cost her a total of $541.09 over the past 10 months. Her most recent electric bill for her modest 1500 square foot home was for $826.25 for one month!! I looked at what the default utility rate on that bill was and she paid $352.89 MORE ON ONE BILL than she would have had she not switched. These folks are predatory criminals. They should be ashamed!

SparkyChick from Loveland, OH on February 25th, 2022
Overall Rating
NRG WILL NOT SAVE YOU ANY MONEY!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

They did not save me a penny!!! In March and April 2020 DPL's prices was 4.4 cents /KwH. NRG charged me 10.4 cents per kWh and 11.5 cents in April. If you want to save money DO NOT USE NRG!!!

Mark from Vandalia, OH on May 13th, 2020
Overall Rating
Don't fall for their WE WILL SAVE YOU MONEY sales pitch...
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

They did not save me a penny!!! In March and April 2020 DPL's prices was 4.4 cents /KwH. NRG charged me 10.4 cents per kWh and 11.5 cents in April. If you want to save money DO NOT USE NRG!!!

Mark from Vandalia, OH on May 13th, 2020
Overall Rating
DO NOT USE NRG
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

For some reason I signed up with them. They sell a good pitch. I just looked into my bill finally and called Duke to compare their rates. I literally paid $100 more a month bc of using NRG rather then Duke. $800 down the drain!! HIGHWAY ROBBERY!

Nicole from Cincinnati, OH on January 22nd, 2024
Overall Rating
Stay away.. scam and fraud
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

NRG harassed me to sign up at 6%. Then a few months later, my bill doubled. When calling them, which was a nightmare, I was informed that my new rate was 11% because my initial rate was only good for 3 months.


This was never mentioned by the person that signed me up.

Customer Service is horrible because they don't care about existing customers when they are scamming new people every day to sign up with them.

Scam from Springboro, OH on January 18th, 2024
Overall Rating
Unprofessional employees
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I was approached today by an employee/ salesperson by the name of Ari at the Stringtown Rd. Walmart & asked for my zip code. I politely declined (no thank you) and continued to walk away. This woman literally proceeded to FOLLOW ME as I was walking away and said I said whats your zip code and again I said Im sorry Im not interested and she said AGAIN whats your zip code??? I ignored her at this point because she was being extremely disrespectful towards me & she yelled at me to keep on walking I turned around and looked back at her and said excuse me?? And she replies you heard me then continued to stare at me and Bob her head at me while I was getting formula for my baby (who was also with me at the time). Absolute disrespect!!!! I will not recommend this company to anyone based off of my experience today. Do better!!!!!!

Morgan from Orient, OH on May 1st, 2023
Overall Rating
They lie and mislead
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Nrg was at a local store, Shawn would hardly let me ask a question , I kept telling him dont sign me up for anything, he replied I am not just providing info. He lied about the electric rate of .042, it says in sign up info .062 for 1st 3 months. My energy was at .038 lower than what they stated. He misled, and lied. If I see them in my store I will tell all. I would give them negative 10 stars if I could.

Pam from Cincinnati, OH on April 17th, 2023
Overall Rating
This company deceived you and does not give you all the
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

This company deceived you and does not give you all the information upfront. I was locked in at $.17 and the company told me I was overpaying that I needed to switch. There were some women who are working for this company at our local Walmart and advised me I was paying too much. I get my bill this month Im paying $1.36. My bills $195. This company is having the representatives get people to switch without giving all their information. They told me I would pay a much less price than what I had and now Im in $1.36 instead of 17 cents

Kim from Bellbrook, OH on January 9th, 2023
Overall Rating
Horrible
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Price started off nice then they jacked up their percentage and doubled our bill!!!

John Smitty from Zanesville, OH on November 5th, 2022
Overall Rating
Over charging customers.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I went on the plan approximately 10 months ago first two months saved between five and seven dollars after that in the last 10 months they have cost me $641 more than American Electric Power AP. Would never recommend going with somebody different unless youre going to constantly babysit them and keep them honest.

Tony Parkins. from Tiffin, OH on October 19th, 2022
Overall Rating
Do not use this company!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

They offered a lower rate than my electric company, however they failed to state it was an introductory rate, that automatically after 3 months it tripled. Total scam, I would NOT recommend this company!

William from Waldo, OH on February 10th, 2022
Overall Rating
SCAM
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I wish I would've looked in the reviews before signing up. They try to entice with saving money and a gift card after your first three months. I was naive and signed up and that was a BIG mistake. I did save a few cents my first 3 months but it was literally cents and I received my giftcard for being a member. This winter I started getting $200-$300 outrageous electric bills for a 1 bdr apartment. I immediately called another electric company and found out theyre changing ridiculous amounts for kilowatt and the company I called told me my bill would've been over $100 less without them. This is a total scam! Buyer beware. NRG offered to adjust my bill if I stayed with them but since I decided to cancel it was a big F you you're stuck with this outrageous bill.

John from Columbus, OH on January 27th, 2022
Overall Rating
Don't overstay your contract. Theyll double your rate
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Went from a contract rate of .041 kwh to .099 kwh when contract ran out. They will price gouge you in a minute.

Doubled My Rate from Groveport, OH on January 27th, 2022

Compare NRG Home to Similarly Reviewed Electricity Companies

Company
Plan Name
Price
MRC
The 'MRC' or 'Monthly Recurring Charge' is a fee that the provider will add to each of your bills in addition to the electricity/gas usage charges.
Type
Embrace Green 24
8.49¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Embrace Green 12
8.49¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
12-Month Electric Choice Plan
8.70¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
TrueSimple 24
6.83¢
$1.99 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
TrueSimple 12
6.31¢
$1.99 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
TrueSimple 6
6.05¢
$1.99 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability