Customer Reviews for SFE Energy

People have been reviewing SFE Energy on OH Energy Ratings, giving you an understanding of being SFE Energy's customer is like.

Additionally, we combine customer ratings with an array of other variables to develop a more comprehensive rating. Read OH Energy Ratings analasys of SFE Energy.

Informational Links

Ratings by Star

SFE Energy's Customer Reviews Summary

SFE Energy Scores and Ratings:

OH Energy Ratings Overall Score for SFE Energy

2.0 / 5

SFE Energy Reviews

136 Reviews for SFE Energy

136

total reviews

Want to order SFE Energy?

What People Are Asking About Reviews for SFE Energy?

Who is the best electricity provider in Ohio?

The best electricity providers are:



Does SFE Energy take reviews seriously?

SFE Energy has an average user review of 1.6 / 5.0 stars; they respond to 100% of their customer's reviews.

How do I leave a review for SFE Energy?

At OH Energy Ratings you will find one of the most straightforward, comprehensive, and longest-running SFE Energy customer review communities around. With 16 reviews so far, we pride ourselves in our ability to showcase and facilitate customer reviews so that you know you'll be getting the electricity provider that's right for you! If you are a SFE Energy customer and would like to make yourself heard, then you are welcome to leave a review on our SFE Energy Customer Reviews Page.



Recent Good Review from Brittany

Overall Rating
Controls my bills! So worth it!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I had a young lady come to my door, she explained I had a daily rate and it allowed me to use up to 10,00KWH for electric and 1000ccf for gas, which allowed me to use more without the pricing spiking. My bills have been consistent and Im not surprised month to month. Now if the utilities could lower the stupid delivery fees then that would be nice.



Definitely worth it!

Brittany from Grove City, OH on June 26th, 2020
Overall Rating
5 star company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Representative was here today to sign me up. Her presentation was clear, concise, and very informative. I expect significant savings for both gas and electric services by transferring my business to this company.

K.W. Wright from Columbus, OH on February 14th, 2020
Overall Rating
Sales Lady at my door
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I had one of your sales rep knock on my door and invited them in as it was very hot out and she was friendly and said she was just there to help me understand my utility bill better. She asked for my bill which I didn't mind getting since she said that is why she was here and she broke down my bill for me and showed me what all the rates are and meant, I found her very helpful. She then went on to explain to me what SFE energy offers and that I had options when it came to utility rates which I didn't know until now. I decided to sign up as it looked like it would help me and she said we would have to do a verification call to complete the enrollment and other details to confirm my account which was reassuring . Overall I found my experience with her very helpful and she was straightforward, very patient explaining everything to me and wasn't trying to push me to sign anything which I found comforting.

Patel from Ashley, OH on September 18th, 2018
Overall Rating
Cancelled MULTIPLE TIMES, SFE KEEPS Restarting It
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have canceled this contract three times now. I got physical letters from my energy companies saying I cancelled with SFE but in a matter of days or months SFE keeps restarting my account saying someone called in and restarted it WHEN I LIVE ALONE. The second time I cancelled, I told them to send me the recording of the caller because I guarantee its the girl who came to my door, lied about what company she was with when she asked me to get my bill for a surge charge in the area, and then wouldnt leave my house until I said everything she wanted me to say on the call to start the SFE contract not knowing I have cameras in my house. I cancelled for the FIRST TIME after she left and confirmed the next day that it was indeed cancelled and told them this about their employee. I later find out they restarted it. So I called again to cancel after paying nearly 400 dollar in Columbia gas bills and 230 electric bills even when Im not in the house on vacation, again, its only me here. My bills went up hundreds of dollars from using SFE, WHY WOULD I WANT THEM AS A SUPPLIER?! WHY WOULD I CALL TO GET THE CONTRACT RESTARTED? I WOULDNT!!! I DIDNT!



They never gave me the recording but confirmed that I did cancel that day and said they would do an investigation and send me the recording via email. Next thing I know Im getting a bill in the mail that says I OWE SFE for early termination fees even though it was THEIR REPRESENTATIVE that called back and restarted my policy for her ongoing commission and it wouldnt have been fees seeing as they have been charging me for months UNJUSTLY due to a money hungry commission worker. All calls are recorded right? Send me the recording of the caller that called in if it was me, they have yet to do so. Usually when you cancel an overpriced subscription/contract, you leave it cancelled yet they have claimed twice now that I called back and started it again TWICE . I HATE SFE AND WOULD NEVER AND WILL NEVER HAVE THEM AS A SUPPLIER AGAIN AND THAT IS THE SAME THING I TOLD THE REPRESENTATIVE last time , I even went as far as telling them IM WARNING OTHERS ABOUT THEM, which I did. I went on to tell him that I would never call back to restart the policy and asked what number did they call from. No NUMBER was given. EVEN after recieving ,what was suppose to be the first and is now the second SFE termination contract without investigation, it stated pay this in 10 days or it goes to collection YOU would think it would end there. NO, recently they started it up again. When I got hit by a SEMI and had to stay in the hospital for the recent holidays, these SFE COLD HARDED UNPROFESSIONAL IGNORANT WORKERS decided it was the best time to change it back. CANCEL MY POLICY AND LEAVE IT CANCELLED. I wouldnt recommend them. If you are in the Toledo area they will claim to be with your energy company, they are NOT with Toledo Edison or Columbia Gas. Stay away from these scammers unless you want to pay them over 4000 over the course of 11 months on top of the bill you get for regular gas and electricity because they dont help, it just adds on. Its like you paying two people when you could just pay one.

Scammers from Toledo, OH on December 14th, 2023
Overall Rating
Misleading and Pressuring
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I had a couple of SFE energy people come to my door and tell me some story about how there was an accounting error with my current supplier and I needed to switch or my price would increase. I supplied them with my bill and they mislead me and showed me the wrong information on the page, lying about my current charges and claiming to be able to cut my cost in half for the KWH cost. I guess it is my fault for believing them and not reading everything myself, because my current rate was $0.6 per KWH not $0.12 like they said it was. They also add a $1.30 a day cost on TOP of the increase in cost per KWH. Scammed me and I fell for it. Please do not choose SFE energy, literally any other provider would be better. My bill increased over 100% after they took over, it literally doubled. Cancel fee is $500 as well.

Chris from Cleveland, OH on November 7th, 2023
Overall Rating
They Lie
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

They pretend to be your current company, they claim there is no cancellation fee. Turns out both were lies. I would say the single most unethical organization that I've dealt with.

Ashamed I Fell For It from Powell, OH on July 10th, 2023
Overall Rating
They lie
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Not only do they impersonate your company, but they also lie about how theyll drop the prices of monthly bills. Theyre pushy and wont take no for an answer during the application process

Hope from Stow, OH on April 24th, 2023
Overall Rating
SCAM - Pretends to be your Current Company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I was lied to and told it was my current company and needed to correct my pricing.


I made several attempts to cancel.
Despite paying to cancel, they have sent us to two additional collections agencies and called repeatedly harrasing my business.

SCAM!!!! from Cleves, OH on April 3rd, 2023
Overall Rating
Run! Run quickly!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Run & run quickly. If I could have put zero Stars I would have!! A gentleman came to my door offering a better rate on my gas & electric. I explained I was in a co-op with my utilities. He told me my electric would be 4.6kwh with them for 3 years. I don't recall what he said the gas would be. We looked at my bill & saw I was paying 4.9 kwh, so trying to save a little money during pandemic times, I agreed to switch. He used my phone to call customer setup, put it on speaker phone & then told me he was going to stand there & "help me through the call-but don't tell the agent that he's there". He wrote yes, no & my account number on his notepad. As the agent on the phone talk to me, he would point to yes or no on his notepad as the answer he wanted me to give. Something felt really off about it but I went ahead, against my better judgment. When the call was over, he told me it would take 2-3 billing cycles for the new bill to come. That was in late June 2022. Well, I got my bill for the month of September 2022, yesterday.... It's normally $56 but this bill was $127!!!! I'm on the budget plan so I called my electric company immediately. The agent explained that even though I'm on the budget plan with them, SFE was charging me 5-something PLUS a daily customer service fee that equalled $44!! WHAT?!?! That was never explained nor agreed upon. So I'm locked into a 3-year contract at 5. whatever with a daily customer service fee.....nope, I'm done. I called SFE to tell them I wanted to cancel service because this is not what was explained to me and I felt like I have been frauded. The SFE agent profusely apologized, told me she would be glad to cancel my service and then told me there's a cancellation/exit fee of $250 per utility = $500! If I wasn't mad before, I'm furious now. I told her that was fine because I needed to get off the phone before I said something I was going to have to go back and apologize for later. I went to work and called on my lunch break and spoke to a different agent and explain the situation and that there is no way that I am going to pay $500 for an exit fee when I feel I've been the victim of a scam and I'm going to report them to the Better Business bureau. That agent profusely apologized and told me to send them a copy of my bill where it shows I'm on the budget plan and they will waive my exit fees. I immediately sent them the email with the bill screenshot attached. I'm going to wait and see what they do but I'm still going to report to the Better Business bureau! This is a scam as far as I can see and I do not recommend them at all!

Michelle Owens from Akron, OH on October 6th, 2022
Overall Rating
MISLEADING
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

This young guy "Tyler L" came to my elderly mothers house and told her she was being overcharged. Signed her up at 9.99 when she was paying 3.89 and broke her current contract. I called him that evening when I stopped by he was extremely unprofessional and kept hanging up on me when I asked about cancelling & his supervisors number.

Amber B from Cleveland, OH on September 13th, 2022
Overall Rating
The most poorest service ever in the United States
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

SFE is just some thieves together ripping money from citizens. They come to you and say things all beautiful and you start receiving 4 times your old bill. My aep billing was below $100 and they said they can lower it my bill is now $475. Bad customer service and they will tell you that they will put you on a collection to destroy your credit report. Dont ever sign up with SFE energy

SFE Energy from Columbus, OH on July 20th, 2022
Overall Rating
Monthly fee!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

We were ready to sign up until we found out that there is a monthly fee of $33.15 no matter how much gas you use!!! NO DEAL!!! So with monthly fee we would of been paying $1.16 per CCF not the $0.699 we were quoted!!! Also there is a fee of $50.00 per month for electric!!

Deborah Cadwell from Medina, OH on June 10th, 2022
Overall Rating
Cancel before it's even started
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

The guy John came here lied about everything misrepresented like he was from the city of Akron and I had to sign up for this otherwise my bills were going to go up. He stayed here the entire time and wouldn't leave, when the lady on the phone asked me if he had left he stayed here and told me to lie that he was gone. If they come to your door call PUCO immediately so they know to look in the neighborhood and check and see if they did it to anybody else.

Rod K from Akron, OH on March 9th, 2022
Overall Rating
Over doubled my bill!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I was tild my bill would be cheaper and it has been over double every month,total scam and rated an F by the bbb,which im also reporting them to.

Jill from Toledo, OH on August 29th, 2021
Overall Rating
Rude!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

My father died 4 days ago, I told them this, they were still extremely rude and pushy. I finally had to shut the door in their face a second time to get them to leave me alone. I will never do business with them.

Michelle from Cincinnati, OH on May 14th, 2021
Overall Rating
Scammers!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

My previous bill was only $29.99 dollars. With SFE bill jumped to $80.47. Scamming in the highest order!!!

Ben from Bedford, OH on April 27th, 2020

Compare SFE Energy to Similarly Reviewed Electricity Companies

Company
Plan Name
Price
MRC
The 'MRC' or 'Monthly Recurring Charge' is a fee that the provider will add to each of your bills in addition to the electricity/gas usage charges.
Type
SureLock 24
8.79¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
RescueLock 12
8.39¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
SureLock 12
8.09¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
SimpleClean 12
8.29¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
12 Month Fixed
5.99¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability