IGS Energy Customer Reviews

We've been collecting customer reviews for IGS Energy so you can get the inside scoop on what it's like to be a customer.

If you want to know our take, check out our IGS Energy Ratings page.

Informational Links

Ratings by Star

IGS Energy's Customer Reviews Summary

IGS Energy Scores and Ratings:

OH Energy Ratings Overall Score for IGS Energy

2.0 / 5

IGS Energy Reviews

25 Reviews for IGS Energy

25

total reviews

Compare to IGS Energy Electricity Rates

What People Are Asking About Reviews for IGS Energy?

Who is the best electricity provider in Ohio?

The best electricity providers are:



Does IGS Energy take reviews seriously?

IGS Energy has an average user review of 1.6 / 5.0 stars; they respond to 100% of their customer's reviews.

How do I leave a review for IGS Energy?

At OH Energy Ratings you will find one of the most straightforward, comprehensive, and longest-running IGS Energy customer review communities around. With 14 reviews so far, we pride ourselves in our ability to showcase and facilitate customer reviews so that you know you'll be getting the electricity provider that's right for you! If you are a IGS Energy customer and would like to make yourself heard, then you are welcome to leave a review on our IGS Energy Customer Reviews Page.



Recent Good Review from Bruce

Overall Rating
EDUCATE YOURSELF
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I read the other review here and they don't sound very educated. ALL SUPPLIERS HAVE TERM LIMITS!! If you don't renew, you go variable! As for "being switched without knowing..." IGS has purchased several energy companies over the years....it's by default people.



Don't complain if you don't renew for a fixed rate, don't complain if you're past company was bought out because they did shitty business. I'm thankful IGS educates.

IF YOU DON'T ASK, YOU WON'T KNOW!

People Are Dimwits from Mansfield, OH on January 29th, 2021
Overall Rating
IGS is a very reputable company for energy rates
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ive been an IGS customer for 7 years and they continue to provide competitive rates without price gouging the customer at the end of the contract! My IGS territory manager keeps me up to par with my rates and educate me on what the markets are doing!

Bruce from Canton, OH on January 11th, 2022
Overall Rating
Pushy door to door grifters...
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Just moved into a new home so that usually brings out the parasites... was told the previous owner was a client (he was not) and that all the neighbors were (they are not) and that he was somehow affiliated with the township (again... no.) I honestly still can't believe people are allowed to come on people's property and use these high-pressure hustles. It also didn't help him that I've heard of his company and heard the horror stories from people they've scammed.

GL from Maineville, OH on July 29th, 2022
Overall Rating
IGS is a scam
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I did the Eeny mini mini mo catch the father by the toe and decided to drop IGS in 2019 for my home in 43207.. The company didnt cover most of the repairs causing me great stress and strain and sleepless nights. I dropped the insurance like a hot potato. You get your best ideas in the morning.

IGS Is A Waste Of Money from Columbus, OH on March 17th, 2022
Overall Rating
Solicitation to the elderly
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Shame on you for having a young man come to my elderly mothers home! There are no soliciting signs up. How dare you! My mother was so scared and she should be! Shame on you!

Erica from North Olmsted, OH on February 16th, 2022
Overall Rating
Liars, frauds, scam artists
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

We previously had NOPEC in our neighborhood. An IGS rep stopped by our house telling us who they were and saying that all of the neighborhood was switching in order to not experience an increase in payment. I was told and reassured that my price would not necessarily go down, but it WOULD NOT GO UP. The first month after switching, my bill was double.... Please stay away

Matt T from Lakewood, OH on February 9th, 2022
Overall Rating
Essentially fraudulent or at least duplicitous
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

My first encounter with IGS was when l rented utilities weren't even in my name and they tried to get me to sign a contract with them for gas supply, which I was not authorized to do in any capacity. Knocking on doors, making you think that you already have business with them even though you don't, pushy sales tactics, predatory last-century sales grift is their bread and butter. It's truly bizarre to see a company operate like this in this decade.



What IGS does is get you to sign a contract locking in a rate for energy/gas supply for an extended period of time. If their sales people are in your face on any given month you can bet that they're offering a decent rate that month compared to other suppliers. It seems like a deal so you lock it in. Then in a few months, energy costs from other suppliers go down (reacting to the market) and you're still paying your contract rate, which may now be higher than market price (if you haven't signed their contract, the utility will just give you whatever supplier's gas is cheapest for a given month). This is anecdotal but they always contact me at the beginning of fall for a gas contract, right as rates are going up. Maybe they've got a policy of keeping their rate low relative to the other suppliers for a month or two, then reverting to market price after their fall "sales push." Either way, the rest of the year when other suppliers are offering cheap gas, you're paying heating-season prices.

Unfortunately when I bought a home I made the mistake of signing a contract with IGS. A rep appeared waving a tablet displaying Columbia Gas information for my address and told me he represented my gas supplier. He approached when I was in my driveway with 3 friends. I signed. 36 months locked in rate for natural gas and a "home warranty" ($15 a month) which is impossible to utilize or get out of since their online account management tools "can't locate my account." The only way to do business with them is when their usually aggravated sales reps call or come to your door. I've repeatedly contacted their customer service via email, thinking this would negate the pushy tactics, to help me sync my account to their online "tools" just so I can see when exactly the contract ends and how to opt out of it. I have never even gotten a reply. At every turn they try to get you on the phone with a sales person, or get your address so they can send a sales person out to your house so that they can lean on you and get you to sign something you don't understand.

I've been unsuccessful at managing, altering, or cancelling my contract because I refuse to talk to their sales people who come to my house knocking and shouting my name in windows. This company covers its shady dealings by having very little online footprint. They didn't have an email address associated with my account. All they're interested in is selling me a contract for energy and getting me to re-sign a new gas contract, not in helping me understand, utilize, or manage the services I already bought from them.

Be sure to check out the BBB and ohenergyratings pages on this company. I've read plenty of stories from other people--$200 unavoidable cancellation fees, contracts being renewed without consent, expired contracts reverting to "variable rate" contracts with IGS as the exclusive energy provider, no access to account information. And worst of all is that this company provides no value--they are just another energy supplier, one of many, who has elected, unlike the others, to aggressively insert themselves between consumer and utility and extract value from the consumer. Where there's smoke, there's fire. This company has atrocious business practices, zero transparency, almost no online tools to help you manage/understand your account, insists on doing business in person or by phone, and their sales people actually lie to your face to make you think they represent someone you already have business with even if you don't. I just want to help other people keep from making the same mistake I did

Columbus Victim from Columbus, OH on September 14th, 2021
Overall Rating
The Sign Says "No Soliciting"
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

That single five star review was obviously written by an IGS salesperson! I'm actually pretty well educated and I can calculate how much higher IGS's rate is than my current provider . . . and the answer is: 50%. Bottom-line: if they can afford to send people to your door, their rates are going to be higher. "Educate yourself" is good advice, but do it at home, on-line, at sites like this then choose your own provider. You'll be happy you did.

J-Dub from Xenia, OH on August 12th, 2021
Overall Rating
Look Elsewhere
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I would definitely not recommend this company. Very rude customer service when you don't renew your very long contracts. Found cheaper electricity elsewhere and wanted to try something different for a period of time - pushy and rude. In addition, in two months while I've been a so called "free agent" still with IGS as the supplier (without contract), they almost doubled the amount I pay per kWh - literally. Needless to say, I would never recommend nor return to this company. I hope others had a better experience than I did with IGS

Don H. from Columbus, OH on July 10th, 2021
Overall Rating
Overpriced and rude
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Moved into my new house and IGS called wanting me to sign up with them without even seeing my first bill. Got first bill and they called back. Going through the 'closure' call I noticed their rate is higher than a lot of other's. So I cancelled. The original guy called me back sounding very annoyed and making sigh noises.



Stephen S. from Springfield, OH on June 30th, 2021
Overall Rating
Plan was good but!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

When it came time to switch to a new provider, this company tried to block the transition, saying I had renewed with them. This was a total fabrication on their part. I ended up paying a much longer time for the variable rate. Ripoff!!!

Tricked from Harrod, OH on May 19th, 2021
Overall Rating
IrritatingGasSuppliers
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Today I found out that I have been enrolled with this company for over a year. I am just astounded as I NEVER signed up for this. I'm not sure what loophole this company is using to take money from me but they are a shady garbage company. DO NOT SIGN UP FOR THEIR SUPPLY. Also, how is this not identity fraud???

NotGettingSwindledByYou from Cincinnati, OH on December 9th, 2020