We currently recommend natural gas plans from CenterPoint Energy Services and Constellation

Thiefs

(1 / 5)

  I'm on prepaid electric have been for a week and 20 dollars usually lasts 2 days. Well not today. The money was on the account around lunch and at 7 pm same day I have -$1.90. I will take this to the highest extent. Can't afford the deposit but certainly can't afford someone stealing money from me either.

Charlotte williams
February 7th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Terrible website / bill pay online

(1 / 5)

  Website is a complete disaster, bill pay on line does not work, customer service has no clue how to fix it . Have been working with IT dept. The last six hours to try and pay the bill on line, no luck.
I think these guys did the software for the 737 max. Time for a new IT team and a new electric provider.

Daniel
December 7th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

faithful

(2 / 5)

  I have been a long time user of first choice power this year, my contract was up so I called to renew. Well the agent at the time did not work with me, to get the best possible rate, so here I am stuck with a high energy rate for 24 months. There is a $135 fee to terminate my contract. I would not recommend this utility co to anybody. I am a senior citizen and did not realize what I was getting. This company has always had reasonable rates until now. I cringe every month when my bill comes in. I just wish I understood what the agent was giving me and went with a different provider. Now I am stuck. This is a warning to others to shop around.

Armando
December 5th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Terrible company

(1 / 5)

  The rates started off well, with supposed free weekends on Friday 6p -Sunday. This is a gimmick! I have never experienced electricity bills this high! For the past 3 months they have exceeded $300! For a single person, who works during.the day and is only home at night and weekends (free)! Do not switch to this provider. Customer service is terrible and email correspondence takes up to a week! After reading other posts, there seems to be a pattern with this company! I am reporting them to the BBB. The CEO contacted my email and I responded; still no response. Does anyone know how much it costs to break the contract? There is not a specific amount in the contract, and their service agreement is vague! Thanks! I posted past bills, the October bill had no a/c running for the entire billing period, even on free weekends & still >$150. Also notice 2 sequential months the bill is the same amount $245.10; highly unlikely odds!
3

Do not sign contract
November 21st, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

WORST COMPANY BEWARE!!!!!!!!!!!

(1 / 5)

  My family (husband & 4 children) rented a home in Plano and signed up with First Choice Power. We paid EVERY bill on time or early. We moved out and bought a home in Allen & not only did they "lose" our move out request they charged us for the next 2 months after I had called and was promised our account was closed! over $750 in bills they are saying we owe when we didn't even live there..scheduled a move out AND closed the account 2x!!! We have to pay so it doesn't go on our credit but they are horrible, awful people up there! Terrible customer service! NO ONE up there would pay $750 for someone else's power!! We have documented proof from the rental company AND new power company of a scheduled move in with them ...this is wrong! Don't let them steal from your family too!

Jennifer F
November 6th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst electrical provider

(1 / 5)

  The rates started off well, with supposed free weekends on Friday 6p -Sunday. This is a gimmick! I have never experienced electricity bills this high! For the past 3 months they have exceeded $300! For a single person, who works during.the day and is only home at night and weekends (free)! Do not switch to this provider. Customer service is terrible and email correspondence takes up to a week! After reading other posts, there seems to be a pattern with this company! I am reporting them to the BBB. The CEO contacted my email and I responded; still no response. Does anyone know how much it costs to break the contract? There is not a specific amount in the contract, and their service agreement is vague! Thanks!

I posted past bills, the October bill had no a/c running for the entire billing period, even on free weekends & still >$150. Also notice 2 sequential months the bill is the same amount $245.10; highly unlikely odds! Same review is on google! Make sure you read the google reviews, as they are more current than the ones on this site.

DO NOT SIGN A CONTRACT
November 1st, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Started Out good and ended badly ...

(2.4 / 5)

  I had bounce and was super happy with them, they told about their sister co. in order to get the best rate. Switching was super easy and I was feeling great but I had read that the adjustments to your HVAC would be made in order to increase your billing. Sure enough, it's true! I had horrible nights where I would keep my air two degree lower than what it showed but would be sweating all night. I didn't have this issue prior with Bounce or the two companies prior. Weird, it's not happening now with my new company either.

Also, my biggest issue, is that I called to make sure my account was closed. My bill was ready and she said she would add the prorated amount, which she did and the final amount (so I thought) came out. I just received another "final" amount.
They re-adjusted my second to last bill making more profit.

Basically, these people are super shady and you will have a lot of issues, the people will make you feel like you are inconveniencing them when you do have a question and they will make it difficult to get the truth!

I will never use Direct Energy, if they don't fix my bill and I will make sure that my Commercial Properties or any of my friends will ever use them. I have numerous amounts of properties, so when budget time comes around we will be switching where them or any sister properties won't be used. I am sick of shady commercial companies; such as, electric, cable and phone take advantage while lying to us!!

jwls
September 28th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

First choice power

(1.2 / 5)

  STOP GO ELSEWHERE FOR ELECTRIC!!!!!!!!!!! Ok where do i being I moved out of my apartment on the 1spet2019 called first choice power to have my lights disconnected. So a few days later recd a txt from previous address showing lights were still activated. Oh yea aslo had new service at the apartment i had moved too with the same company. So i called back was informed previous order for disconnecting light was not completed n needed to put in a new 1 this is a week. So this is a week later in process of that my lights at my new was disconnected. So i called first choice power n there were not even able to bring up my account number they provided me n gave me the old address n acct instead of the new address. So here it us 2weeks later and im still having them same problem. My previous address where the lights should be off are still on and off at my new residence. Also the money that was in my new acct they took abd applied to my old acct. So now i have no lights at my new address because of there mistake. The money that was on tge old acct should have been transferred not. So now i have to add money to my new acct because they did not follow thru on disconnecting my lights at the old resident. This does not make any sense DONOT GO THRU FIRST CHOICE POWER U PAY FOR THERE POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE, NOT UNDERSTANDING ENGLISH AND MISTAKE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

No thanks
September 24th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Fraudulent advertising

(1 / 5)

  Worst electric provider! Highest rates ever experienced! Started off low, but they make up for it after 6months I to contract! Electric bills have exceeded $300 plus for last 4 months for single person who works 12plus hours per day and only home on weekends( with free weekends) supposedly!!!! Do not sign up with this provider, there are more negative than positive comments on other sites!

Kimberly Taylor
September 21st, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Thiefs

(1 / 5)

  I agreed to a 3 month short term contract with FirstChoice in April. Once the 3 months were over, they continued to charge me. I called and asked to remove the bill from my (what should have been non-existant) account and they say I have to call to cancel? What happened to the agreed term? They cancel the service and, at the time, held a $125 bill over my head. Two weeks later, I receive an email that states that the bill went up another $30 after cancellation. Do not do business with these scam artists. Theyll hold you accountable for their own responsibilities. You can find much better power companies.

Money Hungry Scammers
September 11th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Liars and theifs

(1.4 / 5)

  Everything they promised me from the plan to the "accurate" daily usage texts eventually all was false. I ended up soendong 15 dollars a day with them!!

Kelly
July 9th, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review, Kelly. We certainly apologize for the frustration that this experience has caused and want to help make things right. Please email us at digitalcare@directenergy.com with your full name, service address, account number and phone number so that we assist you further. Have a momentous day!

First Choice Power Responds July 15th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Difficult to deal with

(2.2 / 5)

  I accidentally disputed my final bill and the credit card company (Citicards) refunded it. I'm not sure if they checked because it shouldn't have been accepted. Afterward First Choice Power wouldn't accept credit card or checking account payments. What they didn't say was they would only accept cash or debit card which was discovered by process of elimination at a bill pay center.

Leroy
June 27th, 2019

Hi Leroy,

We certainly would like to apologize for the frustration and inconvenience caused by this situation. If there is anything that we can do to help improve your experience, please feel free to reach out to us. Thank you and have a wonderful day!

First Choice Power Responds July 15th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

TERRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

(1 / 5)

  If I could give ZERO STARS I would! First lets start by their customer service is horrendous, any time I've called for a complaint which has been a couple of times their agents continously say "let me see what we can do to help you" when in all reality they are NOT trying to help, they advised there isnt anything they can do. They gave me the run around stating to call Oncor who advsied to contact FCP to dispute the charge, then FCP states they are giving me the incorrect information. I've continously have issues when I'm out of town. I will be gone for the weekend and when I come back I get emails stating I've used about 5 dollars when I'm not there! THIS MAKES NO SENSE!!!!!!!! And ever crazier thing is I live in a 1 bedroom apartment. When I am home after work they state that my meter reads 7-8 dollars on average, and that to me is ABSURD! When I previously had them at my last one bedroom apartment I had no issued my meter used to read 4-5 dollars when I got home from work and when I wasnt home the max my meter read was $1.50. DO NOT GET SERVICE THROUGH THEM!!!!!!!! I HATE IT SO MUCH IN THE PROCESS OF CANCELING MY SERVICES. 469-418-3717 IS MY NUMBER IF ONE OF YOU "MANAGERS OR CEO" WHOEVER WANTS TO CALL ME ABOUT IT! MAYBE they will help me but thats a strong maybe.

ERICA TORRES
June 19th, 2019

Hi Erica,

We regret to hear that you had this kind of experience with our company. In regards to usage consumption and meter readings that is handled directly by the local utility and reported to us for billing purposes. Should you need to dispute usage or utility charges, you may do so by contacting the utility directly. In addition, there is the www.smartmetertexas.com website if you would like to register and review your usage directly from your meter at any time of day.

First Choice Power Responds July 15th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Dont Use First Choice Power

(1.4 / 5)

  It has worst usage and billing calculation system. Avoid to use First choice Power.

pk
February 26th, 2019

Good Afternoon PK,


We wanted to take a moment to apologize that your experience was less than exceptional and would like to assist you in properly addressing your concerns. Please feel free to contact customer care via email, phone or live chat for clarification of usage and billing concerns. Thank you and we look forward to resolving your issue.

-Marie

First Choice Power Responds May 6th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

My experience

(5 / 5)

  I was very easy to switch over online!

Stacie Strebeck
December 2nd, 2018

Thanks Stacie! We are glad to hear your experience online went well! - Allie

First Choice Power Responds February 27th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Absolutely awful

(1 / 5)

  First off, they signed me up for the wrong contract. I was looking for a contract for over 1000KWH because I know I go over that. I get locked into a contract that charges me $185 dollars for going over 1000 KWH. I never would have signed up for that contract, and that is not what I agreed to in the first place. I reported them to the state of Texas but nothing could be proven, even though they never emailed me a EFL when I signed up. They couldn't prove they didn't mail me one, even though I know they didn't do that either. The only one I saw was the one on powertochoose that made me click to sign up for their company in the first place, which did not have teir pricing or that ridiculous fee. Any company that has that fee should be shut down. I wasn't able to do anything about it so I just had to stick it out the 6 months, luckily that's all I signed up for. Their website is atrocious, there's barely any real helpful information on it and it doesn't work well. When we moved I tried to do it online and they tried to automatically sign me up for a longer contract, hoping I wouldn't notice I guess. I had to call their customer service to transfer service. Their customer service must be outsourced, they're nice enough and try to help but we always have trouble understanding each other and for my next problem I got a different answer from everyone I spoke to. I went to make last month's payment online and the website put it through twice. I called to get the extra one refunded, was told no problem give us 7-10 days. I waited, I called back. Oh, no we aren't going to send a refund we just do a credit on your account. Ok, that's been there since before I called the first time and the last person said I'd get a refund. Oh, yeah I see that now. Yeah we sent it out yesterday. I gave it 3 business days because I was told by my bank it shouldn't take any longer than that. I called FCP back. Oh, no we never sent a refund, but there was an inquiry put through to see if we could. But no you're not going to get a refund. But maybe. I don't know. Your account has a credit for the refund amount and that's all we can do. The guy went back and forth and couldn't really decide whether I would or not, but at this point I figure I'm not. I give up, the credit is fine but it would've been nice if that had been told to me the first time. It'll cover the next two bills hopefully until my contract is up. Guess what shows up 4 days after my bill was due this month? My refund. So now I have to go pay this month's balance LATE. So I'm sure I'll be calling them back once they put a late fee on my next bill that wasn't my fault. Today I am looking for a new provider so I go to look at my bills again to get information and there's a late fee for last month, which I did not pay late. They got the double payment before the due date. So I called and was told it was credited back to my account. We'll see. This guy had the heaviest accent so far and I'm not sure he understood what I was talking about at all but he definitely kept trying to get me to renew my contract with FCP. Not gonna happen, I've had an issue every month of the 6 months I've been with them. Worst electric company ever. They are untrustworthy and make having an electric provider a hassle.

fackFCP
November 5th, 2018

We are sorry to see that you had a poor experience. We are actively working to improve our customer experiences and hope you will give us another chance! - Allie

First Choice Power Responds February 27th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Avoid if possible this electric company

(1 / 5)

  This is the most disorganized Company i had the displeasure of dealing with, They are overpriced and do not even read the meters. They are all majority Hispanic and do not clearly speak English. The people are rude when confronted about a problem on a bill. They do not honor what supposed to be a CEO of the company on a problem stated it will be correct without further problems by said Company. The people are inadequate in speaking clearly in English . The problem is still not solved and is ongoing.

Avoid First Choice Power
October 11th, 2018

We appreciate you taking time to leave feedback for us. We do not want our customers to have a poor experience overall and are working to improve! - Allie

First Choice Power Responds February 27th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Liars!

(1 / 5)

  First off if you sign up and you are low income or 60 years or older make sure that you sign up with an agent so that you can be offered to get your deposit waived. I enrolled online and it DID NOT give me the option to sign up for my deposit to be waived until after the payment was made. I was told by two agents that I could get the deposit once my service was active upon enrollment. Once the service was connected I called to get the deposit waived and they said they couldnt waive it because I had already paid which is NOWHERE in writing. Had I signed up with an agent MAYBE they would have offered to waive it. On top of that they told me my service would be connected in 2-4 hours I enrolled at 7 pm my service wasnt connected until the next afternoon. We went all night without lights because they didnt put the order in until 9:50 pm!! I was late for work the next morning due to this inconvenience of not being able to see in the dark! They offered a 50$ credit to my account AFTER they lied about my deposit STILL putting money in their OWN pockets not upholding their word is a big problem! Already starting off on the WRONG foot! I hate liars.....

Unique
September 26th, 2018

Thank you Unique for your feedback. We do not want our customers to have a poor experience overall and are working to improve! - Allie

First Choice Power Responds February 27th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

My experience

(5 / 5)

  Since I have switched to this company I am overwhelmingly pleased with the service and rates that I have. There were no hidden fees and the bills are really low in cost compared to the previous company that I had!

Alicia Williams
August 23rd, 2018

Yay! We are so glad to hear you are happy with our company! Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. -Allie

First Choice Power Responds February 27th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The Best

(5 / 5)

  I have been approached many many times by other vendors to change from first Choice Power. I have been with this company at least 40 years and I have not found any reason yet to change. Reliable, dependable service and customer service is always available. ( a human being)

Sweet Jennings
August 16th, 2018

Words cannot express our happiness that you have stayed with us for so long and have been so willing to tell others about your experience at FCP! We truly appreciate your loyalty and are here to help with any questions or concerns that you may have in the future! Thanks again for such an amazing review! -Kate

First Choice Power Responds August 20th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions