We currently recommend natural gas plans from Constellation, CenterPoint Energy Services and Direct Energy

Customer Service???

(2.2 / 5)

  I just called Gexa to get pricing if I stayed with them beyond my service plan. The automated voice message said it was an estimated 20 minute wait, but I could retain my place in the que and receive a return call, so I did. It took an hour for the return call, then I was placed on hold for 33 minutes before I hung up.

Horrible Customer Service
June 30th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst company ever

(1 / 5)

  I have been calling trying to talk to someone to cancel my account for two days now. They either say that they will transfer me to someone, or that they will call me back and never call. Thats when they dont keep me waiting two to three hours. I have pictures to show it. I am surprised with the good reviews in here; their customer service is horrible. Do yourself a favor and stay away!

JohnW1965
June 30th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No!!!

(1 / 5)

  Horrible experience! Signed up for a plan and had no problems initially getting through to customer service about my bill. It was a partial month bill so I did not receive the credit expected on my plan. When I received the second bill I began calling to cancel my service. 5 weeks it took to talk to someone! I was placed on hold for over an hour 7 times. I tried the call back option but if I missed the call I was placed in the back of the line and had to wait again for them to call me hours later. Like I can sit there and wait for them to call me while I am at work. After finally getting a hold of a manager I was able to cancel my plan past the sixty day window but he would not adjust my bill past that. I had been trying to cancel the plan and because they were understaffed and had horrible customer service I ran over into another billing period. The plan I was charged was not what I signed up for and I was stuck with another months billing. After months of intermittent correspondent they sent me a letter saying they were willing to settle on an amount that was basically the full payment minus the late charges they added. Now in collections they wont negotiate past removing the late charges. I was told I would have to contact Gexa to discuss any further reductions. Called Gexa, only on hold for 20 minutes, and they said I have to speak with the collection agency!! Finally got through to specialty department and everyone was to busy to talk to me so I opted for a call back. Nope that didn't happen. I called back after 4 days and was placed on hold for a bit again before I talked to Ira. No progress with him. To this day I can see the page that says " no hidden fees. The rate shown below already includes all fees, discounts, and Oncor delivery charges". Yet I got charged additional fees and delivery charges. I am willing to pay for the power I used per the plan that I signed up for. That amount is 40% below what they are demanding. The discussion never gets passed all the legal jargon to get to a reasonable conversation.

Anthony D
June 28th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

5 hours already wasted

(1.8 / 5)

  2 calls with representatives that failed to setup my service. If you are moving to a location where the current resident has Gexa, DO NOT SIGN UP. My move will be delayed and I started this process over a week ago. Customer service lines have 30 plus minute wait times so anything you need will be a major time consuming experience.

Vince
June 26th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They are totally disorganized.

(1.8 / 5)

  I applied for new service. They processed the application and said that I needed a $400 deposit. I have a FICO score of 815+ and have never needed a deposit for any account. I submitted a request for a review and deposit waiver. Customer service phone line can't access my information for follow up. I get put on hold for a long time. They are supposed to call me back, but it is not happening. They do not want my business.

Should be rated 1 start
June 24th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Yikes....NOT this one.

(1 / 5)

  I can't stress enough how little I take the time to write a review, so when I do, it's gonna be some real talk. Be prepared to wait for over an hour to talk to customer service. Be prepared to have calls "dropped" when being transferred. Complete lack of communication over billing dispute. After setting up an account/service...not 10 days later, I reach an email from Gexa asking if I wanted to "cancel services". Naturally, confused since I had just moved in, I contacted them trying to resolve the dispute/confusion. No response. Another issue with service happened 2 weeks ago; still no call back. Whatever you do, save your time and your money and DO NOT choose this second rate company's services. You'll thank me later.

Disappointed customer
June 19th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Don't do it!

(1.6 / 5)

  Their Electricity Facts Label sheets are misleading to say the least. Ended up being billed at a much higher rate than I understood and I read all of the fine print. Have always had a bad experience with this company being forthcoming in their billing.

Changing Companies
June 8th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No one is available when I called about my payment!

(1 / 5)

  I want to log on Gexa so I can pay my bill. I l have tried for several months and even when someone decided to answer to phone, they say they can fix it and then never call me back. I am very frustrated because I can't get my monthly bill but someone sent me "doxo" last month, paid my bill that way and now I'm getting "doxo" again but there's no amount I need to pay and they also will charge for using them to pay my bill. Needless, to say, I won't be using them even if I'm late in paying. I have never called them, that I got a "live " person!

No customer service available ever!!!!!!!!
June 3rd, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Power shut off even though paid!!!!

(1 / 5)

  After only two months of service Gexa turned our house power off even though we had paid in full and had a healthy deposit on file. They only gave us eight days on the disconnection notice (which was erronous) and turned it off in the middle of a day. When we called to ask why it was off, they use only foreign customer service agents that are difficult to understand and had limited information. They were unable to accept payment over the phone due to covid-19. Stay away from this company!

Sean F
June 3rd, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ruthless Commerciality

(2.2 / 5)

  PLEASE READ THIS ENTIRE REVIEW BEFORE SELECTING GEXA AS YOUR ELECTRICITY PROVIDER!

Last week, after regularly paying my bills throughout my contract to date, during the height of the COVID-19 pandemic, with a 6-year-old diabetic child at home dependent on refrigerated insulin, Gexa cut off my electricity for missing a payment by 17 days. Do I deny missing the payment? No. Was I sufficiently warned of the impending potential disaster? No. Here is the time table.

My payment was due May 15, 2020 (I freely admit I missed the payment as a result of an oversight on my part). On May 19, 2020 Gexa noted as mailed to me a DISCONNECTION NOTICE stating they would disconnect my electricity on the first business day on or after May 29, 2020. A disconnection notice generated four days after the payment was due; a huge red flag of customer service driven my mercenary corporate policies. The notice arrived at my home on Monday, May 25, 2020. Blissfully unaware of the impending disaster, I waited to open the letter until my normal bill paying Saturday which was May 30, 2020. As Friday, May 29, 2020 was a business day and my electricity was still running, it was clearly apparent Gexa had not followed the terms of their notice and had humanely taken into account the worldwide disruption precipitated by COVID-19 and was giving me some slack. MAN, WAS I WRONG! On that Saturday AM I scheduled a payment in full to be sent June 1, 2020 and received by Gexa on June 3, 2020 (per my bank, which is solidly reliable). On Monday, June 1, 2020, Gexa cut off my electricity. Ten business days after my payment due date slightly over two weeks! UNBELIEVABLE!

My child, thankfully, never realized the potential danger. However, the damage was done. The ruthless commerciality of Gexa, for the sake of $122.97, had HAD put my childs life at risk.

A one-star review is too high for Gexa.

Harry McMahon
June 3rd, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The Worst!

(1 / 5)

  Read the small print. Gexa's energy plans are so full of minimums and maximums that I ended up paying way more than I did with Frontier. Their website does not with Microsoft Edge etc. etc.! I could go on and on but suffice to say I have switched my electric provider. One last payment and I am done with GEXA FOREVER!!!!!

The Worst!
May 27th, 2020

Hello, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.

Gexa Energy Responds May 28th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Your new software is NOT user friendly

(1.8 / 5)

  Tried to pay my bill like I have for 5 years
Your new software does not give me that option

W Higdon
May 26th, 2020

Hi W Higdon, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.

Gexa Energy Responds May 28th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Lies all Lies

(1 / 5)

  Gexa Energy advertises 7.5 per KWH and i was charged over 10 on my first bill and i did not even use my A/C for 3 weeks that month. I have never had a bill over $110.00 with Bounce Energy and my first one with Gexa was over $140.00. Big Big mistake on my part for switching. I will be going back to Bounce when this contract is over. Oh by the way i have tried to call Gexa 4 times and waited on hold for over and hour each time, one of those times i waited for and hour and forty five and my phone died. DO NOT USE GEXA ENERGY they are a rip off and they lie to get you to sign up.

Alan Cowan
May 26th, 2020

Hi Alan, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.

Gexa Energy Responds May 28th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

gexa customer service

(1 / 5)

  the worst ever i experienced. they put you on hold for 2 hours and you have to give up. you call in usa, the calls go to south america

farimah moldenhauer
May 22nd, 2020

Hi Farimah, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.

Gexa Energy Responds May 28th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Just not a great company

(2 / 5)

  I went with them because I thought it was the cheapest. Turns out the $40 off if you reach 500 Kwh is not actually cheap (1 bedroom apartment commonly reached $80 where on my old plan was closer to $50/$60 for the same place). But that is on me for choosing that plan. When I moved they tried to charge me for leaving the contract early despite the move (other companies just ask for a forwarding address and that is it - I have never had an issue with a different company). The customer service is just a pain. I have been emailing for weeks (after calling twice waiting over an hour each time to get this taken care of) to just get them to correct the new address. They wrote the state twice (once right between the main address) and wrote the city twice two different ways. It was not some tragic horrible experience but there are so many choices for electricity, why bother with one that is this much of a hassel. I am glad to no longer be a customer. Oh, and I moved out on a Saturday and since they are not open on the weekend I couldn't have service disconnected until Tuesday. Although a week prior I had an email that they asked what day I wanted to be disconnected - they just never did it. So I was paying the electricity after I moved out which is frustrating.

AE
May 21st, 2020

Hello, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.

Gexa Energy Responds May 28th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ho hum

(3.8 / 5)

  Switched to budget billing October 2019... paid $175 for service in September... switched to budget and billing jumped to $228.... remained that way until April 2020 then jumped to $338... not sure whats going on... Ive looked through the bills and our actual usage is less than the payment amount... now $338??? Feel like Im being ripped off....

Initially service was tremendous but as with most things the luster wears off.. riding out my contract and then leaving! Never had issues with Stream Energy! Never shouldve left..

Chris
May 16th, 2020

Hi Chris, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.

Gexa Energy Responds May 28th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Gexa energy is trash!

(1.4 / 5)

  I was lured by the cheap rates for electricity. Don't be fooled like me. This company is sinister and heartless. While other companies like phone and cable and water are working with their customers, Gexa doesn't care about hard times and pandemics. They will not allow you more than two days late to pay your bill and literally just cut off my lights over $59.54 two days late. And this was after they repeatedly refused to change my billing cycle to align with my monthly pay cycle. Run from them and find a company that respects their customers and understands they are running a highly needed utility. Cheap rates are worth being treated like trash and having all the food go bad in your refrigerator while Gexa plays heinous games.

Disgusted by Gexa
May 15th, 2020

Hello, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.

Gexa Energy Responds May 28th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst Electric Company I'vd had!!

(1 / 5)

  If I could rate them a negative I would, a 1 was too high for them. Every experience I've had with them has been the worst as soon as I can I will be switching companies.

Maria A
May 12th, 2020

Hi Maria, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.

Gexa Energy Responds May 28th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Gexa Energy

(3.8 / 5)

  No problems with service nor billing.

Gexa Energy
May 10th, 2020

Hello, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.

Gexa Energy Responds May 28th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Service Provider

(4.6 / 5)

  No problems.

Residential Provider
May 4th, 2020

Hello, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.

Gexa Energy Responds May 28th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions