We currently recommend natural gas plans from CenterPoint Energy Services and Constellation

Scam!

(1 / 5)

  I was a Reliant customer and after my contract was up, switched to another contract in Reliant. After about 3-4 months, I noticed that my monthly bill kept going up and up. I called and they told me I did NOT have a new contract and was paying the premium rate on a month to month basis. I decided to switch carriers because of their dishonesty. When I left they billed me $1700 for the money I saved in my contract for leaving. I made monthly payments to them to pay this off and they told me I would not be turned over to collections as long as I paid. THEY LIED! After 90 days, they referred me to a collection agency and my credit score dropped 96 points over night!!! I have talked to everyone to no avail. I am considering taking legal action. Steer clear of this second rate company!!

Renee G
February 11th, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience. We're sorry to hear that we fell short of your expectations. We would like the opportunity to learn more and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds February 13th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

RUN...AND SWITCH TO A DIFFERENT CO.

(1 / 5)

  Zero! Military families near Fort Hood, take this advice. Do not use this company and if you are currently a customer, switch before it is too late. This is the Verizon of energy services. We learned the hard way, but you don't have too.

This company have plans that are made to trick customer into paying more. For example, if you select the 2,000W and you are under that amount you will pay penalties. If you select the 1,000W and go over that amount you will pay penalties as well. Their is no win-win with this company.

Their customer service will trick you into switching plans by telling you that changing the plan within the company is available to current customers. That is not true! You will be stuck with a plan that doesn't fit your needs. You will be paying, like us, over $400 a month in winter for a small house. Our bill used to be $60 or less in winter season since our house is heated by oil.

We decided to cancel our services in December 2019. Paid the final payment of over $350 with penalties on Jan 17, 2020. On February 2020, we received a bill for non-electrical charges. Yes, you read correctly. The company was charging for something other than electricity.

We contacted two customer reps regarding the surprise charges. It seems that the customer rep back in December 2019 was not smart enough to cancel a protection plan (hidden charges we did not know) when we requested to end the contract. It was only $6.99 but I was so upset. After two months I was still dealing with this unreliable company.

From one military spouse to another, look for another electrical company.

LUZ
February 11th, 2020

We are sorry to hear that you've had a negative experience with our company. We would like the opportunity to learn about your experience. Please call us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds February 13th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Deferred Balance Hidden

(1 / 5)

  Word of advice do not ever ever sign up with Reliant there are just a bunch thief's I signed up for month to month average billing started the month of March with 1,144 KWH total cost with delivery charges , energy charges,ect $86 Fast forward to July for 2,000 KWH during a hot summer paid $135 total. Now November comes around the corner were at $223 for 1,150 KW. So we decided to leave Reliant as their prices went up tremendous come to find out on our last bill they charged us $384 for deferred balance which we were never told about the only thing the sales rep told us was that it was month to month.

Chris Klein
February 10th, 2020

Thank you for your feedback. We would like the opportunity to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds February 11th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Commercial building owner

(1.8 / 5)

  Reliant started out good, then they implemented "Demand charge" mid way through the contract. our KW usage remained the same, however the bill doubled due to the demand charge they decided to pass thru from center point. Reliant change the way they billed our account during the contract. FAIL (I just move the account and now have normal rates again. Thank you power to choose website.

Commercial building owner (demand charge)
February 5th, 2020

We are sorry to hear that you've had a negative experience with our company. We would like the opportunity to learn about your experience. Please call us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds February 10th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Cheating customer's

(1 / 5)

  I had a very bad experience I ever face with any energy providers in states . RELIANT is one of the worst and bad energy provider.
I took a night free plan and for every month Im using about 800 to 1200 kw per month the charges for the usage is 19.7 c /kw and there is a big gambling in collecting other charges on top of the kw uses that charger per month is $40 to $50 and these charges are never told by them.For a two beb room apt Im paying $240 every month even a big office space would not pay that much where the power get consumed in a high kw

I strongly tell all the families people who think the reliant to be there service . I urge them not to go with reliant , because the are cheating public

Yes
February 3rd, 2020

Thank you for your feedback. We would like the opportunity to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds February 4th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Do not sign up for Average Billing in the Summer

(1.4 / 5)

  I signed up for average billing with Reliant effective in September 2019 and realized in October that the average billing amounts were estimated way to high. Since I had started with Reliant in August, they were using just that one month as the average billing amount for my October bill. Anyone living in Texas knows that the August is the hottest month and the highest bill, not the average. I did not sign up for average billing to keep paying my highest bill of the year in the cooler months. Therefore, I began paying only for my actual usage and paid it in full about two weeks early.
I did not anticipate receiving a late penalty or a disconnect notice in November for not paying over and above what was due for my actual usage. The deferred balance is my own money to be held by Reliant (with no interest) for credit to future usage. Other utility companies Ive used have not done this. If I dont have extra to pay that month, I just dont get the credit to lower my bill later. Reliant has not seen reason on this issue and I will be contacting the Public Utility Commission.

Douglas Brooks
February 3rd, 2020

We are sorry to hear that you've had a negative experience with our company. We would like the opportunity to learn about your experience. Please call us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds February 4th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Dont do it

(1 / 5)

  We Signed up for a plan we had seen that was advertised everywhere for the free nights and weekends( or so we thought ) -our bills were high before so we wanted to try and save money. Who knew the stress of high bills before could only get worse when we signed up for reliant -what were high bills before became Insane afterwards when we received bills with all the added in fees -what we had paid with other companies of $2-300 a month sometimes more became ridiculous with our highest being over $600 -you might think we are living in an icebox in the texas summer but no our ac is at 78 and I got to listen to 4 teenage boys complain about being hot all summer long -I weather stripped all gaps in doors and windows,used the tint on windows where the midday sun would hit,did everything I could think of but the bills still were insane-even during the cooler Christmas weather where we normally would be down in between $160 and $200 with other companies we were at around $500 -it wasnt even a cold year -called and spoke to someone and was told we actually signed up for the free night and weekend save your money plan which save 1c per KWH not the free nights and weekend plan we thought we had -called again and spoke to someone else who told us no we dont even have a free night and weekend plan -so tired of this endless game of maybe you will get them plan we advertise with the teeny tiny fine print that means it isnt actually what you think but youre stuck either way -cant wait to get away from this horrible company and its ridiculous advertising games -then they had the nerve to offer me average billing -wth why would I want average billing based upon the astronomical bills you already charged us ? So you can drive me over the edge for another year ? I dont think so

Britchick
February 3rd, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience. We're sorry to hear that we fell short of your expectations. We would like the opportunity to learn more and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds February 4th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

When contract expires, you're rates will always go up!

(2 / 5)

  Everything was okay until my contract expired. The rate went from 11.0 to 13.0. Too many other companies to choose from with much better rates.

Dave
January 28th, 2020

Thank you for your review. We would like to review your account with you and see if there is anything we can do. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds January 29th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Don't Feed the Con Artists.

(1 / 5)

  My son and self moved into our 2 bedroom 1 bathroom house (less than 800sq ft) at the beginning of 2019, and our landlord recommended as Reliant as "one of the cheapest energy providers". I naively and blindly called Reliant to set up service. I spoke to a rude and uninformed woman (and the manager who called me a week later about my complaint about this representative was also rude and unprofessional) who sounded like she was taking my call in the middle of a daycare. After trying to make me pay a 500$ NON REFUNDABLE deposit, she was able to "come up" with a 75$ non refundable deposit option with their "Free Nights" scam - I mean plan. She told me it would be 17 cents per kWh (because at the time my credit was on the lower side), and quickly made me sign their e-documents before I had a chance to really read their terms of service. So I finalized the paperwork, and established service to our new home.

Firstly, a deposit because of lower credit should always be refundable if on time payments are made by the customer, which mine were always paid early. Secondly, I was quoted and told 17c/kWh, but it was actually 25 cents per kWh under the guise that my nights were free. Thirdly, low credit should never mean a higher kWh price, and that is straight up taking advantage of a single mom who had fallen on temporarily hard times.

After I received our first month's bill of 200$ for our teeny tiny home, I was a little worried, but not terribly so...until I steadily watched our electric bill climb from 200, to 300, to over 400$ a month for our little home! We are energy efficient, but not according to Reliant's lying app. We have all brand new energy efficient windows, appliances, and LED light bulbs for every light fixture. We did laundry at night during our "free hours" , and we kept the HVAC at 80 degrees in the summer and 60 degrees during the winter. We even had our water heater and HVAC serviced twice to see if we had any problems to create such high bills. We had the insulation and home checked for any areas that could be causing a draft. Everything was in working order.

Since they had locked me into a 12 month contract with an early termination fee, we froze and sweat in the dark all year, just waiting for our sweet release from these con artists. Finally the day has come where we have been freed from their overpriced clutches, and now have a green energy provider who has cut our electricity bill to a third of what Reliant was charging us! And guess what? ZERO deposit. Stay far, far away from these deceptive, rude con artists. There a dozen other providers that are reliable, friendly and a third of the cost. I wish I had done my research sooner rather than later (and that is my own fault), but I am hoping by sharing my experience I can at least prevent some innocents from being taken advantage of by this mega corporation. I will never use Reliant again, and I will continue to warn every person I know and meet of their deceptive practices and ungodly pricing.

Amber I.
January 14th, 2020

Thank you for your feedback. We would like the opportunity to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds January 15th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great at first...

(1 / 5)

  Reliant energy will find ways to rip you off once you have been when them for a while. Most importantly is how much they rip Texans off in the summertime! Also be wary of their contract cancellation policy as you only have 3 days from when you make any agreement with them. Total RIP off!!!
I tried to cancel my contract with them within 3 days after the contract started (so I could change providers), nope bad idea as it only lined their pockets further with a 225$ cancellation fee. Best advice is check out the PUCT website for power to choose price info.

Tux
January 6th, 2020

We are sorry to hear that you've had a negative experience with our company. We would like the opportunity to learn about your experience. Please call us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds January 7th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Pricey

(3.6 / 5)

  I have not been home (2 bedroom apartment ) in 1 month , and my bill is $150 . How !!! And I havent been home ..

JustWoW26
January 5th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst customer service and CHEATERS

(1 / 5)

  Reliant agent cheated about the plans and the customer service is awful in sorting out the issue.

RELIANT ARE CHEATERS
December 28th, 2019

Thank you for your feedback. We would like the opportunity to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds January 2nd, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Beware!!

(1.8 / 5)

  Reliant was the easy option as an out of stater moving to Texas. Coming from a regulated utility state, it was a learning curve to understand the options and what they mean in Texas. After the promotion period wore off, I spoke on the phone to transfer service from our apartment to our house we just purchased. I also set an end date for the apartment and thought nothing of it. Several months later a mail forwarded a bill of over $400 for utility usage at that apartment I was no longer occupying. I disputed with Reliant, went through their process, they had no record of my ending service, but somehow had provided service to my house... Their final offer was a $50 credit off the balance which I declined to pay someone else's electric bill. They have now sent me to collections which I am fighting. Never ever sign up with a company as scummy and deceptive as Reliant!

don't do it!
December 19th, 2019

We are sorry to hear that you've had a negative experience with our company. We would like the opportunity to learn about your experience. Please call us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds December 20th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Better than my last 2 companies!

(5 / 5)

  We moved to our first home about 4 months ago (we were in an apartment before) and took the opportunity to try a new service. The agent I spoke to got us an amazing deal for first time homebuyers. He also got us in contact with their security side of the company who beat any quote that Vivant, ADT, and a lesser known company could offer. Anytime that I have had to call in regarding my account the agents have always been friendly and helpful. I used the chat service for the first time today, and it was also a great experience. I would definitely recommend Reliant.

KatoKat
December 12th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Deceptive billing practices

(1 / 5)

  Please do not fall for their " average " billing scam it is like socialism you pay for others usage and if you try to get off of this plan they come up with magical charges that they claim you owe them even though you play your bill in full every month. This is a billing scam that needs to be reported to Federal Energy Regulatory Comision ( FERC)

7 year customer gets scammed
December 9th, 2019

This isn't the experience we want for our loyal customers. We would like to address the issues regarding your bill. Please call us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds December 10th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

rip off

(1.2 / 5)

  This company throws money at you to get you to sign on, then their bills come high, to entice you to choose average billing, still those average billing is high compared to my usage historically with other providers. Nothing changed on my end to cause this high consumption cost. its a scam and wont recommend them to anyone.

Henry
December 5th, 2019

Thank you for your review. We would like to review your account with you and see if there is anything we can do. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds December 6th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They are scamming customers

(1 / 5)

  This company has been scamming us. We suddenly were signed up for "average billing" with no evidence or confirmation. We use 50 a month in electricity clearly indicated on the graphs they provide. Our bill is over 100 usd every month. On top of this we "OWE" them 100 more dollars even thought we have paid double and triple for our electricity. Our meter was dead they told us it was not possible. I had to get it fixed myself with the meter company. Then they told me they will talk to the meter company to get it all fixed and they never did. This was August. Now it is December. I have spent countless hours on the phone with them. I have talked to some of the worst representatives that would not give me their names or their employee numbers. I believe their tactic is to make you so angry and annoyed you over pay hundreds of dollars. I have complaints in with the Better Business Bureau. This is an on going scam that needs to stop.

DontGetScammedMiddleClassAmerica
December 3rd, 2019

Thanks for your review, Alexandra. We would like the opportunity to review the account to see how we can help. Please call us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds December 4th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Average Billing Scam

(1 / 5)

  I have been out of my home since August 28, 2019. The home is completely empty. yet, through reliant's average billling scam, despite the usage, they charged me over $1000 since I literally moved out the home. As the other users stated, they will make you pay back any savings under the average billing plan on the back end. Somehow, despite the small amount of usage, it is justifiable for me to pay this excessive amount. It makes no sense. I hope no one else experiences such an unconscionable act.

Yolanda Buckner
December 2nd, 2019

Thank you for your review. We would like to review your account with you and see if there is anything we can do. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds December 2nd, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Too Expensive

(3.2 / 5)

  Expensive- They have their own rate per kWh rate, then Center point passed on rate. Feels like i am ripped off. all together i am paying 13 kWh.
Their online portal wont allow to schedule payment of your own chosen date.

Too Expensive
December 1st, 2019

We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. We are happy to go over fees, usage, and charges with you. We also have tools to help manage your account like weekly summary emails and home energy snapshots. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 for assistance with your account.

Reliant Responds December 2nd, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Compliant

(1 / 5)

  so today we signed up with reliant energy, the day to turn the electric at our home was 12/04/2019. I do not know what made me call them this evening before closing and guess what I am glad I called they asked me for a deposit witch I paid and it was taken out of my account, when I call this evening they informed me they do not service that area I was like what you all signed me on took my deposit gave me a connection date and an account number WHAT DO YOU MEAN YOU DO NOT SERVICE MY AREA yes I was very upset I have a 6 year old 5 year old and 1 year old they need to have electric when they move in to the house. they agent that was the supervisor by the name of John Pier said well we do not service that area , but we will send you a full refund with no cancellation fees on your deposit and it will take about 22 days to get to you by mail. What do you mean I just logged in to your web site and it shows you do service that area I even called the Representative from Sams Club that signed us in so are you all running a scam, He said no it appears their is a glitch on the website and I do not know why Sams reliant rep would say we do service it. so If I would not have called I would not have found out that they did not service our area and I would have moved in Wednesday with all my family and no electric. Now its 7:58 pm and can to find an electric company that is open that services that area 76028 how sad that they are scamming people taking the deposit and not have the courtesy to call and let you know now my family will suffer the consequence of their so called glitch. Ant the united coap services in Burleson Texas will not open till Monday so I can set up electric.

Do not sign up
November 29th, 2019

We are sorry to hear that you've had a negative experience with our company. We would like the opportunity to learn about your experience. Please call us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds December 2nd, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions