We currently recommend natural gas plans from Santanna Energy Services, CenterPoint Energy Services, Constellation and Direct Energy

Customer service awful

(2 / 5)

  Customer service sucks. Called 8 times in one day, and not one person answered the phone. Had to leave a message each time. Called multiple times again on another day and encountered the same scenario. Better drastically improve your customer service

Patick
January 30th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Low prices, but they will screw you over on billing. I had to file a complaint with the Public Utility Commission!

(2 / 5)

  Please note: I had to file a complaint with the Public Utility Commission of Texas today, after calling TriEagle three times. I spoke with two different supervisors, both of whom refused to correct/amend my bill and they continued to blame to billing error on Centerpoint. TriEagle continued to tell me that my brand new smart meter that Centerpoint installed several months ago was not giving Centerpoint an accurate reading and they were estimating my bill. I called Centerpoint and Centerpoint told me they DID come out and read my meter, so TriEagle is full of it and totally lied to me. The reason I am so livid is that I signed up for budget billing with TriEagle on 5/22/19 and my bills are not supposed to be more than $130 per month plus tax (my bills have averaged $134.15 per month since signing up). TriEagle decided to bill me twice for January (I have 2 bills sitting in the billing section), but they are stating the second bill is correct. It does reflect the budget billing amount, but it has an additional $57.59 tacked on and TriEagle continues to blame Centerpoint for their lack of reading my meter. Regardless of whether they read my meter or not, I am on budget billing and my bill SHOULD NOT BE MORE THAN THE AGREED AMOUNT PER MONTH GUYS! I AM NOT LATE, YOU GUYS SUCK!

Please review your complaint and ensure that the information is accurate. Select the "Back" button to make any changes or the "Submit Complaint" button to finalize your complaint with the PUC.
Date: 1/17/2020 6:37:29 PM
Complaint No: CP20xxxxxxxxxx
Account Holder: Heather L.
E-mail Address: XXXXXXXX
Service Address:XXXXXXXXXX
Houston TX 77XXX
Houston TX 77008
Harris County

Complaint Against: TriEagle Energy, LP
Complaint Type: Billing
Service Phone: Account No: 160XXXXXX
Complaint Information:

Good evening,

I signed up for budget billing with TriEagle Energy on 08/22/2019 & my budget billing amount is supposed to be $130.00 per month (plus tax, etc.). Since signing up for budget billing last August, my bills average $134.15 per month with tax. When I logged on to pay my bill last night, my total due was $191.74 and my due date had changed to 01/27/20. TriEagle actually charged me 2 bills for January. One for billing period 2019-11-25 - 2019-12-30 with kWh 778 (total due on this bill reflects our budget bill agreed amount of $134.15 monthly, but the kWh were incorrect on this bill), and one for billing period 2019-11-25 - 2019-12-31 with kWh 878 (total on this bill shows the budget bill amount, but also has additional amounts added in and I am not sure why. Total on this bill is $191.74). I am NOT late on my payments. The last payment I made of $134.15 was received and applied on 12/16/2019. When I log in and look at my payments, after my last payment their log states there is an invoice credit made on 2020-01-09 in the amount of $76.56 2020-01-10 (Reissued Inv Credit). This was NOT a credit. I am not sure what this was. I also just paid my current bill today (01/17/20) for the amount of my agreed budget billing total, $134.15. There is still an amount of $57.59 pending. I spoke to Henry with PUC & he said to only pay the amount NOT in question & PUC would investigate the remaining balance. Can someone please help? Thank you! Best regards, Heather L.

Heather L.
January 17th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Billing

(2.8 / 5)

  I have had TriEagle Energy and they did not submit my bill to PPL for billing twice in the last 12 months. We are on a fixed income and do not appreciate receiving a higher bill the next month.

Shindle
March 25th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bill tripled

(2 / 5)

  Was expecting my bill to decrease after my son and his 3 daughters moved out . Now it is only me, I am gone during the week for 12 - 16 hrs a day. Does the kwh hours i am using decrease. No they keep going up. How can kwh with 5 people living in a home be anywhere from 70 to 100 kwh per week and jump to 425 kwh a week with one person living in the home. Something is not right, i will be changing providers asap. This is crazy.

Debbie
November 21st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer service is horrible

(2.2 / 5)

  I have been a customer of tTrieagle for over 5 years, however when my contract is up I will be choosing a new service provider.The price are fair but I guess you can keep your prices at a certain point when you do not hire good people with good customer service skill. I would rather pay more than deal with rude and obnoxious workers. I disagreed with what kind of meter I had regular or smart meter. I asked to speak to someone that could confirm or correct what kind of meter I had. The customer service jerk said he would get someone on the line to tell me the same thing he just said .I waited on the phone for 16 minutes and 15 seconds a the original rep. came on the line and said I researched through our system and you do have a smart meter. In my opinion the best way to have handled my call was to search through the system instead of insisting that I was incorrect. The guy Nathan said no supervisor were available how convenient. We all get frustrated when dealing with people but as someone that works in customer service it is your job to service the customer. I should not hear of feel the frustration of of YOUR employees.

Chantell
December 28th, 2016

Hi, Chantelle. Were so sorry to learn of any unpleasant experiences you may have had with our call center. It's our expectation that all of our employees treat every customer with kindness and respect. We will be sure to remind our customer care representatives to carefully check our systems to ensure account details are correct. We thank you for the feedback.

TriEagle Energy Responds June 19th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Rip Rate on Contract Expiration

(2.2 / 5)

  I kept expecting my bill to drop this winter as always. Finally calling in, I find I'm being charged 12.9 cents - a "Holding Rate" - becasue my contract expired 8 MONTHS ago and I did nothing about it. That means I have paid them several thousand $ more than what I could/should be paying - just because I did not initiate a new contract with them (they assure me a letter was sent, which I did not get or see - even though all other communication with them has been by email.)

I talked to several other providers and they said at contract end they would change a customer's rate to the PUBLISHED month-to-month rate. NOT TriEagle! They have a "special" non-published rate for loyal customers that fall out of contract!

So it works like this: Lets say I have a contract for $.09/KWH and I use about 5000 KW per month. That will cost me about $4320 for the 12 months. The next 6 months I was put on their super-duper special "Holding Rate" of 12.9 cents. So for the next 6 months I paid $3096 which is almost 3/4 of the entire first year's charges in just 6 months! If you now calculate my actual rate overall it works out to about 11.6 cents per KWH - not a bad margin for TriEagle! And a rate they NEVER could have landed my business with up front. (Currently Reliant's non-contract rate is 8.8 for customers with expired contracts)

And of course, you've already paid them so good luck with that! Customer service will just tell you over and over and over and over and over how "their" system works (for them, not me). It is after all my fault for depending on their emails for information impacting my account. Stupid me, I didn't see the paper notice that came in the mail - if indeed it did!

My kingdom for a company that is fair!! I am absolutely weary of credit card companies, cell phone companies, airlines, and power companies who structure their business practices to take ripping advantage of customers who are not watching every transaction as if business is some kind of shell game. Some say its my fault for not watching the account. I say I thought I was dealing with a company who was watching out for my interests. Instead they were watching out for a way to get me - when my back was turned - and they surely did.

I'm guessing TriEagle has a line in their ledger labeled "Sucker profits". Some of my money is there.

Talk to Reliant. If you don't renew on time, your rate goes to their PUBLISHED non-contract rate. That seems fair. Goodbye TRYing Eagle.

Rich Quinn
February 11th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Early termination fee

(2.4 / 5)

  Signed up with TrIEagle because a good rate plan and many good reviews . I knew my plan was coming up for renewal , but I didn't know the exact date . I received a letter stating my contract was ending and the new rate was not good. about a week latter I received a email that my contract was up. Once again I searched and found a good rate with another provider. This was about 10 days after the email . I made arrangements to move my services as quickly as possible believing I had already ben switched to the high deflate rate after my contract ended . When received my final bill , I was shocked to find a early termination fee of $40.00. Calling customer service was a waste of time the manager I spoke with , Carlos was both rude and short with me . His idea of help was to switch my service back to finish my contract and they would remove the early termination fee.

BRUCE MATHEWS
June 29th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

horrible online portal

(2 / 5)

  TriEagle Energy has horrible online features, the online simply does not work. It says account number and email are incorrect when i obviously have the emails with BOTH in front of me. I'm convinced it's purposefully flawed so customers can't pay online and are more prone to late fees. There is no way to fix it but to call them, which is a great show of their customer service. All i want to do is pay my bill online and it provides more problems than ANY other service i have. I will not renew my contract with a company that has such poor online services.

Rana1
March 25th, 2014

Thank you for the feedback Rana - First of all, I apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced using our online portal. We take pride in providing our customers with the most innovative and convenient payment options. We have thousands of customers who successfully use our online portal for payments every day. We would love to speak with you and help you figure out why the system is not working for you. Please call customer care at (877) 933-2453 so we can assist you.

TriEagle Energy Responds July 17th, 2014
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer Service is non-exsistent

(2 / 5)

  My experience with TriEagle has been limited. The price plan is very good. However, the customer service dept is so lacking, it is not even funny. When you have a power outage, you can't call TriEagle and have them check it out. No. You must call the provider company like Centerpoint and get it reported and resolved. I expect more. However, the VP for Marketing stepped up. He is allowing me to terminate without fees. I have accepted his offer. I am leaving TriEagle with a better view but still leaving.

N Vogel
July 30th, 2013

Thanks for the feedback Ms. Vogel - For power outages, like all other Texas REPS, we rely on the poles companies like Centerpoint to maintain the lines. In cases of outages or emergencies, we often suggest our customers call these poles companies directly, as they will have all the latest information at their fingertips.

TriEagle Energy Responds August 27th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good service

(2.7 / 5)

  fRIENDLY AND GOOD SERVICE

kATIE
April 10th, 2012

Thanks for the feedback Katie!

TriEagle Energy Responds February 12th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions